Employer of Record in mainland China sits in a grey area: there’s no EOR category in Chinese law, and what’s marketed as EOR runs on a labor-dispatch regime built for a client that already has a PRC entity — which a wholly overseas company doesn’t have (China-Briefing, checked 2026-10-01). This page covers the mainland only; Hong Kong is a separate jurisdiction.
On top of a CNY 360,000/year salary, Shanghai employer statutory contributions run CNY 117,720/year — about 33% of salary, covering pension, medical, unemployment, work injury and the housing fund — before the EOR’s own fee, which runs from about $300/month (Remote People) to RMB 4,296/month (roughly $638) at Deel. The sharpest edge: foreign employees can’t be hired through labor dispatch or outsourcing at all. The employer named on a foreigner’s labor contract must match the employer on their work permit, so only a vendor whose PRC entity is genuinely the day-to-day employer can sponsor that hire’s visa.
EOR fits a straightforward local hire where the vendor’s licensed entity is genuinely the employer on paper and in practice. It fits less well for anyone directing sales or business-generating activity in China, where the entity-less pattern raises permanent-establishment exposure, and for a representative office, which must second staff through a FESCO-style dispatch agency instead. A genuinely independent contractor sidesteps the entity question entirely, if the relationship really is independent.
Employing someone in China: key facts
China splits employment rules by city rather than province or federal/state lines, so the figures below give the national statutory floor plus Shanghai, Beijing and Shenzhen — the three cities EOR vendors and this page’s cost examples use.
Minimum wage
China has no national minimum wage; each city or province sets and reviews its own, usually annually in these three.
China has no national minimum wage; each city sets and revises its own. Shenzhen’s September 2026 rise, from CNY 2,520 to 2,700, is the only increase that falls inside 2026 — Shanghai and Beijing last moved in 2025. Source: rsj.sh.gov.cn · beijing.gov.cn · hrss.sz.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01.
Published rates exclude overtime pay, night/heat-allowance premiums, meal/commute/housing subsidies, and the employee’s own social-insurance and housing-fund contributions — the same four carve-outs apply in all three cities’ notices (rsj.sh.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
Employer contributions
The mandatory “five insurances + housing fund” (五险一金) bundle, with bases revised annually (typically each July, Shenzhen’s medical/maternity base on a calendar-year cycle instead):
Shanghai’s employer medical-insurance rate has been cut three times since 2021 — 10.5% to 10% to 9% — while every other component held flat (see What it costs below for the effect on the total).
Working hours and overtime
Statutory floor: 8 hours/day, 44 hours/week (Labor Law Art. 36).
Market-standard practice nationwide, including all three cities, is a 40-hour, 5-day week under the State Council’s 1995 Provisions on Working Hours (english.court.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
Overtime is capped at 1 hour/day (up to 3 hours in special circumstances) and 36 hours/month.
Premiums: 150% of normal wage for overtime on a normal working day, 200% for a rest day (unless compensated with time off), 300% for a statutory public holiday (no substitute time-off allowed).
Annual leave and public holidays
Annual leave is tiered by an employee’s cumulative years of service across all employers, not just tenure with the current one:
Under 1 cumulative year: no statutory entitlement.
1-10 years: 5 working days.
10-20 years: 10 days.
20+ years: 15 days.
Public holidays and rest days don’t count against annual leave (gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
China has 13 paid statutory public-holiday days/year nationwide — the same in Shanghai, Beijing and Shenzhen, since these are set centrally: New Year’s Day (1), Spring Festival (4), Qingming Festival (1), Labour Day (2), Dragon Boat Festival (1), Mid-Autumn Festival (1), National Day (3). This was raised from 11 to 13 days by State Council Decree No. 795, effective 2025-01-01 (gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
Probation
Probation length is tied to the contract term (Labor Contract Law Art. 19):
Contract term
Max probation
Under 3 months, or task-completion
None
3 months - 1 year
1 month
1-3 years
2 months
3+ years or open-ended
6 months
Only one probation period is allowed per employer-employee pair, and it counts as part of the contract term, not on top of it (english.court.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
Notice and severance
China has no general at-will “notice period” model; dismissal must fit a statutory ground.
For no-fault grounds (Labor Contract Law Art. 40 — unfit after training/reassignment, medical incapacity, fundamental change of circumstances), the employer owes 30 days’ written notice or one extra month’s wage in lieu, plus severance.
For serious-fault dismissal (Art. 39), no notice or severance is owed.
Severance: one month’s average wage (last 12 months) per full year of service; 6 months-1 year counts as 1 year; under 6 months pays half a month. If monthly wage exceeds 3x the local average wage, compensation is calculated on 3x that average instead, capped at 12 months of pay regardless of tenure (english.court.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
13th salary and bonuses
No PRC statute mandates a 13th-month payment. A year-end bonus (年终奖, often timed to Spring Festival) is near-universal market practice and commonly written into EOR contracts, but it’s contractual, not a legal entitlement (english.court.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
Mandatory benefits
The “five insurances + housing fund” bundle itself is the core mandatory benefit (see Employer contributions above).
Statutory sick-leave pay (病假工资) is also mandatory, typically 60-100% of wage depending on tenure and local rules.
No mandatory private supplementary health or life insurance; EOR packages commonly add it commercially (rsj.sh.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
Work permits
A foreign national needs a Work Permit for Foreigners (categorised A/B/C by a points system), a Z visa, and, after entry, a residence permit.
The “employing unit” on the work-permit application must be a lawfully established PRC entity with a real business location, must pay the worker’s wages, and must withhold IIT and pay social insurance directly.
The employer named on a foreigner’s labor contract must match the employer named on their work permit, and foreign employees cannot be hired through labor dispatch or business outsourcing at all — not capped at 10%, as for Chinese staff, but barred entirely (China-Briefing, checked 2026-10-01).
A China EOR’s own licensed entity can in principle be the sponsoring employing unit, but only if it’s genuinely the day-to-day employer and the role is credible against the entity’s own registered business scope (typically HR/staffing/consulting).
Currency and payroll
Payroll runs in Chinese yuan (CNY); PBOC’s central-parity fixing was 1 USD = 6.7351 CNY as of 2026-09-30 (tradingpedia.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Wages must be paid at least once a month, in money, on a fixed pay day agreed in the contract (Labor Law Art. 50); monthly salary is standard market practice (english.court.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
Is Employer of Record legal in China?
Grey area. China has no legal category called Employer of Record. What’s marketed as EOR runs on the labor-dispatch (劳务派遣) regime: a licensed dispatch agency signs the labor contract and “dispatches” the worker to a “using unit” — but that using unit must itself be a registered PRC entity, which a wholly overseas client doesn’t have. Modern EOR vendors sidestep this by having their own licensed PRC entity directly employ the worker under an ordinary labor contract and selling an HR-outsourcing service to the client instead — a structure with no explicit statutory blessing (cbltranslations.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Labor dispatch is capped at 10% of a using unit’s workforce and limited to temporary (under 6 months), auxiliary or substitute roles (MOHRSS Order No. 22, effective 2014-03-01, compliance deadline 2016-02-29). Representative offices are exempt from the position-type limit, since their staff must be dispatched by law anyway (gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
A dispatch licence needs at least RMB 2,000,000 in paid-in registered capital, fixed premises, and runs for 3 years (gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
Representative offices can’t sign labor contracts directly; Chinese staff must be seconded through a FESCO-style dispatch agency, which becomes their official employer of record for contract, payroll and social insurance (China-Briefing, checked 2026-10-01).
Foreign employees can’t be hired via labor dispatch or outsourcing at all: the employer on a foreigner’s labor contract must match the employer on their work permit (China-Briefing, checked 2026-10-01).
Social-insurance contributions must come from the entity with the genuine employment relationship; an EOR arrangement without one can itself be a violation, independent of the dispatch headcount rules (cbltranslations.com, checked 2026-10-01).
For the client, four risks follow: permanent-establishment and illegal-office exposure if EOR-employed staff conduct sales or other business-generating activity for a company with no PRC registration (pinsentmasons.com, checked 2026-10-01); social-insurance/benefit risk, since an on-paper employer with no genuine employment relationship can see the social-insurance administration refuse to pay out benefits, with cited cases including court-ordered indemnification and a criminal fraud prosecution over falsified enrolment (cbltranslations.com, checked 2026-10-01); enforcement leverage, since authorities can freeze a non-compliant employer’s China accounts and impose exit bans until liabilities are settled; and work-permit risk for foreign hires, since a client can’t use an EOR as a pass-through sponsor for someone whose day-to-day work and direction genuinely sits with the client rather than the EOR entity.
Who actually employs your hire in China
Three names you might expect aren’t in the table below at all: Oyster lists China among countries it won’t hire in at all; Rise’s own China page marks Employer of Record “Coming Soon” (it only offers contractor payments there today); and China doesn’t appear on Justworks’ published list of EOR-supported countries. Native Teams’ China touchpoints — a “China (Hong Kong)” salary calculator and a separate Hong Kong EOR page — point to Hong Kong rather than the mainland, so it’s left out pending clarification from the vendor.
Of the 17 that do offer China EOR, here’s what each vendor’s own China-facing page says about who actually employs your hire:
Own entity means a first-person vendor statement naming China specifically; a generic global “owned + partner network” claim counts as not disclosed. Source: vendor China pages, collected for this page, checked 2026-10-01.
Thirteen of these 17 don’t say whether China is served by their own entity or a partner’s. That matters more here than in most countries: since labor dispatch is barred for foreign hires and the labor-contract employer must match the work-permit employer, a vague “we handle compliance” answer doesn’t tell you whether the vendor can legally sponsor that specific hire. Before signing, ask directly: “Is the entity that will employ my hire in China your own, and does its registered business scope cover this role?”
How to choose an EOR in China
Hiring in Shanghai, Beijing, Guangdong or Zhejiang specifically? Remote states it owns its China entity directly, but limits EOR coverage to exactly those four provinces — check this before picking Remote if your hire is elsewhere.
Want the clearest entity evidence? Deel names 14 provinces, including Shanghai, Beijing and Shenzhen, for its own entities and backs it with a published China price; Borderless AI and Remote also name China specifically rather than citing only a global entity count.
Weighing price against completeness? Remote People discloses a city- and salary-based $300-600/month range; Skuad’s discounted $379/month is the lowest single published figure among vendors with other China-specific detail. Most others — Multiplier, RemoFirst, Playroll, Pebl, G-P — only give a global list price.
Bringing in a foreign national who needs sponsorship? Confirm the vendor’s China entity is genuinely the day-to-day employer and that the role fits its registered business scope — the labor contract employer must equal the work-permit employer, and none of the 17 vendors here states explicitly that it meets this test.
Why it fitsNames 14 provinces, including Shanghai, Beijing and Shenzhen, for its own entities, with a stated China price, RMB 4,296/month, and zero setup fee.
A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.
A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.
7.7/10
★ 4.2 · 101 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages
What stands out
160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.
8.0/10
★ 4.6 · 312 reviews
EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated
What stands out
broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
payroll in 70 currencies
Not a fit for
buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 495 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)
What stands out
Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation
Not a fit for
buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.
7.8/10
★ 4.4 · 440 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees
What stands out
Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees
Not a fit for
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.7 · 209 reviews
EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5
What stands out
Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 603 reviews
EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts
What stands out
12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.
8.4/10
★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022
What stands out
EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount
Not a fit for
buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.
8.3/10
★ 4.4
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
Why it fitsIts own China page is unusually candid: it warns authorities may treat EOR as labor dispatch, capped at 10% of workforce, with joint-liability risk.
A global HR and payroll platform with a notable focus on the Middle East, Africa and other emerging markets. RemotePass covers EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record, contractor management and local payroll across 150 countries, and is one of the few in this set to publish list pricing.
7.9/10
★ 4.4 · 804 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax)
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Onboard new team members within days
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
What stands out
dedicated Contractor of Record that explicitly addresses worker-misclassification risk
published per-seat pricing for EOR ($349), CoR ($299), Local Payroll ($15) and Contractors ($39)
strong MENA/emerging-markets coverage incl. KSA and UAE, with visa sponsorship and relocation
Not a fit for
buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
buyers requiring ISO 27001 or SOC 1 attestations stated up front
One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.
7.5/10
★ 4.2 · 141 reviews
EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR
What stands out
Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management
Not a fit for
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.
8.3/10
★ 4.8 · 23k reviews
EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2
What stands out
EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
unified HR, IT and Finance platform
broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)
Not a fit for
buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.
7.0/10
★ 4.8 · 28 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim
What stands out
Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK
Not a fit for
buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
Why it fitsNames China among the countries where it partners with local employment lawyers, though that's a legal advisory link, not an entity or price disclosure.
A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.4 · 391 reviews
EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7
What stands out
Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
A payroll- and payments-led global workforce platform for enterprises, with EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries and a published 'from $599/mo per employee' EOR price — strongest when payroll depth, payments control and pricing transparency matter.
8.2/10
★ 4.3 · 154 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
40 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA stated
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II
What stands out
EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries
published EOR price (from $599/mo per employee) plus tiered payroll pricing — unusually transparent for the category
owns/operates EOR entities in 40 countries and contractor (AOR) entities in 180
Not a fit for
buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
those needing a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product
buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
What it costs to employ someone in China through an EOR
China has no small-employer relief on social insurance or the housing fund — an EOR’s payroll is modelled here as its own PRC entity with a large combined payroll, so every component applies at the stated rate up to each city’s base ceiling. Work-injury insurance uses each city’s lowest office/IT industry-risk tier, and housing fund is set at 7% for all three cities for comparability — Shanghai’s statutory ceiling is 7%, but Beijing and Shenzhen allow up to 12%, so a real EOR could cost more there.
Employer-side “five insurances plus housing fund” contributions only, before the EOR’s own fee. Shenzhen’s total is lower mainly because its pension base cap (CNY 27,549/month) sits well below Shanghai and Beijing’s, not because its rates are lower. Source: rsj.sh.gov.cn · beijing.gov.cn · hrss.sz.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01.
City
Gross (CNY/year)
Employer statutory (CNY/year)
Share of salary
What’s capped
Shanghai
360,000
117,720
32.7%
Nothing — all bases below the CNY 37,731 ceiling
Shanghai
720,000
148,056
20.6%
Every component, at the CNY 37,731 base
Beijing
360,000
120,600
33.5%
Nothing — all bases below the CNY 36,348 ceiling
Beijing
720,000
146,119
20.3%
Every component, at the CNY 36,348 base
Shenzhen
360,000
105,094
29.2%
Pension only, at the CNY 27,549 base
Shenzhen
720,000
125,533
17.4%
Pension, medical and housing fund, each at its own cap
Shanghai’s total employer contribution on this salary has eased only slightly since 2021 — from CNY 10,260/month to CNY 9,810/month now — because the medical-insurance employer rate was cut three times, from 10.5% to 10% in 2022 and to 9% in 2024, while every other component held flat (ybj.sh.gov.cn, checked 2026-10-01).
The EOR’s own fee is on top of the above. Published China-specific figures in our data run from about $300/month (Remote People’s low end, up to $600 depending on salary, city and visa status) to RMB 4,296/month (roughly $638) at Deel; Skuad’s discounted China rate is $379/month and Borderless AI’s is $579/month. Most other vendors — Multiplier, RemoFirst, Playroll, Pebl, G-P and more — publish only a global list price ($199-$599/month) or none at all, quote-based.
Hidden costs, where published: Deel states a one-off setup cost of RMB 0 for its China EOR option, against RMB 20,000-100,000+ to set up your own China entity, per the same comparison table (Deel, checked 2026-10-01). RemoFirst, Pebl and Boundless all state no setup fees and no minimum contract globally, though none of the three gives a China-specific figure to go with it.
When you don’t need an EOR
A foreign hire’s labor contract employer must match the employer named on their work permit, and labor dispatch is barred for foreign employees entirely — not just capped at 10% of headcount, as it is for Chinese staff. Source: China-Briefing, checked 2026-10-01.
A genuinely independent contractor. Stays outside the labor-dispatch problem described above entirely, since no PRC labor-contract employer needs to be named at all. See our contractor misclassification glossary entry for where that line generally sits.
Your own PRC entity. The route with the clearest statutory basis for employing staff directly and sponsoring a foreign hire’s work permit yourself, since an EOR can’t be a pass-through sponsor for someone whose day-to-day work sits with the client rather than the EOR entity.
A PEO. Papaya Global runs a separate China PEO product alongside its EOR; see our PEO glossary entry and EOR vs PEO for how the liability split differs.
What changed in 2026
2026-01-01 — Shenzhen Tier-1 basic medical insurance employer rate rises from 5% to 6% (plus 0.5% maternity, unchanged), as the city’s phased pandemic/cost-relief rate reduction expired on 2025-12-31.
2026-03-01 — Shanghai holds its phased-reduction medical insurance employer rate at 9% (8.5% basic + 0.5% local supplementary) for a further 12 months, through 2027-02-28 — the third consecutive year at this rate.
2026-07-01 — Annual social-insurance contribution-base reset in all three cities: Shanghai CNY 7,546-37,731/month, Beijing CNY 7,270-36,348/month, Shenzhen pension base CNY 4,775-27,549/month and housing-fund base CNY 2,520-48,471/month.
2026-09-01 — Shenzhen’s full-time minimum wage rises from CNY 2,520 to CNY 2,700/month (part-time hourly rate from CNY 23.7 to CNY 25.4/hour), following a Guangdong provincial directive — the only one of the three cities’ minimum-wage moves that falls inside 2026.
Numbers vendors haven’t updated
Deel states Shanghai’s minimum wage as RMB 2,690 (dated June 2025) and Beijing’s part-time rate as RMB 26.4/hour; the current figures are CNY 2,740/month in Shanghai (from 2025-07-01) and CNY 27.7/hour in Beijing (from 2025-09-01).
RemoFirst says China’s minimum wage “hovers around CNY 2,590/month” without naming a city or date; current city rates range from CNY 2,540 (Beijing) to CNY 2,740 (Shanghai).
Playroll states “around CNY 2,690 in major cities like Shanghai”; the current Shanghai rate is CNY 2,740/month, in force since 2025-07-01.
How we built this page
Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-01 against city-level government sources (rsj.sh.gov.cn, beijing.gov.cn, hrss.sz.gov.cn) and, for the labor-dispatch and work-permit rules, China-Briefing and cbltranslations’ legal commentary. Vendor entity claims were checked against each vendor’s own China-facing page; no Chinese corporate registry (qcc, tianyancha, gsxt) was checked, since all three require a login, so where a vendor states only a global entity model, we recorded China as not disclosed rather than assuming. The ranking above puts vendors with a China-specific entity statement and price first. Nobody pays for placement on this page.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Employer of Record cost in China?
Two layers: employer statutory contributions and the EOR's own fee. On a CNY 360,000 salary, employer contributions run from CNY 105,094/year in Shenzhen to CNY 120,600 in Beijing — roughly 29-34% of salary for the five insurances plus housing fund. The EOR's own China-specific fee runs from about $300/month (Remote People) to RMB 4,296/month (about $638) at Deel; most other vendors publish only a global list price or none at all.
Is Employer of Record legal in China?
Grey area. China has no legal category called Employer of Record. What's marketed as EOR runs on the labor-dispatch regime, which is built for a 'using unit' that is itself a registered PRC entity — exactly what an overseas client lacks. Vendors work around this by using their own licensed PRC entity as the direct employer instead, a pattern with no explicit statutory blessing.
Which is the best EOR in China?
Deel has the most complete evidence: 14 named provinces for its own entities, a China-specific price (RMB 4,296/month) and a stated RMB 0 setup fee. Remote also states it owns its China entity directly, but only covers Shanghai, Beijing, Guangdong and Zhejiang. 'Best' depends on whether coverage, price or entity evidence matters more to you — see the ranking below.
What is the cheapest Employer of Record in China?
Remote People discloses the lowest China-specific figure, from $300/month (up to $600 depending on salary, city and visa status). Skuad's discounted China price, $379/month, is the next lowest with a single published number rather than a range.
Can an EOR sponsor a work visa for a new foreign hire in China?
Only if its PRC entity is genuinely the day-to-day employer. The employer named on a foreigner's labor contract must match the employer named on their work permit, and foreign employees cannot be hired through labor dispatch or outsourcing at all — not just capped at 10% of headcount, as applies to Chinese staff. None of the 17 vendors here confirms it meets this test explicitly.
What's the difference between an EOR and a representative office in China?
A representative office (RO) can't sign labor contracts directly at all — Chinese staff must be seconded through a FESCO-style dispatch agency by law, which becomes their official employer of record. An EOR for a client with no PRC presence at all instead uses its own licensed entity as direct employer, a separate and less-settled pattern. See our [PEO glossary entry](/glossary/peo/) for how co-employment compares.
What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in China?
If EOR-employed staff conduct sales or other business-generating activity for an overseas company with no PRC registration, both illegal-presence and permanent-establishment tax exposure rise. If the on-paper employer turns out to have no genuine employment relationship with the worker, the social-insurance administration can refuse benefit payouts, and authorities can freeze accounts or impose exit bans until liabilities are settled.
Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in China?
A genuinely independent contractor stays outside the labor-dispatch problem entirely, since no PRC labor-contract employer needs to be named at all. See our [contractor misclassification glossary entry](/glossary/contractor-misclassification/) for where that line generally sits.
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
The full listings
Hiring contractors in China instead
Employer of Record in other countries
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
17 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.