Employer of Record in Armenia: 13 Providers Compared (2026)

Employer of Record in Armenia: your company, the EOR entity in Armenia and your hire

Employer of Record is a grey area in Armenia. The Labour Code has no agency-work, labour-leasing or licence rules, and any company registered in Armenia can be an employer, so an EOR can hire on an ordinary Armenian contract; we found no law-firm, Big4 or regulator text that addresses the arrangement (Labour Code, English text, checked 2026-10-10). Statutory cost on top of gross pay is zero: 20% income tax, the funded pension, stamp duty and the new health contribution are all withheld from the employee’s gross, so you budget the gross salary (pwc.com, checked 2026-10-10). The EOR fee comes on top: list prices in our table run from $99 to $699 per month.

The applicant for a foreigner’s residence is the local employer, so an Armenian EOR entity can apply and a foreign company with no registration cannot. From 2026-11-01 quotas and a 120-day work entry visa change the process, per EY and law firms.

One of the 13 providers says it employs through its own Armenian entity, Remote; four more have a company with their name in the register but don’t state it, and eight name none.

An Employer of Record suits a hire you direct like staff when you accept an unsettled legal position and have no Armenian entity. An independent specialist can work as a contractor; see also paying contractors in Armenia.

Employing someone in Armenia: key facts

Armenia has one national minimum wage and no employer-paid social contributions on top of gross pay. The figures below come from the Labour Code text read to its 2023-10-25 edition and from PwC tax summaries; vendor and law-firm sources are marked.

Minimum wage

One national rate. The Labour Code says the minimum monthly and hourly salary are set by law and exclude taxes, mandatory payments, bonuses and additional payments (art. 179) (Labour Code, English text, checked 2026-10-10).

Effective fromGross per monthStatusSource
Before 2023-01-01AMD 68,000Replacedpwc.com, checked 2026-10-10
2023-01-01AMD 75,000In forcepwc.com, checked 2026-10-10
  • A rise to AMD 85,000 appears in the government programme according to secondary sources; we found no enacted increase as of 2026-10-10, and we did not read the Law on Minimum Monthly Wage.
  • We did not find the hourly rate.
Line chart 2021-2026 of the Armenian national minimum wage in AMD gross per month: 68,000 in 2021 and 2022, then 75,000 from 2023 through 2026.
National minimum wage, gross AMD per month, in force on 31 December each year. The 2021 and 2022 values are inferred from the rise from AMD 68,000 to AMD 75,000 on 2023-01-01; the date the 68,000 level took effect was not found. Source: pwc.com, PanARMENIAN, checked 2026-10-10.

Employer contributions

The employer-borne statutory cost is nil in the private sector. Income tax, the funded pension, stamp duty and the health insurance contribution are all withheld from the employee’s gross salary; the employer only withholds and remits them (pwc.com, checked 2026-10-10).

ItemBorne by2026 ruleSource
Income taxEmployee, withheld from gross20% flat on the whole gross; no allowancepwc.com
Funded pension (born 1974 or later)Employee5% of gross below AMD 500,000 a month, with a matching 5% from the State; above that the State adds AMD 25,000 and the employee pays the rest of 10%, capped at AMD 87,500 a monthpwc.com
Health insurance contributionEmployee, since 2026AMD 0 up to AMD 200,000 gross a month; AMD 4,800 for AMD 200,001-500,000; AMD 10,800 abovepwc.com
Stamp duty (military insurance fee)EmployeeAMD 1,000 a month up to AMD 1,000,000 gross; AMD 15,000 abovepwc.com
  • Employer-borne total: 0% of gross, so the budget figure is the gross salary.
  • Sources differ on the lower stamp-duty band (one calculator shows AMD 1,500); we use PwC’s AMD 1,000. Whether foreign employees on Armenian contracts pay the health contribution was not found: PwC’s text says “Armenian citizens”.
  • No history chart: the employer-borne total was nil throughout, so there is nothing to compare year on year.

Working hours and overtime

  • Standard week: 40 hours, 8 a day; with overtime up to 12 hours a day including breaks and 48 hours a week (art. 139). Saturday and Sunday are the usual rest days (art. 155).
  • Overtime carries at least 50% extra per hour (art. 184); night work at least 30% extra. Overtime is limited to 4 hours over two successive days and 180 hours a year in the standard cases (art. 146).
  • Consented work on a rest day or non-working holiday: at least double the hourly rate, or another paid rest day within a month (art. 185) (Labour Code, checked 2026-10-10).

Annual leave and public holidays

  • At least 20 working days a year on a five-day week (24 on a six-day week); 25 working days for categories the Government lists (arts. 159-160). Unused leave is granted at the employee’s request before the dismissal date (art. 168) (Labour Code, checked 2026-10-10).
  • Non-working holidays are set by a separate law (art. 156). We did not read it, so we give no list.

Probation

  • Up to 3 months, or 12 months where legislation provides (art. 92). During probation either side can end the contract with 3 days’ written notice (art. 93). No probation for under-18s, elected office holders and internal transfers (art. 91) (Labour Code, checked 2026-10-10).

Notice and severance

Dismissal benefit is paid on top of notice, not instead of it.

GroundEmployer noticeDismissal benefit
Redundancy or liquidationAt least 2 months, writtenAverage monthly salary
Unsuitability or long-term incapacity14 days (up to 1 year of service), 35 days (up to 5), 42 (5-10), 49 (10-15), 60 (over 15)10x average daily salary (up to 1 year), 25x (1-5), 30x (5-10), 35x (10-15), 44x (over 15)
  • The employee resigns on 30 days’ written notice. Dismissal is prohibited during sick leave, leave and pregnancy, among other cases (arts. 112-115, 129). Mass dismissal (over 10% of staff and at least 10 employees in two months) needs 2 months’ notice to the employment authority (art. 116).
  • A foreigner’s contract ends with 3 days’ notice if the residence status is revoked. Text read to the 2023-10-25 edition (Labour Code, checked 2026-10-10); Concern Dialog’s Chambers 2026 guide gives matching figures (Chambers, checked 2026-10-10).

13th salary and bonuses

Not mandatory. The Labour Code has no 13th-salary or statutory annual bonus provision; bonuses appear only as contract terms (Labour Code, checked 2026-10-10).

Mandatory benefits

  • The employer pays the first five working days of sick leave at 80% of average pay; social insurance pays the rest. This is from a law-firm blog and was not checked against the law (armenian-lawyer.com, checked 2026-10-10).
  • No employer-funded private health or life cover is mandatory. The pension and health contributions are in the table above.

Work permits

  • A foreigner from outside the EAEU needs employment-based temporary residence. The local employer applies on workpermit.am after the Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs consents; the card is issued within 30 days of the application, the state fee is AMD 105,000, and the employment contract must be signed within 15 working days of the status being granted (Migration and Citizenship Service, checked 2026-10-10).
  • EAEU citizens (Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan) need no permit but must register online.
  • The applicant is the employer, which under art. 18 must be an Armenian legal person, a registered subdivision of a foreign organisation or an individual entrepreneur. A local EOR entity can apply; a foreign company with no Armenian registration cannot.
  • A fixed-term contract with a foreigner runs for the permit period (art. 95); that rule does not apply to foreigners working remotely for the employer from outside Armenia (art. 106.1). New quotas and a work entry visa start on 2026-11-01; see “What changed in 2026”.

Currency and payroll

  • AMD. Salary must be paid in AMD (art. 192). The Central Bank’s official rate dated 2026-10-09 is 1 USD = 361.93 AMD (cba.am, checked 2026-10-10).
  • Pay at least once a month, on a working day, by the 15th of the following month. Late payment carries a fine of 0.15% of the amount due per day, capped at the amount due (arts. 192, 198) (Labour Code, checked 2026-10-10).

Grey area. Armenian law has no EOR category. The Labour Code has no agency-work, labour-leasing, co-employment or employer-licence provisions, and the employer can be any legal person registered in Armenia (art. 18) (Labour Code, checked 2026-10-10). An EOR can therefore employ on an ordinary Armenian contract. Nothing in the law recognises the split between the employer on paper and the client that directs the work. See the Employer of Record glossary entry.

We found no law-firm, Big4 or regulator commentary on EOR, employee leasing or outstaffing in Armenia. Concern Dialog’s guide in Chambers Employment 2026 has no section on it and says new forms of work are not regulated, with no legislative initiative expected (Chambers, checked 2026-10-10). That silence is not a statement that EOR is lawful. We read the Code in the 2023-10-25 edition; the February 2026 amendments are known only from Concern Dialog.

  • Employer by statute. Only indefinite and fixed-term contracts exist (arts. 94-95); a “temporary employment contract” means a contract of up to two months (art. 101), not agency work.
  • Vendor statement. Vardanyan & Partners, an Armenian law firm, says it offers an Armenian EOR through its own wholly owned Armenian entities (armenian-lawyer.com, checked 2026-10-10). It is a statement about its own service, not commentary on legality.
  • Foreign employers. Labour law does not cover employment between a foreign employer and an employee who does not live permanently in Armenia (art. 7(5)); where a foreign employer hires an Armenian-resident person, Armenian labour law applies (art. 7(4)). The text is an English translation and part 4 reads oddly, so treat this as our reading.

Risks for the client:

  • Reclassification. Work without a written employment contract is illegal employment; the employee can ask a court to establish the relationship from the actual start date and up to one year after it ends (art. 102). A court can apply labour law to a contract styled as civil-law (art. 7(6)). That also matters if you engage a contractor who works like staff.
  • Tax presence. PwC says a non-resident creates a permanent establishment by providing services through employees or other hired personnel for 183 days or more in a tax year within one project. Whether EOR workers count as the client’s hired personnel is not addressed in the sources we found (pwc.com, checked 2026-10-10). See permanent establishment.
  • Foreign hires. A law-firm source says employing a foreigner without the required permit or outside the electronic platform carries employer fines; we did not find the amounts. From 2026-11-01 a contract with a foreigner may be signed only after an electronic confirmation.
  • Exit cost. Two months’ notice plus one month’s salary for redundancy, graduated notice and 10-44 days’ pay for unsuitability or incapacity, and a dismissal ban during sick leave, leave and pregnancy. The EOR passes these on to you.
  • Late salary. 0.15% of the sum due per day, up to the sum due.

Who actually employs your hire in Armenia

We searched the Armenian company register (e-register.moj.am) by brand name on 2026-10-10. The open record shows the number, date, tax ID and address but not the founders, so no provider’s ownership could be checked there. “Own entity” below means a provider’s own statement or document, backed here by a matching register number for Remote only.

ProviderEmployer in ArmeniaEvidenceArmenia EOR price
RemoteOwn entity (vendor statement + Local Terms)Says “at Remote, we own our own legal entity in Armenia” (Remote). Local Terms list Remote Armenia LLC, registered number 286.110.1169354 (Remote); the register entry with that number is “REMOTE AM” LLC, registered 2021-03-24 (e-register). The name differs, the number matches$699 per employee/month (Armenia page, EOR block)
DeelNot disclosedArmenia page says Deel’s EOR setup lets it “handle local laws, tax and benefits”; no entity named; none found by name in the registerFrom $599/month management fee (Armenia page)
PlayrollNot disclosedArmenia guide: “an Employer of Record becomes the legal employer on your behalf”, in general terms; none found by nameFrom $399/month (global)
RivermateNot disclosedArmenia page: “An EOR already has a legal entity in Armenia”, about EORs in general; none found by name$319-$639/month (global range)
Remote PeopleNot disclosedArmenia page says “No local entity needed”; names noneFrom $199/month (global, site-wide)
MultiplierNot disclosedArmenia page names no entity. An Armenian company named “MULTIPLIER TECHNOLOGIES” LLC is registered (e-register); the vendor doesn’t state it$459/month billed annually (global)
SkuadNot disclosedArmenia page names no entity. An Armenian company named “SKUAD REMOTE SOLUTIONS” LLC is registered (e-register); the vendor doesn’t state itFrom $199/month (global)
Native TeamsNot disclosedArmenia page: “you don’t need to establish a local entity or office”. An Armenian company named “NATIVE TEAMS” LLC is registered (e-register); the vendor doesn’t state itFrom $99/month (global)
G-PNot disclosedArmenia page: “our global entity infrastructure”, not specific to Armenia. A company named “GLOBALIZATION PARTNERS AR” LLC is registered (e-register); the vendor doesn’t state itFrom $599/month (global)
RemoFirstNot disclosedArmenia guide names no entity; none found by nameFrom $199/month (global)
Borderless AINot disclosedArmenia guide names no entity; none found by name$579/month, EOR plan (global)
PeblNot disclosedArmenia page: “without having to create new, local entities”, naming none; none found by name$399/month (global)
Safeguard GlobalNot disclosedArmenia page: “the EOR already has an established entity in Armenia”, about EORs in general; none found by nameNot published

Prices checked 2026-10-10 for Remote and Deel, 2026-10-07 for the rest. “None found by name” is a limit of a name search, not a finding of non-compliance. Not counted: Oyster, Papaya Global, Rippling (contractors page only), RemotePass, Rise, Kleos, Remozo, Boundless, Atlas HXM and Justworks, for which we could not confirm EOR in Armenia.

Bar chart: 1 of 13 providers says it employs through its own Armenian entity; 12 don't disclose one. None works through a named partner.
Own entity counts Remote’s own statement and Local Terms, with a matching register number. Not disclosed includes four providers whose brand name appears in the register but who don’t state that company. Founders are not visible in the open register record. Source: vendor country pages, e-register.moj.am, checked 2026-10-10.

One of the 13 says which Armenian company employs your hire; four have a company with their name in the register but don’t claim it, and eight name none. It matters because that company signs the contract, withholds the 20% tax and applies for any permit. Before signing, ask: “Which Armenian company signs my employee’s contract, and what is its registration number?”

How to choose an EOR in Armenia

Want a named employer? Remote says it owns its Armenian entity and its Local Terms carry a number that matches a register entry. For the other 12, ask for the company name and number in writing; where the register shows a company with a provider’s name, ask whether that is the one.

Hiring a non-EAEU foreigner? Only an Armenian employer can apply, so you need an EOR with an Armenian entity or your own. From 2026-11-01 quotas replace the labour-market test and a contract may follow only after an electronic confirmation. Ask who files, how quotas affect the timeline and who carries the AMD 105,000 state fee in the price.

Is speed the priority? Deel says a hire can start in as little as 3 days, Playroll 1-5 working days (plus up to 3 for right-to-work checks), Rivermate, Remote People and Safeguard Global 1-2 weeks. All are vendor claims.

Price against completeness? On an Armenian page Deel shows from $599 and Remote $699; the rest show global prices or none, from $99 at Native Teams. Compare after you have the entity answer, and ask what exit costs: the statutory dismissal benefit above is the floor.

All 13 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

Remote

A compliance-first EOR built on 100% owned entities — fewer countries, but no third-party handoffs.

8.4/10

★ 4.4 · 97 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing)
Coverage
90+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
2 days (average)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR Level 1, GDPR
Support
24/7 chatbot; live agent Mon-Fri

What stands out

  • 100% owned entities, no third-party partners
  • strong certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR, GDPR)
  • transparent per-product pricing

Not a fit for

  • teams needing the widest possible country list
  • lowest-price seekers
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsSays it owns its Armenian entity; Local Terms name Remote Armenia LLC, a number matching a register entry. $699/month on its Armenia page.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Deel

The broadest all-in-one platform — EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor management and global payroll under one roof, with deep country coverage.

8.7/10

★ 4.8 · 28k reviews

EOR price
from $599/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Entity model
130 owned
Time to hire
As little as 1 day
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • 150+ country reach with 130+ owned entities
  • covers EOR, COR, contractor management and payroll
  • strong security & compliance certifications

Not a fit for

  • very small or strictly budget-first teams
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsNames no Armenian entity. Its Armenia page shows a management fee from $599/month and says a hire can start in 3 days.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Playroll

A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.7 · 209 reviews

EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5

What stands out

  • Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
  • Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
  • Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsArmenia guide names no entity. From $399/month, global, no minimum commitment; says 1-5 days to onboard.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rivermate

A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.4 · 391 reviews

EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
  • Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
  • Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
  • buyers needing equity/ESOP administration
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsArmenia page names no entity. $319-639/month, a global range; says onboarding takes 1-2 weeks.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote People

A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 495 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)

What stands out

  • Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
  • Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
  • Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation

Not a fit for

  • buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
  • teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsArmenia guide says no local entity is needed and names none. From $199/month, global; says 1-2 weeks to onboard.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Multiplier

A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.

8.4/10

★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022

What stands out

  • EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
  • dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
  • published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
  • buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsNames no entity; a company named Multiplier Technologies is registered, which the vendor doesn't state. Core $459/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Skuad

A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.

8.0/10

★ 4.6 · 312 reviews

EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated

What stands out

  • broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
  • published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
  • payroll in 70 currencies

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsNames no entity; a company named Skuad Remote Solutions is registered, which the vendor doesn't state. From $199/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Native Teams

A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.

7.9/10

★ 4.7 · 367 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS

What stands out

  • EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
  • transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
  • dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
  • teams needing a guaranteed onboarding SLA in days
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsSays no local entity is needed; a company named Native Teams is registered, not stated by the vendor. From $99/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

G-P (Globalization Partners)

The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.

8.3/10

★ 4.4

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
Certifications
SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018
Support
24/7 AI support (G-P Assist); human hours not stated

What stands out

  • Founded 2012 — the longest track record among EOR vendors reviewed so far
  • Broadest certification stack checked: SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001, GDPR
  • 156 countries with a dedicated Globalpedia EOR guide; flat $599/employee/month fee confirmed across sampled countries

Not a fit for

  • price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
  • buyers needing a true Contractor of Record, not payment/classification tooling
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsNames no entity; a company named Globalization Partners AR is registered, not stated by the vendor. From $599/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemoFirst

A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.

7.8/10

★ 4.4 · 440 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees

What stands out

  • Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
  • Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
  • Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
  • enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsArmenia guide names no entity. From $199/month, a global price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Borderless AI

A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.

7.3/10

★ 4.8 · 205 reviews

EOR price
$579/mo
Coverage
170+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboarding as fast as 24 hours
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, PIPEDA
Support
24/7 in-house support; dedicated Canada-based contact

What stands out

  • Published flat pricing for all three core products ($579 EOR / $49 contractor / $29 payroll), no 'contact sales' gating
  • No security deposit or salary pre-funding required for EOR, unlike vendors citing $7,000-$20,000 deposits
  • SOC 2 Type II certified with a public trust center; fast-claimed onboarding (24-48 hours)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
  • companies requiring a dedicated, separately-branded Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsArmenia guide names no entity and notes that sources disagree on employer contributions. $579/month EOR plan, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Pebl

A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 603 reviews

EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts

What stands out

  • 12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
  • SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
  • Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
  • teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsShort Armenia page with a contact form and no entity named. $399/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Safeguard Global

One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.

7.5/10

★ 4.2 · 141 reviews

EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR

What stands out

  • Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
  • 1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
  • NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management

Not a fit for

  • buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
  • teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsSays onboarding can take one to two weeks; names no entity. No price published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesNot a fit for
1 Remote 8.4 $699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing) 90+ teams needing the widest possible country list
2 Deel 8.7 from $599/mo per employee 150+ very small or strictly budget-first teams
3 Playroll 7.6 $399 per employee/month (no minimum) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
4 Rivermate 7.6 From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
5 Remote People 7.8 From $199/mo per employee 150+ buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
6 Multiplier 8.4 Starting at $400 per month 150+ buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
7 Skuad 8 Starting from $199 per employee/month 160+ buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
8 Native Teams 7.9 Starts at $99/per employee per month 95+ buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
9 G-P (Globalization Partners) 8.3 From $599/mo per employee 180+ price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
10 RemoFirst 7.8 Starts at $199 per employee/month 185+ buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
11 Borderless AI 7.3 $579/mo 170+ buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
12 Pebl 7.8 $399/mo per employee 185+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
13 Safeguard Global 7.5 On request 187+ buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call

What it costs to employ someone in Armenia through an EOR

The statutory cost on top of gross pay is zero, so the figure to budget is the gross salary. The employer is a large-payroll EOR entity in Yerevan with a tax-resident office or IT employee born after 1973, on an indefinite contract. Gross pay is AMD 18,000,000 and AMD 36,000,000 a year (AMD 1,500,000 and AMD 3,000,000 a month), about USD 49,733 and USD 99,467 at 1 USD = AMD 361.93, the Central Bank’s official rate dated 2026-10-09 (cba.am, checked 2026-10-10).

Stacked bars: a gross salary of AMD 18,000,000 splits into net pay AMD 13,040,400, income tax AMD 3,600,000, pension AMD 1,050,000 and stamp duty plus health AMD 309,600; AMD 36,000,000 splits into AMD 27,440,400, AMD 7,200,000, AMD 1,050,000 and AMD 309,600. All of it is withheld from gross.
Where the gross salary goes. Income tax, pension, stamp duty and the health contribution are withheld from the employee’s gross, not added to it, so the employer’s statutory cost is the gross itself. Sick pay, severance and the EOR fee are not included. Source: pwc.com, checked 2026-10-10.
Gross salaryEmployer statutory costComponents
AMD 18,000,000AMD 0Memo, withheld from gross: income tax 20% = 3,600,000; pension (10% x 1,125,000 - 25,000 = 87,500 a month, capped) x 12 = 1,050,000; stamp duty 15,000 x 12 = 180,000; health insurance 10,800 x 12 = 129,600; net pay 13,040,400
AMD 36,000,000AMD 0Memo, withheld from gross: income tax 20% = 7,200,000; pension 87,500 x 12 = 1,050,000 (cap reached); stamp duty 180,000; health insurance 129,600; net pay 27,440,400

Not included: employer-paid sick pay for the first five working days (law-firm source, not checked against the law), leave pay, severance, any EOR-specific insurance and the AMD 105,000 state fee for a foreigner’s residence card. The 10% income tax rate for certified high-tech companies is not applied, since an EOR is not one.

The EOR’s own fee comes on top. On an Armenian page Deel shows a management fee from $599 a month and Remote $699 per employee a month. Global list prices for the others run from $99 (Native Teams) to $639 a month (top of Rivermate’s range); Safeguard Global publishes none. Deel’s Armenia page also lists an employer liability cost of 0.60%, described as an administration fee.

Hidden costs: none published. No provider we checked publishes a setup fee, deposit, minimum term or termination fee for Armenia. Treat a blank as unpublished, not zero.

When you don’t need an EOR

Decision tree: if the person does not work under your direction, engage them as a contractor. If they do and are a non-EAEU foreigner, an Armenian employer must apply: an EOR entity or your own entity. Otherwise an EOR fits, with its basis in writing.
Only an Armenian employer can apply for a foreigner’s residence, and a court can treat a civil-law contract as employment in substance. Source: Migration and Citizenship Service, Labour Code, checked 2026-10-10.
  • A genuinely independent contractor. A freelancer invoicing a foreign client usually registers as an individual entrepreneur; the turnover-tax regime for services is 10% of turnover, open to those under AMD 115,000,000 a year (pwc.com, checked 2026-10-10). See how to pay contractors in Armenia and our hiring guide. The risk is on the contractor side too: where a court finds an employment relationship under a civil-law contract, labour legislation applies (art. 7(6)). See contractor misclassification and EOR vs PEO.
  • Your own entity. The route if you want to be the Armenian employer on a work permit yourself. A vendor guide says registering a company takes 2-3 working days through the register (playroll.com, checked 2026-10-10).
  • Employing without any entity. Labour law does not cover a foreign employer’s relationship with an employee who does not live permanently in Armenia (art. 7(5)), but applies where the employee is Armenian-resident (art. 7(4)). Whether a foreign client can employ an Armenian-resident person directly without registration, and the tax-agent consequences, we did not analyse; see permanent establishment.

What changed in 2026

  • 2025-12-25: the employee health insurance contribution becomes mandatory above AMD 200,000 gross a month (AMD 4,800 up to AMD 500,000, AMD 10,800 above); stamp duty is cut to AMD 1,000 up to AMD 1,000,000 and AMD 15,000 above, from December 2025 salary (pwc.com, checked 2026-10-10). The universal health insurance system itself entered into force on 2026-01-01 (Schneider Group, checked 2026-10-10).
  • 2026-01-01: individual entrepreneurs pay AMD 129,600 a year of mandatory health insurance if 2025 turnover exceeded AMD 2,400,000, and stamp duty falls to AMD 12,000 a year up to AMD 12,000,000 of turnover (easylife.am, checked 2026-10-10).
  • 2026-01-01: the minimum wage stays at AMD 75,000; no rise to AMD 85,000 has been enacted that we found.
  • February 2026: Labour Code amendments move hiring, changes and termination of employment to a centralised digital system from 2027-07-01, with paper contracts kept in a few cases, such as a person outside Armenia working outside Armenia (Chambers, checked 2026-10-10). Dates differ across sources: Vardanyan & Partners says 2026-01-01; we use Concern Dialog’s date and did not read the law.
  • 2026-11-01: amendments to the Law on Foreigners and the Law on State Duty take effect. Annual government quotas replace the labour-market test; a Work Entry Visa lasts up to 120 days, once per calendar year; a contract with a foreigner may be signed only after an electronic confirmation on the unified platform; exemptions narrow; residence may be revoked if no new contract is registered within 15 working days after dismissal; new fees apply. This is from EY’s alert and law-firm summaries; we did not read the law (EY, checked 2026-10-10).

Numbers vendors haven’t updated

  • Minimum wage. In force: AMD 75,000 gross a month since 2023-01-01. Deel’s Armenia page names AMD 68,000; Remote People’s guide gives AMD 85,000 from 2026, citing ARKA; Remote’s, Multiplier’s and Skuad’s pages give AMD 75,000 (deel.com, remotepeople.com, checked 2026-10-10).
  • Income tax. Deel’s page says “flat 21% in 2022” and 20% from 2023; the rate in our sources is 20% (deel.com, pwc.com, checked 2026-10-10).
  • Employer contributions. Borderless AI’s guide notes that “one source indicates 0% employer contributions, while another states 21%”; our sources show none borne by the employer (hireborderless.com, checked 2026-10-10).
  • Overtime. G-P’s page says night and overtime work is paid double; the Labour Code sets at least 50% extra for overtime and 30% for night work, and double for consented work on rest days and holidays (globalization-partners.com, Labour Code, checked 2026-10-10).
  • Work permits. G-P’s page says foreigners need no work permit; the Migration and Citizenship Service describes employment-based residence for foreigners outside the EAEU (globalization-partners.com, Migration Service, checked 2026-10-10).
  • Public holidays. G-P’s page gives 10 and Playroll’s lists 15. We did not confirm the list from the law, so we don’t say which is right.

How we built this page

Data was collected and checked on 2026-10-10 against the Labour Code in the English consolidated text current to 2023-10-25, PwC tax summaries, the Migration and Citizenship Service and law-firm material; amendments after the Code edition are known only from Concern Dialog and law firms. Provider entities were searched in the Armenian company register by name where possible, and the open record doesn’t show founders, so otherwise entity claims rest on the providers’ own pages. Providers are ordered with the one that states its own entity first, then the rest by how much Armenia-specific information and price they publish. No provider pays for placement.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Employer of Record cost in Armenia?

Two layers. The statutory layer on top of gross pay is zero: income tax, pension, stamp duty and the health contribution are all withheld from the employee, so AMD 18,000,000 gross (about USD 49,733) costs AMD 18,000,000 before the EOR fee. The fee comes on top: list prices in our table run from $99 to $699 per month, and two providers show a price on an Armenian page (Deel from $599, Remote $699).

Is Employer of Record legal in Armenia?

It is a grey area. The Labour Code has no agency-work, labour-leasing or employer-licence rules, and any company registered in Armenia can be an employer, so an EOR can employ on an ordinary contract. We found no law-firm, Big4 or regulator commentary on EOR, and we read the Code to its 2023-10-25 edition.

Which EOR providers have a company in Armenia?

One of the 13 says so: Remote, with Local Terms naming Remote Armenia LLC and a registered number matching a register entry. Four more (Multiplier, Skuad, Native Teams, G-P) have an Armenian company with their name in the register but don't state it; the other eight name none. Founders are not visible in the open register record.

What is the cheapest EOR in Armenia?

Among prices on an Armenian page, Deel is lower at $599 a month against Remote's $699. Global list prices go lower, to $99 a month at Native Teams, then $199 at Skuad, RemoFirst and Remote People. Ask which Armenian company employs your hire before comparing fees.

What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Armenia?

Reclassification and tax presence. A court can apply labour law to a contract styled as civil-law (art. 7(6)), and PwC puts the service permanent establishment threshold at 183 days in a tax year; whether EOR workers count is not addressed in the sources we found. Late salary carries a fine of 0.15% of the sum due per day.

Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Armenia?

If the person works independently, yes: see [how to pay contractors in Armenia](/software/contractor-payouts/armenia/) and [our hiring guide](/hire-contractors/armenia/). A person who works under your direction like staff is employment in substance, and a court can treat it so. See [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/).

Can an EOR in Armenia sponsor a work visa?

The applicant is the employer, which must be registered in Armenia, so an Armenian EOR entity can apply and a foreign company with no Armenian registration cannot. The state fee is AMD 105,000. From 2026-11-01 annual quotas, a 120-day work entry visa and an electronic confirmation before the contract apply, per EY and law firms; we did not read the law.

What is the minimum wage in Armenia in 2026?

AMD 75,000 gross a month, unchanged since 2023-01-01, when it rose from AMD 68,000. A rise to AMD 85,000 appears in the government programme according to secondary sources; we found no enacted increase as of 2026-10-10.

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. Remote global-hr/hire-international-contractorsglobal-hr/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsglobal-hr/remote-api 20 August 2026
  2. Deel solutions/payroll/contractorsemployer-of-recorddocs/payouts 20 August 2026
  3. Playroll contractor-managementemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  4. Rivermate contractor-of-recordrivermate.com 20 August 2026
  5. Remote People contractor-managementcontractor-of-recordemployer-of-record 30 September 2026
  6. Multiplier solutions/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsproduct/contractor-management-systemproduct/employer-of-record-services 20 August 2026
  7. Skuad platform/contractor-paymentsplatform/international-contractorsemployer-of-recordhelp-center/how-to-bulk-pay-contractor-invoices 20 August 2026
  8. Native Teams pricingemployer-of-recordwallet 20 August 2026
  9. G-P (Globalization Partners) contractorglobalization-partners.comglobal-teams/global-payroll 30 September 2026
  10. RemoFirst global-contractor-paymentsinternational-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  11. Borderless AI pricingglobal-contractor-managementhireborderless.com 30 September 2026
  12. Pebl eor-pricing 30 September 2026
  13. Safeguard Global solutions/contractor-managementcompany/about-us 30 September 2026

How we researched this page

13 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error