Employer of Record in Switzerland: 19 Providers Compared (2026)

Employer of Record in Switzerland: your company, the EOR entity in Switzerland and your hire

Employer of Record is legal in Switzerland, but only through a provider holding the cantonal Personalverleih licence the country requires for personnel leasing under the AVG — plus a federal SECO licence for any cross-border element and a CHF 50,000–150,000 security deposit (SECO, checked 2026-10-01). A foreign company can’t be leased-to directly from abroad; the EOR must operate through a Swiss-registered entity (Art. 12 para. 2 AVG).

Cost has two layers. Statutory employer contributions for a Zürich-based hire run about CHF 8,955/year on a CHF 80,000 salary — roughly 11.2% of gross, covering AHV/IV/EO, ALV, FAK, BVG pension and UVG accident cover (Kanton Zürich, checked 2026-10-01). The EOR’s own fee runs from about CHF 478/month at Deel to $699/month at Remote; most vendors publish no Switzerland-specific figure at all.

The sharpest constraint is visas: SECO guidance bars a licensed leasing company from sponsoring a brand-new non-EU/EFTA work permit — it can only employ non-EU/EFTA nationals who already hold an unrestricted permit, or EU/EFTA nationals who register freely.

EOR fits hiring one employee without opening a Swiss entity, for an EU/EFTA hire or one who already holds valid status. It doesn’t fit a genuinely independent contractor, and it doesn’t fit sponsoring a brand-new work permit for a non-EU/EFTA national — that still needs the client’s own entity.

Employing someone in Switzerland: key facts

Switzerland has no federal minimum wage and splits most employment rules between the federal Code of Obligations (OR) and cantonal law — the figures below give the federal floor plus the cantons and the Zürich-specific numbers that matter most to an EOR-placed hire.

Minimum wage

Only five cantons set their own statutory minimum wage; everywhere else, pay floors come from sector collective agreements (GAVs/NAVs) or, for leased staff, the GAV Personalverleih.

CantonHourly rateIn force fromSource
GenevaCHF 24.592026-01-01silgeneve.ch, checked 2026-10-01
Basel-StadtCHF 22.202026-01-01bs.ch, checked 2026-10-01
NeuchâtelCHF 21.352026-01-01ne.ch, checked 2026-10-01
JuraCHF 21.402024-07-01 (unchanged)latele.ch, checked 2026-10-01
TicinoCHF 20.00–20.502024-12-01 (unchanged)ticonsiglio.com, checked 2026-10-01
Line chart 2022–2026: Geneva rises from CHF 23.27 to 24.59/hour, Basel from 21.00 to 22.20, Neuchâtel from 20.08 to 21.35; Ticino flat at CHF 19.00–20.00.
Geneva, Basel-Stadt and Neuchâtel index their minimum wage to the CPI each year; Ticino’s rate was set in three steps by a 2021 law and has been unchanged since December 2024. Jura is omitted here for missing years, but has stood at CHF 21.40/hour since 2024-07-01. Source: silgeneve.ch · bs.ch · ne.ch · ticonsiglio.com, checked 2026-10-01.
  • Outside these five cantons (and the city of Lucerne), pay floors come only from sector GAVs/NAVs or, for leased staff, the GAV Personalverleih below — not from a cantonal law (silgeneve.ch, checked 2026-10-01).
  • For staff placed through a licensed leasing/EOR company where the GAV Personalverleih applies, Zürich’s “Hochlohngebiet” unskilled sector floor is CHF 22.39/hour as of 2026-01-01 — a collective-agreement wage, not a cantonal minimum wage (fachkraft.ch, checked 2026-10-01).

Employer contributions

Illustrated for a Zürich-based employer on AHV-subject gross wage, per Kanton Zürich’s official 2026 rates:

ContributionEmployer rateBase / ceilingSource
AHV/IV/EO5.30%no ceilingzh.ch, checked 2026-10-01
ALV (unemployment)1.10%up to CHF 148,200/yearsame
FAK (SVA Zürich)1.025%no ceiling, employer-onlysame
SVA admin surcharge0.30% (up from 0.20% in 2025)% of AHV/IV/EO base, employer-onlysame
BVG occupational pension≥3.5–9% by age band, employer at least halfcoordinated salary CHF 3,780–64,260same
UVG occupational accident (BU)0.1220% (Zürich/AXA-Winterthur reference; varies by industry/insurer)up to CHF 148,200same
  • BVG age bands: 25–34 total 7% (employer ≥3.5%); 35–44 total 10% (≥5%); 45–54 total 15% (≥7.5%); 55–65 total 18% (≥9%) (zh.ch, checked 2026-10-01).
  • KTG (sick-pay) insurance isn’t federally mandatory for ordinary employers, but is mandatory for staff covered by the GAV Personalverleih — commonly ~1–2% of payroll for 80%-of-wage cover, with the employee paying at most 50% of the premium, capped at 3.5% of wage.
  • NBU (non-occupational accident insurance) is by default 100% employee-paid and isn’t counted above.

Working hours and overtime

  • No single statutory full-time week: the Arbeitsgesetz caps weekly hours at 45 for office/technical/sales staff and large retail, and 50 for other employees (Art. 9 ArG).
  • Actual contractual full-time hours for Zürich office/IT roles are typically 40–42 hours/week, set by contract rather than statute (fedlex.admin.ch, checked 2026-10-01).
  • Overtime beyond the contractually agreed hours is paid at a 25% premium unless compensated with equal time off, or validly excluded by contract/GAV (Art. 321c OR); separately, a non-waivable minimum 25% cash premium applies to hours worked beyond the statutory 45/50-hour ArG ceiling for the categories it covers (Art. 13 ArG) (fedlex.admin.ch, checked 2026-10-01).

Annual leave and public holidays

  • Minimum 4 weeks of paid vacation per year, rising to 5 weeks for employees until the end of the calendar year they turn 20 (Art. 329a OR). 5 weeks is also a common contractual/GAV standard regardless of age in white-collar Zürich employment, but isn’t the federal floor for adults (fedlex.admin.ch, checked 2026-10-01).
  • Only August 1 (Swiss National Day) is a federal public holiday (Art. 110 para. 3 BV); all others are set cantonally. Zürich recognises 9 days treated as Sundays: Jan 1, Good Friday, Easter Monday, May 1, Ascension, Whit Monday, Aug 1, Dec 25, Dec 26 (zh.ch, checked 2026-10-01).

Probation

  • Default statutory probation is the first month of employment, terminable by either side on 7 days’ notice at any time (Art. 335b OR).
  • Can be shortened, waived, or extended up to a maximum of 3 months by written agreement, standard employment contract, or GAV (fedlex.admin.ch, checked 2026-10-01).

Notice and severance

ServiceEmployer notice
1st year1 month
2nd–9th year2 months
10th year onward3 months

Source: fedlex.admin.ch, checked 2026-10-01 (Art. 335c OR; always to the end of a calendar month unless otherwise agreed; may be extended by contract/GAV, shortened only via GAV and only below 1 month for the first year).

  • No general statutory severance on ordinary termination. A “departure indemnity” (Art. 339b–339d OR) applies only when the employee is at least 50 years old and has at least 20 years’ service with that employer — amount left to agreement/court discretion, commonly 2–8 monthly salaries, but usually reduced to zero by any employer-financed BVG pension benefits the employee receives (fedlex.admin.ch, checked 2026-10-01).

13th salary and bonuses

  • No OR provision mandates a 13th-month salary.
  • It’s near-universal by contract/market practice in Swiss white-collar employment, and explicitly mandated for workers covered by the generally-binding GAV Personalverleih — i.e. where leasing is the provider’s main activity (fedlex.admin.ch, checked 2026-10-01).

Mandatory benefits

  • AHV/IV/EO and ALV contributions are compulsory from the first franc of wage.
  • BVG occupational pension is compulsory for employees earning at least the CHF 22,680/year entry threshold (2026).
  • UVG accident insurance is compulsory for every employee: occupational cover (BU) 100% employer-paid; non-occupational cover (NBU) by default 100% employee-paid for staff working ≥8 hours/week.
  • Continued salary during illness/accident is owed under Art. 324a OR on a cantonal scale (e.g. the “Zürcher Skala”) for a period scaled to seniority, unless replaced by KTG sick-pay insurance paying at least the same benefit.
  • FAK family/child allowances are funded 100% by the employer, with no employee deduction (bsv.admin.ch, checked 2026-10-01).

Work permits

  • EU/EFTA nationals benefit from free movement: they register for a permit (B for contracts over 1 year, L under 1 year, G for cross-border commuters) once hired, with no quota and no labour-market test.
  • Non-EU/EFTA nationals need a quota-limited permit tied to a specific employer and role, granted only for specialists/managers where no EU/EFTA/Swiss candidate is available (Art. 18–23 AIG); annual quotas are set by the Federal Council and allocated to cantons.
  • Critical for EOR: SECO guidance bars a licensed leasing company from employing anyone holding a short-stay or annual residence permit tied to one specific employer or activity — in practice it can’t be the sponsor for a brand-new non-EU/EFTA work-permit application. It can only employ non-EU/EFTA nationals who already hold a permit without that restriction (e.g. a C settlement permit), or EU/EFTA nationals (SECO, checked 2026-10-01).

Currency and payroll

  • Payroll runs in Swiss francs (CHF) (snb.ch, checked 2026-10-01).
  • Art. 323 para. 1 OR requires salary to be paid at the end of each month unless a shorter period is agreed; monthly payment by bank transfer is the overwhelming market standard, including for EOR-run payroll (fedlex.admin.ch, checked 2026-10-01).

Allowed, with limits. Switzerland has no EOR-specific law. Legally, an EOR arrangement is Personalverleih (personnel leasing) under the Federal Act on Employment Services and the Hiring of Services (AVG) of 1989 (SECO Merkblatt, checked 2026-10-01). That brings several constraints:

  • A cantonal licence, from the canton of the registered seat, is required to lease staff within Switzerland; a federal SECO licence is required the moment the activity crosses the border — a newly arriving foreign hire, or staff leased to a client abroad (goldblum.ch, checked 2026-10-01).
  • A security deposit of CHF 50,000 (under 60,000 deployment hours/year) rising to CHF 100,000 above that, plus a further CHF 50,000 for the federal licence — so CHF 50,000–150,000 in total depending on scale (SECO Merkblatt, checked 2026-10-01).
  • Leasing from abroad is banned outright. A foreign, non-Swiss-licensed leasing company cannot lease staff into Switzerland (Art. 12 para. 2 AVG) — the client must use a Swiss-entity EOR or a Swiss-licensed partner.
  • The GAV Personalverleih, a generally-binding sector collective agreement, attaches once leasing is roughly over half an EOR’s revenue, imposing sector minimum wages, a mandatory 13th-month salary, day-one occupational-pension cover and a mandatory collective sick-pay (KTG) scheme (Legal 500, checked 2026-10-01).

For the client, three risks follow. Knowingly using an unlicensed provider is itself an offence: a fine up to CHF 40,000 for the client, separate from the up to CHF 100,000 fine the provider faces, and the contract itself can be held void (Legal 500, checked 2026-10-01). A foreign client can’t be leased-to directly from abroad — including for a fully remote hire, since Swiss commentary treats the subordination relationship, not physical location, as decisive (internationalhrs.com, checked 2026-10-01). And using an EOR doesn’t eliminate permanent-establishment risk: Swiss tax authorities weigh economic substance — who directs the work — over legal form (Roedl, checked 2026-10-01).

Who actually employs your hire in Switzerland

Vendors describe their entity model globally (“own entities in 170+ countries,” “owned + partner network”) far more often than they confirm it for Switzerland specifically. Here’s what each vendor’s own Switzerland-facing page — or Switzerland’s commercial register (Zefix, via Moneyhouse/Northdata) — actually says:

ProviderEmployer in SwitzerlandEvidenceSwitzerland EOR price
DeelOwn entityDeel, checked 2026-10-01CHF 5,740/year (~CHF 478/month)
RemoteOwn entityRemote, checked 2026-10-01$699/month
G-POwn entityG-P Globalpedia, checked 2026-10-01USD 599/month, flat
Borderless AIOwn entityBorderless AI, checked 2026-10-01$579/month
BoundlessOwn entitySwiss staffing licence, per Boundless, checked 2026-10-01Not published
Atlas HXMOwn entityMoneyhouse registry, checked 2026-10-01$599/month (global list)
Safeguard GlobalOwn entityMoneyhouse registry, checked 2026-10-01Not published, on request
JustworksOwn entityMoneyhouse registry, checked 2026-10-01$599/month (global list)
RipplingOwn entityMoneyhouse registry, checked 2026-10-01Not published
OysterOwn entityNorthdata registry, checked 2026-10-01Not published
SkuadPartnerSkuad, checked 2026-10-01$549/month (discounted from $699)
PlayrollNot disclosedPlayroll, checked 2026-10-01From $399/month (global list)
Remote PeopleNot disclosedRemote People, checked 2026-10-01From $199/month (global list)
RivermateNot disclosedRivermate, checked 2026-10-01$319–639/month (global list)
RemoFirstNot disclosedRemoFirst, checked 2026-10-01From $199/month (global list)
PeblNot disclosedPebl, checked 2026-10-01$399/month (global list)
RemotePassNot disclosedRemotePass, checked 2026-10-01Quote-based
MultiplierNot disclosedMultiplier, checked 2026-10-01Not published
Native TeamsNot disclosedNative Teams, checked 2026-10-01From $99/month (global list)
Bar chart: 10 providers confirm their own Swiss entity, 1 says it works through a partner, 8 don't disclose which.
Own entity means a vendor statement about its Swiss entity, a Swiss commercial-register record, or both; a global “owned + partner network” line counts as not disclosed. Source: vendor country pages and Moneyhouse/Zefix, checked 2026-10-01.

Eight of these 19 don’t say whether Switzerland is served by their own entity or a partner’s, including Rivermate, Playroll and RemotePass. That matters more here than in most countries: the entity employing your hire needs its own cantonal Personalverleih licence, and a federal SECO licence for any cross-border element — not just a local address. Before signing, ask the vendor directly: “Does the entity employing my hire hold its own cantonal staffing licence, and can you name the canton and licence number?” A vendor that answers with a licence detail or a registry record is a different risk profile from one that repeats its global “owned + partner network” line.

How to choose an EOR in Switzerland

Hiring a non-EU/EFTA national on a brand-new work permit? None of the vendors above can be the sponsoring employer for that application — SECO guidance bars a licensed leasing company from sponsoring a new non-EU/EFTA permit. You’ll need your own Swiss entity for that hire, unless the person already holds an unrestricted permit or is an EU/EFTA national.

Want the clearest evidence of who’s actually employing your hire? Remote, Deel and Borderless AI each state in their own words that they own their Swiss entity; Boundless is the only one of these 19 stating it holds the staffing licence Switzerland actually requires. Atlas HXM, Safeguard Global, Justworks and Rippling are all confirmed through the Swiss commercial register even where their own marketing copy doesn’t say so.

Weighing price against fee transparency? In CHF terms, Deel discloses the lowest Switzerland-specific figure, CHF 5,740/year (about CHF 478/month). In USD terms, Skuad is lowest at $549/month (discounted from $699), G-P’s flat USD 599/month carries no minimum contract length, and Borderless AI’s $579/month comes with no setup fee. Most other vendors publish only a global list price or nothing at all for Switzerland.

Hiring in a canton with its own minimum wage? Geneva, Basel-Stadt, Neuchâtel, Jura and Ticino each set their own floor — up to CHF 24.59/hour in Geneva — and none of these vendor pages confirm compliance canton by canton. Check the minimum-wage table above regardless of which provider you pick.

All 19 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

Deel

The broadest all-in-one platform — EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor management and global payroll under one roof, with deep country coverage.

8.7/10

★ 4.8 · 28k reviews

EOR price
from $599/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Entity model
130 owned
Time to hire
As little as 1 day
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • 150+ country reach with 130+ owned entities
  • covers EOR, COR, contractor management and payroll
  • strong security & compliance certifications

Not a fit for

  • very small or strictly budget-first teams
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsConfirmed via Zefix/Moneyhouse (Deel Switzerland AG, Baar); publishes a Switzerland-specific price, CHF 5,740/year, and under-72-hour onboarding.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote

A compliance-first EOR built on 100% owned entities — fewer countries, but no third-party handoffs.

8.4/10

★ 4.4 · 97 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing)
Coverage
90+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
2 days (average)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR Level 1, GDPR
Support
24/7 chatbot; live agent Mon-Fri

What stands out

  • 100% owned entities, no third-party partners
  • strong certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR, GDPR)
  • transparent per-product pricing

Not a fit for

  • teams needing the widest possible country list
  • lowest-price seekers
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsStates outright it owns its Swiss entity and doesn't rely on third parties; registry confirms a Zug GmbH; publishes $699/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

G-P (Globalization Partners)

The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.

8.3/10

★ 4.4

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
Certifications
SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018
Support
24/7 AI support (G-P Assist); human hours not stated

What stands out

  • Founded 2012 — the longest track record among EOR vendors reviewed so far
  • Broadest certification stack checked: SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001, GDPR
  • 156 countries with a dedicated Globalpedia EOR guide; flat $599/employee/month fee confirmed across sampled countries

Not a fit for

  • price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
  • buyers needing a true Contractor of Record, not payment/classification tooling
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsRegistry-confirmed Genève entity (Globalization Partners Switzerland SA); flat USD 599/month with no minimum contract length, hiring in a few days.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Borderless AI

A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.

7.3/10

★ 4.8 · 205 reviews

EOR price
$579/mo
Coverage
170+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboarding as fast as 24 hours
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, PIPEDA
Support
24/7 in-house support; dedicated Canada-based contact

What stands out

  • Published flat pricing for all three core products ($579 EOR / $49 contractor / $29 payroll), no 'contact sales' gating
  • No security deposit or salary pre-funding required for EOR, unlike vendors citing $7,000-$20,000 deposits
  • SOC 2 Type II certified with a public trust center; fast-claimed onboarding (24-48 hours)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
  • companies requiring a dedicated, separately-branded Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsNames Switzerland specifically among its owned-entity countries; publishes a Switzerland price, $579/month, with no setup fee and 1–2 day onboarding.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Boundless

A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.

7.0/10

★ 4.8 · 28 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim

What stands out

  • Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
  • Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
  • Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
  • teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsStates plainly that standard EOR isn't recognised in Switzerland and that Boundless itself holds the required staffing licence.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Atlas HXM

A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.

7.7/10

★ 4.2 · 101 reviews

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages

What stands out

  • 160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
  • Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
  • AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
  • companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsRegistry-confirmed Zürich entity (purpose: payroll, recruitment); calls itself a '100% direct EOR', though its price here is only the global list rate.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Safeguard Global

One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.

7.5/10

★ 4.2 · 141 reviews

EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR

What stands out

  • Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
  • 1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
  • NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management

Not a fit for

  • buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
  • teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsIts Zürich entity, renamed from WORKFOR Switzerland AG after Safeguard Global's acquisition of the Swiss WorkFor Group, has no published price, but onboarding in as little as two weeks.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Justworks

Primarily a US PEO and payroll platform — audited (SOC 1/2, ESAC, IRS CPEO) — with a newer, smaller EOR product covering 43 documented countries at a flat $599/employee/month.

7.0/10

★ 4.6 · 1101 reviews

EOR price
$599/mo per employee
Coverage
43+ countries
Time to hire
A few days to two weeks (vendor claim)
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2, ESAC Accredited (PEO), IRS-Certified PEO (CPEO, since 2017)
Support
24/7 for PEO plans; EOR SLA not separately published

What stands out

  • Long-established, independently audited US operator (SOC 1/2, ESAC-accredited, IRS CPEO since 2017; founded 2012)
  • Flat, fully disclosed EOR price with no setup fees or minimums
  • Strong support reputation: 4.6/5 aggregate rating cited on its own EOR page (1,101 ratings)

Not a fit for

  • companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries
  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not contractor payouts only
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsRegistry shows a Zug entity whose purpose explicitly covers payroll and personnel placement — strong evidence even though its own pages don't confirm it.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rippling

A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.

8.3/10

★ 4.8 · 23k reviews

EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2

What stands out

  • EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
  • unified HR, IT and Finance platform
  • broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
  • hiring employees outside the 80 EOR markets
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsIts Zürich entity's registered purpose explicitly covers payroll, social-insurance administration and contractor payments, though Rippling's own guide doesn't say so.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Oyster

A B-Corp EOR focused on simplicity and ethical global hiring — strong for mid-size teams.

8.3/10

★ 4.3 · 1871 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee
Coverage
120+ countries
Time to hire
As fast as 48 hours
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, B-Corp
Support
Response within 24h

What stands out

  • B-Corp certified
  • 120+ EOR countries with a 48-hour onboarding claim
  • contractor payments in 120+ currencies

Not a fit for

  • teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
  • buyers who require a disclosed entity model
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsSwiss registry purpose names it a 'quasi-employer of record' directly; no price or onboarding time found since its own site was unreachable.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Skuad

A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.

8.0/10

★ 4.6 · 312 reviews

EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated

What stands out

  • broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
  • published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
  • payroll in 70 currencies

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsThe only vendor here naming a local Swiss partner specifically for work-permit sponsorship; discounted Switzerland price, $549/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Playroll

A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.7 · 209 reviews

EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5

What stands out

  • Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
  • Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
  • Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsDoesn't disclose Swiss entity ownership, but publishes Switzerland-specific onboarding of 1–2 working days plus no setup fee globally.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote People

A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 495 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)

What stands out

  • Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
  • Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
  • Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation

Not a fit for

  • buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
  • teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsDoesn't disclose entity ownership; its Switzerland page quotes onboarding of a few days to two weeks and detailed cantonal wage figures.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rivermate

A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.4 · 391 reviews

EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
  • Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
  • Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
  • buyers needing equity/ESOP administration
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsDoesn't disclose entity ownership; its own Switzerland guide quotes onboarding of one to three weeks and no onboarding or offboarding fees globally.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemoFirst

A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.

7.8/10

★ 4.4 · 440 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees

What stands out

  • Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
  • Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
  • Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
  • enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsDoesn't disclose entity ownership; its guide lists cantonal minimum wages and a BVG pension cap, though several of its figures are now outdated.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Pebl

A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 603 reviews

EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts

What stands out

  • 12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
  • SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
  • Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
  • teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsDoesn't disclose entity ownership; names Geneva as the canton with the highest minimum wage, though its figure is a year out of date.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemotePass

A global HR and payroll platform with a notable focus on the Middle East, Africa and other emerging markets. RemotePass covers EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record, contractor management and local payroll across 150 countries, and is one of the few in this set to publish list pricing.

7.9/10

★ 4.4 · 804 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax)
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Onboard new team members within days
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR

What stands out

  • dedicated Contractor of Record that explicitly addresses worker-misclassification risk
  • published per-seat pricing for EOR ($349), CoR ($299), Local Payroll ($15) and Contractors ($39)
  • strong MENA/emerging-markets coverage incl. KSA and UAE, with visa sponsorship and relocation

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
  • buyers requiring ISO 27001 or SOC 1 attestations stated up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsDoesn't disclose entity ownership; its page is a labour-law reference covering notice, leave and holidays rather than EOR specifics or pricing.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Multiplier

A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.

8.4/10

★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022

What stands out

  • EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
  • dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
  • published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
  • buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsDoesn't disclose entity ownership or a Switzerland price; its page only contrasts EOR against opening your own Swiss entity.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Native Teams

A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.

7.9/10

★ 4.7 · 367 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS

What stands out

  • EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
  • transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
  • dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
  • teams needing a guaranteed onboarding SLA in days
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsDoesn't disclose entity ownership; its Switzerland landing page carries no country-specific statutory data, only a link to a separate guide.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesNot a fit for
1 Deel 8.7 from $599/mo per employee 150+ very small or strictly budget-first teams
2 Remote 8.4 $699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing) 90+ teams needing the widest possible country list
3 G-P (Globalization Partners) 8.3 From $599/mo per employee 180+ price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
4 Borderless AI 7.3 $579/mo 170+ buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
5 Boundless 7 From $199/mo per employee 110+ buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
6 Atlas HXM 7.7 From $599/mo per employee 160+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
7 Safeguard Global 7.5 On request 187+ buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
8 Justworks 7 $599/mo per employee 43+ companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries
9 Rippling 8.3 Custom quote 80+ buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
10 Oyster 8.3 $699/mo per employee 120+ teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
11 Skuad 8 Starting from $199 per employee/month 160+ buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
12 Playroll 7.6 $399 per employee/month (no minimum) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
13 Remote People 7.8 From $199/mo per employee 150+ buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
14 Rivermate 7.6 From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
15 RemoFirst 7.8 Starts at $199 per employee/month 185+ buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
16 Pebl 7.8 $399/mo per employee 185+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
17 RemotePass 7.9 Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax) 150+ buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
18 Multiplier 8.4 Starting at $400 per month 150+ buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
19 Native Teams 7.9 Starts at $99/per employee per month 95+ buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)

What it costs to employ someone in Switzerland through an EOR

Two illustrative salaries — CHF 80,000 and CHF 150,000 — bracket a typical Zürich-based EOR office/IT hire. They aren’t literal conversions of a USD 50k/100k benchmark: at the current spot rate, USD 50,000 converts to only about CHF 41,800, which is below full-time minimum wage in Geneva and an unrealistic hiring scenario here (xe.com, checked 2026-10-01).

Gross annual salaryEmployer statutory (annual)Share of grossWhat’s included
CHF 80,000CHF 8,954.6011.2%AHV/IV/EO, ALV, FAK + admin surcharge, BVG (age 35–44), UVG BU
CHF 150,000CHF 14,961.5010.0%Same, with ALV and UVG capped at the CHF 148,200 ceiling and BVG capped at the CHF 90,720 upper limit
Stacked bars: CHF 80,000 salary costs CHF 8,955 in employer contributions (11.2%), CHF 150,000 costs CHF 14,962 (10.0%). AHV/IV/EO and BVG pension make up most of it; ALV and FAK/admin surcharge add the rest.
Statutory employer contributions only, before the EOR’s own fee. Zürich-based employer, 2026 rates. UVG BU uses Kanton Zürich’s own office-staff reference rate; real premiums are industry- and insurer-specific and can run higher. Source: zh.ch, checked 2026-10-01.

On a flat CHF 80,000 Zürich salary, these employer contributions (AHV/IV/EO, ALV, FAK and BVG) have barely moved since 2021 — CHF 8,825 in 2021 to CHF 8,857 in 2026, under half a percent — so there’s no separate trend chart for it (zh.ch, checked 2026-10-01). BVG above is modelled at the statutory-minimum age-35–44 rate; many EOR pension plans are more generous (“umhüllend”), which would raise the real cost further. NBU and KTG are excluded: NBU is by default 100% employee-paid, and KTG is insurer-quoted rather than a flat statutory percentage — commonly ~1–2% of payroll where the GAV Personalverleih applies.

The EOR’s own fee is on top of the above. Published Switzerland-specific numbers in our data range from about CHF 478/month (Deel’s CHF 5,740/year) to $699/month (Remote); G-P quotes a flat USD 599/month with no minimum contract length, Borderless AI $579/month with no setup fee, and Skuad $549/month (discounted from $699). Most other vendors publish only a global list price ($99–$639/month) or nothing at all for Switzerland — Safeguard Global and Rippling publish no price without a sales conversation.

Hidden costs, where actually published: Borderless AI, Boundless, RemoFirst, Playroll, Rivermate and Pebl all state — as global claims, not confirmed for Switzerland specifically — that they charge no setup fee; Rivermate and Pebl add no termination fee, and Borderless AI adds no security deposit. None of them publishes a Switzerland-specific deposit, minimum term or termination fee to go with that. Where the field is blank in the table above, treat it as unpublished, not zero.

When you don’t need an EOR

Decision tree: if the person does not work under your direction full-time, engage them as a contractor. If they do and need a brand-new non-EU/EFTA work permit, you need your own Swiss entity, because licensed leasing companies can't sponsor one. Otherwise an Employer of Record fits.
A role that looks like employment shouldn’t be relabelled as a contract. The permit rule applies to brand-new non-EU/EFTA sponsorships only; an EOR can still employ an EU/EFTA national or someone who already holds valid, unrestricted status. Source: SECO, checked 2026-10-01.
  • A genuinely independent contractor. Cheaper and closer to the real relationship if the person sets their own hours and tools and can serve other clients. See how to pay contractors in Switzerland and our hiring guide for the classification tests.
  • Your own Swiss entity. The route needed if the hire is a non-EU/EFTA national who needs a brand-new work permit, since a licensed leasing company can’t be the sponsor for that application.

What changed in 2026

  • 2026-01-01 — Geneva’s cantonal minimum wage rises to CHF 24.59/hour (from CHF 24.48); agriculture-sector rate CHF 18.07/hour.
  • 2026-01-01 — Basel-Stadt’s cantonal minimum wage rises to CHF 22.20/hour (from CHF 22.00).
  • 2026-01-01 — Neuchâtel’s cantonal minimum wage rises to CHF 21.35/hour (from CHF 21.31).
  • 2026-01-01 — SVA Zürich’s AHV compensation-fund administrative surcharge rises to 0.30% of the AHV/IV/EO wage base, from 0.20% in 2025.
  • 2026-04-20 — Ticino’s Gran Consiglio approved a further staged increase of its minimum-wage bands from 2027 (to CHF 20.50–21.00/hour), a compromise against a competing union initiative for about CHF 25/hour; the 2026 rate itself (CHF 20.00–20.50) is unaffected until 2027.

Numbers vendors haven’t updated

  • RemoFirst’s Switzerland guide cites cantonal minimum wages of CHF 24.32/hour (Geneva), CHF 22.00 (Basel-Stadt), CHF 22.19 (Jura), CHF 20.46 (Neuchâtel) and CHF 19.00 (Ticino); current 2026 rates are CHF 24.59, CHF 22.20, CHF 21.40, CHF 21.35 and CHF 20.00–20.50 respectively.
  • Pebl’s Switzerland page cites Geneva’s minimum wage as “CHF 24/hour, ~US$26, as of 2025”; the current 2026 rate is CHF 24.59/hour.

How we built this page

Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-01 against Swiss federal law (fedlex.admin.ch), SECO guidance, and cantonal government sources (Geneva, Basel-Stadt, Neuchâtel, and Kanton Zürich’s own payroll tables). Vendor entity claims were checked against Switzerland’s commercial register — Zefix, via Moneyhouse and Northdata — where a registry entry could be found, and against the vendor’s own Switzerland-facing page otherwise; where a vendor states only a global entity model, we recorded Switzerland as not disclosed rather than assuming. The ranking above puts confirmed, Switzerland-specific own entities first. Nobody pays for placement on this page.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Employer of Record cost in Switzerland?

Two layers: statutory employer contributions and the EOR's own fee. For a Zürich-based hire on CHF 80,000, employer contributions run about CHF 8,955/year (~11.2% of gross), falling to about 10.0% at CHF 150,000. The EOR's own fee runs from about CHF 478/month at Deel to $699/month at Remote; most vendors don't publish a Switzerland-specific figure at all.

Is Employer of Record legal in Switzerland?

Allowed, with limits. Switzerland has no EOR-specific law: an EOR arrangement counts as Personalverleih (personnel leasing) under the AVG, requiring a cantonal licence plus a federal SECO licence for any cross-border element and a CHF 50,000–150,000 security deposit. Leasing staff into Switzerland from a non-Swiss-licensed company abroad is banned outright (Art. 12 para. 2 AVG).

Which is the best EOR in Switzerland?

Remote states outright that it owns its Swiss entity rather than relying on a partner; Deel and G-P both confirm their Swiss entities through the commercial register and publish Switzerland-specific prices (CHF 5,740/year and USD 599/month flat). 'Best' depends on whether you weight verified ownership, price, or visa coverage more heavily — see the ranking below.

What is the cheapest Employer of Record in Switzerland?

Within CHF-denominated prices, Deel publishes the lowest Switzerland-specific figure: CHF 5,740/employee/year, about CHF 478/month. Within USD-denominated prices, Skuad is lowest at $549/month (discounted from $699). The two aren't in the same currency, so neither is simply 'the cheapest' overall; some vendors quote lower global list prices, like RemoFirst from $199/month, but none confirms that rate for Switzerland specifically.

What's the difference between an EOR and a PEO in Switzerland?

An EOR is the sole legal employer of record; a PEO co-employs alongside a client that already runs its own Swiss entity and payroll. See our [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/) comparison and the [PEO glossary entry](/glossary/peo/) for how the liability split differs.

What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Switzerland?

Using an unlicensed EOR puts the client itself in breach: knowingly engaging one can bring a fine up to CHF 40,000 for the client, separate from the up to CHF 100,000 fine the provider faces, and the contract itself can be void. Swiss tax authorities also weigh economic substance over legal form, so close day-to-day direction of the hire can still create a taxable permanent establishment for the foreign client.

Can an EOR sponsor a work permit for a new hire in Switzerland?

Only for EU/EFTA nationals, who register for a permit freely with no quota. For a brand-new non-EU/EFTA hire, SECO guidance bars a licensed leasing/EOR company from being the sponsoring employer — it can only employ non-EU/EFTA nationals who already hold a permit without an employer or activity restriction, such as a C settlement permit.

Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Switzerland?

If the work is genuinely independent, yes — see [how to pay contractors in Switzerland](/software/contractor-payouts/switzerland/) and [our hiring guide](/hire-contractors/switzerland/). If the role looks like employment, with set hours and client direction, an EOR or your own entity is the compliant route, especially since Switzerland requires a licensed intermediary for leased staff.

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. Deel solutions/payroll/contractorsemployer-of-recorddocs/payouts 20 August 2026
  2. Remote global-hr/hire-international-contractorsglobal-hr/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsglobal-hr/remote-api 20 August 2026
  3. G-P (Globalization Partners) contractorglobalization-partners.comglobal-teams/global-payroll 30 September 2026
  4. Borderless AI pricingglobal-contractor-managementhireborderless.com 30 September 2026
  5. Boundless faq 30 September 2026
  6. Atlas HXM pricingatlashxm.com 30 September 2026
  7. Safeguard Global solutions/contractor-managementcompany/about-us 30 September 2026
  8. Justworks hc/en-us/articles/24026656179099-Justworks-Employer-of-Record-EOReor 30 September 2026
  9. Rippling products/global/global-contractorsproducts/payroll/employer-of-record 20 August 2026
  10. Oyster product/global-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  11. Skuad platform/contractor-paymentsplatform/international-contractorsemployer-of-recordhelp-center/how-to-bulk-pay-contractor-invoices 20 August 2026
  12. Playroll contractor-managementemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  13. Remote People contractor-managementcontractor-of-recordemployer-of-record 30 September 2026
  14. Rivermate contractor-of-recordrivermate.com 20 August 2026
  15. RemoFirst global-contractor-paymentsinternational-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  16. Pebl eor-pricing 30 September 2026
  17. RemotePass contractorseor 20 August 2026
  18. Multiplier solutions/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsproduct/contractor-management-systemproduct/employer-of-record-services 20 August 2026
  19. Native Teams pricingemployer-of-recordwallet 20 August 2026

How we researched this page

19 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error