Justworks
Powering small teams with big dreams — PEO, payroll and HR for US small businesses, with a Global EOR product for hiring abroad.
- Countries43+
- Price$599/mo per employee
- Founded2012
- HQNew York, US
EOR
Best for
- Existing Justworks PEO/payroll customers adding a small number of international hires
- US small businesses hiring in Justworks' 43 documented EOR countries
- buyers prioritizing an audited, long-established US HR operator
Not ideal for
- companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries
- buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not contractor payouts only
- price-sensitive buyers — $599/employee/month is high with no discount tiers
- companies wanting one vendor for payroll on entities they already own
Reviewed: 2026-10-01
Our verdict
Primarily a US PEO and payroll platform — audited (SOC 1/2, ESAC, IRS CPEO) — with a newer, smaller EOR product covering 43 documented countries at a flat $599/employee/month.
- Standout feature
- An established, independently audited US HR/payroll core (SOC 1/2, ESAC, IRS CPEO) backing the EOR product, plus flat, disclosed EOR pricing with no setup fees or minimums.
- Biggest limitation
- EOR coverage is narrower than specialists — 43 countries documented in its own help center (up from 21 as of its 2026-09-30 update), versus 90-180+ at dedicated EOR platforms — and there is no Contractor-of-Record or standalone global-payroll product.
Key facts
| Countries covered | 43+ Article republished 2026-09-30 under the heading 'Countries Where Justworks Supports EOR Hiring': 'Justworks currently supports hiring full-time employees through our Employer of Record (EOR) in the following regions:' followed by a 43-country table (EMEA 24, APAC 9, AMER 10 — full list in countryCoverage.general.note). Supersedes the prior 21-country version of the same article (last updated 2025-05-15). · source |
|---|---|
| Entity model | — The general 'What is the difference between PEO and EOR?' section still states 'Justworks acts as the local entity and directly employs the individual' — an owned-entity claim. But the 2026-09-30 rewrite dropped the article's earlier, stronger per-country claim ('Justworks has local entities set up in the following countries:') in favor of a vaguer 'Justworks currently supports hiring full-time employees through our Employer of Record (EOR) in the following regions:' ahead of the (now much longer, 43-country) list. No numeric legal-entity count is published either version. · source |
| Onboarding time | A few days to two weeks (vendor claim) FAQ: 'a new employee can often be fully onboarded in as little as a few days to two weeks, as the EOR already has the necessary legal framework in place.' Not a guaranteed SLA. · source |
| Payroll markets | — |
| Currencies | — |
| Integrations | — |
| Security & compliance | SOC 1, SOC 2, ESAC Accredited (PEO), IRS-Certified PEO (CPEO, since 2017) 'Quick Facts: SOC SOC-1 & SOC-2', 'ESAC Accredited PEO'. Company history: 'Certified by the IRS' as CPEO in 2017 ('one of the first Professional Employer Organizations (PEO) to earn the certified "CPEO" designation'); 'Accredited by the ESAC' in 2019. These certifications apply to the US PEO entity; not stated whether they extend to the international EOR entities. · source |
| Support | Phone, Chat, 24/7 Help Center, Dedicated Customer Success Manager (24/7 for PEO plans; EOR SLA not separately published) |
Payouts and documents
- Payout methods
- Local-currency bank transfer, USD via ACH to a US bank account, Digital wallets
- FX model
- $39/contractor/month plus FX fees; none on USD payouts
- Documents issued
- Invoice-based contractor payments; localized EOR contracts
Coverage, as documented
Justworks publishes pages for 43 countries, listed below.
Georgia
Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia
more9
Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom
Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay
Australia, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore
Israel, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa
Read fromhelp.justworks.com/hc/en-us/articles/24026656179099-Justworks-Employer-of-Record-EOR · checked
Pricing
| Plan | What you get | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Employer of Record (EOR) | Hire, pay and provide benefits to full-time employees abroad without setting up a local entity; usable without a PEO subscription | $599/mo per employee |
| PEO Basic | US payroll, HR tools, compliance support, 24/7 support, 401(k), time tracking (US employees only) | $79/mo per employee |
| PEO Plus | Everything in PEO Basic plus health insurance administration, HSA/FSA, mental health and fertility benefits | $124/mo per employee |
| Payroll | US multi-state payroll and HR tools without PEO co-employment | $8/mo per person + $50/mo base fee |
| International Contractor Payments | Pay international contractors in 60+ countries in local currency or USD | $39/mo per active contractor |
EOR has no setup fees or minimums; live pricing page (checked 2026-10-01) still shows the EOR card at $599/month/employee, 'No base fee' — unchanged since this card was first built. PEO Basic and PEO Plus prices have risen since the last check: PEO Basic from $59 to $79/employee/month, PEO Plus from $109 to $124/employee/month (justworks.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-01; both still 'No base fee'). International Contractor Payments adds applicable exchange-rate fees on top of the $39/month figure. Its January 2025 pricing page listed EOR as an add-on 'Available in Basic and Plus plans'; its March 2026 EOR page FAQ says a PEO subscription is no longer required ('Do I need to be a Justworks PEO customer to use Justworks' EOR services? No...') — treat the standalone-access claim as the current state, but verify at signup since the two vendor pages disagree. The pricing page runs a VWO A/B-testing script, so some visitors may see a different EOR price/CTA treatment than what's recorded here.
What it costs at your volume
One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.
Justworks: $390 a month, $4,680 a year. Cheaper at this volume: Skuad ($190), Native Teams ($190), Papaya Global ($300).
| Platform | How it charges | Per month | Per year | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| per contractor | $190 | $2,280 | Starting from $19 per contractor/month | |
| per contractor | $190 | $2,280 | Starts at $19/per contractor per month | |
| flat monthly | $300 | $3,600 | From $300/mo + $2.5 per transaction | |
| per contractor | $390 | $4,680 | $39/mo per active contractor |
Pros
- Long-established, independently audited US operator (SOC 1/2, ESAC-accredited, IRS CPEO since 2017; founded 2012)
- Flat, fully disclosed EOR price with no setup fees or minimums
- Strong support reputation: 4.6/5 aggregate rating cited on its own EOR page (1,101 ratings)
- EOR now positioned as usable without a separate PEO subscription, per its current FAQ
- International business travel medical/security assistance ('Travel Assist') bundled into EOR at no extra cost
Cons
- 43 documented EOR countries, vs. 90-180+ at EOR specialists — and its help center recently softened the per-country 'local entities set up' wording to a vaguer 'supports hiring' claim as the list grew
- No Contractor-of-Record product — contractors are paid, not formally engaged; they keep their own tax/compliance risk
- No standalone global-payroll product for companies with their own foreign entities
- EOR is a bolt-on to a US-first platform, and its pricing pages disagree on PEO requirements
- Flat $599/employee/month with no lower-cost or volume tiers published
How it compares
The closest platforms in the same categories, on the facts each one publishes.
| Justworks | Papaya Global | Skuad | Native Teams | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Editorial score | 7/10 | 8.2/10 | 8/10 | 7.9/10 |
| User rating | 4.6/5 | 4.35/5 | 4.57/5 | 4.7/5 |
| Countries covered | 43+ | 160+ | 160+ | 95+ |
| Employer of Record | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Contractor of Record | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Contractor management | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Global payroll | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Onboarding time | A few days to two weeks (vendor claim) | Vendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA stated | Not publicly stated | Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only) |
| Lead plan | $599/mo per employee | From $599/mo per employee | Starting from $199 per employee/month | Starts at $19/per contractor per month |
What AI assistants say
We’ll publish AI-assistant assessments here soon. Editorial scores are independent of AI snapshots.
In-depth review
Justworks (New York, founded 2012) is primarily a US Professional Employer Organization and payroll platform — an audited, IRS-certified CPEO with SOC 1/2 and ESAC accreditation. Its Global Employer of Record product extends that platform abroad: a documented 43 countries at a flat $599/employee/month, plus a separate $39/month contractor-payments add-on covering 60+ countries. There’s no Contractor-of-Record or standalone global-payroll product — this is a US PEO with an EOR bolt-on, not a dedicated global-employment specialist, so buyers hiring outside its documented country list should look elsewhere.
Frequently asked questions
How many countries does Justworks EOR cover?
Justworks' own help center lists 43 countries as of a 2026-09-30 update — EMEA: Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Latvia, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom (24); APAC: Australia, Cyprus, Georgia, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore (9); AMER: Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay (10). The prior version of the same article (last updated 2025-05-15) listed only 21 (help.justworks.com, checked 2026-10-01).
How much does Justworks EOR cost?
$599 per month per employee, flat, with no setup fees or minimums — confirmed live on justworks.com/pricing (checked 2026-10-01).
Does Justworks own its EOR entities, or work through partners?
Justworks' help center still states it 'acts as the local entity and directly employs the individual' — an owned-entity claim — but its 2026-09-30 rewrite dropped the earlier, stronger per-country phrasing ('Justworks has local entities set up in the following countries') for a vaguer 'supports hiring... in the following regions', and it still does not publish a numeric legal-entity count (help.justworks.com, checked 2026-10-01).
What's the difference between Justworks PEO and Justworks EOR?
PEO is Justworks' core US product: a co-employment arrangement for US-based employees, requiring the client to already have a US entity. EOR is for hiring employees in countries where the client has no legal entity; Justworks is the sole legal employer there. Justworks explicitly says EOR access does not require being a PEO customer (justworks.com/eor FAQ, checked 2026-09-30).
Sources
Every fact above comes from Justworks's own pages. These are the ones we read, and when.
- help.justworks.com/hc/en-us/articles/24026656179099-Justworks-Employer-of-Record-EOR checked 30 September 2026
- justworks.com/eor checked 30 September 2026