Employer of Record has no category in Moldovan law, so it works only inside the temporary work agent regime. Since 2026-01-01 (Law 193/2025) the agent employs the worker and you direct the work. An agent needs no licence, only a notification to the State Labour Inspectorate, but each assignment is limited to a determined temporary task of up to 12 months, 24 with extensions (Monitorul Fiscal, checked 2026-10-07). We found no commentary on “EOR” itself, so we treat it as an application of that regime, not a direct rule.
Employer cost is one line: social insurance (CAS) at 24% of gross pay, MDL 216,000 on a MDL 900,000 salary; the health premium and income tax are withheld from the employee. The EOR fee comes on top: published starting prices run from $99 to $699 per month, mostly global list prices; only Deel shows a Moldova figure.
What sets Moldova apart: a long-term hire sits awkwardly inside a 12/24-month limit, and pay must match your comparable staff. Whether an agent can apply for a work permit for a foreigner isn’t established.
An EOR suits a temporary role where you need a salaried person without your own Moldovan entity. For independent project work a contractor is simpler (how to hire contractors in Moldova, how to pay them). Only 4 of the 12 providers below match a Moldovan company in the state register.
Employing someone in Moldova: key facts
Moldova has one national minimum wage and one employer contribution. We couldn’t open the consolidated Labour Code, so several rules below come from State Labour Inspectorate (ISM) pages and amending laws.
Minimum wage
Threshold
Amount
Source
National minimum wage from 2026-01-01, full-time schedule of 169 hours a month on average
Gross MDL per month, full-time schedule, rate in force on 31 December each year. 2021 and 2022 are the real-sector rate (the budget sector had separate tariffs until 2023); one national rate from 2023. Source: gov.md and Monitorul Fiscal, checked 2026-10-07.
The file we read is the Ministry of Labour’s draft Government Decision with its explanatory note, not the signed decision. Adoption on 2025-12-10 is taken from a Bloomberg Tax headline we didn’t open (Bloomberg Tax, checked 2026-10-07).
Paying below the guaranteed minimum is fined 260-400 conventional units for a legal entity (Contravention Code art. 55(3)(b)); the value of a unit isn’t sourced here (ISM, checked 2026-10-07).
We found no amount for 2027.
Employer contributions
The employer pays one statutory contribution, CAS, on the monthly sum of all salaries and rewards. Total employer on-cost on gross pay for an ordinary private-sector employee is 24%.
Other CAS rates: 29% for budgetary and publicly funded bodies; higher for special working conditions (the 2023 table shows 32% for the private sector and 39% for the budgetary one).
The 9% is the employee’s: the 2026 health-fund bill says the premiums are paid by employees (art. 4(1)); we read the draft law, not the adopted text (gov.md, checked 2026-10-07).
Not quantified: work-injury insurance (Law 756/1999) and employer-paid sick days.
Working hours and overtime
Rule
Limit
Source
Normal working time
At most 40 hours a week (Labour Code art. 95(2)); 169 hours a month on average is the figure the Government uses for the minimum wage
We haven’t confirmed the annual overtime cap or the pay uplift from the code text.
Annual leave and public holidays
At least 28 calendar days of paid annual leave, not counting public holidays (Labour Code art. 112). The right can’t be waived, ceded or limited by contract; persons with disabilities get 32-40 calendar days (ISM, checked 2026-10-07).
1 June (Children’s Day) is a non-working holiday under Law 170/2023 (Ministry of Labour, checked 2026-10-07). We haven’t confirmed the full list or count under art. 111.
Probation
Up to 6 months for most employees; up to 30 days for unskilled workers (ISM, checked 2026-10-07).
It must be stated in the employment contract, otherwise none applies; one probation period per contract.
The employer need not give reasons for an unsatisfactory result (Law 188/2017 added this to art. 63(2)) (Law 188/2017, checked 2026-10-07).
Notice and severance
Redundancy notice: for liquidation of the unit or a cut in headcount or posts, written signed notice 2 months before dismissal, only to the people whose posts are cut, with a written offer of another post if one exists and fits; the union’s opinion must be requested (art. 86(1)(c), 88(1)) (Supreme Court, case 2ra-1360/22, checked 2026-10-07).
Release payment: a person dismissed in that way and not placed in new work gets one average monthly salary for the third month (art. 186(1)(c)), paid at the previous workplace (Law 188/2017, checked 2026-10-07).
Unlawful dismissal: court compensation is capped at 12 average monthly salaries (art. 90(2)(a)) (Supreme Court, checked 2026-10-07).
We haven’t read the notice periods for other employer grounds or for resignation, or the amounts for the first two months of the release payment.
Mandatory benefits
Social insurance runs through the contributions above: CAS paid by the employer, AOAM by the employee.
Paid sick leave on a medical certificate, and maternity and paternity leave, are guaranteed (art. 123-127, 124/1 in the ISM table) (ISM, checked 2026-10-07).
Employer-paid sick days: Skuad’s Moldova page says the employer pays the first five days (Skuad, checked 2026-10-07); we haven’t confirmed that for 2026.
We found no statutory duty for the employer to provide private health, life or pension insurance.
Work permits
A foreigner needs a right to work granted by the employment authority (ANOFM) and a right of temporary residence for work granted by the migration authority; the right to work is the basis for the permit.
The applicant is the hiring organisation (“beneficiar solicitant”): a legal entity in Moldova that employs foreigners or benefits from their work. It files at the migration one-stop desk before the worker arrives.
Some categories are exempt from the right to work, and posted workers of a foreign company fall under a separate “lucrător detașat” regime (Law 165/2017, ANOFM, checked 2026-10-07).
We state no salary threshold, quota or labour-market test: secondary guides give widely different thresholds and none is confirmed from a primary source.
Whether an EOR or temporary work agent can be the applicant for a non-resident who works from abroad isn’t addressed by anything we found.
On every pay day the employer must give each employee a written statement of the pay components, deductions and the total due (art. 142(3)); paying wages without booking them is a separate offence (Contravention Code art. 55^2) (ISM, checked 2026-10-07). We haven’t confirmed the statutory pay interval.
Is Employer of Record legal in Moldova?
Allowed with limits. Moldova has no EOR category in law. Since 2026-01-01 the only statutory model for an employer that places its employee at another company is work through a temporary work agent. We found no Moldovan law-firm or regulator commentary on EOR (we searched Turcan Cazac, Aequitas, Dentons, PwC Legal, KPMG and Schoenherr), so we present EOR as an application of the agent regime, not as a direct rule. The article texts below come from the Government-approved bill (NU 455 MMPS 2025); the adopted law sits behind a Cloudflare challenge, and the adopted limits match the summaries of it (bill, checked 2026-10-07).
The law (Law 193 of 2025-07-10). In force 2026-01-01, it adds Chapter XVI^1 “Munca prin agent de munca temporara” to the Labour Code (arts. 326^1 to 326^9) and partly transposes Directive 2008/104/EC (Monitorul Fiscal, checked 2026-10-07).
Who the agent is. A legal person or sole trader that has notified the ISM and concludes employment contracts with temporary employees to place them at users’ disposal under the user’s direction. The worker stays the agent’s employee during the assignment; no employment relationship arises with the user (art. 326^1).
Notification, not licence. Agents notify the ISM in advance, within 30 days of state registration (art. 326^2); a missing confirmation doesn’t affect the right to start. Operating without notification is fined 300-450 conventional units for a legal entity (Contravention Code art. 55^5).
Duration (art. 326^3). The user may use agency workers only for a determined task of a temporary nature: up to 12 months per assignment, extendable to 24 in total, and no more than 3 successive assignments of the same worker for the same task.
Equal treatment (art. 326^1, 326^5). The worker gets the user’s basic conditions for the same post: working time, overtime, rest, night work, leave, holidays and pay. Pay is at least that of the user’s employee on identical or equivalent work, and the user gives the agent that information in writing before the assignment. The agent pays the worker, withholds income tax and health premium and pays the state social contributions.
Banned uses (art. 326^4). Replacing a striking employee; replacing an employee whose contract is suspended for unpaid wages of 2+ months or unsafe conditions; during the user’s technical unemployment for similar tasks; posts that require a permit or membership of a professional body (Contabilsef.md, checked 2026-10-07).
Paper trail (art. 326^6-326^8). An agreement on the assignment’s conditions is added to the employment contract, and agent and user sign a written placement contract with duration, post, safety measures, the agent’s commission and how damage is repaired. The user may hire the worker during or after the assignment for a negotiated fee.
Safety and insurance. The amended Law 186/2008 counts the user as an employer, so the user and the agent both ensure safety and information; the agent bears the work-injury insurance cost. Damage a temporary worker causes the user is recovered from the agent.
Risks for you as the client:
Equal pay. A client with no Moldovan comparator staff, or a higher internal scale, must supply the comparison in writing, and the pass-through cost may rise. How the comparator is found for a user with no Moldovan workforce isn’t addressed in the text we read. This is our reading of art. 326^5(5); we found no guidance.
Duration cap. The same task can’t be staffed through an agent beyond 24 months in total or 3 successive assignments. The text states no sanction on the user and no rule on what happens at the cap; the likely consequence, a direct employment relationship with you, isn’t stated in anything we found.
Provider status. The ISM register of agents is meant to be public on its website. We didn’t check whether it is live or which EOR vendors are in it.
Safety duty. As a user you share the duty; breaches by an employer are fined, for example 400-500 conventional units for a legal entity when committed against a minor (Contravention Code art. 55^3(2)) (ISM, checked 2026-10-07).
No lawful assignment. Working without a written contract, or paying below the guaranteed minimum, is fined 260-400 conventional units for a legal entity; undeclared work 210-300 units per person; wages paid without being booked 1,000-1,500 units per person (same table; amounts in units, not converted).
Foreign workers. The hiring organisation must hold the right to work and the work residence permit; a client with no Moldovan entity can’t be that applicant on its own, so a non-resident hire needs the Moldovan provider to apply. Whether an agent may apply isn’t stated in the text we read.
Open question. Whether a foreign client with no Moldovan entity can be a “user” is not settled: the definition names only a legal person or sole trader. Whether a Moldovan agent can assign an employee to a client working abroad or remotely is not addressed by the law text or by any commentary we found.
Most vendors describe their entity model globally. Here we separate what a vendor says about Moldova from what the state register of legal entities shows. We read it through srl.md, an open mirror of the register’s data (State Registration Chamber, ASP; last updated 2026-09-07), because idno.md is blocked. A register entry shows the company exists; it doesn’t prove that it employs your hire.
Provider
Employer in Moldova
Evidence
Moldova EOR price
Remote
Own entity
Says “at Remote, we own our own legal entity in Moldova” (Remote); its Local Terms name Remote Technology S.R.L. at the same address (Remote). Registered as Remote Technology S.R.L., IDNO 1021600035943, founded by Remote Europe Holding BV; the register lists a licensed activity of placing citizens in work in the country and abroad, plus temporary staffing and other labour supply activities (srl.md), checked 2026-10-07
$699/month (global; the Moldova page has no separate price)
Deel
Own entity
Registered as “Lets Deel” S.R.L., IDNO 1022600041183, sole founder Deel Inc; listed activities include other labour supply services, no licensed ones (srl.md). Deel’s Moldova page names no entity (Deel); own entity rests on the register match, checked 2026-10-07
$599/month management fee (Moldova page), plus USD 80 one-off
Native Teams
Own entity
Registered as “Native Teams” S.R.L., IDNO 1022600018802, founded by Native Technologies Limited (srl.md), matched by name. Its listed activities are IT only (software development, IT consulting, data processing, software trade). Its own line, “We own our infrastructure in 95+ countries”, is global and doesn’t mention Moldova (Native Teams), checked 2026-10-07
From $99/month (global)
Atlas HXM
Own entity
Registered as “Atlas Technology Solutions” S.R.L., IDNO 1019600054954, with founders recorded as “Inc.” and “Atlas Technology Solutions”; listed activities are legal services, management consulting and market research (srl.md), matched by name. Its pricing page says “Owned and operated entities in 160+ countries”, with no Moldova statement (Atlas), checked 2026-10-07
From $599/month (global)
Rivermate
Partner
Lists Moldova under “Where we operate indirectly”: “support is delivered through trusted local partners” (Rivermate); the partner isn’t named; no record by name in the register, checked 2026-10-07
$319-639/month (global range)
Playroll
Not disclosed
Page explains the EOR model in general: “The EOR becomes the legal employer” (Playroll); names no Playroll entity; no record by name in the register, checked 2026-10-07
From $399/month (global), no minimum commitment
G-P
Not disclosed
Says its EOR model works “via our global entity infrastructure” (G-P); no Moldovan entity named, and the page disclaims any jurisdiction-specific delivery; no record by name in the register, checked 2026-10-07
Starting at USD 599/month (global)
Remote People
Not disclosed
”We handle employment contracts, payroll, tax withholding, and full Moldova compliance. No local entity needed.” (Remote People); no entity named; no record by name in the register, checked 2026-10-07
From $199/month (global)
Skuad
Not disclosed
Says “Skuad acts as the legal employer” in Moldova (Skuad); names no entity; no record by name in the register, checked 2026-10-07
From $199/month (global)
RemoFirst
Not disclosed
”RemoFirst will hire and pay your employee on your behalf” (RemoFirst); no entity named; no record by name in the register, checked 2026-10-07
From $199/month (global)
Borderless AI
Not disclosed
Lists “Local representation: Acting as the legal employer entity” among what it handles (Borderless AI); no entity named; no record by name in the register, checked 2026-10-07
$579/month (global)
Safeguard Global
Not disclosed
FAQ says the EOR “can employ the workers a company needs and lease them to that company”, about EORs in general (Safeguard Global); no entity named; no record by name in the register, checked 2026-10-07
Not published
Own entity rests on the vendor’s statement plus a register record (Remote) or on a register record matched by name (Deel, Native Teams, Atlas); the vendor makes no Moldova entity claim in the last three cases. Partner is Rivermate’s own wording. Source: vendor pages and srl.md (State Registration Chamber data), checked 2026-10-07.
Seven of these 12 providers don’t say who employs your hire in Moldova. A missing register record doesn’t prove there is no entity: it may be named differently or sit with a partner. For the four with a match, the register doesn’t show that the entity runs EOR employment, and we haven’t read what an EOR hire needs the entity to be. We didn’t check the ISM register of temporary work agents. Before signing, ask: “Which Moldovan company, with which IDNO, will employ my hire, is it notified to the State Labour Inspectorate as a temporary work agent, and will it apply for my hire’s work permit?”
How to choose an EOR in Moldova
Is the role long-term? Agent assignments run up to 12 months, 24 with extensions, and the text says nothing about what follows the cap. Ask each vendor how it structures a hire you expect to keep for years, and in what form it expects to employ the person after 24 months. For a long-term role the alternative is your own Moldovan entity.
Hiring a foreigner who needs a permit? The applicant must be a Moldovan legal entity, and nothing we found says whether an agent or EOR can apply for a non-resident working for a foreign client. Skuad says it can sponsor a work permit in Moldova; that’s its statement. For any vendor, get written confirmation that it will act as the applicant.
Want a confirmed Moldovan employer? Remote is the one where its own statement, its Local Terms and the register agree, and its register entry includes a placement licence. Deel, Native Teams and Atlas show a register match by name only, and Native Teams’ listed activities are IT only. Rivermate says it uses an unnamed partner.
Is price or disclosure the priority? Only Deel shows a Moldova-specific fee ($599, plus USD 80 one-off). Every other figure is a global list price or absent. Of the four providers with a register match, Native Teams lists the lowest global figure, from $99.
Does your pay scale differ from local staff? The agent’s pay must be at least that of your comparable staff, and you must give the agent that information in writing before the assignment. Ask how the vendor sets the comparator when you have no Moldovan employees.
Why it fitsSays it owns its Moldovan entity; Local Terms and the state register name Remote Technology S.R.L., which holds a placement licence. $699/month, a global price.
A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.
7.9/10
★ 4.7 · 367 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS
What stands out
EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk
Not a fit for
buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
Why it fits'Native Teams' S.R.L. is in the register, run by Native Teams' CEO Jack Thorogood; its listed activities are IT only. From $99/month, a global price.
A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.
7.7/10
★ 4.2 · 101 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages
What stands out
160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Why it fitsAtlas Technology Solutions S.R.L. is in the register, its founder recorded as the Inc. named in Atlas's privacy policy. From $599/month, a global price.
A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.4 · 391 reviews
EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7
What stands out
Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.7 · 209 reviews
EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5
What stands out
Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.
8.3/10
★ 4.4
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 495 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)
What stands out
Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation
Not a fit for
buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.
8.0/10
★ 4.6 · 312 reviews
EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated
What stands out
broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
payroll in 70 currencies
Not a fit for
buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.
7.8/10
★ 4.4 · 440 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees
What stands out
Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees
Not a fit for
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.
Why it fitsLists 'acting as the legal employer entity' without naming one; no register record by name. $579/month, global; its page shows a stale minimum wage.
One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.
7.5/10
★ 4.2 · 141 reviews
EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR
What stands out
Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management
Not a fit for
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
What it costs to employ someone in Moldova through an EOR
Moldovan employer on-cost is one line: CAS at 24% of gross pay, with no ceiling seen. The 9% health premium and the 12% income tax are withheld from the employee and are not an extra cost for the client. The two examples use MDL 900,000 (about USD 50,500) and MDL 1,800,000 (about USD 101,000) a year at 1 USD = 17.8236 MDL (National Bank of Moldova, 2026-10-07).
CAS at 24% is the only employer-borne statutory contribution. The health premium and income tax are withheld from the employee. Work-injury insurance, employer-paid sick days, leave and dismissal accruals are not included. Source: CNAS and PwC, checked 2026-10-07.
Gross salary
Employer statutory cost
Components
MDL 900,000/year (MDL 75,000/month)
MDL 216,000 (24.0% of gross; MDL 18,000 a month)
CAS 24% x 900,000. No employer health premium
MDL 1,800,000/year (MDL 150,000/month)
MDL 432,000 (24.0% of gross; MDL 36,000 a month)
CAS 24% x 1,800,000. No employer health premium; no ceiling applied
The employer rate was 24% in every year 2021-2026 on the private sector, so we’ve skipped a history chart; the 2024 rate is inferred from the 2023 and 2025 tables (CNAS, PwC, checked 2026-10-07). What changed on 2021-01-01 is the split: until 2020 the employer paid 18% CAS and 4.5% health (22.5%), and from 2021 it pays 24% CAS only, per a Monitorul Fiscal summary of Law 257/2020.
The EOR’s own fee is on top of the above. Per month, the only Moldova-specific figure is Deel’s $599 management fee. Everything else is a global list price: Native Teams from $99, Skuad, RemoFirst and Remote People from $199, Rivermate $319-639, Playroll from $399, Borderless AI $579, Atlas and G-P from $599, Remote $699. Safeguard Global publishes none. Remote’s Moldova page has no separate price.
Hidden costs, where published: Deel lists a one-off “Mandatory Wet Ink Employment Agreement Handling Fee” of USD 80 and estimates the employer cost at 24.60% of salary (24.0% social security plus a 0.60% “Employer Liability Cost”) (Deel, checked 2026-10-07). Rivermate says “No onboarding or offboarding costs” in its global pricing (Rivermate, checked 2026-10-07), and Playroll says “No Minimum Commitments” (Playroll, checked 2026-10-07). No vendor publishes a deposit or termination fee for Moldova; where a field is blank, treat it as unpublished, not zero.
Basis: an EOR entity with a large payroll employing an office or IT employee on an ordinary open-ended contract, 2026 private-sector rates, MDL. The Moldova IT Park single-tax regime is a company-level status that replaces these contributions for park residents; no vendor states park residency, and the examples don’t use it (PwC, checked 2026-10-07).
When you don’t need an EOR
Whether an agent or EOR can be the permit applicant for a foreigner working for a foreign client is not established, and neither is what happens when the 24-month cap is exceeded. Source: Law 193/2025 bill and ANOFM, checked 2026-10-07.
A genuinely independent contractor. Someone who isn’t under your direction and serves their own clients. See how to pay contractors in Moldova and our hiring guide. Relabelling a directed role as a contract is contractor misclassification; working without a written contract is fined 260-400 conventional units for a legal entity.
Your own Moldovan entity. The route for a role beyond the 24-month cap, for a larger team, or for a hire who needs a work permit, since the applicant must be a Moldovan legal entity. Playroll’s guide puts entity setup at 3-6 weeks (Playroll, checked 2026-10-07).
Direct employment from abroad. We found nothing on employing a Moldovan resident directly without an entity, and the new agent chapter defines a user as a legal person or sole trader. The tax and permanent establishment position was not researched, so check it with Moldovan counsel.
What changed in 2026
2026-01-01 — Law 193/2025 enters into force: Chapter XVI^1 of the Labour Code regulates work through a temporary work agent (ISM notification, 12/24-month limits, equal pay and conditions, four banned uses), the Occupational Safety and Health Law is extended to agency workers, and a fine for operating without notification is added. Existing agents had 30 days, to about 2026-01-31, to notify.
2026-01-01 — Minimum wage rises to MDL 6,300 gross a month (MDL 37.28 an hour) from MDL 5,500, up 15%.
2026-01-01 — The health-fund law for 2026 keeps the 9% premium, paid by the employee; employer CAS stays 24% in the private sector. We found no change in employer rates for 2026.
2026-08-23 — Law 195/2024 on personal data protection (GDPR-aligned) enters into force, replacing Law 133/2011; fines up to MDL 2,000,000 or 2% of worldwide turnover, phased in over three years. The date is from DLA Piper, and we saw no postponement.
2027-01-01 — Proposed, not law: cutting CAS for budgetary and local public institutions from 29% to 24%. No effect on private-sector employers.
Minimum wage. Official: MDL 6,300 from 2026-01-01 (gov.md). Deel and Multiplier pages show MDL 5,000, Borderless AI MDL 2,775 and RemoFirst MDL 1,900. Remote, Playroll, Rivermate and Remote People show MDL 6,300.
Employer contribution.Remote People uses 18% for the employer CNAS contribution in its worked example; the 2026 rate is 24% (CNAS). Deel, Playroll and Rivermate give 24%.
Probation.Remote’s Moldova page says up to 3 months (6 for officials); the ISM says up to 6 months for most employees and 30 days for unskilled workers (ISM, checked 2026-10-07).
Public holidays. Remote’s page gives 14, Playroll and RemoFirst 13. We haven’t confirmed a count from the Labour Code.
How we built this page
Country rules and vendor data were collected and checked on 2026-10-07, from the Ministry of Labour and Government documents, CNAS, the State Labour Inspectorate, court decisions and vendor pages. We couldn’t read the consolidated Labour Code or the adopted text of Law 193/2025, so those parts rest on the sources named in each section. Moldovan entities were checked against the state register of legal entities through the srl.md mirror, matched by company name and founder; where nothing matched, we relied on the vendor’s own statement or recorded the entity as not disclosed. The order puts vendors with an own entity first, then partner, then those that don’t disclose, with Remote ahead for the most complete evidence. Nobody pays for placement on this page.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Employer of Record cost in Moldova?
Two layers. Employer CAS is 24% of gross pay with no ceiling seen: MDL 216,000 on MDL 900,000 a year and MDL 432,000 on MDL 1,800,000; the 9% health premium and 12% income tax are withheld from the employee. The EOR fee is separate: published starting prices run from $99 to $699 per month, and only Deel shows a Moldova figure ($599, plus a one-off USD 80).
Is Employer of Record legal in Moldova?
With limits. Moldova has no EOR category in law. Since 2026-01-01 (Law 193/2025) the statutory model for an employer that places its employee at another company is the temporary work agent: no licence, only a notification to the State Labour Inspectorate, assignments of up to 12 months and 24 with extensions, and pay at least equal to the user's staff. We found no regulator or law-firm commentary on EOR itself.
Which is the best Employer of Record in Moldova?
It depends on what you weight. Remote is the only provider where its own statement, its Local Terms and the state register point to the same Moldovan company. Deel, Native Teams and Atlas have a register match by name only, and Rivermate says it uses an unnamed local partner. For the other 7 of the 12, neither their own pages nor the register tie a Moldovan employer to them.
What is the cheapest Employer of Record in Moldova?
Only Deel publishes a Moldova-specific fee, $599 a month plus a one-off USD 80. Native Teams lists the lowest global starting price, $99 a month; Skuad, RemoFirst and Remote People start at $199. Native Teams' register entry lists IT activities only. A low fee doesn't change the 24% CAS.
What is the difference between an EOR and a contractor in Moldova?
An EOR runs in Moldova as work through a temporary work agent: the agent employs the person and you direct the work. A contractor is engaged without employment and without your direction. Working without a written contract costs an employer 260-400 conventional units for a legal entity. See our [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/) comparison.
What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Moldova?
A client can't staff the same task through an agent beyond 24 months in total or three successive assignments of the same worker, and the text we read states no consequence for exceeding it. The agent's pay must be at least that of your comparable staff, and you share the occupational safety duty. An agent operating without notification is fined 300-450 conventional units.
Can an EOR sponsor a work permit in Moldova?
Not established. The applicant is the hiring organisation, a legal entity in Moldova that employs foreigners or benefits from their work, and nothing we found says whether an agent or EOR can apply for a non-resident working for a foreign client. Skuad says it can sponsor a work permit in Moldova; that is its statement, not a rule we could confirm.
What is the minimum wage in Moldova?
MDL 6,300 gross a month for a full-time schedule from 2026-01-01, MDL 37.28 an hour, up MDL 800 (15%) from MDL 5,500 in 2025. It is one national rate. Several vendor pages still show MDL 5,000, MDL 2,775 or MDL 1,900.
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
The full listings
Hiring contractors in Moldova instead
Employer of Record in other countries
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
12 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.