Employer of Record is a grey area in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Neither the Federation of BiH (FBiH) nor Republika Srpska (RS) has an EOR rule or a licence regime for agency work. The Constitutional Court held in 2020 (AP-809/19, as reported by BDK Advokati) that staff leasing is not prohibited in the Federation, but in a case between two local companies (bdkadvokati.com, checked 2026-10-07).
Cost has two layers. FBiH employer contributions are 5.0% of gross since 2025-07-01, down from 10.5%; in RS the employer pays none on top of gross (Law on Contributions, FBiH, checked 2026-10-07). The EOR fee comes on top: list prices in our table run from $99 to $699 per month, and three providers show a price on a Bosnian page.
Labour law and contributions are set per entity, so the rules that apply depend on where the employer is registered and where the worker lives. No source we found settles the cross-entity case. A draft new FBiH Labour Law that would regulate temporary employment agencies is not adopted.
An Employer of Record suits a hire you direct like staff, when you have no Bosnian entity and accept a legal position that is untested for a foreign client. A foreign national also needs a work permit tied to one employer. An independent specialist can work as a contractor; see also paying contractors in Bosnia and Herzegovina.
Employing someone in Bosnia and Herzegovina: key facts
Bosnia and Herzegovina has no state-level labour or contributions law: labour law, contributions and the minimum wage are set separately in the Federation of BiH (FBiH, main hiring market Sarajevo) and Republika Srpska (RS). The figures below are FBiH first, with RS beside them; Brčko District is touched only where a source covers it. The currency is the convertible mark (BAM, written KM here) (cbbh.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
Minimum wage
Set per entity, net, per month for full-time work, from 2026-01-01.
RS employers also pay a seniority uplift, a hot meal and commuting costs on top of the minimum (opstina-novigrad.com, checked 2026-10-07).
We did not open the FBiH Official Gazette text; the figure and the 2025-12-30 Government decision come from a news item, which states no hours basis.
FBiH minimum wage, net KM per month, in force on 31 December each year. The 2021 figure comes from the 2016 collective agreement, not a statutory rate; 2025 was set by Government decision above the methodology result. Source: fbihvlada.gov.ba, paragraf.ba, paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07.
Employer contributions
The split differs by entity. In FBiH the employer pays 5.0% on top of gross; in RS the law puts all 31% on the employee.
Entity
Payer
Items
Total
Source
FBiH
Employer
Pension and disability 2.50% + health 2.00% + unemployment 0.50%
5.0% of gross, applied from 2025-07-01 (was 10.5%)
FBiH has no upper cap on the contribution base; the base cannot be below the minimum wage (Law on Contributions Art. 7, 10).
Two employer-paid fees in FBiH are not contributions: a general water fee of 0.5% and a natural-disaster fee of 0.5%, both on net pay (voda.ba, slobodnaevropa.org, press only, checked 2026-10-07). A professional-rehabilitation fee applies where the disability quota is not met.
Brčko District: Eurofast lists a separate regime (employer 6% pension only where the FBiH law is used). We did not check it against Brčko law, and it does not reflect the 2025 FBiH cut.
Employee-side income tax, per Eurofast: FBiH 10% on gross less contributions less a KM 300 monthly deduction; RS 8% on gross less a KM 1,000 deduction (checked 2026-10-07).
Working hours and overtime
Rule
FBiH
RS
Full-time week
40 hours (Art. 36)
40 hours; a general act may set fewer, not below 36 (Art. 57)
Overtime limit
8 hours a week, on the employer’s request (Art. 38)
10 hours a week and 4 a day, in writing (Art. 60-61)
Overtime pay uplift
Set by collective agreement, rulebook and contract (Art. 76)
Same, per Art. 63
Sources: FBiH Labour Act, consolidated copy, RS Labour Act, checked 2026-10-07. In FBiH the labour inspectorate must be told if overtime runs more than 3 weeks in a row or more than 10 weeks in a calendar year.
Annual leave and public holidays
FBiH: at least 20 and at most 30 working days a year (Art. 47); a new hire earns the right after 6 months of continuous work (Art. 48) (FBiH Labour Act, checked 2026-10-07).
RS: at least 20 working days (Art. 80); unused leave must be taken by 30 June of the next year (RS Labour Act, CMS, 2023, checked 2026-10-07).
FBiH non-working days in 2026: 1-2 Jan, 6-7 Jan, 2 Mar, 20-21 Mar (Ramadan Bayram), 3 Apr and 5-6 Apr (Catholic Easter), 10 Apr and 12-13 Apr (Orthodox Easter), 1-2 May, 27-28 May (Kurban Bayram), 25 Nov, 24-25 Dec (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
RS: 1-2 Jan, 9 Jan, 1-2 May, 9 May, 21 Nov, plus up to two days of paid leave on a citizen’s own religious holidays. This list comes from search summaries of a calendar page and may be incomplete (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
Probation
FBiH: up to 6 months (Art. 21(2)); if it ends early, 7 days’ notice.
RS: up to 3 months (Art. 37(1)); either side may end it early on 7 days’ notice (Art. 37(7)).
Sources: FBiH and RS Labour Acts above, checked 2026-10-07.
Notice and severance
Rule
FBiH
RS
Employer’s notice
At least 14 days (Art. 105(1))
At least 30 calendar days (Art. 192(2))
Employee’s notice
At least 7 days
At least 15 calendar days
Longer notice
By contract or rulebook (Art. 105(3))
By general act for longer service (Art. 192(5))
Severance in both entities: a worker on an open-ended contract dismissed by the employer after at least 2 years of continuous work gets at least one third of the average monthly pay of the last three months per completed year, up to six monthly pays (FBiH Art. 111; RS Art. 194, net average pay). No severance on dismissal for breach of duty.
FBiH: the amount rises by at least 50% when a worker with reduced work ability is dismissed (Art. 74).
Sources: FBiH and RS Labour Acts above, checked 2026-10-07.
13th salary and bonuses
Not mandatory in either entity. The RS leave allowance (regres) is due “in accordance with the law and the collective agreement” (Art. 87(2)); collective agreements or contracts may add more (RS Labour Act, checked 2026-10-07).
Mandatory benefits
No statutory private insurance beyond contributions. Hot meal, commuting allowance and leave allowance come from the collective agreement, rulebook and contract.
RS: a cash hot meal of at least 0.85% of the previous year’s average gross pay per day (KM 18.24 gross in 2025), and a base-pay rise of 0.3% per year of service (opstina-novigrad.com, 2025 figures, checked 2026-10-07).
FBiH: Eurofast says a hot meal is mandatory with the minimum wage but gives no amount; we did not read the FBiH collective agreement (Eurofast, checked 2026-10-07).
Sick pay: the employer can claim sickness compensation back from the health fund; the share it pays itself is not confirmed.
Work permits
A foreigner needs a work permit before entering to take paid work. It is requested by the employer, valid for at most one year (Law on Foreigners Art. 62-63, as summarised on paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
FBiH (Law on Employment of Foreigners, checked 2026-10-07): the cantonal employment service issues it by the employer’s seat; labour-market test (Art. 11); annual quota (Art. 14-15); not transferable to another employer (Art. 12(2)); the employer shows a court-register extract, bank solvency proof and proof of paid taxes (Art. 9).
RS: permit through the RS Employment Institute; 2026 quota 2,000 (500 renewals, 1,500 new) (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
The FBiH Act’s employer is a legal or natural person conducting business in the Federation (Art. 3). An EOR with its own local entity would fit; a foreign client with no BiH entity would not (our reading). We found no rule on whether a licensed agency or EOR may sponsor a permit for a worker assigned to a client.
Currency and payroll
Convertible mark (BAM, KM), pegged at 1 EUR = 1.95583 KM. Central Bank middle rate on 2026-10-07: 1 USD = 1.735584 KM (cbbh.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
FBiH: pay in periods no longer than 30 days (Art. 79). RS: at least monthly, by the end of the month for the previous month, to a bank account, with a written pay calculation (Art. 126). Pay is stated as gross in both entities.
Monthly tax reporting: MIP in FBiH, MOP in RS (Eurofast, checked 2026-10-07).
Is Employer of Record legal in Bosnia and Herzegovina?
Grey area. Neither entity has an EOR rule or a licence regime for agency work. The FBiH Labour Act has no chapter on temporary agency work or staff leasing: the employer is the person who gives the worker a job under an employment contract (Art. 5) and must register the worker for pension, health and unemployment insurance (Art. 4) (FBiH Labour Act, checked 2026-10-07). Lex Mundi’s guide (JPM & Partners, updated 2026-05-11) says the FBiH and Brčko Labour Laws do not regulate assignment of employment contracts (lexmundi.com, checked 2026-10-07). We found no BiH-specific EOR commentary from other law firms. See also the Employer of Record glossary entry.
Constitutional Court, AP-809/19 (2020-11-10). As reported by BDK Advokati, the court held that the FBiH Labour Act does not prohibit staff leasing and that a user whose leased workers had contracts with, and were insured by, the lessor committed no misdemeanour under Art. 170. It quashed the fines and sent the case back. The case was between two Federation companies, not a foreign client with no local entity. We took the holding from the law firm’s summary; the decision text did not open (bdkadvokati.com, checked 2026-10-07).
RS. The RS Labour Act has no agency-work regime either. Art. 173 lets an employer post a worker to another employer when the need for the work has temporarily ceased, premises are leased or a business-cooperation contract exists, for up to one year (longer with the worker’s consent). The worker signs a fixed-term contract with the host, with no fewer rights than at the sending employer. This is employer-to-employer inside RS; no source addresses a foreign client without an RS entity (RS Labour Act, checked 2026-10-07).
Draft FBiH Labour Law. It would define a temporary employment agency and let the Federal minister set conditions and a register by rulebook. Press coverage adds equal conditions for assigned workers and limits to replacements, temporary peaks and projects (not seen in the ministry presentation). It was submitted to the Government in early 2026 and is not adopted; the draft text itself was not found (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
Risks for the client:
Re-characterisation. A labour inspector can treat leased workers who do regular work for the user as the user’s own employees; that was the starting point of the case behind AP-809/19.
Fines. FBiH: KM 500-2,000 per worker for an employer that does not conclude a contract and register the worker, KM 5,000-10,000 for a repeat offence (Art. 170). RS: KM 5,000-20,000 (Art. 266(1) point 3).
Legal change. An EOR entity in the Federation may need to qualify once the new law is adopted. Timing is unknown.
Entity split. Contributions, tax and labour rules follow the entity of the employer and, for the worker, the place of work. Whether an EOR seated in one entity can employ someone who lives or works in the other, and which pension and health fund then applies, is not settled by any source we found.
Foreign workers. The permit is tied to one employer, one job and a quota, and the employer must be a local business in the entity.
Who actually employs your hire in Bosnia and Herzegovina
We looked up each provider in the company register through the public mirror companywall.ba; the mirror can lag the court register and does not show an owner for every record. A company counts as the provider’s own only where its owner is the brand company. We then searched the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Policy’s register of private employment-mediation agencies (fmrsp.gov.ba: 9 active entries, 12 annulled). No provider’s Bosnian page names the company, so each match rests on the register entry.
Page says “Remote can employ team members in Bosnia and Herzegovina”, naming no company. Remote Technology BH d.o.o., Sarajevo, founded 2022-12-07, owners Remote Europe Holding B.V. and Remote Finance B.V., 39 employees
Page names no company. A company named DEEL d.o.o. is registered in Sarajevo (founded 2021-01-01, 29 employees); the mirror shows no owner and Deel doesn’t state it
Guide says “in Bosnia & Herzegovina we directly employ your worker” and doesn’t name a Bosnian entity. No matching company found, including under Payoneer
Page says “the EOR already has an established entity in Bosnia and Herzegovina”, about EORs in general. No matching company found
Not published
All checked 2026-10-07. “Own entity” means a company in the register whose owner is the provider’s brand company. Not in the table: Rippling and Justworks, which do not offer EOR in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Papaya Global, RemotePass, Rise, Kleos and Remozo, whose EOR service there we could not confirm.
Own entity counts a Bosnian company in the register (via a public mirror) whose owner is the provider’s brand company: two in the Federation, one in Republika Srpska. Source: companywall.ba mirror, vendor country pages, checked 2026-10-07.
None of the Federation’s register entries matched the three companies by name or company ID: DEEL d.o.o., Remote Technology BH and OYSTER HR BH are not in the FBiH mediation-agencies register, active or annulled. That register covers employment mediation, not temporary-work agencies as such, and no FBiH rule requires an EOR to hold this licence, so this is not a finding of non-compliance. We did not find a list of licensed agencies in RS, so Multiplier’s company was not checked there.
Thirteen of the 16 providers don’t say which Bosnian company employs your hire. Before signing, ask: “Which company, registered in which entity, signs my employee’s contract, and where do you pay the contributions?”
How to choose an EOR in Bosnia and Herzegovina
Which entity will the hire live and work in? Rules and contributions differ: FBiH employer contributions are 5.0% of gross, RS employer contributions are none on top of gross, and probation, notice and overtime limits differ too. Remote, Oyster and Deel’s company are in Sarajevo (FBiH); Multiplier’s is in Banja Luka (RS). Whether a company in one entity can employ a person living in the other is open, so ask which entity’s rules your contract will follow.
Is the hire a foreign national? A permit is tied to one employer and job, lasts up to a year in FBiH and depends on a quota. Ask who applies and on what basis, in writing, because we found no rule on whether an agency or EOR can sponsor. Rivermate’s guide says foreign nationals take four to eight weeks to onboard, against one to two weeks for local employees; Remote’s page adds 3 days for the right-to-work check (vendor claims).
Do you want to keep the hire for years? Oyster’s page says: “When a company is hiring employees on behalf of another company, the term of employment is limited to three years”. It names no law and we found none. The draft FBiH law would add limits for temporary agencies. If the role is long-term, ask any provider how it structures employment beyond three years.
Price or completeness? Prices on a Bosnian page start at $300 (Remote People, range to $600), $399 (Playroll) and $599 (Deel, plus a one-time $80 “wet ink” agreement fee on its page). Native Teams’ global $99 is the lowest listed price. Price says nothing about the legal basis: compare it after you have the answer on who the employer is. Vendors quote onboarding from 1-2 days (Multiplier) and 3 days (Deel) to 7-12 business days (Playroll); these are their claims.
A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.
8.4/10
★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022
What stands out
EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount
Not a fit for
buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Why it fitsMultiplier Technologies d.o.o., Banja Luka (RS), owned by Multiplier Technologies Pte. Ltd. Page quotes 1-2 days onboarding. Core $459/month, global.
A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.7 · 209 reviews
EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5
What stands out
Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 495 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)
What stands out
Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation
Not a fit for
buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.
8.0/10
★ 4.6 · 312 reviews
EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated
What stands out
broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
payroll in 70 currencies
Not a fit for
buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.
7.0/10
★ 4.8 · 28 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim
What stands out
Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK
Not a fit for
buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.
7.8/10
★ 4.4 · 440 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees
What stands out
Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees
Not a fit for
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.
7.9/10
★ 4.7 · 367 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS
What stands out
EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk
Not a fit for
buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 603 reviews
EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts
What stands out
12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.4 · 391 reviews
EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7
What stands out
Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.
A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.
7.7/10
★ 4.2 · 101 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages
What stands out
160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.
8.3/10
★ 4.4
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.
7.5/10
★ 4.2 · 141 reviews
EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR
What stands out
Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management
Not a fit for
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
What it costs to employ someone in Bosnia and Herzegovina through an EOR
The base case is the Federation of BiH (Sarajevo), with the EOR as a large-payroll employer. Gross pay is KM 86,800 and KM 173,600 a year (KM 7,233.33 and KM 14,466.67 a month), about USD 50,000 and USD 100,000 at the Central Bank of BiH middle rate of 1 USD = 1.735584 KM on 2026-10-07 (cbbh.ba, checked 2026-10-07). Gross is the agreed pre-tax wage; the 31% employee contributions and 10% income tax are withheld from it and are not employer cost.
FBiH employer contributions only, before the EOR’s own fee. Both salaries pay 5.0% because the Federation has no contribution ceiling. Source: Law on Contributions, FBiH, Eurofast, checked 2026-10-07.
Gross salary
Employer statutory cost
Share of gross
Components
KM 86,800
KM 4,340
5.0%
Pension 2.50% x 86,800 = 2,170.00; health 2.00% = 1,736.00; unemployment 0.50% = 434.00
KM 173,600
KM 8,680
5.0%
Pension 2.50% x 173,600 = 4,340.00; health 2.00% = 3,472.00; unemployment 0.50% = 868.00
In Republika Srpska the Law on Contributions puts all 31% on the employee, so employer contributions on top of the same gross wage are KM 0; the cost is the gross wage plus the seniority uplift, hot meal and commuting costs.
The FBiH employer rate was 10.5% until 2025-06-30. On the first salary, employer contributions fell from KM 9,114 to KM 4,340 a year, a drop of 52.4%. The figure for 2025 is the rate in force on 31 December; with the cut applied from 2025-07-01, the actual 2025 cost was KM 6,727. The Government has said a second cut and a unified rate may follow; nothing adopted for 2026-2027 was found.
Same KM 86,800 salary every year, rate in force on 31 December. Pension fell from 6.00% to 2.50% and health from 4.00% to 2.00%; unemployment stayed at 0.50%. Source: FBiH Parliament, 2025 proposal, Law on Contributions, FBiH, checked 2026-10-07.
Not included: the water fee (0.5%) and natural-disaster fee (0.5%), both on net pay, so about 1% of net; the professional-rehabilitation fee where the disability quota is not met; hot meal, commuting and leave allowance; employer-paid sick pay; severance; and the EOR fee.
The EOR’s own fee comes on top, in USD per month. Three providers show a price on a Bosnian page: Remote People $300-$600, Playroll from $399 and Deel (management fee) from $599. Global list prices, where no Bosnian figure exists, run from $99 (Native Teams) to $699 (Oyster). Remote, Atlas HXM, G-P and Safeguard Global publish no price for Bosnia.
Hidden costs: Deel’s page lists a one-time “Mandatory Wet Ink Employment Agreement Handling Fee” of $80; Playroll’s says “no upfront setup cost” and a monthly rolling service. Setup fee, deposit, minimum term and termination fee are not published by any other provider we checked. Treat a blank as unpublished, not zero.
When you don’t need an EOR
A role that is employment should not be relabelled as a contract. No source says whether an agency or EOR may apply for a work permit for a placed foreigner. Source: Law on Employment of Foreigners, FBiH, BDK Advokati, checked 2026-10-07.
Your own Bosnian entity. The route to weigh if you want to be the registered employer, for instance for a work permit: the FBiH Act’s employer is a person conducting business in the Federation, which a foreign client with no entity is not (our reading). Entity set-up was not researched here.
Direct employment without an entity. We did not research whether a foreign company can employ a local resident directly; for a foreigner’s work permit, see above.
What changed in 2026
2025-07-01: FBiH employer contributions fell from 10.5% to 5.0% of gross; 2026 is the first full year at 5%. Employee contributions stayed at 31% (Law on Contributions, FBiH, checked 2026-10-07).
2025-10-04: the new BiH Law on Personal Data Protection (Sl. glasnik BiH 12/25), aligned with the GDPR, started to apply; some sources give 5 October (bhas.gov.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
2026-01-01: the FBiH minimum wage rose to KM 1,027 net from KM 1,000 (+2.7%) (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
2026-01-01: the RS minimum wage rose to KM 1,000 net basic and KM 1,050, 1,100, 1,350 and 1,450 by education level, from KM 900, 950, 1,000 and 1,300 in 2025 (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
2026-01-01: the RS work-permit quota for foreigners is 2,000 (500 renewals, 1,500 new), unchanged from the previous year (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
2026-02-05: the Federal Ministry of Labour sent a draft of a new FBiH Labour Law to the Government (other reports say January). It would make open-ended contracts the rule, cap fixed-term use at three contracts in two years and, for the first time, regulate temporary employment agencies. It is a draft, not adopted as of September 2026; the provisions are press descriptions (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
2026: the FBiH Parliament adopted amendments to the Law on Employment of Foreigners: a decision within 30 days of a complete request, an annual list of deficit occupations that skips the unemployed-register check, and a 15-day duty to tell the cantonal service if the foreigner does not start or stops work. The gazette number and the in-force date were not found (parlamentfbih.gov.ba, checked 2026-10-07).
Numbers vendors haven’t updated
Minimum wage. The FBiH rate in force is KM 1,027 net, and RS is KM 1,000-1,450 by education. RemoFirst’s page gives KM 590; Playroll’s about KM 600 in FBiH and KM 520 in RS; Borderless AI’s KM 614 (FBiH) and KM 600 (RS) at 2024-01-01; Multiplier’s KM 1,000 for FBiH and KM 900-1,300 for RS, the 2025 figures; Boundless’s KM 1,000. Deel’s page gives KM 1,027 net (remofirst.com, playroll.com, hireborderless.com, usemultiplier.com, boundlesshq.com, deel.com, checked 2026-10-07).
Employer cost. The statute gives 5.0% of gross in FBiH and nothing on top of gross in RS. Deel’s page shows an estimated employer cost of 7.1% and gives its contribution ceiling in RSD rather than marks; Multiplier’s page about 10.5%; Borderless AI’s 10.5% for both entities; Oyster’s 12.3%; Playroll’s “around 32-35%”. Remote People’s page shows the FBiH split as 2.5% + 2% + 0.5%, as the statute does (deel.com, usemultiplier.com, hireborderless.com, oysterhr.com, playroll.com, remotepeople.com, checked 2026-10-07).
Probation. Skuad’s guide says RS probation can be extended by a further 3 months; we did not find that in the Art. 37 text (skuad.io, checked 2026-10-07).
How we built this page
Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-07 against FBiH and RS legislation (some in unofficial consolidated copies, several Official Gazette texts not opened), government and parliament pages, Eurofast and law-firm material. Companies were checked in the company register through a public mirror, which may lag the court register, and against the FBiH register of private employment-mediation agencies; we found no RS list, so where a provider uses a differently named entity or a partner, our search cannot see it. Providers are ordered with companies on record first, then those that do not disclose, and by published Bosnian price and completeness within each group. No provider pays for placement.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Employer of Record cost in Bosnia and Herzegovina?
Two layers. In the Federation of BiH employer contributions are 5.0% of gross with no cap: KM 4,340 on a KM 86,800 salary and KM 8,680 on KM 173,600. In Republika Srpska the employer pays none on top of gross. The EOR fee is on top: list prices in our table run from $99 to $699 per month, and three providers show a price on a Bosnian page (Remote People $300-$600, Playroll from $399, Deel from $599).
Is Employer of Record legal in Bosnia and Herzegovina?
It is a grey area. Neither the Federation nor Republika Srpska has an EOR rule or a licence regime for agency work. The Constitutional Court held in 2020 (AP-809/19, as reported by BDK Advokati) that staff leasing is not prohibited in the Federation, in a case between two local companies. A foreign client with no local entity is untested, and a draft new FBiH Labour Law on temporary employment agencies is not adopted.
Which EOR providers have a company in Bosnia and Herzegovina?
Three of the 16 have one on record owned by a company with the brand's name: Remote and Oyster in Sarajevo (FBiH) and Multiplier in Banja Luka (RS), per a public mirror of the company register. A company named DEEL d.o.o. is registered in Sarajevo, but Deel doesn't state it. None of the Federation-registered companies is found by name or company ID in the FBiH employment-mediation agencies register, which is not a finding of non-compliance.
What is the cheapest EOR in Bosnia and Herzegovina?
Among prices on a Bosnian page, Remote People starts lowest at $300 per month (range to $600), then Playroll from $399 and Deel from $599. Global list prices go lower, to $99 at Native Teams. Price says nothing about the legal basis: ask which company employs your hire, and in which entity, first.
What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Bosnia and Herzegovina?
A labour inspector can treat workers who do regular work for the client as the client's own employees; that was the starting point of the case behind AP-809/19. Fines for an employer that does not conclude a contract and register the worker are KM 500-2,000 per worker in FBiH and KM 5,000-20,000 in RS. Which entity's rules apply when the EOR is seated in one entity and the worker lives in the other is not settled by any source we found.
Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Bosnia and Herzegovina?
If the person works independently, yes: see [how to pay contractors in Bosnia and Herzegovina](/software/contractor-payouts/bosnia-and-herzegovina/) and [our hiring guide](/hire-contractors/bosnia-and-herzegovina/). If they work under your direction like staff, a contract is the wrong label. See [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/).
Can an EOR in Bosnia and Herzegovina sponsor a work visa?
A foreigner needs a work permit before entering, requested by the employer, valid for at most one year and not transferable to another employer. In the Federation the employer must be a person conducting business there and there is an annual quota. We found no rule on whether a licensed agency or EOR may sponsor a permit for a worker assigned to a client.
What is the minimum wage in Bosnia and Herzegovina in 2026?
It is set per entity, net per month. In the Federation it is KM 1,027 from 2026-01-01, up 2.7% from KM 1,000. In Republika Srpska it is KM 1,000 basic and KM 1,050, 1,100, 1,350 or 1,450 by education level. Brčko District is not confirmed.
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
The full listings
Hiring contractors in Bosnia and Herzegovina instead
Employer of Record in other countries
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
16 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.