Employer of Record in Spain: 19 Providers Compared (2026)

Employer of Record in Spain: your company, the EOR entity in Spain and your hire

Employer of Record sits in a legal grey area in Spain. There’s no EOR-specific statute, but Article 43 of the Estatuto de los Trabajadores bans supplying workers to another company’s direction unless the supplier holds an ETT (temporary-staffing) licence under Ley 14/1994 — and of the vendors checked here, only Safeguard Global’s Spanish entity carries that licence by name (BOE, checked 2026-09-30). Employing someone costs roughly 32% of gross salary in employer Social Security contributions — about EUR 12,860/year on a EUR 40,000 salary — plus the EOR’s own fee: global list prices run from about $199 to $599 a month, and Deel’s Spain-specific quote is near €516/month. What sets Spain apart is the 14-payment pay year: 12 ordinary months plus two mandatory “pagas extraordinarias.”

Boundless has publicly stopped offering EOR in Spain, citing this same cesión ilegal risk and the 2022 closure of a shorter ETT workaround (Boundless, checked 2026-09-30); Borderless AI still offers EOR here but discusses the risk openly on its own Spain page.

EOR fits a company that wants one employee in Spain quickly and accepts that courts, not the contract’s label, decide whether the arrangement is genuine employment. It’s a weaker fit if certainty matters more: a vendor’s licensed ETT entity, a direct Spanish entity, or a genuinely independent contractor each carry a clearer legal basis than an unlicensed EOR arrangement.

Employing someone in Spain: key facts

Spanish employment law runs on national statute (the Estatuto de los Trabajadores) with almost no regional variation in the rules below — the one exception is public holidays, where each autonomous community and municipality adds its own days.

Minimum wage

The Salario Mínimo Interprofesional (SMI) is set once a year for the whole country — there is no regional minimum wage in Spain.

JurisdictionMonthly (14 payments)If prorated over 12Annual equivalentSource
Spain (SMI 2026)EUR 1,221.00EUR 1,424.50EUR 17,094/yearBOE, checked 2026-09-30
Line chart 2021-2026: Spain's SMI rose from EUR 965.00/month (from September 2021 only) to EUR 1,221.00/month in 2026.
Monthly SMI on the statutory 14-payment basis. Every year’s rise took effect retroactively from 1 January, except 2021, where the only increase that year took effect from 1 September. Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30.

Employer contributions

Rates below are for Régimen General, an indefinite contract, office/administrative staff — the “Cuadro II” work-accident rate applies only to roles working exclusively in an office.

ContributionEmployer rateNotesSource
Contingencias comunes23.60%General Social Security baseBOE, checked 2026-09-30
Desempleo (unemployment)5.50%6.70% on temporary contractsBOE, checked 2026-09-30
FOGASA0.20%Wage-guarantee fundBOE, checked 2026-09-30
Formación profesional0.60%Vocational trainingBOE, checked 2026-09-30
MEI0.75%Intergenerational equity mechanism, phased in since 2023BOE, checked 2026-09-30
AT/EP (office-only staff)1.50%Flat “Cuadro II” rate, regardless of the company’s actual activity codeReal Decreto-ley 16/2025, checked 2026-09-30
Total (office role)≈32.15%Up to the EUR 5,101.20 monthly contribution cap; a progressive “cuota de solidaridad” (0.96%/1.04%/1.22%) applies to pay above itBOE, checked 2026-09-30

MEI is the only one of these six contributions that has actually moved since 2021 — it was introduced in 2023 and has risen each year on a fixed glide path.

Working hours and overtime

  • Standard working time: 40 hours/week, averaged annually (Art. 34.1 ET) — collective agreements may set a shorter figure.
  • Overtime is capped at 80 hours/year (Art. 35.2 ET), reduced pro-rata for part-time work.
  • The law sets no fixed overtime surcharge, only that the per-hour value can’t be lower than an ordinary hour, but most collective agreements set around a 75% premium; it can also be compensated with paid rest within 4 months.

Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30.

Annual leave and public holidays

  • Annual leave: minimum 30 calendar days/year (Art. 38.1 ET) — not “working days,” and not payable in lieu except on termination.
  • Public holidays: 14 paid days/year under the national framework — up to 9 set nationally (2 of which each autonomous community may substitute), plus up to 2 community and 2 municipal holidays.
  • Madrid’s 2026 calendar runs 14 holidays in total, including 2 city-specific days (San Isidro, La Almudena).

Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30; Comunidad de Madrid, checked 2026-09-30.

Probation

Employee typeMaximum probation
Qualified technicians (“técnicos titulados”)6 months
Other employees2 months (3 months in companies under 25 staff)
Fixed-term contracts up to 6 months1 month

Must be agreed in writing; collective agreements may set shorter periods. Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30.

Notice and severance

Dismissal typeEmployer noticeSeverance
Ordinary/disciplinary (justified)None requiredNone
Objective dismissal (economic/organisational grounds)15 calendar days20 days’ salary/year of service, capped at 12 months
Unfair dismissal (contracts from 2012 on)—33 days’ salary/year of service, capped at 24 months

For contracts predating 12 February 2012, the pre-2012 period is compensated at 45 days/year and the post-2012 period at 33 days/year, added together, still capped at 24 months overall. Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30.

13th salary and bonuses

  • Mandatory: a minimum of 2 extra statutory payments/year (“pagas extraordinarias,” summer and Christmas), each at least 30 days of base salary plus seniority supplements — a 14-payment year, one of the few EU countries with this floor.
  • May be prorated into the 12 monthly payments only if the applicable collective agreement or an individual agreement allows it.

Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30.

Mandatory benefits

  • Universal public healthcare, funded through general taxation and Social Security contributions, not a separate per-employee premium.
  • Employer-paid AT/EP work-accident cover is part of the Social Security contribution mix above, not a separate private policy.
  • No legally mandated private health, life or pension insurance; private medical cover is a common market perk, not a statutory requirement.

Source: Seguridad Social, checked 2026-09-30.

Work permits

  • EU, EEA and Swiss nationals need no work permit.
  • Non-EU hires generally need an “autorización de residencia temporal y trabajo por cuenta ajena,” filed by the employer (not the worker) with the provincial Oficina de Extranjería; initial authorisation runs up to 1 year, tied to a specific employer, job and usually location. Resolution deadline is 3 months; administrative silence counts as a refusal.
  • The Digital Nomad Visa (Ley 28/2022) covers non-EU remote employees or contractors of companies established outside Spain, with income at or above 200% of SMI (around EUR 2,442/month in 2026).

Source: Ministerio de Trabajo, checked 2026-09-30.

Currency and payroll

  • Currency: Euro (EUR).
  • Monthly pay is standard, but Spain runs a 14-payment system — 12 ordinary payments plus 2 mandatory “pagas extraordinarias” (Art. 31 ET) — unless an agreement allows prorating them into the 12 monthly payments.
  • For Social Security contribution-base purposes, the two extra payments are always prorated across 12 months regardless of actual pay frequency (Art. 147 LGSS).

Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30.

Grey area. Spain has no EOR-specific statute. Article 43 of the Estatuto de los Trabajadores bans any company from supplying its workers to another company’s direction and control (“cesión ilegal de trabajadores”) unless it’s a duly licensed Empresa de Trabajo Temporal (ETT) under Ley 14/1994. In plain terms: a company can lawfully put its own workers under a client’s day-to-day direction only if it holds that specific staffing licence. EOR providers don’t hold an ETT licence — the model is built as an indefinite, direct-employment relationship, not a temporary “puesta a disposición” — so Spanish courts and the Labour Inspectorate look past the contract’s label to who actually directs, supervises, disciplines and integrates the worker, to decide whether an EOR arrangement is really a disguised, illegal transfer of workers (BOE, checked 2026-09-30).

A 2024 EU court ruling has widened the exposure. In Omnitel Comunicaciones (CJEU, Case C-441/23, 24 October 2024), the Grand Chamber held that a company can be classed as a temporary-work agency under EU law based on control and direction over the worker, with no administrative authorisation required — Spanish commentators read this as a possible opening for EOR-type arrangements, but as of 2026-09-30 Spanish domestic law and administrative practice haven’t changed to reflect it (EUR-Lex, checked 2026-09-30).

If an arrangement is reclassified, the consequences fall on the client, not only the EOR:

  • Joint and several liability. The client and the EOR become jointly liable for all wage and Social Security obligations toward the worker, including retroactive amounts (Art. 43.3 ET).
  • The worker’s election. The affected worker can choose to become a permanent employee of either the EOR or the client, at the worker’s own election (Art. 43.4 ET) — the client can’t pre-empt this by contract.
  • Fines. Illegal transfer of workers is a “very serious” infringement under the LISOS, reported to carry fines from EUR 7,501 to EUR 225,018 depending on severity (economistjurist.es; lawants.com, checked 2026-09-30).

No litigated Spanish court case specifically targeting an EOR (as opposed to a classic PEO/ETT dispute) has been found as of 2026-09-30 — the grey-area verdict rests on legal commentary about how Art. 43 would likely apply, not a settled judgment.

Who actually employs your hire in Spain

Vendors describe their Spain operation inconsistently — some name an owned entity outright, most say nothing at all. Here’s what each vendor’s own Spain-facing page, or a public registry, actually shows:

ProviderEmployer in SpainEvidenceSpain EOR price
DeelOwn entityDeel, checked 2026-09-30€6,195/year (~€516/mo)
Safeguard GlobalOwn entity (ETT-licensed)Registry, checked 2026-09-30Not published
JustworksOwn entityHelp center, checked 2026-09-30$599/month (global list)
Atlas HXMOwn entityAtlas HXM, checked 2026-09-30$599/month (global list)
G-POwn entityG-P Globalpedia, checked 2026-09-30$599/month (global list)
RemoteOwn entityRemote, checked 2026-09-30Not published
OysterOwn entityOyster, checked 2026-09-30Not published
RemoFirstPartnerRemoFirst, checked 2026-09-30From $199/month (global list)
SkuadNot disclosedSkuad, checked 2026-09-30$249/month (discounted from $399)
Borderless AINot disclosedBorderless AI, checked 2026-09-30$579/month (global list)
Remote PeopleNot disclosedRemote People, checked 2026-09-30From $199/month (global list)
PlayrollNot disclosedPlayroll, checked 2026-09-30Not published
RivermateNot disclosedRivermate, checked 2026-09-30Not published
MultiplierNot disclosedMultiplier, checked 2026-09-30Not published
RipplingNot disclosedRippling, checked 2026-09-30Not published
Papaya GlobalNot disclosedPapaya Global, checked 2026-09-30Not published
RemotePassNot disclosedRemotePass, checked 2026-09-30Not published
Native TeamsNot disclosedNative Teams, checked 2026-09-30Not published
PeblNot disclosedPebl, checked 2026-09-30Not published
Bar chart: 7 providers confirm their own Spanish entity, 1 says it works through a partner, 11 don't disclose which.
Own entity means a vendor statement about its Spanish entity, or a registry record; a global ‘owned + partner network’ line counts as not disclosed. Source: vendor country pages and Registro Mercantil Central, checked 2026-09-30.

Eleven of these 19 don’t say whether Spain is served by their own entity or a partner’s. That matters more here than in most countries: given Article 43’s licensing requirement, whoever actually employs the worker also carries the cesión ilegal exposure. Before signing, ask the vendor directly: “Is the entity that will employ my hire in Spain yours, is it a licensed ETT, and can you name it?”

How to choose an EOR in Spain

Worried specifically about the cesión ilegal risk? Safeguard Global is the only vendor here whose Spanish entity’s own registered name declares ETT status — the licence Article 43 actually requires for lawfully supplying workers, rather than the general consulting or HR-provision registration every other checked vendor uses.

Want a provider that addresses the risk openly rather than staying silent? Borderless AI’s own Spain page discusses cesión ilegal de trabajadores directly, cites a 2025 Madrid court ruling, and says it may recommend an ETT route to some clients instead of its own EOR service.

Weighing the lowest headline price? Skuad discloses $249/month, the lowest Spain-specific figure in this set — but its own Spanish entity is registered under the code for a placement agency, not the one used for a licensed ETT, which is worth raising before signing.

Hiring a non-EU national who needs a work permit? No vendor here confirms by name that it can be the sponsoring employer for Spain’s residence-and-work authorisation — general Spanish immigration rules require a compliant, registered employer, but no source ties that specifically to an EOR. Confirm this directly with whichever vendor you choose.

All 19 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

Deel

The broadest all-in-one platform — EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor management and global payroll under one roof, with deep country coverage.

8.7/10

★ 4.8 · 28k reviews

EOR price
from $599/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Entity model
130 owned
Time to hire
As little as 1 day
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • 150+ country reach with 130+ owned entities
  • covers EOR, COR, contractor management and payroll
  • strong security & compliance certifications

Not a fit for

  • very small or strictly budget-first teams
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsIts own Spain-specific cost comparison gives €6,195/year from a stated wholly-owned entity — though two Deel entities exist in Spain.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Safeguard Global

One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.

7.5/10

★ 4.2 · 141 reviews

EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR

What stands out

  • Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
  • 1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
  • NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management

Not a fit for

  • buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
  • teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsThe only vendor here whose Spanish entity's own name declares ETT status — the actual licence Article 43 requires for lawfully supplying workers.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Justworks

Primarily a US PEO and payroll platform — audited (SOC 1/2, ESAC, IRS CPEO) — with a newer, smaller EOR product covering 43 documented countries at a flat $599/employee/month.

7.0/10

★ 4.6 · 1101 reviews

EOR price
$599/mo per employee
Coverage
43+ countries
Time to hire
A few days to two weeks (vendor claim)
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2, ESAC Accredited (PEO), IRS-Certified PEO (CPEO, since 2017)
Support
24/7 for PEO plans; EOR SLA not separately published

What stands out

  • Long-established, independently audited US operator (SOC 1/2, ESAC-accredited, IRS CPEO since 2017; founded 2012)
  • Flat, fully disclosed EOR price with no setup fees or minimums
  • Strong support reputation: 4.6/5 aggregate rating cited on its own EOR page (1,101 ratings)

Not a fit for

  • companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries
  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not contractor payouts only
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsLists Spain by name among roughly 24 countries where it says it holds its own local entity; its Spain guide repeats the $599/month global price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Atlas HXM

A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.

7.7/10

★ 4.2 · 101 reviews

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages

What stands out

  • 160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
  • Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
  • AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
  • companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsCalls itself a '100% direct EOR' with wholly-owned entities in its own Spain-titled article, though it only cites the global $599/month list price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

G-P (Globalization Partners)

The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.

8.3/10

★ 4.4

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
Certifications
SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018
Support
24/7 AI support (G-P Assist); human hours not stated

What stands out

  • Founded 2012 — the longest track record among EOR vendors reviewed so far
  • Broadest certification stack checked: SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001, GDPR
  • 156 countries with a dedicated Globalpedia EOR guide; flat $599/employee/month fee confirmed across sampled countries

Not a fit for

  • price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
  • buyers needing a true Contractor of Record, not payment/classification tooling
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsStates it employs staff in Spain 'through our legal entities' and cites a flat $599/month price — its global list rate, not Spain-specific.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote

A compliance-first EOR built on 100% owned entities — fewer countries, but no third-party handoffs.

8.4/10

★ 4.4 · 97 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing)
Coverage
90+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
2 days (average)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR Level 1, GDPR
Support
24/7 chatbot; live agent Mon-Fri

What stands out

  • 100% owned entities, no third-party partners
  • strong certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR, GDPR)
  • transparent per-product pricing

Not a fit for

  • teams needing the widest possible country list
  • lowest-price seekers
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsSays it owns its Spanish legal entity, backed by a registry record, but discloses no Spain-specific price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Oyster

A B-Corp EOR focused on simplicity and ethical global hiring — strong for mid-size teams.

8.3/10

★ 4.3 · 1871 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee
Coverage
120+ countries
Time to hire
As fast as 48 hours
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, B-Corp
Support
Response within 24h

What stands out

  • B-Corp certified
  • 120+ EOR countries with a 48-hour onboarding claim
  • contractor payments in 120+ currencies

Not a fit for

  • teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
  • buyers who require a disclosed entity model
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsSays it employs through 'our local entity' in Spain, confirmed by registry, but its page's minimum-wage figure is a year out of date.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemoFirst

A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.

7.8/10

★ 4.4 · 440 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees

What stands out

  • Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
  • Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
  • Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
  • enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsThe only vendor here describing itself as partner-based rather than owning a Spanish entity; its Spain figures also use an outdated minimum wage.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Skuad

A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.

8.0/10

★ 4.6 · 312 reviews

EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated

What stands out

  • broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
  • published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
  • payroll in 70 currencies

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsCheapest disclosed Spain price, $249/month discounted from $399 — but its own Spanish entity is registered as a staffing agency, not a licensed ETT.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Borderless AI

A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.

7.3/10

★ 4.8 · 205 reviews

EOR price
$579/mo
Coverage
170+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboarding as fast as 24 hours
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, PIPEDA
Support
24/7 in-house support; dedicated Canada-based contact

What stands out

  • Published flat pricing for all three core products ($579 EOR / $49 contractor / $29 payroll), no 'contact sales' gating
  • No security deposit or salary pre-funding required for EOR, unlike vendors citing $7,000-$20,000 deposits
  • SOC 2 Type II certified with a public trust center; fast-claimed onboarding (24-48 hours)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
  • companies requiring a dedicated, separately-branded Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsThe only vendor discussing cesión ilegal de trabajadores on its own Spain page, citing a 2025 Madrid ruling and advising some clients toward an ETT.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote People

A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 495 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)

What stands out

  • Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
  • Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
  • Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation

Not a fit for

  • buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
  • teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsLists global EOR Flex from $199/month and Plus from $399/month; its Spain page cites a minimum wage figure a year out of date.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Playroll

A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.7 · 209 reviews

EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5

What stands out

  • Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
  • Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
  • Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsIts Spain guide gives only a market-wide fee range, €300–€800/month, not its own price, and repeats last year's minimum-wage figure.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rivermate

A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.4 · 391 reviews

EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
  • Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
  • Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
  • buyers needing equity/ESOP administration
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsPublishes no Spain price, but states EU/EEA/Swiss hires onboard in 1–2 days and flags 20-day average work-permit processing for others.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Multiplier

A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.

8.4/10

★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022

What stands out

  • EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
  • dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
  • published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
  • buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsIts Spain page makes no entity claim at all, and a registry listing for its named Spanish entity appears marked inactive.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rippling

A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.

8.3/10

★ 4.8 · 23k reviews

EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2

What stands out

  • EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
  • unified HR, IT and Finance platform
  • broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
  • hiring employees outside the 80 EOR markets
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsDiscusses EOR against opening your own entity and notes Spain's constitutional data-privacy right, but discloses no Spain entity or price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Papaya Global

A payroll- and payments-led global workforce platform for enterprises, with EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries and a published 'from $599/mo per employee' EOR price — strongest when payroll depth, payments control and pricing transparency matter.

8.2/10

★ 4.3 · 154 reviews

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
40 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA stated
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II

What stands out

  • EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries
  • published EOR price (from $599/mo per employee) plus tiered payroll pricing — unusually transparent for the category
  • owns/operates EOR entities in 40 countries and contractor (AOR) entities in 180

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
  • those needing a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsCovers EOR generically for Spain without naming its own entity; a registry entity under its name has an unrelated PR/communications purpose.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemotePass

A global HR and payroll platform with a notable focus on the Middle East, Africa and other emerging markets. RemotePass covers EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record, contractor management and local payroll across 150 countries, and is one of the few in this set to publish list pricing.

7.9/10

★ 4.4 · 804 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax)
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Onboard new team members within days
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR

What stands out

  • dedicated Contractor of Record that explicitly addresses worker-misclassification risk
  • published per-seat pricing for EOR ($349), CoR ($299), Local Payroll ($15) and Contractors ($39)
  • strong MENA/emerging-markets coverage incl. KSA and UAE, with visa sponsorship and relocation

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
  • buyers requiring ISO 27001 or SOC 1 attestations stated up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsPublishes a 29.9% employer-cost figure for Spain and recommends EOR as the 'best model' here, without naming its own entity.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Native Teams

A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.

7.9/10

★ 4.7 · 367 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS

What stands out

  • EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
  • transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
  • dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
  • teams needing a guaranteed onboarding SLA in days
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsClaims wholly-owned entities in 95+ countries globally, but its Spain page discloses no country-specific entity or price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Pebl

A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 603 reviews

EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts

What stands out

  • 12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
  • SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
  • Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
  • teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsIts Spain page states no entity model; a Spanish registry entity may be its post-Velocity-Global vehicle, but the link isn't confirmed.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesNot a fit for
1 Deel 8.7 from $599/mo per employee 150+ very small or strictly budget-first teams
2 Safeguard Global 7.5 On request 187+ buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
3 Justworks 7 $599/mo per employee 43+ companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries
4 Atlas HXM 7.7 From $599/mo per employee 160+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
5 G-P (Globalization Partners) 8.3 From $599/mo per employee 180+ price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
6 Remote 8.4 $699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing) 90+ teams needing the widest possible country list
7 Oyster 8.3 $699/mo per employee 120+ teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
8 RemoFirst 7.8 Starts at $199 per employee/month 185+ buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
9 Skuad 8 Starting from $199 per employee/month 160+ buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
10 Borderless AI 7.3 $579/mo 170+ buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
11 Remote People 7.8 From $199/mo per employee 150+ buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
12 Playroll 7.6 $399 per employee/month (no minimum) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
13 Rivermate 7.6 From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
14 Multiplier 8.4 Starting at $400 per month 150+ buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
15 Rippling 8.3 Custom quote 80+ buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
16 Papaya Global 8.2 From $599/mo per employee 160+ buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
17 RemotePass 7.9 Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax) 150+ buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
18 Native Teams 7.9 Starts at $99/per employee per month 95+ buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
19 Pebl 7.8 $399/mo per employee 185+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management

What it costs to employ someone in Spain through an EOR

Figures below assume a Madrid-based, office/administrative role on an indefinite contract under the Régimen General, 2026 rates — employer Social Security contributions only, excluding the EOR’s own fee, voluntary benefits and IRPF withholding (which falls on the employee, not the employer).

Stacked bars: on EUR 40,000 gross, employer cost is EUR 12,860 (32.2% of salary); on EUR 80,000, EUR 19,871 (24.8%), once pay is capped at the EUR 61,214 maximum contribution base.
Employer-side Social Security contributions only, before the EOR’s own fee. The EUR 80,000 example is capped at the 2026 maximum monthly base (EUR 5,101.20) plus a progressive ‘cuota de solidaridad’ on the excess. Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30.
Gross annual salaryEmployer statutory costComponents
EUR 40,000EUR 12,860.00/yearBelow the EUR 5,101.20 monthly cap — no cuota de solidaridad. 32.15% flat: contingencias comunes ≈9,440, desempleo ≈2,200, FOGASA ≈80, FP ≈240, MEI ≈300, AT/EP ≈600
EUR 80,000EUR 19,870.91/yearMonthly gross (EUR 6,666.67) exceeds the cap, so the base is capped at EUR 61,214.40/year (≈EUR 19,680.43 at 32.15%), plus ≈EUR 190.48 cuota de solidaridad on the excess

Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30. MEI is the only one of these contributions that has moved since 2021 — it was introduced in 2023 and has risen on a fixed glide path since, from 0% to 0.75% employer share by 2026; the other five rates have stayed flat across the same period.

The EOR’s own fee is on top of the above. Published Spain-specific figures in our data range from $249/month (Skuad, discounted from $399) to €6,195/year (≈€516/month) at Deel; G-P, Atlas HXM and Justworks quote a flat $599/month, which is their global list price restated on their Spain pages rather than a Spain-specific number. Safeguard Global, Remote, Oyster, Multiplier, Papaya Global, Rippling, Native Teams, RemotePass, Playroll, Rivermate and Pebl publish no Spain price at all.

Hidden costs, where actually published: Borderless AI states no setup fee and no security deposit — “$0” against an industry norm it cites of $7,000–$20,000. RemoFirst states no setup fee, no minimum term and no termination fee, though these are global claims, not Spain-specific. No other vendor in this set discloses a setup fee, deposit, minimum term or termination fee for Spain — where the table above shows nothing, treat it as unpublished, not zero.

When you don’t need an EOR

Decision tree: if the person won't work under your direction like staff, engage them as a contractor. If they will and the provider can show a licensed ETT entity, use that EOR. Otherwise, use your own Spanish entity.
Article 43 ET makes the provider’s actual licensing status the second question, not an afterthought — an EOR without a licensed ETT entity carries the cesión ilegal risk described above.
  • A genuinely independent contractor. Cheaper and closer to the real relationship if the person sets their own hours and tools and can serve other clients. See how to pay contractors in Spain and our hiring guide.
  • Your own Spanish entity. The route with the clearest legal footing if the arrangement looks like ordinary, client-directed employment — it removes the cesión ilegal question entirely, at the cost of setting up and running payroll yourself.

What changed in 2026

  • 2026-01-01 — SMI rises 3.1% to EUR 1,221.00/month on 14 payments (EUR 17,094/year); published 2026-02-19 with retroactive effect to 1 January.
  • 2026-01-01 — New Social Security contribution order: MEI rises to 0.90% total (0.75% employer share); maximum monthly contribution base rises to EUR 5,101.20, from EUR 4,909.50 in 2025; cuota de solidaridad brackets on pay above that base also rise.
  • 2026-01-01 — AT/EP work-accident contributions are re-mapped to the new CNAE-2025 activity classification; the office-only (“Cuadro II”) rate carries over unchanged at 1.50% — this is a reclassification, not a new 2026 increase in the rate itself.
  • 2026 (exact date unconfirmed) — A stricter, digital/interoperable “registro horario” (time-tracking) regulation was in urgent parliamentary processing, with press reports pointing to a possible summer-2026 entry into force; final enactment couldn’t be confirmed as of 2026-09-30.

Source: BOE, checked 2026-09-30.

Numbers vendors haven’t updated

  • Oyster, RemoFirst, Playroll and Remote People all state the SMI as EUR 1,184/month on 14 payments — the 2025 rate. The actual 2026 rate is EUR 1,221/month (BOE, checked 2026-09-30).
  • Deel states the SMI as EUR 1,262.28/month — a figure that doesn’t match either the 2025 or the 2026 official rate.
  • Skuad states a minimum annual wage of EUR 14,000/year — the 2022 annual SMI figure, three years out of date against 2026’s EUR 17,094/year.

How we built this page

Facts were collected and checked on 2026-09-30 against the BOE (Spain’s official gazette), the Ministerio de Trabajo and Comunidad de Madrid’s published calendar. Vendor entity claims were checked against Spanish commercial registries where one could be found and matched to an EOR-relevant activity code, and against each vendor’s own Spain-facing page otherwise; where a vendor states only a global entity model, we recorded Spain as not disclosed rather than assuming. The ranking above puts confirmed, Spain-specific own entities first, with a licensed ETT entity ranked above an unlicensed one given Article 43’s requirements. Nobody pays for placement on this page.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Employer of Record cost in Spain?

Two layers: employer Social Security contributions and the EOR's own fee. On a EUR 40,000 salary, employer contributions run about EUR 12,860/year (≈32.15%); on EUR 80,000, about EUR 19,871/year once pay crosses the EUR 5,101.20 monthly contribution cap. The EOR fee itself runs from about $199/month (several vendors' global list price) to €599/month (G-P, Atlas HXM, Justworks), with Deel's Spain-specific figure at about €516/month.

Is Employer of Record legal in Spain?

It's a grey area, not a clear yes or no. There's no EOR-specific statute, but Article 43 of the Estatuto de los Trabajadores bans supplying workers to another company's direction unless the supplier holds an ETT (temporary-staffing) licence under Ley 14/1994, and no litigated Spanish court case on an EOR arrangement specifically has been found as of 2026-09-30.

Which is the best EOR in Spain?

Deel has the clearest Spain-specific price (€6,195/year) backed by a registered entity. Safeguard Global is the only vendor here whose Spanish entity's own name declares ETT status, the actual licence Article 43 requires. 'Best' depends on whether you weight price, licensing certainty, or disclosure more heavily — see the ranking below.

What is the cheapest Employer of Record in Spain?

Skuad publishes the lowest Spain-specific figure, $249/month (discounted from $399), on its Spain page. Its own Spanish entity is registered under the CNAE code for a placement agency, not the code used for a licensed ETT — worth asking about before signing.

What's the difference between an EOR and a PEO in Spain?

An EOR is the sole legal employer of record; a PEO co-employs alongside a client that already has its own Spanish entity and payroll. None of the vendors in this comparison publish a separate Spain PEO product. See our [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/) comparison and the [PEO glossary entry](/glossary/peo/).

What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Spain?

If a court or the Labour Inspectorate reclassifies the arrangement as illegal transfer of workers, the client and the EOR become jointly and severally liable for wages and Social Security (Art. 43.3 ET), the worker can elect to become permanent staff of either party (Art. 43.4 ET), and fines under the LISOS run from EUR 7,501 to EUR 225,018.

Does an EOR need to sponsor a work permit for a hire in Spain?

EU, EEA and Swiss nationals need no permit. A non-EU hire needs an employer-filed 'autorización de residencia y trabajo por cuenta ajena', but no source found names an Employer of Record specifically as an eligible sponsor — confirm this directly with whichever vendor you pick before relying on it.

Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Spain?

If the work is genuinely independent, yes — see [how to pay contractors in Spain](/software/contractor-payouts/spain/) and [our hiring guide](/hire-contractors/spain/). If the role looks like employment (set hours, client-directed, one client), that's exactly the substance-over-form test Spanish courts use to find illegal transfer of workers under an EOR label.

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. Deel solutions/payroll/contractorsemployer-of-recorddocs/payouts 20 August 2026
  2. Safeguard Global solutions/contractor-managementcompany/about-us 30 September 2026
  3. Justworks hc/en-us/articles/24026656179099-Justworks-Employer-of-Record-EOReor 30 September 2026
  4. Atlas HXM pricingatlashxm.com 30 September 2026
  5. G-P (Globalization Partners) contractorglobalization-partners.comglobal-teams/global-payroll 30 September 2026
  6. Remote global-hr/hire-international-contractorsglobal-hr/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsglobal-hr/remote-api 20 August 2026
  7. Oyster product/global-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  8. RemoFirst global-contractor-paymentsinternational-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  9. Skuad platform/contractor-paymentsplatform/international-contractorsemployer-of-recordhelp-center/how-to-bulk-pay-contractor-invoices 20 August 2026
  10. Borderless AI pricingglobal-contractor-managementhireborderless.com 30 September 2026
  11. Remote People contractor-managementcontractor-of-recordemployer-of-record 30 September 2026
  12. Playroll contractor-managementemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  13. Rivermate contractor-of-recordrivermate.com 20 August 2026
  14. Multiplier solutions/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsproduct/contractor-management-systemproduct/employer-of-record-services 20 August 2026
  15. Rippling products/global/global-contractorsproducts/payroll/employer-of-record 20 August 2026
  16. Papaya Global paymentspricingcontractor-managementemployer-of-recordpayment-api 20 August 2026
  17. RemotePass contractorseor 20 August 2026
  18. Native Teams pricingemployer-of-recordwallet 20 August 2026
  19. Pebl eor-pricing 30 September 2026

How we researched this page

19 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error