Employer of Record in Croatia: 18 Providers Compared (2026)

Employer of Record in Croatia: your company, the EOR entity in Croatia and your hire

Employer of Record is allowed in Croatia with limits. The law has no EOR category: the only statutory route for an employer to hire a person who works for another company is agency work under Labour Act Articles 44-52, and the agency must be entered in the Ministry of Labour’s register. That is our reading of the statute; we found no regulator or law-firm position on EOR itself (zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05).

Employer cost is one line: 16.5% health insurance on top of gross, which is EUR 7,425 a year on a EUR 45,000 salary. The EOR fee comes on top: $579-699 per month where a vendor shows a Croatia price, and from $99 on global list prices.

What sets Croatia apart is the agency regime. The same worker may not be used for the same work for more than 3 years, and the user company can be fined for a breach. Since 2026-06-04 a work-permit sponsor must run an active business in Croatia, so a client without one can’t sponsor a non-EU hire itself (narodne-novine.nn.hr, checked 2026-10-05).

EOR fits a hire within the three-year limit, either an EU/EEA/Swiss citizen or with a provider that confirms who applies for the permit. For independent work, use a contractor: hire contractors in Croatia and pay them. For the same person in the same job beyond three years, your own Croatian entity is the cleaner basis.

Employing someone in Croatia: key facts

Croatia has one national labour law, the Labour Act (Zakon o radu), and one national minimum wage; the only employer-borne payroll contribution is health insurance.

Minimum wage

One national rate, no regional or sector variation in the government decree.

YearGross per month, full-timeOriginalSource
2021EUR 564.07HRK 4,250.00zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05
2022EUR 622.14HRK 4,687.50zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05
2023EUR 700.00EUR 700.00zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05
2024EUR 840.00EUR 840.00zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05
2025EUR 970.00EUR 970.00narodne-novine.nn.hr, checked 2026-10-05
2026EUR 1,050.00EUR 1,050.00narodne-novine.nn.hr, checked 2026-10-05
Line chart 2021-2026: Croatia's national gross monthly minimum wage rises from EUR 564.07 in 2021 to EUR 1,050.00 in 2026.
The 2021 and 2022 rates were set in kuna and are converted at the fixed rate of HRK 7.53450 per euro; Croatia adopted the euro on 2023-01-01. Source: narodne-novine.nn.hr, checked 2026-10-05.
  • The 2026 rate is EUR 80.00 (+8.25%) above 2025. The government sets the next year’s amount by 31 October; no decree for 2027 was found on 2026-10-05 (zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05).

Employer contributions

The only contribution an employer pays on top of an ordinary employee’s gross salary is health insurance, 16.5% with no ceiling. The rate has applied since 2019-01-01 (narodne-novine.nn.hr, checked 2026-10-05), so there is no contribution history to chart.

ContributionRateCeilingWho bears itSource
Health insurance16.5% of grossNoneEmployer, on top of grosszakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05
Pension, pillar I15% of grossHighest monthly base EUR 11,958.00 (2026)Employee, withheld from grosszakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05
Pension, pillar II5% of grossSame baseEmployee, withheld from grosszakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05
  • Pension contributions come out of the employee’s gross pay; the employer only calculates and remits them (Art. 19(2)). They are not an extra cost on top of the salary.
  • The EUR 11,958.00 monthly base (EUR 143,496.00 a year) caps the pension contributions only. It comes from a paywalled accounting-journal excerpt, not the official decision (rrif.hr, checked 2026-10-05).
  • For an employee entering employment for the first time, only pension contributions are calculated for up to one year, with no health contribution (Art. 20(2)). Our cost examples do not apply this (zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05).

Working hours and overtime

  • Full-time work may not exceed 40 hours a week (Art. 61(1)).
  • Overtime is allowed only in force majeure, an extraordinary workload increase or a similar urgent need, on the employer’s written request (Art. 65(1)).
  • Total weekly work including overtime is capped at 50 hours; overtime is capped at 180 hours a year, or 250 if a collective agreement provides (Art. 65(3)-(4)).
  • The overtime uplift is set by agreement or contract, not statute; Sunday work carries at least 50% per hour (Art. 94(1)).
  • Source: zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05.

Annual leave and public holidays

  • At least 4 weeks of annual leave per calendar year; a contract or collective agreement may give more (Art. 77(1)-(2)).
  • A first-time employee, or one with a break of more than 8 days between jobs, acquires the right after 6 months of continuous employment, with 1/12 per month accruing before that (Art. 77(3), Art. 78(1)).
  • Source: zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05.
  • 14 public holidays and non-working days: 1 Jan, 6 Jan, Easter Sunday, Easter Monday, Corpus Christi, 1 May, 30 May, 22 Jun, 5 Aug, 15 Aug, 1 Nov, 18 Nov, 25 Dec, 26 Dec. Work on one carries a higher wage set by collective agreement, work rules or contract (zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05).

Probation

  • Up to 6 months, agreed in the employment contract; it can be extended pro rata for absences but never beyond 6 months in total (Art. 53(1), (3)-(5)).
  • Notice during probation is at least one week (Art. 53(10)).
  • Source: zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05.

Notice and severance

Ordinary dismissal needs a justified reason: business, personal or conduct-related (Art. 115(1)). Minimum notice depends on continuous service with the same employer (Art. 122).

Continuous serviceMinimum notice
Under 1 year2 weeks
1 year1 month
2 years1 month 2 weeks
5 years2 months
10 years2 months 2 weeks
20 years3 months
  • Conduct-related dismissal takes half these periods (Art. 122(3)). A collective agreement or contract may set longer notice.
  • Severance is due after 2 years of continuous work: at least 1/3 of the average monthly pay of the last 3 months for each completed year with the employer, capped at 6 average monthly pays unless a contract or agreement says otherwise (Art. 126(1), (3)-(4)).
  • Source: zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05.

13th salary and bonuses

  • Not mandatory. Jubilee awards, the holiday bonus (regres) and the Christmas bonus (božićnica) are paid only as a regulation, collective agreement, work rules or the contract provides (Art. 90.a). Many employers pay them by agreement (zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05).

Mandatory benefits

  • Statutory social insurance runs through the contributions above. We found no statutory private health, life or pension insurance obligation for the employer in the Labour Act or the contributions law (zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05).

Work permits

  • EU/EEA/Swiss citizens: free movement, no work permit.
  • Third-country nationals need a residence and work permit (dozvola za boravak i rad), applied for through the employer and, in most cases, with a positive opinion of the Croatian Employment Service (HZZ).
  • Since 2026-06-04 the employer must actively carry out a registered business activity in Croatia connected with the occupation, have paid its public dues, have employed at least one Croatian/EEA/Swiss full-time permanent employee for the last year, and, as a legal entity, show at least EUR 100,000 of inflow on its account in the last 12 months (Zakon o strancima Art. 99(1), as replaced by NN 55/26).
  • Temporary work agencies can be granted permits for assigning third-country nationals (Art. 100).
  • Source: narodne-novine.nn.hr, checked 2026-10-05. We read the amending law, not the consolidated text.

Currency and payroll

  • Euro since 2023-01-01; before that the kuna, converted at a fixed HRK 7.53450 per euro (eur-lex.europa.eu, checked 2026-10-05). 1 EUR = 1.1225 USD (ECB reference rate, 2026-10-02).
  • Pay is monthly and must be agreed as a gross amount. It is paid on the date set by collective agreement or contract, and at the latest on the 15th of the current month for the previous month (Art. 92(4), Art. 90.b(1)) (zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05).

Allowed with limits, and only through the agency regime. Croatian law has no EOR category. The one statutory route for an employer to hire a person who works for another company is agency work under Labour Act Articles 44-52. This is our reading of the statute: we found no regulator, ministry or law-firm position on the EOR product itself (zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05).

  • Register entry. An agency may assign workers only if it is registered under special regulation and entered in the register (evidencija) of the ministry responsible for labour, and not before entry (Art. 44(3), (5)). The ministry confirms entry with a registration number, which the agency must show on all business documents (Art. 52(1)-(4)).
  • Registration, not a licence. For assignment itself the Labour Act requires entry in the ministry’s register, with no discretionary licence and no stated minimum capital or bond. A permit applies to employment mediation (Art. 44(4)). “Licence” is vendor wording, for example Boundless’s.
  • Three-year limit. The same assigned worker may not be used for the same work for more than 3 uninterrupted years, except to replace an absent worker, to finish an EU-funded project, or for other objective reasons set by law or collective agreement. A break shorter than 3 months does not interrupt the period (Art. 48).
  • Equal treatment. Pay and other conditions of an assigned worker may not be lower than those of the user’s own workers on the same work, including working time, rest and leave, holidays and workplace safety (Art. 46(6)-(7)). The user must give the agency full and truthful written information on those conditions (Art. 50(2)).
  • Contracts. A written assignment contract between agency and user is mandatory (Art. 45(1)). The agency must pay the agreed wage even if the user does not submit the pay calculation, and may not charge the worker a fee (Art. 49(4), Art. 44(6)).
  • Who answers for what. The user counts as employer for health-and-safety and special-protection rules and pays third-party damage caused by the worker; the agency answers for damage the worker causes the user. Employment rights are enforced against the agency (Art. 50(1), Art. 51, Art. 47(5)).

Source for all points above: zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05.

Open question. The articles speak of a “user” that is another employer. We found no ministry opinion or court decision on whether the regime applies as written when the user is a foreign company with no Croatian presence and the worker performs the job from Croatia remotely.

Risks for the client:

  • Three-year breach. A fine of EUR 4,110.00-7,960.00 for the user company if it keeps the same assigned worker on the same work past 3 years without an exception; the agency is fined in the same range (Art. 228).
  • Information duty. A fine of EUR 8,090.00-13,270.00 for failing to give the agency complete and truthful written information on comparable workers’ conditions; the same range applies to a user that agreed to keep working-time records for assigned workers and does not (Art. 229(7), (9)).
  • Equal-pay exposure. A client with no Croatian comparator staff, or a higher internal pay scale, has to supply that information, and the cost passed through the agency may need to rise. This is an inference from Art. 46(6) and 50(2); we found no ministry guidance on how the comparator is found for a user with no Croatian workforce.
  • Unregistered provider. An agency that assigns workers without being entered in the register, or before entry, commits a misdemeanour (EUR 8,090.00-13,270.00 for a legal entity, Art. 229(1)); check the provider’s register number.
  • Visas. From 2026-06-04 a work-permit applicant must run an active registered business in Croatia (narodne-novine.nn.hr, checked 2026-10-05), so a client with no Croatian operation cannot sponsor a non-EU worker itself.

Fine and liability sources: zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05, except the visa point.

Who actually employs your hire in Croatia

Croatian company records are public, but the official court register needs an API key, so we read it through a public mirror, companywall.hr. The column “Registered as” gives the main activity code (NKD) of the vendor’s Croatian entity there. The Ministry of Labour’s register of temporary-work agencies, the one that decides who may assign workers, has no open list we could find. A code of 78.20 therefore shows an agency profile, not a confirmed register entry.

ProviderEmployer in CroatiaRegistered asEvidenceCroatia EOR price
G-POwn entityTemporary agency (NKD 78.20), since 2017companywall.hr, checked 2026-10-05USD 599/month, flat
RemoteOwn entityConsultancy (NKD 70.20)Says “we own our own legal entity in Croatia” (Remote); companywall.hr, checked 2026-10-05$699/month
BoundlessOwn entityTemporary agency (NKD 78.20)Says it “holds a temporary agency licence” (Boundless); companywall.hr, checked 2026-10-05From €175 / $199 per month (global)
PlayrollOwn entityTemporary agency (NKD 78.20), since 2024companywall.hr, checked 2026-10-05From $399/month (global)
PeblOwn entityConsultancy (NKD 70.20), as Velocity Global Croatiacompanywall.hr, checked 2026-10-05$399/month (global; checked 2026-10-01)
JustworksOwn entity (link indirect)Consultancy (NKD 70.20), since 2025companywall.hr, checked 2026-10-05$599/month (search excerpt)
RipplingOwn entityEmployment mediation (NKD 78.10), since 2024companywall.hr, checked 2026-10-05Not published
DeelNot disclosedNo Croatian record foundDeel, checked 2026-10-05From $599/month
Borderless AINot disclosedNo vendor record confirmedBorderless AI, checked 2026-10-05$579/month
RivermateNot disclosedNo Croatian record foundRivermate, checked 2026-10-05$319-639/month (global range)
Remote PeopleNot disclosedNo Croatian record foundRemote People, checked 2026-10-05From $199/month (global); page cites a market range of $300-600
Atlas HXMNot disclosedNo Croatian record foundAtlas HXM, checked 2026-10-05From $599/month (global)
OysterNot disclosedNo Croatian record foundOyster (archived copy), checked 2026-10-05$699/month (global; checked 2026-10-01)
MultiplierNot disclosedNo vendor record foundMultiplier, checked 2026-10-05From $400/month (global; checked 2026-10-01)
SkuadNot disclosedNo Croatian record foundSkuad (archived copy), checked 2026-10-05$199/month (global; checked 2026-10-01)
RemoFirstNot disclosedNo Croatian record foundRemoFirst (archived copy), checked 2026-10-05From $199/month (global; checked 2026-10-01)
Native TeamsNot disclosedNo Croatian record foundNative Teams, checked 2026-10-05From $99/month (global; checked 2026-10-01)
Safeguard GlobalNot disclosedNo Croatian record foundSafeguard Global, checked 2026-10-05Not published
Bar chart: 7 providers have a registered own Croatian entity, 11 don't disclose one.
Own entity means a Croatian company record on the companywall.hr mirror of the court register, plus a vendor statement where one exists. Justworks is counted on an indirect link (e-mail domain, neighbouring UK company number). No vendor named a partner or mixed model for Croatia. Source: vendor country pages and companywall.hr, checked 2026-10-05.

Eleven of these 18 providers don’t say whether Croatia is served by their own entity or a partner’s, and we found no Croatian company record we could tie to them. Of the seven with a record, only G-P, Boundless and Playroll carry the temporary-agency code; Remote, Pebl and Justworks are coded as consultancies and Rippling as employment mediation, and from public sources we can’t see how those four structure an EOR hire. Boundless goes furthest: its Croatia guide says a standard EOR is not a permitted model there and that it holds the agency status instead. Borderless AI’s country page also says the legal model matters because EOR is “not a separate Croatian employment category”. The Justworks entity links to the vendor only by e-mail domain and a neighbouring company number; we found no document confirming it.

Before signing, ask: “Which Croatian entity will employ my hire, what is its Ministry of Labour register number, and under which assignment contract will it place the worker with us?”

How to choose an EOR in Croatia

Need the registered activity closest to the agency model? G-P, Boundless and Playroll are the three whose Croatian entities carry the temporary-agency code (NKD 78.20). That is a company-record code, not proof of a register entry, so still ask for the number.

Hiring someone from outside the EU/EEA/Switzerland? Since 2026-06-04 the permit applicant must run a real business in Croatia, which a client without one doesn’t. Whether an EOR or agency can apply for a client’s role after the change is not confirmed; the law lets temporary agencies be granted permits for assigning third-country nationals (Art. 100). Remote People says sponsorship through a local employer adds 2-3 months (Remote People, checked 2026-10-05). Ask the provider in writing who files the application.

Comparing price? Prices shown for Croatia run from $579 (Borderless AI) to $699 (Remote) per month, with Deel, G-P and Justworks at $599. The lower figures, from $99 at Native Teams, are global list prices with no Croatia quote behind them. Playroll adds a fully refundable deposit of one month’s salary per employee (Playroll, checked 2026-10-05).

Expect the same person in the same job for more than three years? Then the agency model’s limit applies to you, with fines of EUR 4,110.00-7,960.00 for the user. That points to your own Croatian entity rather than any provider.

Have no Croatian staff to compare pay with? Ask how the provider sets the equal-treatment comparator for you and whether that raises the cost passed through.

All 18 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

G-P (Globalization Partners)

The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.

8.3/10

★ 4.4

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
Certifications
SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018
Support
24/7 AI support (G-P Assist); human hours not stated

What stands out

  • Founded 2012 — the longest track record among EOR vendors reviewed so far
  • Broadest certification stack checked: SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001, GDPR
  • 156 countries with a dedicated Globalpedia EOR guide; flat $599/employee/month fee confirmed across sampled countries

Not a fit for

  • price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
  • buyers needing a true Contractor of Record, not payment/classification tooling
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsFlat USD 599/month on its Croatia page; Croatian entity registered as a temporary-work agency (NKD 78.20) since 2017.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote

A compliance-first EOR built on 100% owned entities — fewer countries, but no third-party handoffs.

8.4/10

★ 4.4 · 97 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing)
Coverage
90+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
2 days (average)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR Level 1, GDPR
Support
24/7 chatbot; live agent Mon-Fri

What stands out

  • 100% owned entities, no third-party partners
  • strong certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR, GDPR)
  • transparent per-product pricing

Not a fit for

  • teams needing the widest possible country list
  • lowest-price seekers
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fits$699/month on its Croatia page; says it owns its Croatian entity, a consultancy-coded company with 136 employees.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Boundless

A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.

7.0/10

★ 4.8 · 28 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim

What stands out

  • Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
  • Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
  • Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
  • teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsSays it holds a temporary agency licence in Croatia; entity coded as temporary-work agency; no setup fee.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Playroll

A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.7 · 209 reviews

EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5

What stands out

  • Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
  • Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
  • Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsCroatian entity coded as temporary-work agency since 2024; one month's salary refundable deposit, no onboarding fees.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Pebl

A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 603 reviews

EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts

What stands out

  • 12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
  • SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
  • Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
  • teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsRegistered as Velocity Global Croatia, coded as consultancy; $399/month global list price, no onboarding or offboarding costs.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Justworks

Primarily a US PEO and payroll platform — audited (SOC 1/2, ESAC, IRS CPEO) — with a newer, smaller EOR product covering 43 documented countries at a flat $599/employee/month.

7.0/10

★ 4.6 · 1101 reviews

EOR price
$599/mo per employee
Coverage
43+ countries
Time to hire
A few days to two weeks (vendor claim)
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2, ESAC Accredited (PEO), IRS-Certified PEO (CPEO, since 2017)
Support
24/7 for PEO plans; EOR SLA not separately published

What stands out

  • Long-established, independently audited US operator (SOC 1/2, ESAC-accredited, IRS CPEO since 2017; founded 2012)
  • Flat, fully disclosed EOR price with no setup fees or minimums
  • Strong support reputation: 4.6/5 aggregate rating cited on its own EOR page (1,101 ratings)

Not a fit for

  • companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries
  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not contractor payouts only
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsConsultancy-coded entity registered 2025, linked to the vendor only indirectly; $599/month from a search excerpt.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rippling

A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.

8.3/10

★ 4.8 · 23k reviews

EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2

What stands out

  • EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
  • unified HR, IT and Finance platform
  • broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
  • hiring employees outside the 80 EOR markets
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsCroatian entity registered 2024 for employment mediation (NKD 78.10), not temporary work; no price published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Deel

The broadest all-in-one platform — EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor management and global payroll under one roof, with deep country coverage.

8.7/10

★ 4.8 · 28k reviews

EOR price
from $599/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Entity model
130 owned
Time to hire
As little as 1 day
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • 150+ country reach with 130+ owned entities
  • covers EOR, COR, contractor management and payroll
  • strong security & compliance certifications

Not a fit for

  • very small or strictly budget-first teams
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsFrom $599/month on its Croatia page; does not name a Croatian entity, and we found no record.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Borderless AI

A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.

7.3/10

★ 4.8 · 205 reviews

EOR price
$579/mo
Coverage
170+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboarding as fast as 24 hours
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, PIPEDA
Support
24/7 in-house support; dedicated Canada-based contact

What stands out

  • Published flat pricing for all three core products ($579 EOR / $49 contractor / $29 payroll), no 'contact sales' gating
  • No security deposit or salary pre-funding required for EOR, unlike vendors citing $7,000-$20,000 deposits
  • SOC 2 Type II certified with a public trust center; fast-claimed onboarding (24-48 hours)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
  • companies requiring a dedicated, separately-branded Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fits$579/month; its country page says EOR is not a separate Croatian category, so the legal model matters.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rivermate

A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.4 · 391 reviews

EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
  • Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
  • Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
  • buyers needing equity/ESOP administration
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsUses third-party in-country experts; $319-639/month global range; guide has current 2026 minimum wage.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote People

A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 495 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)

What stands out

  • Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
  • Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
  • Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation

Not a fit for

  • buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
  • teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsOnboarding in under two weeks, no setup fees; from $199/month global, no Croatian entity named.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Atlas HXM

A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.

7.7/10

★ 4.2 · 101 reviews

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages

What stands out

  • 160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
  • Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
  • AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
  • companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsFrom $599/month global list; claims entities in 160+ countries but does not name a Croatian one.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Oyster

A B-Corp EOR focused on simplicity and ethical global hiring — strong for mid-size teams.

8.3/10

★ 4.3 · 1871 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee
Coverage
120+ countries
Time to hire
As fast as 48 hours
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, B-Corp
Support
Response within 24h

What stands out

  • B-Corp certified
  • 120+ EOR countries with a 48-hour onboarding claim
  • contractor payments in 120+ currencies

Not a fit for

  • teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
  • buyers who require a disclosed entity model
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fits$699/month global list price; Croatia page gives no entity statement.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Multiplier

A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.

8.4/10

★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022

What stands out

  • EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
  • dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
  • published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
  • buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsFrom $400/month global list price; no Croatian entity statement or record of its own found.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Skuad

A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.

8.0/10

★ 4.6 · 312 reviews

EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated

What stands out

  • broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
  • published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
  • payroll in 70 currencies

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fits$199/month global list price; says it becomes the legal employer but names no Croatian entity.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemoFirst

A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.

7.8/10

★ 4.4 · 440 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees

What stands out

  • Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
  • Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
  • Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
  • enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsFrom $199/month global list price; no entity statement for Croatia.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Native Teams

A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.

7.9/10

★ 4.7 · 367 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS

What stands out

  • EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
  • transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
  • dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
  • teams needing a guaranteed onboarding SLA in days
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsFrom $99/month global list price, the lowest in this set; Croatia page names no entity.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Safeguard Global

One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.

7.5/10

★ 4.2 · 141 reviews

EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR

What stands out

  • Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
  • 1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
  • NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management

Not a fit for

  • buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
  • teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsNo price published; says an established entity speeds hiring but speaks of EORs in general.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesNot a fit for
1 G-P (Globalization Partners) 8.3 From $599/mo per employee 180+ price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
2 Remote 8.4 $699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing) 90+ teams needing the widest possible country list
3 Boundless 7 From $199/mo per employee 110+ buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
4 Playroll 7.6 $399 per employee/month (no minimum) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
5 Pebl 7.8 $399/mo per employee 185+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
6 Justworks 7 $599/mo per employee 43+ companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries
7 Rippling 8.3 Custom quote 80+ buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
8 Deel 8.7 from $599/mo per employee 150+ very small or strictly budget-first teams
9 Borderless AI 7.3 $579/mo 170+ buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
10 Rivermate 7.6 From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
11 Remote People 7.8 From $199/mo per employee 150+ buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
12 Atlas HXM 7.7 From $599/mo per employee 160+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
13 Oyster 8.3 $699/mo per employee 120+ teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
14 Multiplier 8.4 Starting at $400 per month 150+ buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
15 Skuad 8 Starting from $199 per employee/month 160+ buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
16 RemoFirst 7.8 Starts at $199 per employee/month 185+ buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
17 Native Teams 7.9 Starts at $99/per employee per month 95+ buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
18 Safeguard Global 7.5 On request 187+ buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call

What it costs to employ someone in Croatia through an EOR

Croatian employer on-cost is one line: health insurance at 16.5% of gross salary, with no ceiling. Pension contributions (15% + 5%) are withheld from the employee’s gross and are not an extra cost for the client. The examples assume a large-payroll EOR entity; no size-based exemptions apply in Croatia’s contribution system anyway. The salaries are about USD 50,000 and USD 100,000 (EUR 44,543 and EUR 89,087 at 1 EUR = 1.1225 USD), rounded to EUR 45,000 and EUR 90,000.

Stacked bars: a EUR 45,000 salary carries EUR 7,425 of employer health insurance; a EUR 90,000 salary carries EUR 14,850.
Health insurance at 16.5% of gross is the only employer-borne statutory contribution. Pension contributions are withheld from the employee’s gross. Both salaries sit above the minimum wage and below the 2026 pension ceiling. Source: zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05.
Gross salaryEmployer statutory costShare of salaryComponents
EUR 45,000 (EUR 3,750/month)EUR 7,425.0016.5%Health insurance 16.5% x 45,000. Withheld from the employee, not employer cost: pension I EUR 6,750.00, pension II EUR 2,250.00
EUR 90,000 (EUR 7,500/month)EUR 14,850.0016.5%Health insurance 16.5% x 90,000. Withheld from the employee: pension I EUR 13,500.00, pension II EUR 4,500.00

Not included: voluntary holiday or Christmas bonuses, employer-funded sick-pay periods, the disability-quota fee (depends on headcount) and severance. Source: zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05.

The EOR’s own fee comes on top, per month. The Croatia-specific prices we found run from $579 (Borderless AI) to $699 (Remote), with Deel, G-P and Justworks at $599; the rest are global list prices. Remote People’s Croatia page gives an example of a $2,500 monthly salary costing about $3,313 in total, the 16.5% contribution plus the EOR fee (Remote People, checked 2026-10-05).

Other costs, where published:

  • Playroll: a fully refundable security deposit of one month’s salary per employee; no onboarding or offboarding fees; no minimum commitment or minimum number of employees (Playroll, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Boundless: no setup fee for EOR; the client agreement can be ended with one month’s notice, and the employee’s fixed-term contract runs up to 36 months (Boundless, Boundless Croatia guide, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Pebl: “No onboarding or offboarding costs” (Pebl, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Remote People: no setup fees, no lock-in; no deposit for 5 or more employees, so a smaller team may be asked for one, size not stated (Remote People, checked 2026-10-05).

For the other vendors these fields are unpublished; treat a blank as unknown, not zero.

When you don’t need an EOR

Decision tree: a non-EU hire with no Croatian business needs your own entity or a provider that applies for the permit. Otherwise, a role beyond 3 years in the same job needs your own Croatian entity; any other role fits the agency-model EOR.
The permit rule has applied since 2026-06-04. Whether a provider can apply for a client’s role is not confirmed; confirm it in writing. The 3-year limit applies to the same worker in the same work, with statutory exceptions. Source: Zakon o radu, NN 55/26, checked 2026-10-05.
  • A genuinely independent contractor. If the person works on their own terms rather than inside your team’s direction, see how to hire contractors in Croatia and how to pay them.
  • Your own Croatian entity. The route when the same person will hold the same job for more than 3 years, or when a non-EU hire needs a sponsor running an active Croatian business.
  • Direct employment from another EU member state. The contributions law contemplates an insured person working for an employer registered in another EU member state to whom Croatian social-security law applies; that employer calculates and pays all contributions (Art. 19.a) (zakon.hr, checked 2026-10-05). We did not research income-tax withholding or the permanent-establishment position of a foreign client, so get local advice first.

What changed in 2026

  • 2026-01-01 — Minimum wage rises to EUR 1,050.00 gross per month, from EUR 970.00 (+EUR 80.00, +8.25%).
  • 2026-01-01 — Highest contribution base for 2026 is EUR 11,958.00 per month, EUR 143,496.00 per year. It caps the employee-paid pension contributions only; the employer’s 16.5% is uncapped. The figure comes from a secondary source.
  • 2026-06-04 — Amendments to the Zakon o strancima (NN 55/26) take effect: a work-permit employer must actively run a registered business in Croatia connected with the occupation; a worker tested on the labour market may work only in the police-administration area where tested; changing occupation and employer is easier for foreign workers; new conditions apply to temporary work agencies assigning third-country nationals. The Croatian language and Latin script exam obligation starts a year later, on 2027-06-04, according to search-result summaries rather than the law text.
  • 2026-12-02 — Deadline to transpose the EU platform-work directive. The Ministry of Labour has said Labour Act amendments are planned for autumn 2026. As of 2026-10-05 the consolidated Labour Act had no later version, and no draft text was read (tportal.hr, checked 2026-10-05). We do not expect the agency chapter (Art. 44-52) to change, but that is our reading of the announced scope.

Sources: narodne-novine.nn.hr (minimum wage), narodne-novine.nn.hr (Zakon o strancima), rrif.hr (contribution base), checked 2026-10-05.

Numbers vendors haven’t updated

  • Deel shows a minimum wage of EUR 970 a month on its Croatia page, the 2025 rate; the 2026 rate is EUR 1,050 (Deel, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Pebl lists EUR 623.70 for 2022 (Pebl, checked 2026-10-05).
  • RemoFirst’s archived country guide gives the minimum wage in kuna, HRK 4,687.50 a month, from before the euro (RemoFirst, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Skuad’s archived copy also still refers to the currency before the euro (Skuad, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Remote’s page shows both the current EUR 1,050 and an older “HRK 700 per month” line (Remote, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Deel also shows an estimated employer cost of 17.10% of salary, where the contributions law we read gives 16.5% with no other employer-borne contribution. The page does not say what the difference covers.

How we built this page

Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-05 against the Labour Act and the contributions law on zakon.hr, the Official Gazette (Narodne novine) and EU sources. Croatian entities were read through companywall.hr, a public mirror of the court register, because the court register itself needs an API key; the Ministry of Labour’s register of temporary-work agencies has no open list we could find, so no vendor’s register entry is confirmed. Where no Croatian record turned up, we relied on the vendor’s own statements and left the employer as “not disclosed”. Vendors with a Croatian entity record come first, ordered by published Croatia price and completeness of data, then those that don’t disclose. Nobody pays for placement on this page.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Employer of Record cost in Croatia?

Two layers. The employer pays 16.5% health insurance on top of gross salary, EUR 7,425 a year on EUR 45,000 and EUR 14,850 on EUR 90,000. The EOR fee is on top: Croatia prices run from $579 to $699 per month, and global list prices from $99.

Is Employer of Record legal in Croatia?

Allowed with limits. Croatian law has no EOR category; the one statutory route is agency work under Labour Act Articles 44-52, with the agency entered in the Ministry of Labour's register. We found no regulator or law-firm position on EOR itself, so this is our reading of the statute.

Which is the best EOR in Croatia?

G-P, Boundless and Playroll are the three whose Croatian entities carry the temporary-agency code (NKD 78.20). G-P also publishes a Croatia price, USD 599 per month. The code shows an agency profile, not a confirmed register entry, so ask each for its register number.

What is the cheapest Employer of Record in Croatia?

Among Croatia prices, Borderless AI shows $579 per month. Native Teams has the lowest global list price at $99, but that is not a Croatia quote and its page names no Croatian entity.

What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Croatia?

The user company can be fined EUR 4,110-7,960 for keeping the same assigned worker on the same work beyond 3 years, and EUR 8,090-13,270 for not giving the agency complete information on comparable workers' conditions. The user also counts as employer for health and safety.

Can an EOR sponsor a work permit in Croatia?

Since 2026-06-04 the permit applicant must actively run a registered business in Croatia. A client without one cannot sponsor a non-EU hire itself. Temporary work agencies can be granted permits for assigning third-country nationals, but whether an EOR can apply for a client's role is not confirmed.

Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Croatia?

If the work is genuinely independent, yes: see [how to hire contractors in Croatia](/hire-contractors/croatia/) and [how to pay them](/software/contractor-payouts/croatia/). For an employee, the alternative is your own Croatian entity. See also [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/).

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. G-P (Globalization Partners) contractorglobalization-partners.comglobal-teams/global-payroll 30 September 2026
  2. Remote global-hr/hire-international-contractorsglobal-hr/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsglobal-hr/remote-api 20 August 2026
  3. Boundless faq 30 September 2026
  4. Playroll contractor-managementemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  5. Pebl eor-pricing 30 September 2026
  6. Justworks hc/en-us/articles/24026656179099-Justworks-Employer-of-Record-EOReor 30 September 2026
  7. Rippling products/global/global-contractorsproducts/payroll/employer-of-record 20 August 2026
  8. Deel solutions/payroll/contractorsemployer-of-recorddocs/payouts 20 August 2026
  9. Borderless AI pricingglobal-contractor-managementhireborderless.com 30 September 2026
  10. Rivermate contractor-of-recordrivermate.com 20 August 2026
  11. Remote People contractor-managementcontractor-of-recordemployer-of-record 30 September 2026
  12. Atlas HXM pricingatlashxm.com 30 September 2026
  13. Oyster product/global-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  14. Multiplier solutions/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsproduct/contractor-management-systemproduct/employer-of-record-services 20 August 2026
  15. Skuad platform/contractor-paymentsplatform/international-contractorsemployer-of-recordhelp-center/how-to-bulk-pay-contractor-invoices 20 August 2026
  16. RemoFirst global-contractor-paymentsinternational-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  17. Native Teams pricingemployer-of-recordwallet 20 August 2026
  18. Safeguard Global solutions/contractor-managementcompany/about-us 30 September 2026

How we researched this page

18 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error