Employer of Record sits in a grey area in Brazil, not a clear yes. Outsourcing in general has been lawful since Lei 13.429/2017 and Lei 13.467/2017, which let a services company take over a client’s work with no employment bond formed. But an EOR placing one employee with a single client, who in practice sets the schedule and supervises the work, drifts toward interposição de mão de obra — the labor-intermediation fraud CLT art. 9 voids — and courts judge each case on its facts, not the contract’s label (ibanet.org, checked 2026-10-01).
Cost has two layers. Statutory employer contributions — INSS patronal, RAT, “Sistema S” and FGTS — add up to about 35.8% of gross salary on paper, but because the 13th salary and the 1/3 vacation bonus are themselves taxed the same way, the real annual load lands near 51% on top of base salary (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01). The EOR’s own fee sits on top — from R$39,377/year at Deel to a discounted $199/month at Skuad, both Brazil-specific; most other vendors publish only a global list price, from around $99/month.
EOR fits a single full-time hire you want on payroll without a Brazilian CNPJ. It fits less well once the client closely directs that person’s day-to-day work — the exact pattern courts scrutinize — and it doesn’t replace a genuinely independent contractor relationship, which carries its own classification risk.
Employing someone in Brazil: key facts
Brazilian employment law runs through the CLT (Consolidação das Leis do Trabalho) and is almost entirely federal — the figures below apply nationwide unless a point says otherwise.
Daily R$ 54.04, hourly R$ 7.37. Some states (SP, RJ, PR, RS, SC and others) set higher “pisos estaduais,” but these apply by professional category, not as a blanket wage floor, and generally don’t cover IT/office roles specifically — not itemized here (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
National salário mínimo in force on 31 December each year; the only jurisdiction shown, since it’s set once for the whole country. Source: planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01.
That’s a baseline of about 35.8% of gross monthly pay. But INSS patronal, RAT, terceiros and FGTS all apply not only to salary but to the 13th salary and the enjoyed 1/3 vacation bonus too — so the real annual load comes out closer to 51% on top of base salary (see the cost breakdown below). RAT’s 1%–4% range reflects each employer’s own FAP adjustment factor; a newly set-up payroll uses the FAP-neutral 2% rate.
Working hours and overtime
Standard: 8 hours/day, 44 hours/week, with hour-bank arrangements allowed by collective agreement (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Overtime: minimum 50% premium over the normal hourly rate (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Night work (22:00–05:00): an additional 20% premium, with the night hour computed as 52 minutes 30 seconds (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Annual leave and public holidays
30 calendar days of paid leave after each 12 months of service, reduced to 24/18/12 days for 6–14/15–23/24–32 unexcused absences in the period (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Paid with a constitutional bonus of at least 1/3 of the normal salary (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Good Friday and, in many municipalities, Carnaval-adjacent days are not federally mandated — Lei 9.093/1995 leaves up to 4 “feriados religiosos” per year to municipal law — but nearly every municipality declares Good Friday locally, so it functions as a de facto nationwide non-working day despite its municipal legal basis (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Probation
Fixed-term probation (contrato de experiência) may not exceed 90 days total, commonly split into an initial period plus one renewal, e.g. 45+45 days (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Notice and severance
Base 30 days’ notice for up to 1 year of service, plus 3 additional days per full year thereafter, capped at 60 extra days — 90 days maximum overall (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
On dismissal without just cause: outstanding salary balance, notice, proportional 13th salary, proportional vacation + 1/3 bonus, a 40% fine on the employee’s full historical FGTS balance, and release of the FGTS account (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
A separate 10% social contribution on top of the 40% FGTS fine was abolished from 2020-01-01.
13th salary and bonuses
Mandatory, equal to one month’s remuneration, paid in two installments — by Nov 30 and by Dec 20 (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Mandatory benefits
Vale-transporte: the employer must subsidize public-transport commuting, and may deduct up to 6% of base salary toward it, covering the rest itself (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
FGTS (8%) and INSS patronal/RAT/terceiros (see above) are mandatory payroll costs, not optional benefits.
No federal mandate for private health, dental or life insurance, or a meal/food voucher — these are near-universal market practice in the office/IT sector, and often required by sector collective agreements, but aren’t a national statutory requirement (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Work permits
A non-Brazilian hire generally needs work authorization from the Coordenação-Geral de Imigração (CGIg), requested by the Brazilian hiring entity.
That’s followed by a visto temporário de trabalho (VITEM V) issued by the Ministério das Relações Exteriores.
Then registration with the Polícia Federal for the Carteira de Registro Nacional Migratório (CRNM/RNM), within 90 days of entry (mte.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
No rule was found explicitly barring an EOR with its own CNPJ from being that sponsoring entity, though this wasn’t exhaustively verified against CGIg’s own resolutions.
Currency and payroll
Payroll runs in Brazilian reais (BRL); 1 USD = 5.2204 BRL at the Banco Central’s PTAX rate, 2026-09-29 (bcb.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Monthly pay is due by the 5th business day of the following month (CLT art. 459, §1º); FGTS deposits for that month’s remuneration are due separately (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Is Employer of Record legal in Brazil?
Grey area, not a clear yes. Brazil has no EOR-specific statute. Outsourcing in general — including a client’s core activity — has been lawful since Lei 13.429/2017 and Lei 13.467/2017 amended Lei 6.019/1974: a services company can take over a client’s work, with no employment bond formed between its workers and the client, as long as the services company itself hires, pays and directs the worker’s day-to-day work (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
An EOR that places a single named individual with one client, where that client in practice sets the schedule, assigns and supervises the work, departs from that pattern and moves toward classic labor-intermediation (interposição de mão de obra) — a fraud on labor law that CLT art. 9 voids outright, and that CLT arts. 2–3 resolve by recognizing as employer whoever actually “admits, pays and directs” the worker (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01). Brazilian courts apply the princípio da primazia da realidade — substance over the contract’s label — case by case; legal commentary treats the risk of a labor court disregarding the EOR and recognizing a direct employment relationship as real, not theoretical (ibanet.org, checked 2026-10-01).
Three risks follow for the client:
Reclassification. A labor court can recognize a direct employment relationship between the worker and the client, with retroactive FGTS, 13th salary, vacation+1/3 and severance exposure for the full period worked.
Subsidiary liability. If the EOR fails to pay the worker’s labor obligations, the client can be held subsidiarily liable for the period of the engagement, by the same logic Lei 6.019/1974 applies to ordinary outsourcing.
Piercing risk if the client later opens its own entity. If the client opens a Brazilian subsidiary while still using an EOR for other hires, authorities have an easier path to pierce the arrangement and hold the client’s own entity liable for the EOR-hired workers.
A related case, STF Tema 1.389 on worker misclassification (“pejotização”), remains undecided on the merits as of 2026-09-29; it isn’t an EOR case directly, but it defines the judicial climate on labor-intermediation risk through 2026 (conjur.com.br, checked 2026-10-01).
Who actually employs your hire in Brazil
Most vendors describe their entity model in global terms — “owned entities,” “170+ countries” — far more often than they confirm it for Brazil specifically. Here’s what each vendor’s own Brazil-facing page, or the Receita Federal’s CNPJ registry, actually shows:
Own entity means a vendor statement specific to Brazil or a CNPJ registry record matching the brand; a global “owned + partner network” line counts as not disclosed. Source: vendor country pages and Receita Federal CNPJ data, checked 2026-10-01.
Eight of these 20 don’t say whether Brazil is served by their own entity or a partner’s. That matters here more than most countries: Brazil’s grey-area verdict turns on who actually hires, pays and directs the worker, and a vendor that won’t name its own entity is harder to evaluate against that test. Before signing, ask directly: “Is the CNPJ that will employ my hire your own, wholly-owned entity, and can you name it?” A vendor that answers with a CNPJ number is a different risk profile from one repeating a global “owned + partner network” line.
How to choose an EOR in Brazil
Need the clearest combination of confirmed entity and published price? Deel is the only vendor here with both a Brazil-specific price (R$39,377/year) and a CNPJ registered under a personnel-staffing code.
Weighing registry-confirmation strength? Remote, Atlas HXM, Multiplier, Pebl, Safeguard Global, Rippling and G-P all show a CNPJ wholly owned by the vendor’s own parent, with an HR-services or staffing activity code. Oyster’s CNPJ ownership is equally clear, but its registered activity is custom software development, not staffing — a softer match on that second test.
Chasing the lowest headline price? Skuad’s $199/month is the lowest Brazil-specific figure in this set, though it requires a 12-month commitment for that rate and doesn’t name its employing entity. Native Teams lists a lower global list price, from $99/month, but that figure isn’t confirmed for Brazil specifically.
Hiring one employee who’ll be closely directed by your team day to day? That’s the exact fact pattern Brazilian courts scrutinize under the interposição test above — no vendor choice removes that risk, since it turns on how the engagement actually runs, not which EOR is on the contract.
A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.
7.7/10
★ 4.2 · 101 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages
What stands out
160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.7 · 209 reviews
EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5
What stands out
Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Primarily a US PEO and payroll platform — audited (SOC 1/2, ESAC, IRS CPEO) — with a newer, smaller EOR product covering 43 documented countries at a flat $599/employee/month.
A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.
7.9/10
★ 4.7 · 367 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS
What stands out
EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk
Not a fit for
buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 603 reviews
EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts
What stands out
12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.
8.3/10
★ 4.4
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.
8.4/10
★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022
What stands out
EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount
Not a fit for
buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.
8.3/10
★ 4.8 · 23k reviews
EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2
What stands out
EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
unified HR, IT and Finance platform
broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)
Not a fit for
buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.
7.5/10
★ 4.2 · 141 reviews
EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR
What stands out
Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management
Not a fit for
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.
8.0/10
★ 4.6 · 312 reviews
EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated
What stands out
broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
payroll in 70 currencies
Not a fit for
buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.
A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 495 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)
What stands out
Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation
Not a fit for
buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.4 · 391 reviews
EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7
What stands out
Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.
7.0/10
★ 4.8 · 28 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim
What stands out
Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK
Not a fit for
buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.
7.8/10
★ 4.4 · 440 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees
What stands out
Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees
Not a fit for
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
A payroll- and payments-led global workforce platform for enterprises, with EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries and a published 'from $599/mo per employee' EOR price — strongest when payroll depth, payments control and pricing transparency matter.
8.2/10
★ 4.3 · 154 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
40 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA stated
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II
What stands out
EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries
published EOR price (from $599/mo per employee) plus tiered payroll pricing — unusually transparent for the category
owns/operates EOR entities in 40 countries and contractor (AOR) entities in 180
Not a fit for
buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
those needing a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product
A global HR and payroll platform with a notable focus on the Middle East, Africa and other emerging markets. RemotePass covers EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record, contractor management and local payroll across 150 countries, and is one of the few in this set to publish list pricing.
7.9/10
★ 4.4 · 804 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax)
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Onboard new team members within days
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
What stands out
dedicated Contractor of Record that explicitly addresses worker-misclassification risk
published per-seat pricing for EOR ($349), CoR ($299), Local Payroll ($15) and Contractors ($39)
strong MENA/emerging-markets coverage incl. KSA and UAE, with visa sponsorship and relocation
Not a fit for
buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
buyers requiring ISO 27001 or SOC 1 attestations stated up front
buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
What it costs to employ someone in Brazil through an EOR
Brazil’s employer contributions are flat, uncapped percentages of remuneration — INSS patronal, RAT and terceiros don’t taper at higher salaries the way capped contributions do elsewhere, so the share of salary stays constant across pay levels.
Regime geral (not Simples Nacional), IT/office activity, RAT at the 2% FAP-neutral rate. 13th salary and the vacation bonus are shown as their own mandatory components, then INSS patronal, RAT, terceiros and FGTS are computed on gross pay plus both of them. Source: planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01.
Salary (gross/year)
Employer statutory cost
Share of salary
Components
R$ 260,000
R$ 132,311
50.9%
13th salary, 1/3 vacation bonus, INSS patronal 20%, RAT 2%, terceiros 5.8%, FGTS 8% — all four rates applied to gross + 13th + bonus
R$ 520,000
R$ 264,622
50.9%
Same components; terceiros’ disputed 20-minimum-wage cap not applied (see below)
The 35.8% figure often quoted for Brazil (INSS patronal 20% + RAT 2% + terceiros 5.8% + FGTS 8%) is the rate on the monthly salary alone. It understates the real cost because all four of those contributions also apply to the 13th salary and the enjoyed 1/3 vacation bonus — both of which are themselves part of the INSS/FGTS calculation base (FGTS: Lei 8.036/1990 art. 15; INSS on the vacation bonus: STF Tema 985/RE 1.072.485, 2020). Once that’s folded in, the employer’s real annual load works out to about 50.9% on top of base salary, not 35.8% (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
These four rates — INSS patronal, RAT, terceiros and FGTS — haven’t changed since 2021: an employer’s contribution on the same R$260,000 salary has stayed exactly R$93,080/year throughout, before the 13th-salary/vacation-bonus layer (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
The EOR’s own fee sits on top. Deel’s R$39,377/year (about R$3,281/month) is the clearest Brazil-specific figure in our data, stated to cover all statutory costs in one flat fee; Skuad discloses a discounted $199/month Brazil rate too. Every other vendor publishes only a global list price — from $99/month (Native Teams) to $699/month (Remote, Oyster) — or none at all: Rippling, RemotePass and Safeguard Global are quote-based, and Safeguard Global states it doesn’t publish a price for any product or country.
Hidden costs, where actually published: Boundless, Pebl, G-P and RemoFirst each state no setup fee or minimum term, and Borderless AI states a zero-deposit policy — all as global claims, not confirmed Brazil-specifically. Skuad is the one vendor with a Brazil-specific term: its discounted $199/month rate requires a 12-month commitment. No vendor in this set discloses a Brazil-specific deposit or termination fee.
The figures above assume the regime geral (Lucro Real/Presumido), not Simples Nacional, consistent with an EOR’s large payroll, and don’t apply the disputed 20-minimum-wage monthly cap on part of “terceiros” — a cap STJ case law favors but Receita Federal’s default collection practice doesn’t apply (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01). FGTS’s 40% dismissal fine is a real but contingent termination cost, not included above, since it’s one-time, not recurring.
When you don’t need an EOR
Courts look at how the relationship actually runs, not its label. Pairing an EOR hire with a Brazilian entity you already hold raises the piercing risk described above.
Your own Brazilian entity (CNPJ). Avoids the EOR’s grey-area and subsidiary-liability exposure entirely. Deel’s own cost comparison for Brazil cites about R$237,014 in one-off setup costs for an entity, against $0 for its EOR product (per Deel, checked 2026-10-01) — a data point from one vendor’s own materials, not independently verified.
A PEO. Co-employment alongside an entity you already have, rather than the EOR standing in as sole legal employer. Papaya Global markets a dedicated Brazil PEO product alongside its EOR offering; see our PEO glossary entry and EOR vs PEO for how the liability split differs.
What changed in 2026
2026-01-01 — Salário mínimo nacional rises to R$1,621.00/month, from R$1,518.00, a 6.79% nominal increase.
2026-01-01 — INSS teto (the employee’s own maximum contribution base) rises to R$8,475.55; this caps only the employee’s own INSS, not the employer’s uncapped 20% INSS patronal.
2026-01-01 — The gradual reoneração da folha advances for the remaining sectors still eligible for the CPRB revenue-based substitutive regime, shifting the mix further toward standard payroll-based INSS patronal; full extinction of the CPRB option is set for 2028.
2026-01-01 — Income-tax exemption threshold rises to R$5,000/month gross for individuals (partial relief to R$7,350/month) — this changes the employee’s take-home pay via withholding, not the employer’s statutory cost.
2026-05-26 — Updated NR-1 enforcement: employers must have included psychosocial risks (harassment, excessive workload, excessive hours) in their PGR risk inventory, with inspections now fully punitive.
2026-06-18 — STF rapporteur Gilmar Mendes partially lifted the nationwide freeze on lower-court “pejotização” misclassification lawsuits (Tema 1.389); the merits remained undecided as of 2026-09-29.
Numbers vendors haven’t updated
RemotePass states the 2025 national minimum wage as R$1,320/month on its Brazil page. That figure was actually the rate in force from 2023-05-01 through the end of 2023 — Brazil’s minimum wage was R$1,518/month for all of 2025, rising to R$1,621/month from 2026-01-01 (planalto.gov.br, checked 2026-10-01).
How we built this page
Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-01 against primary Brazilian government sources — planalto.gov.br for CLT and statutory law, the Banco Central for the FX rate — plus legal commentary on EOR-specific risk. Vendor entity claims were checked against Brazil’s CNPJ registry (Receita Federal data via publica.cnpj.ws) where a plausible match existed, and against the vendor’s own Brazil-facing page otherwise; where a vendor states only a global entity model, Brazil is recorded as not disclosed rather than assumed. The ranking above puts confirmed, Brazil-specific own entities first. Nobody pays for placement on this page.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Employer of Record cost in Brazil?
Two layers. Statutory employer contributions — INSS patronal, RAT, 'Sistema S' and FGTS — add up to about 35.8% of gross salary on paper, but because the 13th salary and the constitutional vacation bonus are themselves taxed the same way, the real annual load comes out near 51% on top of base salary (R$132,311/year on a R$260,000 salary). On top of that sits the EOR's own fee: Deel publishes R$39,377/year and Skuad a discounted $199/month, both Brazil-specific; most other vendors publish only a global list price, from about $99/month.
Is Employer of Record legal in Brazil?
It's a grey area, not a clear yes or no. Outsourcing in general has been lawful since Lei 13.429/2017 and Lei 13.467/2017, but an EOR placing one employee with a single client, where that client directs the day-to-day work, drifts toward the labor-intermediation fraud CLT art. 9 voids. Courts decide by the facts of each case, and the client carries subsidiary liability for the worker's labor obligations.
Which is the best EOR in Brazil?
Deel has the clearest combination of evidence: a confirmed CNPJ under a personnel-staffing code plus a full Brazil cost breakdown, R$39,377/year. 'Best' depends on how you weight price, confirmed entity ownership and onboarding speed — see the ranking and the entity table below.
What is the cheapest Employer of Record in Brazil?
Skuad publishes the lowest Brazil-specific figure, $199/month (discounted from $349), though it doesn't say who the employing entity is. Native Teams' global list price is lower still, from $99/month, but it has no Brazil-specific figure to confirm that rate applies here.
What's the difference between an EOR and a PEO in Brazil?
An EOR is the legal employer of record; a PEO co-employs alongside a client that already has its own Brazilian entity. Papaya Global markets a Brazil PEO product alongside its EOR offering. See our [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/) comparison and the [PEO glossary entry](/glossary/peo/).
What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Brazil?
A labor court can disregard the EOR and recognize a direct employment relationship with the client, with retroactive FGTS, 13th salary, vacation and severance exposure. The client is also subsidiarily liable if the EOR fails to pay the worker's labor obligations. And if the client later opens its own Brazilian entity while still using an EOR for other hires, authorities gain an easier path to pierce the arrangement.
Does an EOR need a Brazilian work visa to hire a foreign employee?
A non-Brazilian hire needs CGIg work authorization, then a VITEM V visa, then Polícia Federal registration for the CRNM within 90 days of entry — requested by the Brazilian hiring entity. No rule was found that explicitly bars an EOR with its own CNPJ from being that sponsoring entity, though this hasn't been exhaustively verified against CGIg's own resolutions (checked 2026-10-01).
Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Brazil?
If the work is genuinely independent — the person sets their own hours and tools and can serve other clients — a contractor relationship is simpler and cheaper. If the role looks like employment (one client, set schedule, client-directed work), relabeling it as a contract carries the same reclassification risk Brazilian courts apply to EOR arrangements; see our [contractor misclassification glossary entry](/glossary/contractor-misclassification/).
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
The full listings
Hiring contractors in Brazil instead
Employer of Record in other countries
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
20 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.