Employer of Record in Bulgaria: 19 Providers Compared (2026)

Employer of Record in Bulgaria: your company, the EOR entity in Bulgaria and your hire

Employer of Record is a grey area in Bulgaria. There is no EOR category in the law; the one statutory way for a company to employ someone who works under another company’s direction is the temporary-work enterprise, which must be registered with the Employment Agency and may use only fixed-term contracts, for a specific job or to replace an absent employee, for no more than 30% of the client’s staff. Kinstellar says in practice EORs combine this regime with outsourcing under a service contract (Kinstellar, 2022, checked 2026-10-07).

Employer contributions are 18.92% of gross up to a monthly ceiling, EUR 4,972.46 a year on both example salaries (EUR 45,000 and EUR 90,000), because both are above the ceiling (mlsp.government.bg, checked 2026-10-07). The EOR fee comes on top: list prices in our table run from $99 to $699 per month.

Bulgaria is set apart by a public register of temporary-work enterprises (152 entries on 2026-10-07) and a client liability: since 2025-01-01 a client that signs with an unregistered agency is jointly liable for its taxes, contributions and VAT (Employment Agency, ZNZ extract, checked 2026-10-07).

An Employer of Record fits a project hire or cover for an absent employee that you direct. An open-ended role does not fit the agency regime: ask the provider how the contract is built. An independent specialist can work as a contractor (how to pay contractors).

Employing someone in Bulgaria: key facts

Bulgaria sets one national minimum wage and one employer contribution of 18.92% of gross, charged up to a monthly ceiling. Everything below is statutory unless marked as a law-firm or secondary source; the Labour Code was read in an archived copy of lex.bg with amendments up to State Gazette No 70 of 2024 and provisions in force from 2025-06-01.

Minimum wage

One national rate for a full working month, in euro since 2026-01-01 (Council of Ministers Decree No 243 of 2025-11-13) (dv.parliament.bg, checked 2026-10-07).

Effective fromPer month, grossStatusSource
2025-01-01EUR 550.66 (BGN 1,077)Replaceddv.parliament.bg, checked 2026-10-07
2026-01-01EUR 620.20 (BGN 1,213), EUR 3.74 an hour (+12.63%)In forcedv.parliament.bg, checked 2026-10-07

We found no rule for 2027 as of 2026-10-07.

Line chart 2021-2026 of the Bulgarian national minimum wage in EUR per month: 332.34 in 2021, 363.02 in 2022, 398.81 in 2023, 477.04 in 2024, 550.66 in 2025 and 620.20 in 2026.
National minimum gross wage, EUR per month, in force on 31 December each year. 2021-2025 are the lev rates converted at the fixed rate BGN 1.95583 = EUR 1; the 2022 rate applies from 2022-04-01 (BGN 650, EUR 332.34, applied before). Source: State Gazette decrees, checked 2026-10-07.

Employer contributions

The employer pays six contributions for an employee born after 1959 in a non-hazardous job, IT activity (KID 62). The employee’s 13.78% is withheld from gross and is not employer cost (nssi.bg, checked 2026-10-07).

ItemEmployer rateCeilingSource
Pension fund8.22%EUR 2,111.64 a month to 2026-07-31; EUR 2,300.00 from 2026-08-01KSO Art. 6, checked 2026-10-07
Sickness and maternity2.10%samesame
Unemployment0.60%samesame
Universal pension fund (DZPO)2.80%sameKSO Art. 157(3)
Health insurance4.80% (8% for 2026 split 60:40)sameNHIF Budget Act 2026, checked 2026-10-07
Work accidents (TZPB)0.40% for IT activitysameSocial Insurance Budget Act 2026, checked 2026-10-07
Guaranteed-claims fund (GVRS)0.00%no contributions for 2026same
Total18.92%Nothing is charged above the ceiling
  • At the ceiling the employer pays EUR 399.52 a month before 2026-08-01 and EUR 435.16 from that date (our arithmetic).
  • TZPB runs 0.4-1.1% by economic activity. If an EOR entity is classified under the staff-hire code (KID 78), the 2026 appendices give 0.5%; we did not verify which code applies to an EOR.
  • Not in the percentages: the employer pays 70% of average daily pay for the first two working days of sick leave (KSO Art. 40(5)).
  • The rates were the same in 2021-2026; only the ceiling moved, so the same EUR 45,000 salary cost EUR 3,482.52 in 2021 and EUR 4,972.46 in 2026 (converted at the fixed rate, our sums from the annual budget acts).

Working hours and overtime

  • Standard week: 40 hours over 5 days, up to 8 hours a day (Labour Code Art. 136) (lex.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Overtime is prohibited by default and allowed only in the cases listed in Art. 144, up to 150 hours per employee a year; a collective agreement can raise this to 300 (Art. 146).
  • Minimum uplift: 50% on working days, 75% on rest days, 100% on official holidays (Art. 262(1)). Employees with non-standardised hours get no pay for working-day overtime (Art. 263(1)).

Annual leave and public holidays

  • Annual leave: at least 20 working days (Art. 155(4)). A first-time employee can take leave after 4 months of service; on leaving earlier the employee is paid for unused leave (Art. 155(2)-(3), 224) (lex.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Public holidays: 14 listed in Art. 154(1): 1 Jan, 3 Mar, 1 May, 6 May, 24 May, 6 Sep, 22 Sep, 24-26 Dec, Good Friday, Holy Saturday, Easter Sunday and Easter Monday (Orthodox Easter).
  • If a holiday other than Easter falls on a weekend, the next one or two working days are non-working (Art. 154(2)). 1 November is listed but is a non-attendance day only for educational institutions. The count of 14 is our arithmetic on the list.

Probation

  • Up to 6 months, and up to 1 month if the contract is for less than a year (Art. 70(1)). The contract says in whose favour it is agreed; that party can end the contract without notice until it expires (Art. 71(1)) (lex.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Probation can be agreed only once for the same job, worker and employer (Art. 70(5)).

Notice and severance

  • Employer dismissal needs a statutory ground (Art. 328(1): closure, redundancy, reduced work volume, lack of qualities, insufficient qualification) and written notice of 30 days for an open-ended contract, longer if agreed but not over 3 months. For a fixed-term contract the notice is 3 months but not more than the rest of the term. The employee’s notice is the same 30 days (lex.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Termination by agreement against compensation of not less than 4 gross monthly salaries (Art. 331(2)).
  • Severance: none on every dismissal. For closure, redundancy and similar grounds, gross pay for the time out of work, up to 1 month (Art. 222(1)); illness termination, 2 months with 5+ years of service (Art. 222(2)); after the right to a retirement pension, 2 months, or 6 months with 10 years of service with the employer (Art. 222(3)).

13th salary and bonuses

Not mandatory. We found no statutory 13th or 14th salary in the Labour Code text; bonuses are set by contract, collective agreement or internal rules.

Mandatory benefits

  • No statutory private health, life or pension insurance beyond the contributions above; meal vouchers are optional (nssi.bg, checked 2026-10-07). This comes from the Labour Code and KSO texts we read, not a full survey.
  • For a worker sent by a temporary-work enterprise, the client must insure the worker at its own expense under Art. 52 of the Health and Safety at Work Act (Labour Code Art. 107т(1)(9)). We did not open that act.

Work permits

  • EU, EEA and Swiss citizens: free movement, no permit.
  • Non-EU nationals: the Labour Migration and Labour Mobility Act (ZTMTM) and the Foreigners Act. The main route for a skilled hire is the EU Blue Card: a degree (for IT specialists, 3+ years of experience can replace it) and a gross salary of at least 1.5 times the average gross salary in Bulgaria (az.government.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Timing: the Employment Agency gives an opinion within 10 days and the decision takes 3 months, extendable by 15 days; the permit runs up to 5 years; changing employer in the first 12 months needs a new application.
  • The 2026 euro threshold was not confirmed from an official source; a secondary guide says about EUR 2,054 a month.
  • Whether a temporary-work enterprise can be the permit employer for a third-country national placed with a client is not confirmed: the Employment Agency page says nothing about it and we found no exclusion. The ZTMTM text we read is the 2021 consolidated version, which caps third-country nationals at 20% of the employer’s average headcount (35% for SMEs) and ties the permit to the named employer; whether that still applies is not verified.

Currency and payroll

Euro since 2026-01-01; lev amounts were converted at the fixed rate BGN 1.95583 = EUR 1 (ecb.europa.eu, checked 2026-10-07). Pay is monthly: by default an advance and a final payment each month, though a single monthly payment can be agreed; it goes to the employee’s payment account on written request (Labour Code Art. 270(2)-(3)) (lex.bg, checked 2026-10-07). European Central Bank rate on 2026-10-06: 1 EUR = 1.1269 USD (ecb.europa.eu, checked 2026-10-07).

Grey area. Bulgaria has no EOR category. The one statutory way for a company to employ a worker who works under another company’s direction is the temporary-work enterprise regime (Labour Code Art. 107р-107ч, Employment Promotion Act (ZNZ) Art. 74е-74п). It does not fit an ordinary open-ended EOR hire. We found no court ruling or ministry opinion on the EOR product. The law-firm view we read is Kinstellar (March 2022): “EORs are not regulated by Bulgarian law. In Bulgaria, their business most often falls within the scope of temporary-work agencies or qualifies as outsourcing services.” It adds that outsourcing rests on a service contract, with no requirement that staff contracts be temporary, and that providers often combine both models; unclear contracts can lead to fines for provider and client and to the client’s joint liability for pay and social security (kinstellar.com, checked 2026-10-07). That combination is their account of practice, not something we confirmed. See also the Employer of Record glossary entry.

The rules that matter to a client:

  • Registration. An agency operates only on registration with the Employment Agency (Labour Code Art. 107р(7); ZNZ Art. 74е(1)). Applicants are local persons or foreign legal entities carrying out commercial activity in Bulgaria, with no unpaid state or municipal debts, no insolvency, representatives without intentional-crime convictions, no terminated registration or penalties in the previous three years, internal rules with draft contracts, and a group insurance or an unconditional irrevocable bank guarantee of BGN 200,000 (EUR 102,258.38 at the fixed rate; we did not check whether the act has been re-denominated in euro) for the workers’ claims (az.government.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Procedure and cost. Electronic application with a qualified signature; decision within 14 days; certificate valid 5 years; fee EUR 522.03 from 2026-01-01; every year by 30 June the enterprise files its insurance or guarantee documents (az.government.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Purpose limit. The contract with the agency follows the fixed-term rules and may be concluded only until completion of a specific job or to replace an absent employee, and it must say the worker is sent to a client to work under its direction and control (Art. 107р(1), (4)). Open-ended contracts for permanent roles are not provided for (lex.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • 30% cap. The workers an agency sends to one client may not exceed 30% of all workers at the client (Art. 107р(2)). Not allowed: hazardous first- and second-category work, national security and defence enterprises, and enterprises where a strike is under way. How the cap works for a foreign client with no other Bulgarian staff is not addressed in any source we found.
  • Equal treatment. The client gives the worker the basic working and employment conditions it gives its own workers on the same or similar job, and the worker may not be placed in a less favourable position (Art. 107т(2), 107х(2)).
  • Who does what. The agency is the employer for payroll, pay, social and health insurance, employment documents and dismissal (Art. 107с(5)). The client sets the workplace, issues the job description, instructs on health and safety, records working time, sets pay amounts including overtime, and may propose discipline or replacement (Art. 107т(1), (6)). A written agreement between agency and client is mandatory (Art. 107у(2)).
  • No hiring bans. A clause preventing the worker from being employed by the client during or after the assignment is not allowed, and the agency may not charge the worker a fee (Art. 107р(5)-(6)).
  • Foreign agencies. An agency registered in another EU/EEA/Swiss state or a third country that sends a worker to a Bulgarian client falls under the posting-of-workers rules (Art. 121a): at least Bulgaria’s minimum working conditions apply, and an employment relationship with the sending agency must exist throughout. Whether a foreign EOR entity can serve a Bulgaria-resident remote worker of a foreign client under this article was not found in any source.

Risks the client carries:

  • Unregistered agency, joint liability. A client that signed a temporary-work contract with an agency not registered under Chapter 8a of the ZNZ is jointly liable for the taxes, mandatory contributions and VAT due from the agency for the sent workers, up to the unpaid amount for the period (ZNZ Art. 74л(7), in force since 2025-01-01). Check the provider by name in the Employment Agency’s public register before signing (az.government.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Joint liability to the worker. The agency and the client answer jointly for obligations to the worker arising in connection with the assigned work (Art. 107у(3)) (lex.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Fines. Labour Code Art. 415е extends the penalty section to the client. Base fine for breach of labour law: BGN 1,500-15,000 for the enterprise (about EUR 766.94-7,669.38) and BGN 1,000-10,000 for the responsible officer (about EUR 511.29-5,112.92); repeat breach BGN 15,000-20,000 (Art. 414). Amounts are in lev as in the archived text and converted by us; we did not read which fine applies to a breach of Arts 107р-107у or the ZNZ penalties for an unregistered agency.
  • Client duties. Health and safety instruction, working-time records, equal treatment and insuring the worker stay with the client; breaching them is a labour-law breach for the client (Art. 107т, 415е).
  • Intellectual property. Kinstellar notes that because the client is not a party to the employment contract, the presumption that software created in employment belongs to the employer may not benefit the client; copyright can remain with the EOR unless the agreements say otherwise. That is the firm’s view, which we did not check against the Copyright Act.
  • Misuse of the route. We found no source on what follows for a client if the contract is outside the two permitted grounds or above the 30% cap.

See also co-employment.

Who actually employs your hire in Bulgaria

We compared 19 providers with the Employment Agency’s register of temporary-work enterprises (152 entries on 2026-10-07) by name, and used the Trade Register where a company ID was available. The register shows name, certificate number and dates, but not the company ID or owner, so we could not search it by ID and link a register entry to a vendor only through the vendor’s own statement or a matching name. “Not found by name” is not non-compliance: a vendor may hire through a company with a different name or another model.

ProviderEmployer in BulgariaEvidenceBulgaria EOR price
RemoteOwn entity (in register)Says “at Remote, we own our own legal entity in Bulgaria” (remote.com). Its Local Terms name Remote Bulgaria EOOD, UIC 206307734, and describe a “Temporary Working Agency Model” and a “Consultancy Model”. The Trade Register shows the company, entered 2020-11-24, with Remote Europe Holding B.V. as sole owner. In the agency register as no. 354, reissued 2025-12-19, valid to 2030-12-15$699/month (global)
BoundlessOwn entity (in register)Says “To employ your workers in a compliant way locally in Bulgaria, Boundless holds a temporary agency licence” (boundlesshq.com). A company named “Баундлес Пейрол България” ЕООД is in the agency register as no. 397, valid to 2027-04-21; we could not find its company ID or owner, so the tie is the vendor’s licence statement plus the matching name. The model is a fixed-term contract that ends with the projectNot published
OysterOwn entity (vendor says)Says “Oyster holds its own legal entity in Bulgaria, so you are never relying on a third-party sub-vendor to employ your people” (oysterhr.com); no entity named. Not found in the register by name$699/month (global)
Native TeamsOwn entity (vendor says)Says “You select your employee, we hire them through our Bulgarian entity” (nativeteams.com); no entity named. Not found in the register by nameFrom $99/month (global)
SkuadMixedThe Bulgaria page says “Skuad acts as the legal employer in Bulgaria” and, on work permits, “Skuad’s local partner in Bulgaria acts as an employer, sponsors work permits for the employee”. No entity named; not found in the register by nameFrom $199/month (global)
DeelNot disclosedBulgaria page says only “Deel’s best-in-class Employer of Record setup allows us to handle local laws, tax and benefits”. Not found in the register by name$599/month (Bulgaria page)
PeblNot disclosedA company named “Велосити Глобал България” ЕООД (Velocity Global Bulgaria) is in the agency register as no. 395, valid to 2027-04-08; we found no company ID or owner. Pebl’s Bulgaria page doesn’t state itNot published
MultiplierNot disclosedBulgaria page says only “An EOR acts as the legal employer for your team”. Not found in the register by nameCore $459/month, annual billing (global)
PlayrollNot disclosedBulgaria guide says “The EOR becomes the legal employer of your Bulgarian team members”, about EORs in general. Not found in the register by nameFrom $399/month (global)
RemoFirstNot disclosedGuide says “RemoFirst will hire and pay your employee on your behalf while you manage their daily duties”; no entity named. Not found in the register by nameFrom $199/month (global)
Remote PeopleNot disclosedBulgaria page says “RemotePeople acts as the legal employer on paper, runs local payroll, withholds tax at source”; no entity named. Not found in the register by nameFrom $199/month (global)
RemotePassNot disclosedBulgaria page is a labour-law reference with nothing on its own entity. Not found in the register by nameFrom $349/month (global)
RivermateNot disclosedBulgaria page says “An EOR already has a legal entity in Bulgaria”, about EORs in general; its FAQ says it works “through its network of owned entities and trusted local partners” worldwide. Not found in the register by name$319-$639/month (global range)
Borderless AINot disclosedBulgaria guide is a labour-law reference naming no entity. Not found in the register by name$579/month (global)
Atlas HXMNot disclosedBulgaria page is a labour-law reference; its pricing page says “Owned and operated entities in 160+ countries”, with no country list. Not found in the register by nameFrom $599/month (global)
G-PNot disclosedBulgaria page says “start hiring talent in minutes via our global entity infrastructure”; no Bulgarian entity named. Not found in the register by nameNot published
Safeguard GlobalNot disclosedBulgaria page says “the EOR can employ the workers a company needs and lease them to that company”, about EORs in general. Not found in the register by nameNot published
RipplingNot disclosedBulgaria page refers to “Rippling EOR” and names no entity. Not found in the register by nameNot published
JustworksNot disclosedHelp article lists Bulgaria among its EOR countries and names no entity. Not found in the register by nameNot published

All checked 2026-10-07. “Own entity (in register)” means a company the vendor ties to itself is in the Employment Agency register; “Own entity (vendor says)” rests on the vendor’s statement alone. Prices are USD per month; only Deel’s is from a Bulgarian page.

Bar chart: 4 providers say or show an own Bulgarian entity, of which 2 are in the Employment Agency register by name; 1 is mixed; 14 don't disclose one.
Own entity counts a register entry tied to the vendor by its own statement (Remote, Boundless) or the vendor’s statement alone (Oyster, Native Teams). Skuad names both itself and a local partner as employer. Source: vendor country pages, Employment Agency register, Trade Register, checked 2026-10-07.

Fourteen of the 19 don’t say who the Bulgarian employer is, and one names two. That matters because the Employment Agency register is the only public sign we found of the registration the law asks for, and a client that signs with an unregistered agency carries joint liability for its taxes and contributions. Before signing, ask: “Which Bulgarian company signs my employee’s contract, what is its Employment Agency certificate number, and is the contract fixed-term or open-ended?”

How to choose an EOR in Bulgaria

Is the hire a project or an open-ended role? The agency route allows fixed-term contracts only, for a specific job or to replace an absent employee. Boundless says its Bulgarian model is a contract that ends with the project, and Remote’s Local Terms describe two models, a temporary working agency and a consultancy one. If you expect a permanent hire, ask the provider in writing which contract type your employee would sign and what happens at its end.

Want a visible legal basis? Remote and Boundless are the two with a company tied to them in the register; Pebl has a similarly named company there, which it doesn’t state. Ask whichever you shortlist for the certificate number and check it against the register, which showed 152 entries on 2026-10-07.

Hiring a non-EU national? The main route is the EU Blue Card, and we found no rule that bars or allows an agency as the permit employer. Skuad says its local partner sponsors work permits and puts the process at 3 to 4 weeks; Playroll says a permit can add 1-3 months and Rivermate up to 4 months (vendor claims). Ask who files, under which route, and check the 30% cap.

Price against completeness? Only Deel shows a Bulgarian price, $599 per month. Global list prices run from $99 (Native Teams) to $699 (Remote and Oyster). Price tells you nothing about the legal basis; compare it after you have the answers above.

All 19 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

Remote

A compliance-first EOR built on 100% owned entities — fewer countries, but no third-party handoffs.

8.4/10

★ 4.4 · 97 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing)
Coverage
90+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
2 days (average)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR Level 1, GDPR
Support
24/7 chatbot; live agent Mon-Fri

What stands out

  • 100% owned entities, no third-party partners
  • strong certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR, GDPR)
  • transparent per-product pricing

Not a fit for

  • teams needing the widest possible country list
  • lowest-price seekers
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsSays it owns its Bulgarian entity; Remote Bulgaria EOOD is in the Trade Register and the temporary-work register (no. 354). $699/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Boundless

A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.

7.0/10

★ 4.8 · 28 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim

What stands out

  • Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
  • Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
  • Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
  • teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsSays it holds a temporary agency licence; a company of its name (no. 397) is in the agency register. Project-bound fixed-term contract. No price found.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Oyster

A B-Corp EOR focused on simplicity and ethical global hiring — strong for mid-size teams.

8.3/10

★ 4.3 · 1871 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee
Coverage
120+ countries
Time to hire
As fast as 48 hours
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, B-Corp
Support
Response within 24h

What stands out

  • B-Corp certified
  • 120+ EOR countries with a 48-hour onboarding claim
  • contractor payments in 120+ currencies

Not a fit for

  • teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
  • buyers who require a disclosed entity model
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsSays it holds its own Bulgarian entity, unnamed; not found in the agency register by name. $699/month, global; refundable deposit.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Native Teams

A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.

7.9/10

★ 4.7 · 367 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS

What stands out

  • EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
  • transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
  • dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
  • teams needing a guaranteed onboarding SLA in days
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsSays it hires through its Bulgarian entity, unnamed; not found in the agency register by name. From $99/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Skuad

A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.

8.0/10

★ 4.6 · 312 reviews

EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated

What stands out

  • broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
  • published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
  • payroll in 70 currencies

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsPage says Skuad is the legal employer; a local partner sponsors work permits. Not found in the register. From $199/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Deel

The broadest all-in-one platform — EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor management and global payroll under one roof, with deep country coverage.

8.7/10

★ 4.8 · 28k reviews

EOR price
from $599/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Entity model
130 owned
Time to hire
As little as 1 day
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • 150+ country reach with 130+ owned entities
  • covers EOR, COR, contractor management and payroll
  • strong security & compliance certifications

Not a fit for

  • very small or strictly budget-first teams
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsBulgaria page names no entity; not found in the register by name. $599/month on its Bulgaria page.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Pebl

A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 603 reviews

EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts

What stands out

  • 12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
  • SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
  • Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
  • teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsA company named Velocity Global Bulgaria (no. 395) is on the agency register; Pebl doesn't state it. No price found.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Multiplier

A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.

8.4/10

★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022

What stands out

  • EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
  • dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
  • published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
  • buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsPage says only that an EOR acts as legal employer; no entity named, not found in the register. Core $459/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Playroll

A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.7 · 209 reviews

EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5

What stands out

  • Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
  • Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
  • Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsGuide names no entity; not found in the register. From $399/month, no minimum commitments; refundable deposit of one month's salary.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemoFirst

A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.

7.8/10

★ 4.4 · 440 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees

What stands out

  • Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
  • Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
  • Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
  • enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsSays it hires and pays on your behalf; no entity named. From $199/month, global; no setup or termination fees.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote People

A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 495 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)

What stands out

  • Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
  • Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
  • Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation

Not a fit for

  • buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
  • teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsSays it acts as legal employer on paper; no entity named. From $199/month, global; no setup fees.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemotePass

A global HR and payroll platform with a notable focus on the Middle East, Africa and other emerging markets. RemotePass covers EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record, contractor management and local payroll across 150 countries, and is one of the few in this set to publish list pricing.

7.9/10

★ 4.4 · 804 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax)
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Onboard new team members within days
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR

What stands out

  • dedicated Contractor of Record that explicitly addresses worker-misclassification risk
  • published per-seat pricing for EOR ($349), CoR ($299), Local Payroll ($15) and Contractors ($39)
  • strong MENA/emerging-markets coverage incl. KSA and UAE, with visa sponsorship and relocation

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
  • buyers requiring ISO 27001 or SOC 1 attestations stated up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsBulgaria page is a labour-law reference naming no entity. From $349/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rivermate

A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.4 · 391 reviews

EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
  • Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
  • Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
  • buyers needing equity/ESOP administration
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsBulgaria page describes EORs in general; no entity named. $319-$639/month, global range.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Borderless AI

A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.

7.3/10

★ 4.8 · 205 reviews

EOR price
$579/mo
Coverage
170+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboarding as fast as 24 hours
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, PIPEDA
Support
24/7 in-house support; dedicated Canada-based contact

What stands out

  • Published flat pricing for all three core products ($579 EOR / $49 contractor / $29 payroll), no 'contact sales' gating
  • No security deposit or salary pre-funding required for EOR, unlike vendors citing $7,000-$20,000 deposits
  • SOC 2 Type II certified with a public trust center; fast-claimed onboarding (24-48 hours)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
  • companies requiring a dedicated, separately-branded Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsGuide is a labour-law reference naming no entity. $579/month, global pricing page.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Atlas HXM

A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.

7.7/10

★ 4.2 · 101 reviews

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages

What stands out

  • 160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
  • Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
  • AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
  • companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsBulgaria page is a labour-law reference naming no entity. From $599/month, global.

Read full review Visit site ↗

G-P (Globalization Partners)

The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.

8.3/10

★ 4.4

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
Certifications
SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018
Support
24/7 AI support (G-P Assist); human hours not stated

What stands out

  • Founded 2012 — the longest track record among EOR vendors reviewed so far
  • Broadest certification stack checked: SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001, GDPR
  • 156 countries with a dedicated Globalpedia EOR guide; flat $599/employee/month fee confirmed across sampled countries

Not a fit for

  • price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
  • buyers needing a true Contractor of Record, not payment/classification tooling
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsPage names no Bulgarian entity; not found in the register by name. No price published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Safeguard Global

One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.

7.5/10

★ 4.2 · 141 reviews

EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR

What stands out

  • Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
  • 1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
  • NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management

Not a fit for

  • buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
  • teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsPage describes EOR in general, no entity named; not found in the register. No price published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rippling

A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.

8.3/10

★ 4.8 · 23k reviews

EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2

What stands out

  • EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
  • unified HR, IT and Finance platform
  • broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
  • hiring employees outside the 80 EOR markets
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsCatalog lists Bulgaria for employees; no entity named, not found in the register. No price published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Justworks

Primarily a US PEO and payroll platform — audited (SOC 1/2, ESAC, IRS CPEO) — with a newer, smaller EOR product covering 43 documented countries at a flat $599/employee/month.

7.0/10

★ 4.6 · 1101 reviews

EOR price
$599/mo per employee
Coverage
43+ countries
Time to hire
A few days to two weeks (vendor claim)
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2, ESAC Accredited (PEO), IRS-Certified PEO (CPEO, since 2017)
Support
24/7 for PEO plans; EOR SLA not separately published

What stands out

  • Long-established, independently audited US operator (SOC 1/2, ESAC-accredited, IRS CPEO since 2017; founded 2012)
  • Flat, fully disclosed EOR price with no setup fees or minimums
  • Strong support reputation: 4.6/5 aggregate rating cited on its own EOR page (1,101 ratings)

Not a fit for

  • companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries
  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not contractor payouts only
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsLists Bulgaria among its EOR countries; no entity named. No price published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesNot a fit for
1 Remote 8.4 $699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing) 90+ teams needing the widest possible country list
2 Boundless 7 From $199/mo per employee 110+ buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
3 Oyster 8.3 $699/mo per employee 120+ teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
4 Native Teams 7.9 Starts at $99/per employee per month 95+ buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
5 Skuad 8 Starting from $199 per employee/month 160+ buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
6 Deel 8.7 from $599/mo per employee 150+ very small or strictly budget-first teams
7 Pebl 7.8 $399/mo per employee 185+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
8 Multiplier 8.4 Starting at $400 per month 150+ buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
9 Playroll 7.6 $399 per employee/month (no minimum) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
10 RemoFirst 7.8 Starts at $199 per employee/month 185+ buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
11 Remote People 7.8 From $199/mo per employee 150+ buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
12 RemotePass 7.9 Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax) 150+ buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
13 Rivermate 7.6 From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
14 Borderless AI 7.3 $579/mo 170+ buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
15 Atlas HXM 7.7 From $599/mo per employee 160+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
16 G-P (Globalization Partners) 8.3 From $599/mo per employee 180+ price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
17 Safeguard Global 7.5 On request 187+ buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
18 Rippling 8.3 Custom quote 80+ buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
19 Justworks 7 $599/mo per employee 43+ companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries

What it costs to employ someone in Bulgaria through an EOR

The EOR is a large-payroll employer, with an office or IT employee (KID 62) born after 1959 on an ordinary contract in non-hazardous work, 2026. Gross pay is EUR 45,000 and EUR 90,000 a year (EUR 3,750 and EUR 7,500 a month), about USD 50,700 and USD 101,000 at the European Central Bank rate of 1 EUR = 1.1269 USD on 2026-10-06 (ecb.europa.eu, checked 2026-10-07).

Stacked bars: a EUR 45,000 salary and a EUR 90,000 salary both cost EUR 4,972.46 a year in employer statutory contributions, because both are above the insurable-income ceiling.
Employer statutory contributions only, before the EOR’s own fee. Both salaries are above the monthly ceiling, so the same base of EUR 26,281.48 applies. Source: Social Insurance Budget Act 2026, checked 2026-10-07.
Gross salaryEmployer statutory costShare of grossComponents
EUR 45,000EUR 4,972.46 (EUR 414.37 a month, our division)11.05%Base 7 x 2,111.64 + 5 x 2,300.00 = 26,281.48. Pension 2,160.34; sickness and maternity 551.91; unemployment 157.69; DZPO 735.88; health 1,261.51; TZPB 105.13; GVRS 0
EUR 90,000EUR 4,972.46 (EUR 414.37 a month)5.52%Same base and components: 18.92% x 26,281.48 = 4,972.46

Why the cost is the same. Contributions are charged only on pay up to the monthly ceiling, which changed during 2026: EUR 2,111.64 from January to July and EUR 2,300 from 2026-08-01. Both monthly salaries are above it every month, so a higher salary adds no employer contribution. If a contract starts on 2026-08-01, the annual base is EUR 27,600, which gives EUR 5,221.92 (our arithmetic). The rates were unchanged in 2021-2026; the amount has moved only with the ceiling (EUR 3,482.52 on EUR 45,000 in 2021), so a history chart would show the ceiling, not a rate. The figures for 2021-2025 are lev amounts converted at the fixed rate BGN 1.95583 = EUR 1.

If the EOR entity is classified under the staff-hire activity code (KID 78), work-accident insurance is 0.5% and the total is EUR 4,998.74 (19.02%); we did not verify which code applies to an EOR.

Not included: the employer-paid first two days of sick leave at 70% of average daily pay, voluntary benefits, severance, leave pay and the EOR fee. The employee’s 13.78%, EUR 3,621.60 a year on this base, is withheld from gross and is not employer cost. There is no statutory 13th salary to add.

The EOR’s own fee comes on top. Only Deel shows a price on a Bulgarian page, $599 per month. Global list prices, where no Bulgarian figure exists, run from $99 (Native Teams) to $699 (Remote and Oyster) per month; the per-vendor figures are in the table above. Boundless, Pebl, G-P, Safeguard Global, Rippling and Justworks publish none that we could find.

Hidden costs, where published:

  • Oyster says it does not add extra charges for setup and onboarding and that there are no termination charges, but requires a refundable deposit, amount not published (oysterhr.com, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Playroll says it charges no onboarding or offboarding fees and requires a fully refundable security deposit of one month’s salary (playroll.com, checked 2026-10-07).
  • RemoFirst says it has “no setup, onboarding, or termination fees, no annual contracts, and no minimums” (remofirst.com, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Remote People says “No setup fees, no lock-in” (remotepeople.com, checked 2026-10-07). Rivermate says “No onboarding or offboarding costs” (rivermate.com, checked 2026-10-07).
  • For every other vendor, setup fee, deposit, minimum term and termination fee are not published for Bulgaria. Treat a blank as unpublished, not zero.

When you don’t need an EOR

Decision tree: if the person does not work under your direction, engage them as a contractor. If they do and need a non-EU work visa, ask who files; no EOR rule was found. Otherwise a registered agency fits, with a fixed term and a 30% cap.
The agency route allows only fixed-term contracts for a specific job or to replace an absent employee, for up to 30% of the client’s staff (Labour Code Art. 107р). We found no rule that bars or allows an agency as the permit employer for a Blue Card hire. Source: Labour Code (archived copy), Employment Agency, checked 2026-10-07.
  • A genuinely independent contractor. If the person sets their own hours and tools and can serve other clients, a contract is closer to the real relationship. See how to pay contractors in Bulgaria and our hiring guide. See contractor misclassification.
  • Your own Bulgarian entity. The route to weigh when the role is open-ended and permanent. Vendor estimates for setting one up differ: Playroll’s guide puts registering a company at four to eight weeks (playroll.com), Remote People says a greenfield entity typically takes three to six months (remotepeople.com, checked 2026-10-07). These are vendor figures, not ours.
  • PEO. Once you have your own entity, a PEO can run payroll and compliance for direct employees: Deel’s Bulgaria page offers this for clients that already have an entity, and Native Teams describes PEO as requiring one (deel.com, nativeteams.com, checked 2026-10-07). See EOR vs PEO.

What changed in 2026

  • 2025-01-01: a client that signs a temporary-work contract with an unregistered agency became jointly liable for the agency’s taxes, mandatory social security contributions and VAT on the supply (ZNZ Art. 74л(7), State Gazette No 26 of 2025). It is the newest change to the agency regime that affects clients (az.government.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • 2026-01-01: Bulgaria adopted the euro at BGN 1.95583 = EUR 1; statutory amounts in the Labour Code, the Social Insurance Code and the Employment Promotion Act tariff are now in euro (ecb.europa.eu, checked 2026-10-07).
  • 2026-01-01: the minimum wage rose to EUR 620.20 a month (BGN 1,213) from BGN 1,077 (EUR 550.66) (dv.parliament.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • 2026-01-01: the registration fee for a temporary-work enterprise is EUR 522.03 under the amended tariff (State Gazette No 109 of 2025) (az.government.bg, checked 2026-10-07).
  • 2026-06-01: the transition to the electronic employment register kept by the National Revenue Agency ended, according to a consultancy blog; employers record contract conclusion or change within 3 days and termination within 7. We did not check the end date in the statute (innovires.com, checked 2026-10-07).
  • 2026-06-07: the EU Pay Transparency Directive transposition deadline. We could not confirm a Bulgarian law; a search in September 2026 pointed to a draft amendment of the Protection against Discrimination Act, not an adopted one (innovires.com, checked 2026-10-07).
  • 2026-08-01: the maximum monthly insurable income rose from EUR 2,111.64 to EUR 2,300.00 under the Social Insurance Budget Act 2026 (State Gazette No 68 of 2026-07-28). Contribution rates for ordinary employees did not change (nssi.bg, checked 2026-10-07).

Numbers vendors haven’t updated

  • Minimum wage. The rate in force is EUR 620.20 from 2026-01-01. Deel, Remote and Multiplier give EUR 620.20. Pebl’s page gives BGN 933, which was the 2024 rate (BGN 1,077 in 2025) (velocityglobal.com, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Insurable-income ceiling. The ceiling is EUR 2,300 from 2026-08-01 (EUR 2,111.64 before). Remote’s page gives BGN 4,130 from 2025-04-01; Skuad’s gives BGN 4,600 (about EUR 2,352) for 2026, citing a consultancy blog (remote.com, skuad.io, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Employer contributions. We get 18.92% in the IT activity. Rivermate’s page gives 18%; Playroll’s guide gives 18.92-19.62%. Pebl’s page lists employer health at 8% and pension at 14.8%, which are the total rates, shared with the employee: the employer’s part is 4.8% and 8.22% (rivermate.com, playroll.com, velocityglobal.com, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Leave and holidays. The Labour Code lets a first-time employee take leave after 4 months. RemotePass and Atlas say 20 days after 8 months; Skuad and Remote People give 4 months, as the Code does. The list of public holidays has 14 entries; Oyster says 15 (remotepass.com, atlashxm.com, oysterhr.com, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Sick pay. KSO Art. 40(5) puts 70% of average daily pay for the first two working days on the employer; Rippling’s page says the first three days (rippling.com, checked 2026-10-07).

How we built this page

Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-07 against Bulgarian legislation (the Labour Code from an archived copy of lex.bg, the Social Insurance Code and budget acts, the Employment Promotion Act extract published by the Employment Agency) and one law-firm article. We checked the Employment Agency’s register of temporary-work enterprises (152 entries on 2026-10-07) for each vendor by name, and the Trade Register where a company ID was available; the register shows no company ID or owner, and where a vendor operates through a differently named company or a partner, our search cannot see it. Vendors are ordered with registered and stated own entities first, then mixed, then those that do not disclose; no vendor pays for placement.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Employer of Record cost in Bulgaria?

Two layers. Employer contributions are 18.92% of gross up to a ceiling of EUR 2,300 a month from 2026-08-01, so EUR 4,972.46 a year on both a EUR 45,000 and a EUR 90,000 salary. The EOR fee is on top: list prices in our table run from $99 to $699 per month, and only Deel shows a price on its Bulgaria page ($599).

Is Employer of Record legal in Bulgaria?

It is a grey area. Bulgaria has no EOR category; the statutory route is the temporary-work enterprise, registered with the Employment Agency, which may employ a worker for a client only on a fixed-term contract for a specific job or to replace an absent employee, and no more than 30% of the client's staff. Kinstellar (2022) says EORs in practice combine this with outsourcing under a service contract. We found no court ruling or ministry opinion on the EOR product.

Which EOR in Bulgaria is in the temporary-work register?

By name, we found Remote (Remote Bulgaria EOOD, no. 354) and Boundless (a company of its name, no. 397) and, for Pebl, a company named Velocity Global Bulgaria (no. 395) that Pebl doesn't state. The Employment Agency register held 152 entries on 2026-10-07. Not found by name is not non-compliance: a provider may use a differently named company or another model.

What is the cheapest EOR in Bulgaria?

Native Teams lists the lowest price in our table, from $99 per month globally; Skuad, RemoFirst and Remote People start at $199. Only Deel shows a Bulgaria-specific price, $599 per month. Price says nothing about the legal basis, so ask who employs your hire first.

What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Bulgaria?

Since 2025-01-01 a client that signs a temporary-work contract with an unregistered agency is jointly liable for the agency's taxes, social security contributions and VAT on the sent workers. The client and the agency also answer jointly for obligations to the worker, and labour-law fines apply to the client as well: BGN 1,500-15,000 for a base breach in the text we read (about EUR 767-7,669).

Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Bulgaria?

If the person works independently, yes: see [how to pay contractors in Bulgaria](/software/contractor-payouts/bulgaria/) and [our hiring guide](/hire-contractors/bulgaria/). Staff who work under your direction fit employment, and the agency route is limited to fixed terms. See [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/).

Can an EOR in Bulgaria sponsor a work visa?

EU, EEA and Swiss citizens need no permit. For a non-EU hire the main route is the EU Blue Card, which needs a salary of at least 1.5 times the average gross salary. We found no rule that bars or allows a temporary-work enterprise as the permit employer; Skuad says its local partner sponsors permits, a vendor claim.

Why do EUR 45,000 and EUR 90,000 salaries cost the same in contributions?

Contributions are charged only up to a monthly ceiling: EUR 2,111.64 from January to July 2026 and EUR 2,300 from 2026-08-01. Both salaries are above it in every month, so the base is EUR 26,281.48 and 18.92% of it is EUR 4,972.46 either way.

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. Remote global-hr/hire-international-contractorsglobal-hr/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsglobal-hr/remote-api 20 August 2026
  2. Boundless faq 30 September 2026
  3. Oyster product/global-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  4. Native Teams pricingemployer-of-recordwallet 20 August 2026
  5. Skuad platform/contractor-paymentsplatform/international-contractorsemployer-of-recordhelp-center/how-to-bulk-pay-contractor-invoices 20 August 2026
  6. Deel solutions/payroll/contractorsemployer-of-recorddocs/payouts 20 August 2026
  7. Pebl eor-pricing 30 September 2026
  8. Multiplier solutions/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsproduct/contractor-management-systemproduct/employer-of-record-services 20 August 2026
  9. Playroll contractor-managementemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  10. RemoFirst global-contractor-paymentsinternational-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  11. Remote People contractor-managementcontractor-of-recordemployer-of-record 30 September 2026
  12. RemotePass contractorseor 20 August 2026
  13. Rivermate contractor-of-recordrivermate.com 20 August 2026
  14. Borderless AI pricingglobal-contractor-managementhireborderless.com 30 September 2026
  15. Atlas HXM pricingatlashxm.com 30 September 2026
  16. G-P (Globalization Partners) contractorglobalization-partners.comglobal-teams/global-payroll 30 September 2026
  17. Safeguard Global solutions/contractor-managementcompany/about-us 30 September 2026
  18. Rippling products/global/global-contractorsproducts/payroll/employer-of-record 20 August 2026
  19. Justworks hc/en-us/articles/24026656179099-Justworks-Employer-of-Record-EOReor 30 September 2026

How we researched this page

19 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error