Employer of Record is legal in Saudi Arabia, but only through a licensed route. Since Ministerial Resolution No. 60339 took effect on 2026-01-26, manpower outsourcing and labour leasing may only be carried out by an MHRSD-licensed establishment, with every non-Saudi placement documented as an Ajeer Permit capped at three years (mondaq.com, checked 2026-10-01). Hiring an expatriate this way costs, on top of gross salary, GOSI’s 2% Occupational Hazards contribution plus an end-of-service award accrual — about SAR 11,563/year on a SAR 187,500 salary — plus the EOR’s own fee, which runs from $199/month to $999/month across the 16 providers compared here. There’s no general minimum wage for anyone, Saudi national or expatriate; the SAR 4,000 figure often quoted is a Nitaqat headcount-credit threshold, not a wage floor.
EOR fits hiring one employee in the Kingdom without opening a Saudi commercial registration — especially where sponsoring the Iqama and navigating Nitaqat eligibility is the blocker. It fits less well once a hire needs to stay beyond the Ajeer Permit’s three-year cap, since that permit will need renewing or the arrangement restructuring. It also doesn’t fit a genuinely independent contractor: Saudi Arabia’s 2026 rules treat a worker supervised and tooled at the client’s own site as labour outsourcing, not a service contract, regardless of what the paperwork calls it.
Employing someone in Saudi Arabia: key facts
Saudi labor law runs through HRSD and GOSI. Most rules below apply to Saudi nationals and expatriates alike, but contributions and the Nitaqat/Saudization threshold don’t.
Minimum wage
No general statutory minimum wage for the private sector, Saudi nationals or expatriates (argaam.com, checked 2026-10-01).
A SAR 4,000/month floor exists, but it’s a Nitaqat/Saudization headcount-credit threshold, not a wage floor: a Saudi employee at or above it counts as a full headcount (half at SAR 3,000-3,999, zero below), it sets no required wage, and it doesn’t apply to expatriates at all. Unchanged since 2021-04-18 (argaam.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Employer contributions
Contribution
Who
Employer rate
Notes
Source
GOSI Occupational Hazards
Expatriates
2% of contributory wage
Only branch expatriates are enrolled in; employee pays 0%
Contributory wage is basic salary plus housing allowance (cash or in-kind, up to 2 months’ basic salary/year); transport, phone, commission and bonuses are excluded, and contributions are capped at a monthly contributory wage of SAR 45,000. The expatriate rate, 2% Occupational Hazards, hasn’t changed since at least 2021 — only the Saudi-national annuities schedule moves year to year (mercans.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Working hours and overtime
Standard hours: 8 hours/day or 48 hours/week; 6 hours/day or 36 hours/week for Muslim workers during Ramadan. At least 30 minutes’ rest after every 5 consecutive hours; total time at the workplace can’t exceed 12 hours/day (hrsd.gov.sa Labor Law PDF, checked 2026-10-01).
Overtime: hours beyond the standard, and all public-holiday hours, are paid at 150% of the base hourly rate (basic monthly wage ÷ 30 ÷ 8), capped at 720 hours/year unless the worker consents in writing to more. Since February 2025, overtime can also be paid as time off in lieu, with consent (hrsd.gov.sa Labor Law PDF, checked 2026-10-01).
Annual leave and public holidays
Annual leave: minimum 21 calendar days/year, rising to at least 30 days after 5 continuous years with the same employer (hrsd.gov.sa Labor Law PDF, checked 2026-10-01).
Public holidays: four paid occasions a year for all sectors — Eid al-Fitr (~4 days), Eid al-Adha including Arafat Day (~4 days), National Day (23 September, 1 day) and Founding Day (22 February, 1 day), roughly 10 paid calendar days/year in total. Friday is the standard weekly paid rest day, not counted as a holiday (ksaexpats.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Probation
Since the amendment effective February 2025, the parties may agree upfront to a single probationary period of up to 180 days (previously: 90 days, extendable only by separate written agreement to a maximum of 180 days) (morganlewis.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Either party may end the contract during probation without notice or end-of-service compensation, other than the worker’s return-travel cost. Eid holidays and sick leave taken during probation don’t count toward the probation clock (morganlewis.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Notice and severance
Employer-initiated termination of an indefinite contract requires 60 days’ notice, unchanged by the 2025 amendment; employee notice was cut from 60 to 30 days by that same amendment (morganlewis.com, checked 2026-10-01).
No separate statutory “severance pay” distinct from the end-of-service award (EOSB, Labor Law Art. 84-87): half a month’s wage per year for the first 5 years, then a full month’s wage per subsequent year, prorated. On resignation rather than termination, the payout scales down — none under 2 years, one-third for 2-5 years, two-thirds for 5-10, full after 10+ (etqanlawfirm-sa.com, checked 2026-10-01).
13th salary and bonuses
Not mandatory; any such payment is purely contractual (hrsd.gov.sa Labor Law PDF, checked 2026-10-01).
Mandatory benefits
GOSI: full package for Saudi nationals; Occupational-Hazards-only for non-Saudis (see Employer contributions above).
CCHI-regulated health insurance: the employer must buy a CCHI-licensed plan covering every non-Saudi employee plus eligible dependents, in place before probation starts; premiums can’t be deducted from pay, and a valid policy is a precondition for Iqama issuance or renewal (chi.gov.sa, checked 2026-10-01).
End-of-service award (EOSB) accrual — see Notice and severance above.
Since February 2025: the employer must provide suitable housing and transportation, or a cash allowance in lieu of each (chi.gov.sa, checked 2026-10-01).
Work permits
Non-Saudi employees need a work visa plus an Iqama (residence permit) tied to a specific sponsoring employer (kafeel) and job. In an EOR arrangement, the provider’s own Saudi-registered entity is the sponsor of record — Iqama, GOSI registration and WPS payroll all sit under the EOR, not the client, which has no local entity (gloroots.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Since the March 2021 Labor Reform Initiative, qualifying workers can transfer sponsorship without the original sponsor’s consent, and can exit or re-enter the Kingdom without sponsor sign-off in qualifying cases (gloroots.com, checked 2026-10-01).
From 2026-01-26, every such placement must additionally be documented as an Ajeer Permit — see “Is Employer of Record legal in Saudi Arabia?” below.
Currency and payroll
Saudi riyal (SAR), fixed peg 1 USD = 3.75 SAR, unchanged since 1986 (corroborated via Arab News and Argaam, checked 2026-10-01).
Wages must be paid at least monthly (weekly for weekly-paid workers), through the Wage Protection System (WPS/Mudad) via a local Saudi bank account in the employee’s own name (hrsd.gov.sa Labor Law PDF, checked 2026-10-01).
Is Employer of Record legal in Saudi Arabia?
Allowed, but only through a licensed route. Hiring through an EOR without the client opening its own entity is legal — but since Ministerial Resolution No. 60339 (signed 2025-10-25, effective 2026-01-26), manpower leasing, workforce supply and staff outsourcing may only be carried out by MHRSD-licensed establishments; no unlicensed establishment may supply labor for a third party under any name (incorpmena.com, checked 2026-10-01).
The Resolution separates “service outsourcing” (project-based, provider manages its own resources) from “labour outsourcing” (worker placed at, supervised and tooled by the client’s site), and requires an electronic service contract plus an Ajeer Permit for every labour-outsourcing placement, each capped at a maximum of 3 years or the contract’s earlier expiry (mondaq.com, checked 2026-10-01). Both parties must hold at least a “medium green” Nitaqat rating, valid commercial registration and WPS compliance to use Ajeer at all (bsalaw.com, checked 2026-10-01).
The worker’s sponsorship (kafala) stays with the licensed provider, not the client, which keeps legal-employer liability for GOSI, Iqama issuance and WPS payroll regardless of who directs the worker’s daily tasks (bsalaw.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Client risks:
If work continues after an Ajeer Permit expires, a violation is deemed to occur automatically the next business day, exposing both the client and the provider to MHRSD penalties (incorpmena.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Industry sources — not a law firm or government page, so treat this directionally — report that because the worker is counted on the provider’s Nitaqat roll rather than the client’s, a drop in the provider’s own band can block visa issuance, Iqama renewals and new hiring across all of its clients, including this one (masdareor.com, checked 2026-10-01).
An unlicensed arrangement — informal secondment outside Ajeer, or a “service outsourcing” label on what’s actually beneficiary-supervised labour — is a direct MHRSD violation for every party involved, each carrying statutory liability (incorpmena.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Separately, from a reported effective date of 2026-04-15, only Saudi employees whose contracts are electronically accepted on Qiwa count toward an establishment’s Nitaqat ratio — GOSI registration alone is no longer enough (zawya.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Who actually employs your hire in Saudi Arabia
Only three of the 16 providers below make a first-person, Saudi-specific statement that they employ through their own entity; the rest describe their entity model only in global terms or don’t address it for this country at all.
Own entity means a first-person, Saudi-specific vendor statement; a global “owned entities + partner network” line counts as not disclosed. Source: vendor country pages, checked 2026-10-01.
Thirteen of these 16 don’t say whether a hire is employed through the provider’s own entity or a local partner — a bigger question here than in most countries, since the sponsoring entity also carries the GOSI, WPS and Ajeer-licensing liability. Before signing, ask directly: “Is the Saudi establishment that will hold my hire’s Iqama and GOSI registration your own licensed entity, and can you name it?” An answer naming a licence type or establishment is a different risk profile from a global “owned + partner network” line.
How to choose an EOR in Saudi Arabia
Need the clearest evidence of who actually employs your hire? Remote People names the specific HRSD manpower-supply licence category its Saudi establishment holds, the strongest entity evidence in this set; Atlas HXM and Remote both state ownership in the first person, naming Saudi Arabia directly rather than citing a global entity count.
Weighing price against data completeness? Remote People’s $199/month applies to Saudi nationals specifically, with expatriate pricing quoted separately — check which one applies to your hire before comparing it to a global list price like Skuad’s or RemoFirst’s $199/month. Deel’s $999/month is the highest disclosed Saudi-specific figure, but comes with the most detailed published breakdown of Saudization, Ajeer and health-insurance line items.
Hiring an expatriate who may stay past three years? No vendor here discloses how it handles an Ajeer Permit’s 3-year cap for a long-running placement — ask directly whether renewal, a new permit or a switch to the client’s own entity is the plan once that limit approaches.
A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 495 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)
What stands out
Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation
Not a fit for
buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
Why it fitsNames the exact HRSD manpower-supply licence it employs through and quotes $199/month for Saudi nationals, the most specific entity evidence here.
A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.
7.7/10
★ 4.2 · 101 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages
What stands out
160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Why it fitsStates its Saudi Arabia entity directly, naming the country in the same sentence as its owned-entity claim, with a $599/month price on that page.
The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.
8.3/10
★ 4.4
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.
A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.
8.0/10
★ 4.6 · 312 reviews
EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated
What stands out
broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
payroll in 70 currencies
Not a fit for
buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.7 · 209 reviews
EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5
What stands out
Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A global HR and payroll platform with a notable focus on the Middle East, Africa and other emerging markets. RemotePass covers EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record, contractor management and local payroll across 150 countries, and is one of the few in this set to publish list pricing.
7.9/10
★ 4.4 · 804 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax)
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Onboard new team members within days
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
What stands out
dedicated Contractor of Record that explicitly addresses worker-misclassification risk
published per-seat pricing for EOR ($349), CoR ($299), Local Payroll ($15) and Contractors ($39)
strong MENA/emerging-markets coverage incl. KSA and UAE, with visa sponsorship and relocation
Not a fit for
buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
buyers requiring ISO 27001 or SOC 1 attestations stated up front
A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.
7.0/10
★ 4.8 · 28 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim
What stands out
Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK
Not a fit for
buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.4 · 391 reviews
EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7
What stands out
Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 603 reviews
EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts
What stands out
12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.
7.8/10
★ 4.4 · 440 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees
What stands out
Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees
Not a fit for
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.
8.4/10
★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022
What stands out
EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount
Not a fit for
buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.
7.5/10
★ 4.2 · 141 reviews
EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR
What stands out
Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management
Not a fit for
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
What it costs to employ someone in Saudi Arabia through an EOR
For a non-Saudi (expatriate) hire, the employer’s own statutory cost has two parts: GOSI’s 2% Occupational Hazards contribution, and an end-of-service award (EOSB) accrual at the first-5-years rate of half a month’s wage per completed year (Labor Law Art. 84) — shown below as an annual accrual of a future liability, not a monthly remittance. Figures assume a large EOR payroll (no small-employer relief) and that the EOSB wage base equals the full monthly gross wage; sources disagree on whether only basic salary, or basic plus housing, is the correct legal base, so treat the EOSB figure as an estimate (mercans.com, etqanlawfirm-sa.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Employer-side statutory cost only, before the EOR’s own fee and before CCHI health insurance. Both salaries sit under the SAR 45,000/month GOSI contribution cap. Source: mercans.com · etqanlawfirm-sa.com, checked 2026-10-01.
Gross salary
Employer statutory cost
GOSI Occupational Hazards
EOSB accrual
SAR 187,500/year
SAR 11,562.50/year
SAR 3,750.00
SAR 7,812.50
SAR 375,000/year
SAR 23,125.00/year
SAR 7,500.00
SAR 15,625.00
Not included above: CCHI mandatory health insurance, which is market-priced per insurer and coverage tier rather than a fixed statutory rate — reported ranges run roughly SAR 600-1,200/year for basic Category A coverage to SAR 4,000-8,000/year for comprehensive Category C coverage, per covered individual (truescho.com, checked 2026-10-01).
The EOR’s own fee is on top of the above. Published Saudi-specific figures in our data range from $199/month (Remote People, for Saudi nationals) to $999/month at Deel, which is also the only vendor with a detailed Saudi cost table covering a Nationalization fee (~SAR 3,000), an Ajeer fee for expats (SAR 46) and health insurance (SAR 3,795-20,700). Atlas HXM and G-P both state $599/month specifically for Saudi Arabia. Most other vendors publish only a global list price ($199-$699/month) or none at all.
Hidden costs, where actually published: Oyster states directly on its Saudi Arabia page that there are no termination fees. RemoFirst, Boundless, Pebl and Playroll each state no setup fee globally, and RemoFirst, Boundless and Playroll also state no minimum term — but none of these four claims is repeated Saudi-specifically. No vendor in our data discloses a deposit figure for Saudi Arabia.
When you don’t need an EOR
The 3-year Ajeer Permit cap applies to every labour-outsourcing placement, not just long ones planned from day one. Source: mondaq.com, checked 2026-10-01.
A genuinely independent contractor. Saudi Arabia’s 2026 Ajeer rules specifically target a worker supervised and tooled at the client’s own site, which is treated as labour outsourcing regardless of what the contract calls it — a real risk if an EOR-style arrangement is relabelled as a contractor agreement instead (bsalaw.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Your own Saudi entity. The route for a placement expected to run past an Ajeer Permit’s 3-year cap, or where the client wants direct control of the worker’s sponsorship and Nitaqat standing rather than depending on a provider’s.
What changed in 2026
2026-01-26 — Ministerial Resolution No. 60339 takes effect: a single MHRSD framework for outsourcing non-Saudi labour, with mandatory electronic service contracts, a formal service-outsourcing/labour-outsourcing distinction, and a 3-year cap per Ajeer Permit.
2026-04-15 (reported) — Only Saudi employees whose contracts are electronically documented and accepted on the Qiwa platform count toward an establishment’s Nitaqat ratio; GOSI registration alone no longer suffices.
2026-07-03 — GOSI “new system” annuities rate steps up from 9.5%/9.5% to 10%/10% (employer/employee), taking the new-system combined total to 23.5% (employer 12.75%, employee 10.75%), up from 22.5% in the first half of the year. The “existing system” (registered before 2024-07-03) stays fixed at 21.5% combined.
Numbers vendors haven’t updated
Playroll describes the SAR 4,000/month Nitaqat threshold as a “statutory minimum wage” for Saudi workers; it isn’t one — it’s a Saudization headcount-credit floor that sets no wage any employer has to pay (argaam.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Oyster and Skuad both describe probation as “up to 90 days, extendable to a maximum of 180 days” — the rule before the February 2025 amendment. Since then, the parties may agree upfront to a single probationary period of up to 180 days directly (morganlewis.com, checked 2026-10-01).
How we built this page
Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-01, mostly against law-firm reporting (Morgan Lewis, BSA Law, Mondaq) and payroll-compliance sources (Mercans), because the relevant .gov.sa pages (HRSD, GOSI, CHI, SAMA) could not be reached directly from our research environment; where that applies, the specific source used is named in the text. Vendor entity claims were checked against each vendor’s own Saudi Arabia page — no public Saudi commercial registry search was available for independent verification — and recorded as “not disclosed” wherever a vendor stated only a global entity model. The ranking above puts confirmed, Saudi-specific owned entities first. Nobody pays for placement on this page.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Employer of Record cost in Saudi Arabia?
Two layers. For an expatriate hire, the employer's own statutory cost is GOSI's 2% Occupational Hazards contribution plus an end-of-service award accrual — together about SAR 11,563/year on a SAR 187,500 salary and SAR 23,125/year on SAR 375,000, before CCHI health insurance, which is priced separately per insurer (mercans.com, etqanlawfirm-sa.com, checked 2026-10-01). The EOR's own fee runs from $199/month (Skuad, RemoFirst list price; RemotePeople's rate for Saudi nationals) to $999/month at Deel, the only vendor with a detailed Saudi-specific cost table.
Is Employer of Record legal in Saudi Arabia?
Allowed, but only through a licensed route. Since Ministerial Resolution No. 60339 took effect on 2026-01-26, manpower leasing and labour outsourcing may only be carried out by an MHRSD-licensed establishment, and every non-Saudi placement needs an Ajeer Permit capped at 3 years (mondaq.com, checked 2026-10-01). Both the service provider and the client must hold at least a 'medium green' Nitaqat rating for the arrangement to be permitted at all.
Which is the best EOR in Saudi Arabia?
Remote People has the clearest entity evidence of the 16 providers here — it names the exact HRSD manpower-supply licence it employs through — plus the only Saudi-national-specific price, $199/month. Atlas HXM and Remote also state they own their Saudi entity directly. 'Best' depends on whether you weight entity evidence, price or data completeness more heavily — see the ranking below.
What is the cheapest Employer of Record in Saudi Arabia?
Remote People's $199/month rate for Saudi nationals is the lowest Saudi-specific figure in our data; its expatriate pricing is quoted separately. Skuad and RemoFirst list the same $199/month, but only as a global rate, with no Saudi-specific figure confirming it applies here.
What's the difference between an EOR and a PEO in Saudi Arabia?
An EOR is the legal employer and Iqama sponsor of record; a PEO co-employs alongside a client that already has its own Saudi entity. None of the 16 providers in our data runs a dedicated Saudi PEO product. See our [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/) comparison and the [PEO glossary entry](/glossary/peo/).
What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Saudi Arabia?
If work continues after an Ajeer Permit expires, a violation is deemed to start automatically from the next business day, exposing both the provider and the client to MHRSD penalties (incorpmena.com, checked 2026-10-01). Industry sources, though not a law firm or government page, also report that the client's own hiring and visa renewals can be blocked if the provider's overall Nitaqat band drops (masdareor.com, checked 2026-10-01).
Does an EOR sponsor a work visa in Saudi Arabia?
Yes. Under the kafala system, the EOR's own Saudi-registered entity is the sponsor (kafeel) of record, holding the worker's Iqama, GOSI registration and WPS payroll account (gloroots.com, checked 2026-10-01). Remote People and Remote both state this in the first person for their own Saudi entities.
Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Saudi Arabia?
If the work is genuinely independent, a contractor relationship can be simpler than an EOR. But Saudi Arabia's 2026 Ajeer rules specifically target labour outsourcing where the worker is supervised and tooled at the client's site — a pattern that looks like misclassification if it's labelled a contract instead (bsalaw.com, checked 2026-10-01). See our [contractor misclassification glossary entry](/glossary/contractor-misclassification/).
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
The full listings
Hiring contractors in Saudi Arabia instead
Employer of Record in other countries
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
16 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.