Employer of Record is allowed in Slovenia with limits. Slovenian law has no EOR category; the lawful route is a licensed temporary-work agency (zagotavljanje dela delavcev uporabniku) under the Labour Market Regulation Act (ZUTD) and the Employment Relationships Act (ZDR-1) (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07). Whether that regime applies to a client with no Slovenian entity is an open question.
Employer contributions are 17.10% of gross with no ceiling: EUR 7,695 on a EUR 45,000 salary (mladipodjetnik.si, checked 2026-10-07). The EOR fee comes on top, from $99 to $699 per month at starting prices.
What sets Slovenia apart is the 2025 reform. Since 2025-09-20 an agency needs a EUR 100,000 bank guarantee (EUR 30,000 before), and one seated in another EU/EEA/Swiss state needs a branch in Slovenia (pisrs.si, checked 2026-10-07). Some government pages still say EUR 30,000. One provider, Remote, says it owns a Slovenian entity, and none of the 14 providers is found by name in the Ministry of Labour’s agency lists; the lists carry no company IDs, so this is a limit of a name search, not a finding of non-compliance. The client is subsidiarily liable for unpaid wages and risks a fine of EUR 10,000-30,000.
An Employer of Record suits an EU, EEA or Swiss national you direct like staff. A non-EU hire adds a work-permit step. An independent specialist can work as a contractor (payouts).
Employing someone in Slovenia: key facts
Slovenia sets one national minimum wage and one employer contribution rate of 17.10%. Working time, leave and dismissal follow the Employment Relationships Act (ZDR-1). Everything below is statutory unless marked otherwise.
Minimum wage
One national rate; the statute has no regional or sector minimum. It excludes bonuses, performance pay, travel allowances and statutory supplements (gov.si, checked 2026-10-07).
The 2026 jump follows the six-yearly recalculation of minimum living costs. The amount was published in Uradni list RS on 2026-01-30 (date from the gov.si item; KPMG gives the same amount and percentage: kpmg.com).
National minimum gross wage, EUR per month, full-time, set for each calendar year. Source: gov.si, 2026 amount, checked 2026-10-07.
Employer contributions
The employer pays five social contributions plus long-term care, all on gross pay. We found no maximum contribution base for employees in ZPIZ-2 art. 144; the ceiling of 3.5 times average salary in art. 145(5) is for the self-employed only (mladipodjetnik.si, checked 2026-10-07).
Minimum monthly contribution base: EUR 1,521.62 for payments from 2026-03-01 to 2027-02-28 (60% of the last known average annual salary, ZPIZ-2 art. 144(4)); the figure is from mladipodjetnik.si, not an official table.
The 1.00% long-term care rate rests on reading ZDOsk-1 with the employer as a health-contribution obligor; we did not open a tax-authority rate table.
A cap on the contribution base is pending, not in force. See What changed in 2026 below.
Working hours and overtime
Full-time work is at most 40 hours a week; a statute or collective agreement may set 36 to 40 as full time. Without such a rule, full time is 40 (ZDR-1 art. 143) (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Overtime only at the employer’s written request, normally before the work, in the cases listed in art. 144(1). Limits: 8 hours a week, 20 a month, 170 a year, or 230 a year with the employee’s written consent; a working day lasts at most 10 hours (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Overtime and holiday supplements are set by sector collective agreement, not by statute (art. 128). We did not check any sector agreement.
Annual leave and public holidays
At least 4 weeks a year, full- or part-time; 3 extra days for older workers, disabled workers and carers of a child needing special care; 1 extra day per child under 15 (art. 159). Public holidays and sick days are not deducted (art. 160(3)) (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
15 work-free days under the Public Holidays Act (version in force from 2026-03-04): 1-2 Jan, 8 Feb, Easter Sunday and Monday, 27 Apr, 1-2 May, Pentecost Sunday, 25 Jun, 15 Aug, 31 Oct, 1 Nov, 25 and 26 Dec; two of them fall on Sundays by nature (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Other state holidays, such as 8 Jun and 25 Oct, are not work-free. Pay compensation applies to work-free days not worked (ZDR-1 art. 137(2)). We did not check what changed against 2025.
Probation
Up to 6 months in the contract, extendable for temporary absences; for a fixed-term contract, proportional to the term (ZDR-1 art. 125) (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Notice for failing probation is 7 days (art. 94(1)); dismissal on that ground gives severance as for a business-reason dismissal (art. 125(7)).
Notice and severance
Ordinary dismissal needs a justified reason (art. 89). Employer notice for business-reason or incapacity dismissal depends on service (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07):
Length of service
Employer notice
Up to 1 year
15 days
1 to 2 years
30 days
Over 2 years
30 days plus 2 days per completed year, capped at 60 days
Employee notice: 15 days up to 1 year of service, 30 days after; the contract may extend it to 60 days.
Severance for dismissal on business or incapacity grounds (art. 108): 1/5 of the monthly base per year of service for more than 1 and up to 10 years, 1/4 for more than 10 and up to 20, 1/3 above 20, capped at 10 times the base unless a sector agreement says otherwise. The base is average monthly pay of the last 3 months (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
13th salary and bonuses
No statutory 13th salary found in ZDR-1. Two lump sums replace it (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07):
Holiday allowance (regres): at least the minimum wage, EUR 1,481.88 gross for 2026, due by 1 July (art. 131).
Winter allowance (zimski regres), new since 2025-11-20: half the minimum wage, EUR 740.94 for 2026, due within 18 days after the November pay period. The EUR 740.94 figure comes from a search summary and equals half of EUR 1,481.88; for 2025 the amount was EUR 638.86 (gov.si, checked 2026-10-07).
Mandatory benefits
Social insurance runs through the contributions above.
The employer reimburses meals during work and commuting costs (art. 130); amounts follow a sector agreement or a government regulation, which we did not check.
Sick pay from the employer’s funds for the first 30 working days of each non-work illness, up to 80 days a year; for work-related illness or injury up to 30 days per absence; the health insurer pays after that (art. 137(3)) (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Whether the winter allowance carries social contributions was not checked.
Work permits
EU, EEA and Swiss citizens have free access to the labour market.
Others need a single permit for residence and work (enotno dovoljenje) based on Employment Service consent, or an EU Blue Card; a labour market test comes first. Since 2025-05-21 an initial single permit runs for the contract term, at most 2 years, renewable for up to 3 (ess.gov.si, EY, checked 2026-10-07).
A registered agency may employ third-country nationals only on three bases: an EU Blue Card, Employment Service consent to a single permit, or free labour-market access (ZZSDT art. 7(5)) (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Currency and payroll
EUR since 2007-01-01. Pay periods are at most one month; pay is due within 18 days after the period ends, through the employee’s bank account with a written payslip (ZDR-1 arts. 134-135) (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07). Reference rate on 2026-10-05: 1 EUR = 1.1204 USD (ecb.europa.eu, checked 2026-10-07).
Is Employer of Record legal in Slovenia?
Allowed with limits. Slovenian law has no “employer of record” category. An outside company can be the legal employer of a worker who works for another company only as a licensed temporary-work agency (zagotavljanje dela delavcev uporabniku, ZUTD arts. 163-185 and ZDR-1 arts. 59-63). Rödl, a law firm, writes that the concept “is not directly known in Slovenia, although some (but few) companies offer such services”, that such services are more likely seen as temporary employment or employee leasing, and that demand from non-EU employers is almost non-existent; this is a search-engine extract of an undated page that predates the 2025 reform (roedl.com, checked 2026-10-07). Whether the agency regime applies as written when the client is a foreign company with no Slovenian entity, no ministry opinion or court decision we found says. The verdict is a reading of the statutes. See also the Employer of Record glossary entry.
The rules that matter to a client:
Definition (ZUTD art. 163). Providing workers to a user covers a worker who (a) works under the user’s supervision and instructions, (b) mainly uses the user’s means of work, or (c) works in the user’s premises or within its activity, integrated in its work process. Any one test is enough since 2025-09-20 (ZUTD-I, UL 70/25); before, only supervision or tools counted (racunovodstvo.net, pisrs.si, checked 2026-10-07).
Permit and register (arts. 164, 167, 168). The agency needs the Ministry of Labour’s permit and an entry in the register (domestic) or the evidence list (foreign EU/EEA/Swiss), and may start only from the entry date. Conditions include temporary staffing as the registered main activity, no recent final fines or wage and tax debts, and a bank guarantee of at least EUR 100,000, raised from EUR 30,000 by ZUTD-I. Gov.si and the SPOT permit page still show EUR 30,000 in places; the statute text prevails (racunovodstvo.net, gov.si, checked 2026-10-07).
Foreign providers (arts. 164(1)(8), 168-169). An EU/EEA/Swiss-seated provider applies with a certified translation of a document showing its right to do the activity at home, and must have a Slovenian branch. The articles contain no route for a provider seated elsewhere; that is our reading, with no ministry opinion (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Connected companies (art. 165). The agency may not assign a worker to a user that is a connected company under the Companies Act (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Contract (ZDR-1 arts. 59-61). The agency’s contract with the worker is in principle indefinite. Pay follows the collective agreements and general acts that bind each user. Idle-time compensation under an indefinite contract may not fall below 80% of the base (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
25% cap (art. 59(2)-(3)). Assigned workers may not exceed 25% of the user’s employees unless a sector agreement says otherwise. Workers the agency employs on an indefinite contract are not counted, and the cap does not apply to a small employer (definition not located). Agency workers may not replace strikers or be used within 12 months after the user’s mass dismissal (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Written agreement and equal treatment (arts. 62-63). The user gives the agency the working conditions and its risk assessment, and both sign a written agreement. The user answers for health and safety and for working time and rest, and must offer assigned workers the same chances of a permanent job as its own staff (ZUTD art. 166) (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Only licensed agencies. The user may accept workers only from an agency with the permit and an entry. Working without them is fined EUR 10,000-50,000 (EUR 10,000-30,000 for a small employer) (ZUTD art. 179) (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Risks the client carries:
Subsidiary liability for pay. The user is subsidiarily liable for pay and other employment payments for the period the worker worked for it (ZDR-1 art. 62(6)) and answers for the correctness of the pay data it gives the agency. If the EOR does not pay, the worker can claim from the client (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Fines for the client. EUR 10,000-30,000 (EUR 5,000-10,000 with 10 or fewer employees) plus EUR 4,000 for the responsible person, for not following employment law during the assignment, hiding vacancies, denying equal chances of a permanent job, or taking workers from an unlicensed or unregistered provider (ZUTD art. 178). A fine of EUR 1,500-4,000 applies for exceeding the 25% cap, using agency workers in banned cases, giving incorrect pay data, or ignoring the collective agreements that bind the user (ZDR-1 art. 220) (racunovodstvo.net, racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
No Slovenian comparator. Pay follows the agreements and acts binding the user; a client with none must still supply the data. How the rule applies to a foreign client with no Slovenian presence was not found addressed in any source.
Provider risk. A provider whose permit is withdrawn after repeated fines (art. 172) can no longer supply workers (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
Legal uncertainty after the reform. ZUTD-I widened the definition from the day after publication with no transition period. On 2025-12-10 the National Council asked the Constitutional Court to review art. 163(1); we found no decision on 2026-10-07 (ds-rs.si, checked 2026-10-07).
Non-EU hires. A contract with a third-country national outside the three ZZSDT art. 7(5) bases carries a fine of EUR 10,000-75,000 for the agency (art. 52(1)). We found no provision barring an agency from being the permit applicant, but no Employment Service practice on it either, and the process starts with a labour market test (racunovodstvo.net, checked 2026-10-07).
We checked the 14 providers that operate in Slovenia against two public sources. The first is the Ministry of Labour’s register of domestic agencies (open data, file of 2026-09-07) and its evidence list of foreign agencies (file of 2026-01-22), both linked from gov.si. The second is the Slovenian business register (PRS, AJPES) through the bizi.si mirror, whose search needs JavaScript, so we tried candidate company names for each vendor, about 50 in all; a company under a name we did not try is not visible to us. “Not found by name” is not non-compliance: the Ministry’s lists carry no company ID, and a vendor may use a differently named entity or a partner. Founders are hidden on the open bizi.si pages.
Its Slovenia page says “at Remote, we own our own legal entity in Slovenia.” Remote SI, tehnološke storitve, d.o.o., company no. 8952809000, entered in PRS on 2021-09-14, foreign-controlled, 20-49 employees, contact [email protected] (bizi.si). Its main activity code is K62.900 (other IT services), not staff supply. Not found by name in either Ministry list; how Remote structures EOR hiring through it is not visible in open sources
Slovenia page says “With an Employer of Record like Playroll, you get a simple, predictable way to hire compliantly”, names no entity. Not found by name in PRS or the Ministry lists
Slovenia page says it handles local law, tax and payroll “in over 150+ countries including Slovenia”, names no entity. Not found by name in PRS or the Ministry lists
Slovenia article says it offers “a direct EOR model in 160+ countries, with fully owned legal entities”, a global statement with no Slovenian entity named. Not found by name in PRS or the Ministry lists
EOR from $599/month, platform fee only (Slovenia article)
Slovenia guide says its EOR services let you “meet all Slovenian legal requirements”, names no entity. A Slovenian company named Native Teams, informacijske storitve, d.o.o. (entered 2021-02-09, foreign capital) is registered (bizi.si); the vendor doesn’t state it. Not found by name in the Ministry lists
Slovenia page says it “acts as the legal employer through a Slovenian entity”; it names none and doesn’t say whether the entity is its own or a partner’s. A company named Horizons, internetne storitve, d.o.o. (foreign capital) is registered in PRS; the vendor doesn’t state it. Not found by name in the Ministry lists, under either name
Slovenia page says “Registered with FURS and ESS, the EOR also handles work permits”, in the third person, naming no entity. Not found by name in PRS or the Ministry lists
Slovenia page says it supports onboarding and payroll “eliminating the need for a local entity”, names no entity. Skuad is now Payoneer Workforce Management; no record by name under either name in PRS; not found by name in the Ministry lists
Slovenia guide defines an EOR as one that “hires on your behalf through its own local entity”, a general definition, not a statement about Rivermate. Not found by name in PRS or the Ministry lists
Slovenia page is general advertising for EOR and names no entity. No record by name in PRS, including under the former name Velocity Global; not found by name in the Ministry lists
Slovenia guide lists what its EOR handles, such as “Employment contract preparation in Slovenian”, and names no entity. Not found by name in PRS or the Ministry lists
Slovenia page says “the EOR already has an established entity in Slovenia”, in the third person, naming none. Not found by name in PRS or the Ministry lists
Not published
All checked 2026-10-07. “Own entity (vendor says; registry)” means the vendor says it owns a Slovenian entity and a Slovenian company with its name is registered. Nine providers are not in the table because no source confirms an EOR offer in Slovenia: Oyster (its Slovenia page returns 404), Papaya Global (site unreadable at check), Rippling, RemotePass, Rise, Kleos and Remozo (no Slovenia page), Boundless (its Slovenia guide says “Content coming soon”) and Justworks (site unreadable at check). None of the nine was found by name in the Ministry lists either.
Own entity counts Remote, which says it owns its Slovenian entity and has a registered Slovenian company. Native Teams and Remote People count as not disclosed: a similarly named Slovenian company is registered, but neither vendor states it. Source: vendor country pages, Ministry of Labour agency lists (2026-09-07 and 2026-01-22), PRS via bizi.si, checked 2026-10-07.
Thirteen of the 14 don’t name their Slovenian employer, and Remote, the one that does, is not found by name in the Ministry’s agency lists either. That matters because the permit and register entry is the one public sign of the regime Slovenian law applies to agency work, and no source says it covers a permanent EOR hire for a foreign client. Before signing, ask: “Which Slovenian company signs my employee’s contract, what is its Ministry of Labour permit and register entry, and does it cover a permanent hire with us?”
How to choose an EOR in Slovenia
Want an entity you can look up? Remote is the one provider that says it owns a Slovenian entity and has a registered company to match. The record’s main activity is IT services and it is not found in the Ministry lists by name, so ask for the permit and register entry before you rely on it. Native Teams and Remote People have similarly named companies in the register that they don’t state; ask each which company would employ your hire.
Hiring a non-EU national? The agency may sign only with Blue Card holders, people with Employment Service consent to a single permit and people with free labour-market access, and the permit process starts with a labour market test. We found no practice evidence on agency-sponsored applications. Ask the provider in writing which basis it would use and how long similar cases took; don’t assume the timing of an EU hire.
Expect a long hire, or a team? The agency contract is in principle indefinite, and permanent agency staff do not count towards the 25% cap, but pay and conditions follow the collective agreements and acts that bind you as the user. Ask how the provider applies that rule to a client with no Slovenian entity, because we found no source that does.
Price against completeness? Among prices on a Slovenia page, Playroll is lowest at from $399 per month, then Deel and Atlas from $599 and Remote at $699. Global prices run lower, from $99 at Native Teams, and G-P and Safeguard Global publish none. Price tells you nothing about the legal basis; compare it after you have the answer to the question above.
Why it fitsSays it owns its Slovenian entity; Remote SI d.o.o. is registered. Not found by name in the Ministry's agency lists. $699/month, Slovenia page.
A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.7 · 209 reviews
EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5
What stands out
Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Why it fitsSlovenia page names no entity; not found in the Ministry's agency lists. From $399/month on that page; says no onboarding or offboarding fees.
A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.
7.7/10
★ 4.2 · 101 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages
What stands out
160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.
7.9/10
★ 4.7 · 367 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS
What stands out
EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk
Not a fit for
buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 495 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)
What stands out
Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation
Not a fit for
buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.
8.4/10
★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022
What stands out
EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount
Not a fit for
buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.
8.0/10
★ 4.6 · 312 reviews
EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated
What stands out
broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
payroll in 70 currencies
Not a fit for
buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.
7.8/10
★ 4.4 · 440 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees
What stands out
Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees
Not a fit for
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.4 · 391 reviews
EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7
What stands out
Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 603 reviews
EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts
What stands out
12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.
The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.
8.3/10
★ 4.4
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.
7.5/10
★ 4.2 · 141 reviews
EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR
What stands out
Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management
Not a fit for
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
What it costs to employ someone in Slovenia through an EOR
The EOR is a large-payroll employer in Slovenia, so no size-based relief applies. Gross pay is EUR 45,000 and EUR 90,000 a year (EUR 3,750 and EUR 7,500 a month, 12 payments), about USD 50,000 and USD 100,000 at the ECB reference rate of 1 EUR = 1.1204 USD on 2026-10-05 (ecb.europa.eu, checked 2026-10-07). Both salaries are above the minimum contribution base of EUR 1,521.62 a month, and the EUR 1,481.88 minimum wage is below both.
Employer statutory contributions only, before the EOR’s own fee. 17.10% of gross, no ceiling. Source: mladipodjetnik.si, SPOT, ZDOsk-1, checked 2026-10-07.
Gross salary
Employer statutory cost
Share of gross
Components
EUR 45,000
EUR 7,695.00 (EUR 641.25 a month)
17.10%
Pension 8.85% = 3,982.50; health 6.56% = 2,952.00; work injury 0.53% = 238.50; parental 0.10% = 45.00; unemployment 0.06% = 27.00; long-term care 1.00% = 450.00
EUR 90,000
EUR 15,390.00 (EUR 1,282.50 a month)
17.10%
Pension 7,965.00; health 5,904.00; work injury 477.00; parental 90.00; unemployment 54.00; long-term care 900.00
The work-injury rate is the general 0.53%; we found no IT or office-specific rate. The pending contribution cap (see below) would not change these figures: EUR 90,000 a year is EUR 7,500 a month, exactly the reported cap.
The rate was 16.10% in 2021-2024 and 17.10% from 2025-07-01, when the employer’s 1.00% long-term care contribution started. On the same EUR 45,000 salary the full-year total rose from EUR 7,245 to EUR 7,695, about 6%.
Same EUR 45,000 salary every year; the 2025 bar shows the full-year amount although the contribution started on 2025-07-01. The 2021-2024 rate is inferred, not read from a year-by-year table. Source: UL 771/26, ZDOsk-1, mladipodjetnik.si, checked 2026-10-07.
The 2021-2024 figures are inferred: the social-contributions law shows no amendment after UL 26/14 in the list quoted in the National Assembly resolution (UL 771/26), and a 2014 report and current tables show the same 16.10%. We did not open a year-by-year official rate table.
Not included: employer-paid sick pay (first up to 30 working days of each non-work illness), meal and commute reimbursement, the holiday allowance (EUR 1,481.88 minimum; contributions apply only to the part above 100% of average monthly pay, so none at the minimum), the winter allowance (EUR 740.94 for 2026; whether it carries contributions was not checked), severance, sector collective-agreement supplements, the 80% idle-time compensation for agency staff between assignments, and the EOR fee.
The EOR’s own fee comes on top. Prices are in USD per employee per month. Four vendors show a price on a Slovenia page: Playroll from $399, Deel (management fee) and Atlas from $599, and Remote at $699. Other starting prices in the table are global and run from $99 (Native Teams) to $639 (top of Rivermate’s $319-$639 range). G-P and Safeguard Global publish none that we could find. Per-vendor figures are in the table above.
Hidden costs, where published:
Playroll says it charges no fees for onboarding or offboarding, requires a fully refundable deposit equal to one month’s salary per employee and has no minimum commitment (global statements, playroll.com, checked 2026-10-05).
Remote People says “no setup fees, no lock-in” and no deposit for 5 or more employees (global statements, remotepeople.com, checked 2026-10-05).
For every other vendor, setup fee, deposit, minimum term and termination fee are not published for Slovenia. Treat a blank as unpublished, not zero.
When you don’t need an EOR
A role that is employment should not be relabelled as a contract. An agency may employ third-country nationals only on the three bases of ZZSDT art. 7(5). Source: ZZSDT art. 7, ZUTD art. 163, checked 2026-10-07.
A genuinely independent contractor. If the person sets their own hours and tools and can serve other clients, a contract is closer to the real relationship. See how to pay contractors in Slovenia and our hiring guide. A contract that hides employment risks the label being challenged; see contractor misclassification.
Your own Slovenian entity. The route to weigh when the hire is long-term and you want to be the employer on the contract. Playroll’s page estimates the upkeep of your own Slovenian entity at EUR 300-600 a month and registration at 4 to 8 weeks (playroll.com, checked 2026-10-07). These are vendor estimates, not ours. An affiliate you set up cannot act as the agency for your own group: the statute bars assigning a worker to a connected company.
Direct hire without an entity. Posted-worker rules, and the permanent-establishment and corporate-tax exposure of a foreign company with a remote worker in Slovenia, were not researched here; see permanent establishment and take advice before choosing this route.
What changed in 2026
2025-07-01: the employer’s 1.00% long-term care contribution started, taking employer contributions from 16.10% to 17.10%. Not new in 2026, but it is in every 2026 estimate (pisrs.si, checked 2026-10-07).
2025-09-20: ZUTD-I (UL 70/25) tightened the agency regime: a wider definition, the bank guarantee from EUR 30,000 to EUR 100,000, a branch for EU/EEA/Swiss-seated agencies, new fine-free and tax-debt conditions, and permit withdrawal after more than two final fines in 24 months (was 12) (pisrs.si, checked 2026-10-07).
2025-11-20: the statutory winter allowance came into force: half the minimum wage, EUR 740.94 for 2026 (gov.si, checked 2026-10-07).
2026-01-01: the minimum wage rose to EUR 1,481.88 gross a month from EUR 1,277.72 (+15.97%); the minimum holiday allowance rose to the same amount (gov.si, checked 2026-10-07).
2026-03-01: the minimum monthly contribution base is EUR 1,521.62 for payments to 2027-02-28 (mladipodjetnik.si, checked 2026-10-07).
ZIURS, pending and not in force. The National Assembly adopted the intervention act ZIURS on 2026-05-11. It would cap the base of all social contributions, reported by EY, Forvis Mazars and Schoenherr as EUR 7,500 gross a month from 2026-07-01, and amend ZDR-1. We did not find the law text; the sources we read say it has not been proclaimed in the Uradni list (ey.com, forvismazars.com, schoenherr.eu, pisrs.si, checked 2026-10-07). The Constitutional Court’s decision of 2026-07-24 let unions collect 40,000 signatures for a referendum on it between 2026-09-01 and 2026-10-05 (pisrs.si). On 2026-10-05 the collection ended; the unions report about 43,000 signatures by their own unofficial count (rtvslo.si). A referendum date is not set. Nothing is decided, and our figures do not apply the cap.
2026-08-19: public consultation closed on draft amendments to the foreigners’ laws implementing Directive (EU) 2024/1233 (single permit). Not in force (sibiz.eu, a consultancy summary, checked 2026-10-07).
2026-10-11: a separate referendum day covers a parliamentary-inquiry law and three advisory questions. None concerns employer contributions, the minimum wage or agency work (gov.si, checked 2026-10-07).
Numbers vendors haven’t updated
Minimum wage. The rate in force is EUR 1,481.88 from 2026-01-01. Multiplier’s Slovenia page gives USD 1,377 (EUR 1,254), and RemoFirst’s gives EUR 1,074 in a search extract of the page. Remote, Skuad and Rivermate give the current figure (usemultiplier.com, remofirst.com, remote.com, skuad.io, rivermate.com, checked 2026-10-07).
Employer contributions. The rate in force is 17.10%. Multiplier’s page gives about 16.1%; Rivermate’s gives 17.1% (usemultiplier.com, rivermate.com, checked 2026-10-07).
Agency guarantee. The statute sets EUR 100,000 since 2025-09-20. Gov.si and the SPOT permit page still show EUR 30,000 in places (gov.si, spot.gov.si, checked 2026-10-07).
How we built this page
Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-07 against Slovenian legislation (consolidated texts as hosted by racunovodstvo.net and the gazette PDFs on pisrs.si), government pages (gov.si, SPOT), the Employment Service and law-firm and consultancy material. We compared each vendor by name with the Ministry of Labour’s register of domestic agencies (file of 2026-09-07) and evidence list of foreign agencies (file of 2026-01-22), and looked for company records in the business register through bizi.si by candidate names; where a vendor operates through a differently named entity or a partner, our search cannot see it. Vendors are ordered with stated and registered own entities first, then those that don’t disclose, by Slovenia-page price and completeness of data; no vendor pays for placement.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Employer of Record cost in Slovenia?
Two layers. Employer contributions are 17.10% of gross with no ceiling: EUR 7,695 on a EUR 45,000 salary and EUR 15,390 on EUR 90,000. The EOR fee is on top: starting prices in our table run from $99 to $699 per month, and four vendors show a price on a Slovenia page (Playroll from $399, Deel and Atlas from $599, Remote $699).
Is Employer of Record legal in Slovenia?
With limits. Slovenian law has no EOR category; an outside company can employ a worker who works for another company only as a licensed temporary-work agency (ZUTD arts. 163-185). Since 2025-09-20 the agency needs a EUR 100,000 bank guarantee and, if seated in another EU/EEA/Swiss state, a Slovenian branch. Whether the regime applies to a client with no Slovenian entity is not settled in any source we found.
Which EOR in Slovenia owns a local entity?
Remote says so on its Slovenia page, and Remote SI, tehnološke storitve, d.o.o. is registered in the Slovenian business register. The other 13 providers in our table don't name their Slovenian employer. None of the 14 is found by name in the Ministry of Labour's agency lists, which carry no company ID, so that is not proof of non-compliance.
What is the cheapest EOR in Slovenia?
Among prices shown on a Slovenia page, Playroll is lowest at from $399 per month, then Deel and Atlas from $599 and Remote at $699. Global list prices go lower, to $99 at Native Teams. Price says nothing about the legal basis: ask who employs your hire first.
What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Slovenia?
The client using agency staff is subsidiarily liable for unpaid wages and risks a fine of EUR 10,000-30,000 (EUR 5,000-10,000 for a user with 10 or fewer employees) if it breaks employment rules or takes workers from an unlicensed provider. The 25% agency-staff cap does not count staff the agency employs permanently, which is how an EOR hires.
Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Slovenia?
If the person works independently, yes: see [how to pay contractors in Slovenia](/software/contractor-payouts/slovenia/) and [our hiring guide](/hire-contractors/slovenia/). Use an EOR when the person works as your employee under your direction. See [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/).
Can an EOR in Slovenia sponsor a work visa?
EU, EEA and Swiss citizens need no permit. For other nationals, ZZSDT art. 7(5) lets a registered agency employ Blue Card holders, people with Employment Service consent to a single permit and people with free labour-market access; a contract outside those bases carries a fine of EUR 10,000-75,000. We found no practice evidence on agency-sponsored applications.
Is a 13th salary mandatory in Slovenia?
No. Two statutory lump sums apply instead: a holiday allowance of at least the minimum wage, EUR 1,481.88 gross in 2026, due by 1 July, and a winter allowance of half the minimum wage, EUR 740.94 for 2026, in force since 2025-11-20.
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
The full listings
Hiring contractors in Slovenia instead
Employer of Record in other countries
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
14 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.