Employer of Record in Vietnam: 17 Providers Compared (2026)

Employer of Record in Vietnam: your company, the EOR entity in Vietnam and your hire

Employer of Record is restricted in Vietnam. The law has no EOR category: a company that employs a worker who then works under another company’s direction is doing labor outsourcing (Labor Code Art. 52), which is allowed only for 20 listed jobs, in three defined cases, for at most 12 months per worker (Labor Code 2019, checked 2026-10-05). Software, sales and management roles are not on the list, so a standard EOR hire falls outside that channel; a client using leased workers outside the rules can be fined VND 80-100 million (Decree 12/2022, checked 2026-10-05).

Statutory employer cost is 23.5% of salary up to a ceiling of VND 50.6 million a month, then a fixed VND 149,364,000 a year: 11.67% of a VND 1.28 billion salary (about USD 50,000) and 5.83% of VND 2.56 billion (luatvietnam.vn, checked 2026-10-05). EOR fees add $199 to $699 a month in published list prices.

What sets Vietnam apart: from mid-2026 the outsourcing licence was replaced by a VND 2 billion deposit and a notification, valid to 2027-02-28 (Resolution 66.18/2026, checked 2026-10-05), while the job list and the 12-month cap stayed. Whether an EOR can sponsor a work permit is not established.

A contractor or your own Vietnamese entity fits a long-term software hire better; an EOR route exists only for a listed job, in an allowed case, up to 12 months.

Employing someone in Vietnam: key facts

Vietnamese employment runs on the Labor Code 2019, a regional minimum wage and a 23.5% employer insurance load with ceilings; all figures below are statutory and checked 2026-10-05.

Minimum wage

Four regions, per month and per hour, in force from 2026-01-01 under Decree 293/2025 (+7.2%, replacing Decree 74/2024).

RegionPer monthPer hourSource
Region I (incl. Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Hai Phong, Da Nang)VND 5,310,000VND 25,500Baker McKenzie, checked 2026-10-05
Region IIVND 4,730,000VND 22,700same
Region IIIVND 4,140,000VND 20,000same
Region IVVND 3,700,000VND 17,800same

We did not extract which wards fall in which region after the 2025 mergers, so an employee in an outlying commune of Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh City may be in Region II.

Line chart 2021-2026: Region I minimum wage from VND 4,420,000 to 5,310,000 a month; Region II from 3,920,000 to 4,730,000; Region III from 3,430,000 to 4,140,000; Region IV from 3,070,000 to 3,700,000.
All four regions moved together, with increases in 2022, 2024 and 2026 and none in 2023 or 2025. Source: Baker McKenzie and earlier decrees, checked 2026-10-05.

Employer contributions

Rates are for a Vietnamese employee; the employee also pays 10.5% (8% + 1.5% + 1%), withheld from pay.

ContributionEmployer rateCeilingMaximum a year
Pension and survivorship14%20x base salary: VND 50,600,000/monthVND 85,008,000
Sickness and maternity3%sameVND 18,216,000
Occupational accident and disease0.5% (0.3% for approved high-risk sectors)sameVND 3,036,000
Health insurance3%sameVND 18,216,000
Unemployment insurance1%20x Region I minimum wage: VND 106,200,000/monthVND 12,744,000
Trade union fee2%same as social insuranceVND 12,144,000
Total23.5%VND 149,364,000

Source: luatvietnam.vn, checked 2026-10-05. The 20x ceiling on the union-fee base is inferred from the law’s wording; we found no passage stating it.

  • Base salary rose to VND 2,530,000 on 2026-07-01 (Decree 161/2026), lifting the ceiling from VND 46,800,000 to VND 50,600,000.
  • A foreign employee with a 12-month-plus contract and permit: employer pays 3% + 14% + 0.5% social insurance, 3% health and 2% union fee; unemployment insurance covers Vietnamese citizens only.

Working hours and overtime

  • Normal time is 8 hours a day and 48 a week, with at least 24 consecutive hours of weekly rest (Arts. 105, 111).
  • Overtime pays at least 150% on ordinary days, 200% on weekly rest days and 300% on public holidays; night work adds 30% (Art. 98).
  • Overtime needs consent and is capped at 40 hours a month and 200 a year, or 300 in listed sectors (Art. 107).

Source: Labor Code 2019, checked 2026-10-05.

Annual leave and public holidays

  • 12 working days a year after 12 months with one employer, plus 1 day for every 5 years of service; unused leave is paid out on termination (Arts. 113-114).
  • 11 paid public-holiday days (Art. 112): New Year 1, Tet 5, Victory Day 1, Labour Day 1, National Day 2, Hung Kings Day 1. The 2026 Tet break ran 2026-02-14 to 2026-02-22 (Vietnam Briefing).

Source: Labor Code 2019, checked 2026-10-05.

Probation

Job typeMaximum probation
Enterprise managers180 days
College-level qualification or higher60 days
Intermediate or technical-worker level30 days
Other jobs6 working days

Probation pays at least 85% of normal salary, applies once per job, and either side can end it without notice (Arts. 24-27). Source: Labor Code 2019, checked 2026-10-05.

Notice and severance

ContractNotice (employer and employee)
Indefinite45 days
Fixed-term, 12-36 months30 days
Fixed-term under 12 months3 working days
  • No at-will dismissal: only the grounds in Art. 36. Unlawful termination means reinstatement, back pay and insurance, plus at least 2 months’ salary (Art. 41).
  • Severance: half a month’s salary per year of service on most terminations; 1 month per year (minimum 2 months) for restructuring (Arts. 46-47). Service already under unemployment insurance is deducted.

Source: Labor Code 2019, checked 2026-10-05.

13th salary and bonuses

Not mandatory. Bonus is at the employer’s discretion under a published policy (Art. 104). Source: Labor Code 2019, checked 2026-10-05.

Mandatory benefits

  • Compulsory social, health and unemployment insurance, funded by the contributions above.
  • Maternity leave of 6 months, paid from social insurance (Art. 139).
  • Paid public holidays and annual leave, as above.

Work permits

  • Foreign nationals need a work permit or an exemption under Decree 219/2025 (in force 2025-08-07): manager, executive director, expert or technical worker.
  • A permit lasts up to 2 years with one extension of up to 2 years; processing takes 10 working days from a complete online file filed by the employer, who must justify the need.
  • Exemptions include stays under 90 days a year and intra-corporate transfers.
  • The decree lists enterprises, agencies, organisations, contractors and similar bodies as employers; it does not mention labor outsourcing companies or EORs as allowed or excluded sponsors.

Source: Cong bao, Decree 219/2025, checked 2026-10-05.

Currency and payroll

  • Payroll is in Vietnamese dong (VND); the State Bank central rate on 2026-09-30 was VND 25,627 per USD (VietnamPlus, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Monthly-paid staff are paid once or twice a month on a fixed date; hourly, daily and weekly staff at least every 15 days (Art. 97, Labor Code 2019, checked 2026-10-05).

Restricted. Vietnam has no “Employer of Record” category. The only legal route that matches the model is labor outsourcing (cho thue lai lao dong): the employee signs with an outsourcing enterprise and is then moved to work under another employer’s management. It is a conditional business line with four limits (Labor Code 2019, Arts. 52-53, checked 2026-10-05):

  • Jobs: only the 20 jobs in Appendix II of Decree 145/2020, such as interpreting, secretarial work, reception, tour guiding, telemarketing, driving and security. General software development, IT engineering, product, sales and management are not listed (Ministry of Home Affairs table, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Cases: only to meet a sudden temporary rise in demand, to replace employees on maternity leave, with an occupational accident or on civic duty, or to fill a need for high professional and technical qualifications.
  • Duration: at most 12 months per worker.
  • Pay: no less than the client’s own staff earn for the same work.

A typical EOR hire is a permanent engineer, marketer or manager on an open-ended contract. That role is not on the list and the arrangement has no 12-month end, so it does not fit the lawful channel.

The licence is gone, the limits are not. Resolution 66.18/2026 (issued 2026-05-18, valid to 2027-02-28) stops licensing: the outsourcing company keeps a VND 2 billion deposit and notifies the provincial Department of Home Affairs. The job list, cases and 12-month cap are untouched (resolution annex, checked 2026-10-05). A Ministry draft law would also bar foreign workers from outsourcing; it is not in force (draft, checked 2026-10-05).

Client risk. Under Decree 12/2022 (checked 2026-10-05), the client as lessee faces VND 80-100 million for an organisation if it uses leased workers outside the list or the three cases. The decree still refers to the old licence, and we found no penalty for failing to notify. Enforcement against a foreign client with no local entity is uncertain; the exposure is more direct for the provider’s Vietnamese entity. One law firm also warns of permanent establishment risk where the hire concludes contracts (Rödl, checked 2026-10-05).

We could not establish how the providers below structure their service: outsourcing, a services contract or a local partner.

Who actually employs your hire in Vietnam

Of 17 providers that operate here, seven have a record in Vietnam’s business registry under their own name, found via masothue.com (matched by name; shareholders not checked). One more describes itself as owning its entities, and one points to a local partner.

ProviderEmployer in VietnamEvidenceVietnam EOR price
DeelOwn entityRegistered in Vietnam’s business registry (masothue.com), issued 2021-10-28; says it runs “a wholly owned Vietnamese entity” (Deel)₫15.67M/month (₫188,002,140/year)
RemoteOwn entityRegistered (masothue.com), issued 2021-12-08; says “we own our own legal entity in Vietnam” (Remote)$699/month
MultiplierOwn entityRegistered (masothue.com), issued 2021-05-07From $400/month (global list)
SkuadOwn entityRegistered (masothue.com), issued 2022-03-30; a labor-outsourcing line appears in a summary of the recordFrom $199/month (global list)
PeblOwn entityRegistered as Velocity Global Vietnam (masothue.com), issued 2022-02-08$399/month (global list)
G-POwn entityRegistered (masothue.com), issued 2019-11-06From $599/month (global list)
RipplingOwn entityRegistered (masothue.com), issued 2024-10-10Quote-based
Atlas HXMOwn entityDescribes a “Direct EOR” where the EOR owns the entities (Atlas); no registry record foundFrom $599/month (global list)
RemoFirstPartnerMentions “our local partner” (RemoFirst); unclear what the partner doesFrom $199/month (global list)
Borderless AINot disclosedNo entity named (Borderless)$579/month
PlayrollNot disclosedNo entity named (Playroll)$399/month (global list)
Remote PeopleNot disclosedNo entity named (Remote People)From $199/month (global list)
Safeguard GlobalNot disclosedSays an in-country EOR can “lease them to that company” (Safeguard Global)Not published
OysterNot disclosedNo entity named (Oyster)$699/month (global list)
Native TeamsNot disclosed”Legal entities in over 95+ countries”, Vietnam not named (Native Teams)Not published
RemotePassNot disclosedNo entity named (RemotePass)Not published
RivermateNot disclosedBlog says it “serves as the legal employer”; no entity named (Rivermate)From €299/month

Prices checked 2026-10-05 or, for global lists, on the dates in each company card.

Bar chart: 8 providers own their Vietnamese entity (7 by registry record), 1 uses a partner, 8 don't disclose which.
Own entity means a registry record under the provider’s name or the provider’s own statement; a global-only claim counts as not disclosed. Source: Vietnam business registry via masothue.com and vendor pages, checked 2026-10-05.

Eight providers don’t say who employs your hire. The registry excerpts we read give management consulting as the main activity for all seven records, and no provider’s Vietnam page says it holds a labor-outsourcing licence. Before signing, ask for the legal name of the employing entity, its company code, and whether it supplies you under a labor-outsourcing arrangement or a services contract.

How to choose an EOR in Vietnam

Foreign hire needing a work permit? Decree 219/2025 does not say whether an EOR can sponsor, and we found no ministry guidance. Ask the provider in writing who files the permit and for which workplace; if it can’t say, treat that route as unconfirmed.

Role on the 20-job list? If not, ask how the provider justifies the arrangement and what contract the hire signs. A role outside the list that is genuinely independent can go to a contractor instead.

Entity evidence or price? Seven providers have a registry record; of those, Deel and Remote also show a Vietnam price, while Skuad, RemoFirst and Remote People list from $199/month globally. The rest show a global price or none.

Speed? Deel says most hires onboard within 1 business day after contract approval, Remote averages 2.3 days, Playroll quotes 1-5 days and Safeguard Global one to two weeks (all vendor statements). Remote’s payroll cut-off falls on the 10th and can shift the start date.

All 17 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

Deel

The broadest all-in-one platform — EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor management and global payroll under one roof, with deep country coverage.

8.7/10

★ 4.8 · 28k reviews

EOR price
from $599/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Entity model
130 owned
Time to hire
As little as 1 day
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • 150+ country reach with 130+ owned entities
  • covers EOR, COR, contractor management and payroll
  • strong security & compliance certifications

Not a fit for

  • very small or strictly budget-first teams
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsRegistry record (Ho Chi Minh City, issued 2021-10-28), a Vietnam-page price of ₫188,002,140 a year with ₫0 setup, and a claim of no third-party partners.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote

A compliance-first EOR built on 100% owned entities — fewer countries, but no third-party handoffs.

8.4/10

★ 4.4 · 97 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing)
Coverage
90+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
2 days (average)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR Level 1, GDPR
Support
24/7 chatbot; live agent Mon-Fri

What stands out

  • 100% owned entities, no third-party partners
  • strong certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR, GDPR)
  • transparent per-product pricing

Not a fit for

  • teams needing the widest possible country list
  • lowest-price seekers
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsRegistry record (issued 2021-12-08) plus a first-person claim to own its Vietnam entity; its Vietnam page lists $699/month and 2.3 days average onboarding.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Multiplier

A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.

8.4/10

★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022

What stands out

  • EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
  • dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
  • published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
  • buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsRegistry record (issued 2021-05-07); says it is the entity of record with Vietnamese authorities. From $400/month, a global list price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Skuad

A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.

8.0/10

★ 4.6 · 312 reviews

EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated

What stands out

  • broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
  • published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
  • payroll in 70 currencies

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsRegistry record (Hanoi, 2022-03-30), the only excerpt showing a labor-outsourcing line, per a page summary. From $199/month, global list.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Pebl

A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 603 reviews

EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts

What stands out

  • 12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
  • SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
  • Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
  • teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsRegistered as Velocity Global Vietnam (2022-02-08), Pebl's former name; a second 2024 foreign-organisation record exists. $399/month, global list.

Read full review Visit site ↗

G-P (Globalization Partners)

The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.

8.3/10

★ 4.4

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
Certifications
SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018
Support
24/7 AI support (G-P Assist); human hours not stated

What stands out

  • Founded 2012 — the longest track record among EOR vendors reviewed so far
  • Broadest certification stack checked: SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001, GDPR
  • 156 countries with a dedicated Globalpedia EOR guide; flat $599/employee/month fee confirmed across sampled countries

Not a fit for

  • price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
  • buyers needing a true Contractor of Record, not payment/classification tooling
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsRegistry record issued 2019-11-06, among the oldest we found, though its Vietnam page makes no entity statement. From $599/month in all countries.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rippling

A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.

8.3/10

★ 4.8 · 23k reviews

EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2

What stands out

  • EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
  • unified HR, IT and Finance platform
  • broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
  • hiring employees outside the 80 EOR markets
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsRegistry record issued 2024-10-10, linked by name only; quote-based pricing with no Vietnam figure published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Atlas HXM

A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.

7.7/10

★ 4.2 · 101 reviews

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages

What stands out

  • 160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
  • Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
  • AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
  • companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsCalls itself a 'Direct EOR' owning its entities; no Vietnam registry record found. Its page puts market fees at $300-800/month; from $599 globally.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemoFirst

A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.

7.8/10

★ 4.4 · 440 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees

What stands out

  • Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
  • Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
  • Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
  • enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsIts Vietnam guide mentions 'our local partner' without saying what the partner does (archived copy). From $199/month, global list.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Borderless AI

A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.

7.3/10

★ 4.8 · 205 reviews

EOR price
$579/mo
Coverage
170+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboarding as fast as 24 hours
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, PIPEDA
Support
24/7 in-house support; dedicated Canada-based contact

What stands out

  • Published flat pricing for all three core products ($579 EOR / $49 contractor / $29 payroll), no 'contact sales' gating
  • No security deposit or salary pre-funding required for EOR, unlike vendors citing $7,000-$20,000 deposits
  • SOC 2 Type II certified with a public trust center; fast-claimed onboarding (24-48 hours)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
  • companies requiring a dedicated, separately-branded Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsNames no Vietnam entity; its own blog lists $579/month and advises asking any EOR for its full Vietnamese legal name.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Playroll

A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.7 · 209 reviews

EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5

What stands out

  • Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
  • Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
  • Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsNo entity statement; its Vietnam guide, updated 2026-10-01, cites 23.5% employer tax and 1-5 day onboarding. $399/month, global list.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote People

A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 495 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)

What stands out

  • Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
  • Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
  • Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation

Not a fit for

  • buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
  • teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsNo entity statement; Vietnam page updated 2026-09-23 lists EOR, PEO, payroll and visa services. From $199/month, global list.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Safeguard Global

One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.

7.5/10

★ 4.2 · 141 reviews

EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR

What stands out

  • Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
  • 1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
  • NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management

Not a fit for

  • buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
  • teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsSays an in-country EOR can employ workers and 'lease them' to the client; no price published, onboarding in one to two weeks.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Oyster

A B-Corp EOR focused on simplicity and ethical global hiring — strong for mid-size teams.

8.3/10

★ 4.3 · 1871 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee
Coverage
120+ countries
Time to hire
As fast as 48 hours
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, B-Corp
Support
Response within 24h

What stands out

  • B-Corp certified
  • 120+ EOR countries with a 48-hour onboarding claim
  • contractor payments in 120+ currencies

Not a fit for

  • teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
  • buyers who require a disclosed entity model
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsNo Vietnam entity statement or registry record found; its Vietnam page covers notice periods only. $699/month, global list.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Native Teams

A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.

7.9/10

★ 4.7 · 367 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS

What stands out

  • EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
  • transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
  • dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
  • teams needing a guaranteed onboarding SLA in days
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsClaims legal entities in '95+ countries' without naming Vietnam; no Vietnam price published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemotePass

A global HR and payroll platform with a notable focus on the Middle East, Africa and other emerging markets. RemotePass covers EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record, contractor management and local payroll across 150 countries, and is one of the few in this set to publish list pricing.

7.9/10

★ 4.4 · 804 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax)
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Onboard new team members within days
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR

What stands out

  • dedicated Contractor of Record that explicitly addresses worker-misclassification risk
  • published per-seat pricing for EOR ($349), CoR ($299), Local Payroll ($15) and Contractors ($39)
  • strong MENA/emerging-markets coverage incl. KSA and UAE, with visa sponsorship and relocation

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
  • buyers requiring ISO 27001 or SOC 1 attestations stated up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsIts Vietnam page is a labor-law reference that recommends EOR; no entity statement and no price published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rivermate

A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.4 · 391 reviews

EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
  • Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
  • Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
  • buyers needing equity/ESOP administration
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsOwn blog lists from €299/month and calls Rivermate legal employer of Vietnamese staff; no entity named, no registry record found.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesNot a fit for
1 Deel 8.7 from $599/mo per employee 150+ very small or strictly budget-first teams
2 Remote 8.4 $699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing) 90+ teams needing the widest possible country list
3 Multiplier 8.4 Starting at $400 per month 150+ buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
4 Skuad 8 Starting from $199 per employee/month 160+ buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
5 Pebl 7.8 $399/mo per employee 185+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
6 G-P (Globalization Partners) 8.3 From $599/mo per employee 180+ price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
7 Rippling 8.3 Custom quote 80+ buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
8 Atlas HXM 7.7 From $599/mo per employee 160+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
9 RemoFirst 7.8 Starts at $199 per employee/month 185+ buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
10 Borderless AI 7.3 $579/mo 170+ buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
11 Playroll 7.6 $399 per employee/month (no minimum) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
12 Remote People 7.8 From $199/mo per employee 150+ buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
13 Safeguard Global 7.5 On request 187+ buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
14 Oyster 8.3 $699/mo per employee 120+ teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
15 Native Teams 7.9 Starts at $99/per employee per month 95+ buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
16 RemotePass 7.9 Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax) 150+ buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
17 Rivermate 7.6 From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics

What it costs to employ someone in Vietnam through an EOR

The EOR is the legal employer and runs payroll for many clients, so every contribution applies at the standard rate; no small-employer relief exists. Figures assume a Vietnamese citizen in Region I (Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh City urban area) at the 0.5% accident rate, converted at VND 25,627 per USD (State Bank central rate, 2026-09-30).

Stacked bars for Region I: a VND 1.28 billion salary (about USD 50,000) and a VND 2.56 billion salary (about USD 100,000) both carry VND 149,364,000 in employer contributions, 11.67% and 5.83% of gross. Social insurance is the largest part, then health insurance, unemployment insurance and the union fee.
Employer-side contributions only, before the EOR’s own fee. Both salaries sit above both ceilings, so the cost is the same fixed amount. Source: luatvietnam.vn, checked 2026-10-05.
Gross salaryEmployer statutoryComponentsShare of gross
VND 1,280,000,000/year (about USD 49,950)VND 149,364,000Pension 85,008,000; sickness and maternity 18,216,000; accident 3,036,000; health 18,216,000; unemployment 12,744,000; union fee 12,144,00011.67%
VND 2,560,000,000/year (about USD 99,900)VND 149,364,000Same, all bases at the ceiling5.83%

Source: luatvietnam.vn, checked 2026-10-05. Below VND 50.6 million a month the cost is 23.5% of salary. Because the ceiling rose on 2026-07-01, the 2026 calendar-year amount is lower, VND 144,234,000. Unemployment insurance would not apply to a foreign employee. The table covers statutory cost only: no Tet bonus, private benefits or severance accrual. If the union-fee base turned out to be uncapped, that line would be 2% of gross (VND 25,600,000 and 51,200,000); we found no text either way.

Stacked bars by year: employer contributions on a VND 1.28 billion salary rose from VND 91,068,000 in 2021 to VND 149,364,000 in 2026, as the ceilings rose with the base salary while the rates stayed the same.
Same salary every year; the rates did not change, the ceilings did: base salary VND 1,490,000, 1,800,000 (2023-07), 2,340,000 (2024-07), 2,530,000 (2026-07). Source: PwC · EY · Rödl, checked 2026-10-05.

Over 2021-2026 the same cost rose 64%, and 8.0% between 2025 and 2026. Temporary COVID-19 relief for affected employers is not applied.

The EOR’s own fee comes on top, in USD per month unless marked. Deel’s Vietnam page shows ₫15.67M (₫188,002,140 a year). Global list prices: from $199 at Skuad, RemoFirst and Remote People; $399 at Pebl and Playroll; from $400 at Multiplier; from $599 at G-P and Atlas HXM; $699 at Oyster. Remote’s Vietnam page lists $699 and Borderless AI’s blog $579. Rivermate’s blog lists from €299; Rippling is quote-based. Atlas HXM’s Vietnam page says market fees typically run $300-800.

Hidden costs, where published: Deel’s Vietnam page shows ₫0 one-off costs on the EOR route, and Remote states no setup or onboarding fees globally (remote.com/pricing, checked 2026-06-24). No provider publishes a deposit, minimum term or termination fee for Vietnam; treat a blank as unpublished, not zero.

When you don’t need an EOR

Decision tree: if the hire needs a Vietnam work permit, use your own entity because EOR sponsoring is unconfirmed. Otherwise, if the job is on the 20-job list in an allowed case for up to 12 months, an Employer of Record fits; if not, use a contractor or your own entity.
The list, the allowed cases and the 12-month cap are the lawful limits of labor outsourcing; work-permit sponsoring by an EOR is not addressed by Decree 219/2025. Source: Labor Code 2019, checked 2026-10-05.
  • A genuinely independent contractor. If the person sets their own hours and tools and serves other clients, a contractor avoids the outsourcing question altogether. See how to hire contractors in Vietnam and how to pay them; on the line between the two, see contractor misclassification.
  • Your own Vietnamese entity. It makes you the employer under the Labor Code, so the outsourcing limits do not apply. Playroll’s guide puts entity setup at 1-3 months. One law firm notes a foreign company can create a permanent establishment through staff doing revenue-generating work, which an entity does not remove (Rödl, checked 2026-10-05).
  • A PEO. Some provider pages use the label for Vietnam: Skuad’s page mixes PEO and EOR, and Native Teams describes employment shared with the client. See EOR vs PEO and the PEO glossary entry.

What changed in 2026

  • 2025-08-07 (earlier, still cited): Decree 219/2025 replaces Decrees 152/2020 and 70/2023 on foreign workers; permit term at most 2 years, 10 working days to process.
  • 2026-01-01 - Regional minimum wage rises 7.2% (Decree 293/2025); Region I reaches VND 5,310,000 and the unemployment-insurance ceiling VND 106,200,000.
  • 2026-01-01 - Law on Employment 74/2025 takes effect: unemployment insurance covers Vietnamese employees on contracts of 1 month or more (was 3); employer rate stays 1%.
  • 2026-01-01 - Personal Data Protection Law 91/2025 and Decree 356/2025 take effect, replacing Decree 13/2023.
  • 2026-04-15 - Resolution 66.16/2026 shortens outsourcing-licence processing (to 2027-02-28), an interim step.
  • 2026-07-01 - Base salary rises from VND 2,340,000 to VND 2,530,000 (Decree 161/2026); the social, health and accident insurance ceiling moves to VND 50,600,000 a month.
  • 2026-07-01 - Resolution 66.18/2026 (issued 2026-05-18) replaces the outsourcing licence with a VND 2 billion deposit and a notification, valid to 2027-02-28. The start date comes from legal-news summaries; we did not retrieve the resolution’s operative articles.
  • Pending, not in force: a Ministry of Home Affairs decree amending Decree 145/2020, due before the Government in October 2026; a draft law excluding foreign workers from outsourcing; and a draft cut of the accident-insurance rate from 0.5% to 0.3% for 2027.

Sources: Baker McKenzie, Rödl, Resolution 66.18 annex, Ministry submission, checked 2026-10-05.

Numbers vendors haven’t updated

  • RemoFirst gives VND 4,680,000 a month next to the unemployment-insurance cap in its guide (archived copy, 2024 footer); that was the Region I rate in 2022-2023, against VND 5,310,000 now.
  • RemotePass lists Region 1 at VND 4,960,000 down to Region 4 at VND 3,450,000, the rates in force from 2024-07-01 to the end of 2025, and an employer rate of 21.50% against 23.5% today (RemotePass, checked 2026-10-05).
  • Multiplier’s Vietnam page, updated 2026-09-14, cites Decree 152 for work permits, which Decree 219/2025 replaced in August 2025, and employer rates of about 21.5% (Multiplier, checked 2026-10-05).

How we built this page

Data was collected and checked on 2026-10-05 against statutes, official gazettes and law-firm commentary. We checked each provider’s Vietnamese entity against the business registry through masothue.com where a record turned up, and otherwise used the provider’s own statements. Providers with a confirmed own entity come first, then partner and undisclosed ones. We left out Papaya Global, Kleos, Remozo and Boundless because we could not confirm they offer EOR in Vietnam, and Rise and Justworks, which do not. Nobody pays for placement on this page.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Employer of Record cost in Vietnam?

Two layers. Statutory employer contributions are 23.5% of salary up to a cap of VND 50,600,000 a month, so on VND 1.28 billion a year (about USD 50,000) they come to VND 149,364,000, or 11.67% of gross. Published EOR fees run from $199 to $699 a month, mostly global list prices; Deel's Vietnam page shows ₫188,002,140 a year, about ₫15.67M a month.

Is Employer of Record legal in Vietnam?

It is restricted. Vietnam has no EOR category; employing a worker who works under another company's direction is labor outsourcing, allowed only for 20 listed jobs, in three cases, for at most 12 months per worker (Labor Code Arts. 52-53, Decree 145/2020). General software, sales and management roles are not on the list, and a client that uses leased workers outside the rules faces fines of VND 80-100 million as an organisation.

Which is the best Employer of Record in Vietnam?

No provider stands out on every point. Seven have a Vietnam business-registry record under their own name: Deel, Remote, Multiplier, Rippling, Skuad, G-P and Pebl; the other ten state no Vietnamese entity or name only a partner. None of the Vietnam pages we read says the provider holds a labor-outsourcing licence, so ask for its legal basis in writing.

What is the cheapest Employer of Record in Vietnam?

The lowest published USD list price is $199 a month, from Skuad, RemoFirst and Remote People, and it is a global price rather than a Vietnam one. Rivermate's own blog lists from €299 a month, and Borderless AI's lists $579. Deel and Remote are the two with their own Vietnam-page figures among the registry-backed providers: about ₫15.67M and $699 a month.

What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Vietnam?

The client, as the lessee of outsourced labor, can be fined VND 80-100 million as an organisation for using it outside the 20 listed jobs, the three allowed cases or the 12-month limit (Decree 12/2022). The provider's Vietnamese entity faces its own fines, up to VND 100 million, and a licence suspension of 6-12 months for breaching the 12-month cap. A law firm also flags permanent-establishment exposure when the hire does revenue-generating work.

What is the difference between an EOR and hiring a contractor in Vietnam?

An EOR employs the person under a Vietnamese labor contract with 23.5% employer contributions, 45-day notice on indefinite contracts and severance. A contractor is not an employee and carries none of that, which makes it the lower-risk route where the work is genuinely independent. See [how to hire contractors in Vietnam](/hire-contractors/vietnam/) and [how to pay them](/software/contractor-payouts/vietnam/), plus [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/).

Can an EOR sponsor a work permit for a foreign hire in Vietnam?

It is not established. Decree 219/2025 requires a work permit of up to 2 years, processed in 10 working days, and lists enterprises, agencies, organisations and similar bodies as employers, without mentioning labor outsourcing companies or EORs. We found no ministry guidance on the point, and a draft Labor Code amendment would exclude foreign workers from outsourcing altogether.

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. Deel solutions/payroll/contractorsemployer-of-recorddocs/payouts 20 August 2026
  2. Remote global-hr/hire-international-contractorsglobal-hr/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsglobal-hr/remote-api 20 August 2026
  3. Multiplier solutions/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsproduct/contractor-management-systemproduct/employer-of-record-services 20 August 2026
  4. Skuad platform/contractor-paymentsplatform/international-contractorsemployer-of-recordhelp-center/how-to-bulk-pay-contractor-invoices 20 August 2026
  5. Pebl eor-pricing 30 September 2026
  6. G-P (Globalization Partners) contractorglobalization-partners.comglobal-teams/global-payroll 30 September 2026
  7. Rippling products/global/global-contractorsproducts/payroll/employer-of-record 20 August 2026
  8. Atlas HXM pricingatlashxm.com 30 September 2026
  9. RemoFirst global-contractor-paymentsinternational-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  10. Borderless AI pricingglobal-contractor-managementhireborderless.com 30 September 2026
  11. Playroll contractor-managementemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  12. Remote People contractor-managementcontractor-of-recordemployer-of-record 30 September 2026
  13. Safeguard Global solutions/contractor-managementcompany/about-us 30 September 2026
  14. Oyster product/global-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  15. Native Teams pricingemployer-of-recordwallet 20 August 2026
  16. RemotePass contractorseor 20 August 2026
  17. Rivermate contractor-of-recordrivermate.com 20 August 2026

How we researched this page

17 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error