How to pay contractors in Bosnia and Herzegovina

A contractor in Bosnia and Herzegovina is usually paid by SWIFT transfer in euros or dollars to the foreign-currency account of a registered sole trader, sent from your bank, from Wise or from a payout platform. The choice depends on which of the country’s tax systems the contractor falls under, whether the engagement looks like employment, and how much of each transfer the receiving bank keeps.

The convertible mark is pegged to the euro through a currency board at 1.95583 KM per euro (cbbh.ba, checked 2026-09-29), so euro-priced contracts carry no exchange-rate risk for either side. What the country lacks is SEPA: the Central Bank applied on 6 August 2026, and the first SEPA transactions are expected no earlier than six months after admission (klix.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Until then, euros from the EU travel as international wires with intermediary charges.

Tax is split between the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (FBiH), Republika Srpska (RS) and Brčko District, each with its own income tax law. A sole trader in the Federation pays 10% on profit plus 36% contributions on a fixed base; a small entrepreneur in RS pays 2% of revenue up to KM 100,000 (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29).

A monthly EUR wire or Wise covers a contractor with other clients. Someone working full-time for you alone is better engaged through a Contractor of Record. The entity split, classification and IP rules are in our hiring guide.

Paying contractors in Bosnia and Herzegovina?

Work with your international team without operational chaos

Start now →

Key facts

Currency
Convertible mark (BAM, KM), fixed by a currency board at 1.95583 KM per euro
Contractor's usual legal form
Sole trader: an obrt (samostalna djelatnost) in the Federation (FBiH), a preduzetnik in Republika Srpska (RS); some use a d.o.o.
Contractor's tax
Set by entity. FBiH: 10% on profit plus 36% contributions on a fixed base. RS: small entrepreneurs pay 2% of revenue up to KM 100,000
Working payout rails
SWIFT in EUR or USD to a foreign-currency account; Wise (USD, or EUR over Swift); payout platforms. No SEPA yet: BiH applied on 6 August 2026
FX / currency control
No approval needed for inflows; a sole trader or company keeps foreign currency on its bank FX account or sells it to the bank
Reclassification risk
FBiH rules look at the whole relationship: client-set work, place and hours, client tools, reimbursed expenses and regular pay point to employment
What the contractor needs to receive money
A registered obrt, preduzetnik or d.o.o., a foreign-currency account, and an invoice behind each payment
Documents the payer should keep
Services contract with an IP clause, invoices, SWIFT confirmations; Form W-8BEN for US payers (no US–BiH tax treaty)

How to choose: four questions for paying a contractor in Bosnia and Herzegovina

1. Does the engagement look like a job under Federation rules? The Federation’s income tax rulebook decides whether work is dependent or independent from the whole picture of the relationship. Its markers of dependent work include the client setting the type, place and time of work, providing the means of work, covering business expenses and paying regular compensation (Pravilnik on the Income Tax Law, Art. 13, paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29). The Federation’s Labour Law adds a presumption: where someone performs paid work for an employer without a written employment contract, an open-ended employment relationship is deemed to exist unless the employer proves otherwise (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29). A developer on your hours, your laptop and a flat monthly fee ticks most of these boxes. A contractor with other clients, their own schedule and project billing can be paid by wire or a payout tool. A full-time contractor with you as sole client belongs with a Contractor of Record (see contractor misclassification). 4dev acts as Contractor of Record — the contracting party for each contractor — which reduces reclassification risk. Other providers sign as the counterparty too; read the liability clause in the COR contract, not the product name. If the role is a job in substance, Deel, Remote and Multiplier run EOR alongside their contractor products.

2. Which entity is the contractor registered in? The contractor’s costs, and so their rate, depend on it. A Federation sole trader keeping books pays 10% income tax on profit (PwC, checked 2026-09-29) plus contributions of KM 576.72 a month for a craft or KM 975.60 for a free profession in 2026 (bloombergadria.com, checked 2026-09-29). In Republika Srpska a small entrepreneur pays 2% of revenue up to KM 100,000 a year, with a floor of KM 600 or KM 1,200 (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29), and programmers keep access to that status while consultants lost it in 2025 (kontoprom.com, checked 2026-09-29). It changes what you file, not how you pay: ask for the registration decision at onboarding and keep it with the contract.

3. EUR or USD, and through which rail? Bosnian banks are outside SEPA until the application filed on 6 August 2026 is approved and a transition of at least six months has run (klix.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Every payment is therefore an international transfer. Euros are the natural choice: at a fixed 1.95583 KM per euro the contractor knows the KM value in advance (cbbh.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Wise cannot send KM to Bosnia and Herzegovina; it sends USD by international wire (wise.com, checked 2026-09-29) and lists the country among destinations for EUR over Swift (wise.com, checked 2026-09-29). If you hold euros, wire EUR with the OUR or SHA option agreed in the contract. If you hold dollars, compare a platform’s conversion with a USD wire the contractor converts at their bank.

4. How large and how frequent are the payments? Receiving fees are charged per inflow with a minimum. Raiffeisen Bank BiH charges 0.20%, minimum KM 20 on a business account (raiffeisenbank.ba, checked 2026-09-29), so the minimum applies to every transfer below KM 10,000, about €5,113. On a personal account the tariff from 1 February 2026 is 1%, minimum KM 15, up to KM 10,000 (raiffeisenbank.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Four weekly payments of €500 pay the minimum four times. On the platform side, a percentage fee is cheaper than a monthly seat on small invoices, and a seat or flat fee wins once invoices reach a few thousand euros. If you pay one contractor a small monthly amount, a percentage-fee platform or Wise costs least. If you pay a team, batch the month into one transfer per contractor.

Rule of thumb. One contractor with other clients who invoices you in euros: a EUR wire or Wise. Several contractors, or you want documents with every payment: a contractor platform with a document flow. One client, full-time, your hours: a Contractor of Record. Compare the full field in the contractor payouts rating.

All 8 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

4dev.com

A contractor platform that acts as Contractor of Record: 4dev contracts with each contractor and the client contracts with 4dev, which reduces reclassification risk without removing it. It onboards contractors with automatic KYC, keeps IP assignment and closing documents in one flow, and pays out by bank transfer, card or USDT across 150+ countries on a published fee of 3% or less.

8.5/10

★ 4.1 · 49 reviews

Price
Service fee: 3% or less per payout
Payout speed
1–3 days
Documents
Invoices, contracts, closing docs — 1-click export
Contractor onboarding
Self-serve onboarding, auto verification
Coverage
150+ countries
Payout methods
Bank transfer (IBAN / SWIFT), Card, USDT
Payout API
yes

What stands out

  • acts as Contractor of Record — the contracting party for each contractor — which reduces reclassification risk
  • transparent published pricing: '3% or less' service fee, no subscription, 0% for contractors
  • payouts by bank transfer, card or USDT across 150+ countries, in 1–3 days

Not a fit for

  • buyers whose procurement requires a named SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsContract, closing documents and payout in one record per inflow, matching the business books an FBiH obrt is taxed from; 3% or less per payout.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Deel

The broadest all-in-one platform — EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor management and global payroll under one roof, with deep country coverage.

8.7/10

★ 4.8 · 28k reviews

Price
from $599/mo per employee
Payout speed
Near-instant payout options (Wise, Revolut)
Documents
Auto invoices + local contracts
Contractor onboarding
Onboarding as little as 2 days
Coverage
150+ countries
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes

What stands out

  • 150+ country reach with 130+ owned entities
  • covers EOR, COR, contractor management and payroll
  • strong security & compliance certifications

Not a fit for

  • very small or strictly budget-first teams
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsSet hours and fixed monthly pay mark dependent work under FBiH rules; Deel's Contractor of Record signs as counterparty, reducing risk, against a one-month deposit.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Wise

A mature, transparent-fee cross-border payments leader: pay up to 1,000 contractors at once via BatchTransfer, send to 160 countries and hold 40 currencies at the mid-market rate with upfront, usage-based fees. Excellent as a contractor-payout rail — but it is not a contractor-management or compliance tool (no contracts, no EOR/COR, no payroll).

7.6/10

★ 4.3 · 294k reviews

Price
From 0.57% (fee varies by currency)
FX
mid-market rate, no markup
Payout speed
96% of payments in under 24h
Documents
Invoices & payment links; no contracts
Coverage
160+ countries
Payout methods
bank transfer, local wallet schemes (e.g. GCash in the Philippines, M-Pesa in Kenya)
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes

What stands out

  • pay up to 1,000 contractors at once via BatchTransfer
  • send to 160 countries and territories; hold 40 currencies
  • transparent usage-based pricing 'From 0.57%' at the mid-market rate with no subscription

Not a fit for

  • companies needing contractor contracts, onboarding or compliance management
  • buyers needing an Employer of Record or a Contractor of Record
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsNo BAM route yet: Wise sends USD, or EUR over Swift, to a Bosnian account; quoted 9.03 USD on 1,000 USD. You draft the contract.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote

A compliance-first EOR built on 100% owned entities — fewer countries, but no third-party handoffs.

8.4/10

★ 4.4 · 97 reviews

Price
$699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing)
FX
no Remote FX fee; partner may charge 1–2%
Payout speed
70% of payments received in seconds
Documents
In-platform invoices + localized contracts
Coverage
90+ countries
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes

What stands out

  • 100% owned entities, no third-party partners
  • strong certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR, GDPR)
  • transparent per-product pricing

Not a fit for

  • teams needing the widest possible country list
  • lowest-price seekers
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsFBiH labour law presumes indefinite employment where paid work runs without a written employment contract; for a job, Remote's EOR costs $599 monthly, billed annually.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Multiplier

A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.

8.4/10

★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews

Price
Starting at $400 per month
Payout speed
Same-day payment processing
Documents
Auto invoices + compliant contracts
Contractor onboarding
Activation in 1–2 business days
Coverage
150+ countries
Batch runs
yes

What stands out

  • EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
  • dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
  • published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
  • buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsCollects KYC and tax forms at onboarding, where to file the obrt's registration decision or an RS preduzetnik's APIF entry; activation in 1–2 business days.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Mellow

A contractor-payouts and Contractor-of-Record specialist: pay contractors across 100+ countries in 30+ currencies via bank, card, e-wallet or crypto, with Mellow as the single contracting party for your contractors, which reduces misclassification risk. Strong for global freelance/contractor payouts; not a full EOR or employee-payroll platform.

7.4/10

★ 4.7 · 1327 reviews

Price
From 5% per payment
FX
market rates (claimed)
Payout speed
95% same-day payouts
Documents
Invoices, acts, agreements auto-generated
Coverage
100+ countries
Payout methods
bank transfer, cards, crypto wallets, e-wallets
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes

What stands out

  • payouts across 100+ countries in 30+ currencies
  • multiple payout methods incl. crypto, card, bank transfer and e-wallets
  • Contractor-of-Record model with Mellow as the contracting party, reducing misclassification risk

Not a fit for

  • companies needing full Employer of Record to hire employees abroad
  • teams needing global employee payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsBank transfer to the foreign-currency account where FBiH and RS law make a sole trader keep foreign currency; Contractor of Record from 3.5% per payment.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Oyster

A B-Corp EOR focused on simplicity and ethical global hiring — strong for mid-size teams.

8.3/10

★ 4.3 · 1871 reviews

Price
$699/mo per employee
Documents
Auto invoices, contracts, tax forms
Contractor onboarding
In-app ID verification, onboarding in minutes
Coverage
120+ countries
Batch runs
yes

What stands out

  • B-Corp certified
  • 120+ EOR countries with a 48-hour onboarding claim
  • contractor payments in 120+ currencies

Not a fit for

  • teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
  • buyers who require a disclosed entity model
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsEditable country contracts can price fees in euros with the KM equivalent at the fixed 1.95583 peg, one figure for both ledgers; 30-day trial.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rivermate

A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.4 · 391 reviews

Price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Documents
Compliant contracts + invoice flow
Contractor onboarding
Onboarding in 24–48 hours
Coverage
180+ countries

What stands out

  • Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
  • Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
  • Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
  • buyers needing equity/ESOP administration
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsRules differ across FBiH, RS and Brčko; Rivermate's team sends each contract, and its Contractor of Record, from about €149, is the counterparty, reducing risk.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesCountries documentedNot a fit for
1 4dev.com 8.5 Service fee: 3% or less per payout 150+ 203 buyers whose procurement requires a named SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report
2 Deel 8.7 from $599/mo per employee 150+ 143 very small or strictly budget-first teams
3 Wise 7.6 From 0.57% (fee varies by currency) 160+ 165 companies needing contractor contracts, onboarding or compliance management
4 Remote 8.4 $699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing) 90+ 166 teams needing the widest possible country list
5 Multiplier 8.4 Starting at $400 per month 150+ 125 buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
6 Mellow 7.4 From 5% per payment 100+ 141 companies needing full Employer of Record to hire employees abroad
7 Oyster 8.3 $699/mo per employee 120+ 156 teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
8 Rivermate 7.6 From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount) 180+ 157 enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics

How they pay and what they issue

Payout methods, documents and speed as each vendor publishes them. A dash means the vendor does not state it.

Platform Payout methods Speed Documents FX Contractor onboarding
4dev.com Bank transfer (IBAN / SWIFT), Card, USDT 1–3 days Invoices, contracts, closing docs — 1-click export — Self-serve onboarding, auto verification
Deel — Near-instant payout options (Wise, Revolut) Auto invoices + local contracts — Onboarding as little as 2 days
Wise bank transfer, local wallet schemes (e.g. GCash in the Philippines, M-Pesa in Kenya) 96% of payments in under 24h Invoices & payment links; no contracts mid-market rate, no markup —
Remote — 70% of payments received in seconds In-platform invoices + localized contracts no Remote FX fee; partner may charge 1–2% —
Multiplier — Same-day payment processing Auto invoices + compliant contracts — Activation in 1–2 business days
Mellow bank transfer, cards, crypto wallets, e-wallets 95% same-day payouts Invoices, acts, agreements auto-generated market rates (claimed) —
Oyster — — Auto invoices, contracts, tax forms — In-app ID verification, onboarding in minutes
Rivermate — — Compliant contracts + invoice flow — Onboarding in 24–48 hours

What it costs at your volume

One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.

PlatformHow it chargesPer monthPer yearPublished price
Multiplier flat monthly $40 $480 Starting at $40 per month
Wise % of volume $171 $2,052 From 0.57% (fee varies by currency)
Remote per contractor $290 $3,480 $29/mo per contractor
Mellow per contractor $350 $4,200 $35 per contractor per month
Deel per contractor $490 $5,880 from $49/mo per contractor
4dev.com % of volume $900 $10,800 Service fee: 3% or less per payout
Rivermate % of volume $4,500 $54,000 Success fee from ~15% of annual salary

Priced by quote, so not computable: Oyster.

Payout rails that work in Bosnia and Herzegovina in 2026

RailWhat the contractor seesTimingCostLimits
SWIFT wire from your bankEUR or USD on the contractor’s foreign-currency account at a BiH bankThe bank notifies the client of the inflow by the next business day after its own account abroad is credited (bbi.ba, checked 2026-09-29)Your bank’s fee, intermediary charges on SHA or BEN, and the receiving bank’s inflow fee, e.g. 0.20% with a KM 20 minimum on a Raiffeisen Bank BiH business account (raiffeisenbank.ba, checked 2026-09-29)No SEPA: BiH applied on 6 August 2026 (klix.ba, checked 2026-09-29)
WiseUSD by international wire, or EUR over Swift (wise.com, checked 2026-09-29)Wise shows an estimate per transfer9.03 USD quoted on 1,000 USD (wise.com, checked 2026-09-29), plus the receiving bank’s inflow feeNo KM payouts; Swift fees of other banks are not disclosed upfront
Contractor platform or Contractor of RecordUsually a transfer to the same foreign-currency account; some platforms offer other methodsSet by the platformThe platform’s fee model, compared in the cards above, on top of the receiving bank’s inflow feeThe contractor passes the platform’s identity checks before the first payout

What the contractor needs to get paid

Most IT contractors register as sole traders. In the Federation that is an obrt or related independent activity, registered at municipal or city level, in a process that takes 15 to 30 days (act.ba, checked 2026-09-29). In Republika Srpska it is a preduzetnik, entered in the central register of entrepreneurs kept by APIF (apif.net, checked 2026-09-29). Higher earners sometimes use a d.o.o., which pays 10% corporate income tax in all three jurisdictions (PwC, checked 2026-09-29).

The contractor needs a foreign-currency account. Under the Federation’s Law on Foreign Exchange Operations, a resident company or sole trader holds foreign currency on its account at a bank or sells it to that bank (fbihvlada.gov.ba, checked 2026-09-29); the Republika Srpska law sets the same rule (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29).

Tax follows the entity:

  • Federation: 10% on profit from the books, or a flat-rate regime for some activities. Contributions are 36% of a fixed base, the rate since 2025: KM 576.72 a month for a craft keeping books, KM 975.60 for a free profession, KM 487.80 on the flat-rate regime in 2026 (bloombergadria.com, checked 2026-09-29).
  • Republika Srpska: a small entrepreneur pays 2% of revenue up to KM 100,000, at least KM 600 a year below KM 50,000 and KM 1,200 above; others pay 10% on profit (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Contributions are 31% of 70% of the average gross wage, KM 509.73 a month in 2026 (euronews.ba, checked 2026-09-29).
  • Brčko District: its own income tax law, at 10% (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29).

VAT is levied at state level: 17%, with registration above KM 100,000 of taxable supplies (VAT Law, Art. 23 and 57, paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Rights transfers, consulting and engineering services for a client without a seat in BiH are supplied where the client is (Art. 15), so the invoice carries no BiH VAT. Classification, IP and the entity split in more detail are in our hiring guide.

Documents and tax on the payer’s side

Withholding. None for a client abroad: the invoice is paid in full, and the contractor settles tax with the FBiH, RS or Brčko authority.

US payers. Ask a sole trader for Form W-8BEN and a d.o.o. for W-8BEN-E. No US income tax treaty covers Bosnia and Herzegovina; the country is missing from the IRS treaty list (irs.gov, checked 2026-09-29), and PwC’s list of BiH treaty partners does not include the US (PwC, checked 2026-09-29). Services performed in Bosnia and Herzegovina produce foreign-source income under the IRS sourcing rule (irs.gov, checked 2026-09-29), and no Form 1099-NEC is filed.

Your file for each contractor:

  • the signed services contract, with currency, payment schedule, a written IP assignment and a description of how the contractor works;
  • the contractor’s registration decision, which shows the entity;
  • invoices with number and date;
  • SWIFT confirmations showing who bore the charges (OUR, SHA or BEN);
  • the W-8BEN, if you are a US payer.

If a platform or Contractor of Record sits in between, your record is its invoice to you, and the contract and invoices with the contractor stay with the platform.

Where it breaks

  • Wire charges eat into the amount. Without SEPA, a EUR wire can pass intermediary banks that deduct fees on SHA or BEN, and the receiving bank then takes its own. If you send OUR and the foreign bank does not pass on the full processing fee, Bosna Bank International’s terms let it collect the shortfall from the recipient afterwards (bbi.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Agree in the contract who pays which charges.
  • Minimums on small transfers. A KM 20 minimum on a business account or KM 15 on a personal one makes weekly small payments expensive. Pay monthly.
  • The bank asks where the money came from. Bosna Bank International asks for supporting documents on inflows from high-risk or non-cooperative countries and offshore destinations, and clients must correct inflow data within two business days for reporting to the Central Bank (bbi.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Paying from an entity in such a jurisdiction, keep the contract and invoice ready and put the invoice number in the payment reference.
  • An unregistered contractor. An individual in the Federation without a registered business must file form AMS-1035 and pay 10% tax plus a 4% health contribution within 5 days of each payment from abroad (poreznikalkulator.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Payments that recur monthly are a reason for them to register, and a reason for you to ask for the registration decision.
  • Paying from a local company. Payments between residents in the Federation must be made in convertible marks (fbihvlada.gov.ba, checked 2026-09-29). A BiH subsidiary that pays a local contractor pays KM, not EUR.
  • Waiting for SEPA. Admission and the six-month technical transition are still ahead (klix.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Do not promise a contractor SEPA timing in the contract. For comparison, neighbouring Serbia went live with SEPA credit transfers in early May 2026 (nbs.rs, checked 2026-09-29).

Frequently asked questions

What's the cheapest way to pay a contractor in Bosnia and Herzegovina?

One monthly EUR or USD wire per contractor, because receiving banks charge per inflow. Raiffeisen Bank BiH, for example, takes 0.20% with a KM 20 minimum on a business account, and 1% with a KM 15 minimum on a personal account up to KM 10,000 (raiffeisenbank.ba tariffs, checked 2026-09-29). Wise quoted 9.03 USD in fees to send 1,000 USD to Bosnia and Herzegovina (wise.com, checked 2026-09-29).

Can I pay a contractor in Bosnia and Herzegovina in EUR or USD?

Yes, both arrive by SWIFT on the contractor's foreign-currency account. The convertible mark is fixed at 1.95583 KM per euro under a currency board (cbbh.ba, checked 2026-09-29), so a euro fee has a known KM value and USD carries exchange-rate risk. Under the entity foreign-exchange laws, a sole trader keeps the currency on that bank account or sells it to the bank (fbihvlada.gov.ba; paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29).

Is Bosnia and Herzegovina in SEPA?

Not yet. The Central Bank of Bosnia and Herzegovina applied to the European Payments Council on 6 August 2026, and it expects the first SEPA transactions no earlier than six months after the country is admitted (klix.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Until then a euro payment from an EU bank travels as a SWIFT transfer, with intermediary and receiving fees.

Do I need to withhold tax when paying a contractor in Bosnia and Herzegovina?

Not as a foreign client: you pay the invoice gross and the contractor pays tax under its entity's rules. An unregistered individual in the Federation files form AMS-1035 within 5 days of each payment from abroad, paying 10% income tax and a 4% health contribution after 20% standard expenses (poreznikalkulator.ba, checked 2026-09-29). US payers collect Form W-8BEN; Bosnia and Herzegovina is not on the IRS list of US tax treaties (irs.gov, checked 2026-09-29).

Why does it matter whether my contractor is in the Federation or Republika Srpska?

Income tax and contributions are entity laws. In the Federation a sole trader pays 10% on profit plus 36% contributions on a fixed base, KM 576.72 a month in 2026 for a craft keeping books (bloombergadria.com, checked 2026-09-29). In Republika Srpska a small entrepreneur pays 2% of revenue up to KM 100,000, at least KM 600 a year (paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29), plus KM 509.73 a month in contributions (euronews.ba, checked 2026-09-29). Brčko District has its own income tax law.

Will a contractor in Bosnia and Herzegovina charge my company VAT?

Usually not. VAT is a state tax at 17%, with registration above KM 100,000 of taxable supplies (VAT Law, Art. 23 and 57; paragraf.ba, checked 2026-09-29). For rights transfers, consulting and engineering services supplied by a BiH business to a client without a seat in BiH, the place of supply is where the client is established (Art. 15), so no BiH VAT goes on the invoice.

What does a contractor in Bosnia and Herzegovina need to get paid by a foreign company?

Usually a registered business: an obrt, registered with the municipal or city authority in the Federation (act.ba, checked 2026-09-29), or a preduzetnik entered in Republika Srpska's central register kept by APIF (apif.net, checked 2026-09-29). They need a foreign-currency account at a BiH bank and send you an invoice for each payment.

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. 4dev.com 4dev.comcfocontractors 20 August 2026
  2. Deel solutions/payroll/contractorsemployer-of-recorddocs/payouts 20 August 2026
  3. Wise us/businessus/multi-currency-accountplatform 20 August 2026
  4. Remote global-hr/hire-international-contractorsglobal-hr/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsglobal-hr/remote-api 20 August 2026
  5. Multiplier solutions/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsproduct/contractor-management-systemproduct/employer-of-record-services 20 August 2026
  6. Mellow for-business/global-payoutsapp/pricing 20 August 2026
  7. Oyster product/global-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  8. Rivermate contractor-of-recordrivermate.com 20 August 2026

How we researched this page

8 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error