Employer of Record is lawful in Italy only in a narrow form. Italian law has no EOR statute, and a third party that hires a worker and places them with a client who directs the work is performing somministrazione di lavoro (labour supply), which only agencies on the Ministry of Labour’s Albo informatico may do. Since 2024-03-02, a client that uses an unauthorised supplier faces criminal sanctions (normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Cost has two layers. Employer statutory costs run 37.7-37.9% of gross: EUR 16,853.88 on a EUR 44,500 salary, including a 6.91% TFR severance accrual, on 14 monthly payments (kitech.it, checked 2026-10-05). The EOR fee comes on top: seven vendors publish a price on an Italy page, from $399 to $699 per month.
We exported the public Albo on 2026-10-05 and checked all 20 vendors against it. Five hold an entry: Remote, G-P, Pebl, Safeguard Global and Rippling, each in the name of a foreign company. Deel, Oyster and Multiplier have Italian S.r.l. entities but were not found in the Albo by name or VAT number. That reflects the limits of our search, not a finding of non-compliance.
An Employer of Record fits a permanent hire you direct yourself, once the provider has given you its Albo authorisation number. A genuinely independent contractor or your own Italian entity suits the rest.
Employing someone in Italy: key facts
Italy has no statutory minimum wage: pay floors, 14 monthly payments, notice and most leave rules come from the national collective agreement (CCNL). We use CCNL Terziario, Distribuzione e Servizi (Confcommercio) as the benchmark for office and IT work.
Minimum wage
There is no national or regional statutory minimum wage, so the table shows a collective-agreement floor, not a legal minimum (temi.camera.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Not a statutory minimum wage: the CCNL Terziario level IV floor (minimo tabellare plus contingenza), in force on 31 December each year. The 2026 point is the step agreed for 2026-11-01; the rate in force at the check date was EUR 1,781.68. 2021 and 2022 are derived: no table dated in those years was found, and the contract had no increase from 2022-01-01 to 2023-03-31. Source: cs.camcom.gov.it, checked 2026-10-05.
Other levels, monthly minimo tabellare from 2025-11-01, before contingenza: Quadri 2,183.09; I 1,966.54; II 1,701.04; III 1,453.94; V 1,136.07; VI 1,019.94; VII 873.22. IT and software roles are often classified at levels II-III, so level IV is a floor for office work, not a market salary (cs.camcom.gov.it, checked 2026-10-05).
DL 62/2026 ties pay adequacy and access to public hiring incentives to the leading CCNL of the sector but sets no fixed amount; the L. 144/2025 delegation to legislate on pay lapsed on 2026-04-18 (temi.camera.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Employer contributions
Rates for an office employee in commerce at an employer with more than 50 staff, which is the assumption for an EOR entity. They apply to full gross pay including the 13th and 14th payments, up to a 2026 ceiling of EUR 122,295 (kitech.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Contribution
Employer rate
Note
INPS: IVS pension
23.81%
Total 33.00%, of which 9.19% paid by the employee
INPS: NASpI unemployment
1.61%
INPS: sickness (malattia)
2.44%
INPS: maternity
0.24%
INPS: family allowances (CUAF)
0.68%
INPS: TFR guarantee fund
0.20%
INPS: CIGS
0.60%
Total 0.90%, employee 0.30%
INPS: FIS
0.5333%
Total 0.80%, employer pays two thirds
INPS subtotal
30.1133%
29.58% without FIS
INAIL accident insurance
0.50%
Average tariff for office work; the rate for a given employer varies with its claims record
TFR accrual
6.91%
Statutory severance accrual, a further employer cost
Fondo Est health fund
EUR 13/month
CCNL-mandated, from 2025-04-01 (EUR 15 total, EUR 2 employee)
The FIS and CIGS rates are both counted here, following Il Sole 24 Ore’s report of double coverage for non-industrial employers above 15 staff; we did not confirm it against an INPS table. If FIS does not apply on top of CIGS, the INPS total is 0.5333 points lower. Kitech’s own total omits FIS (ntplusfisco.ilsole24ore.com, checked 2026-10-05).
Working hours and overtime
Standard week: 40 hours under the CCNL, spread over 5 days; the statutory maximum is 48 hours a week on average including overtime (D.Lgs. 66/2003) (cs.camcom.gov.it, checked 2026-10-05).
CCNL surcharges: daytime overtime up to the 48th weekly hour +15%, beyond it +20%, Sunday and holiday work +30%, night work +50% (confcommercio.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Annual leave and public holidays
Leave: 26 working days under the CCNL; the statutory minimum is 4 weeks, and it cannot be paid out in lieu except on termination. Paid ROL permits add 56 hours a year, or 72 for employers above 15 staff (confcommercio.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Holidays: 11 national days (1 Jan, 6 Jan, Easter Monday, 25 Apr, 1 May, 2 Jun, 15 Aug, 1 Nov, 8 Dec, 25 Dec, 26 Dec) plus the local patron saint day (ecnews.it, checked 2026-10-05).
4 October (St Francis of Assisi) joined the list from 2026 under L. 151/2025. Whether it gives private-sector staff a paid day off is not confirmed from the law text; ecnews reads it as a paid holiday (normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Source: confcommercio.it, checked 2026-10-05. The extract does not label the seniority bands. Dismissal also needs a justified reason (giustificato motivo or giusta causa).
No statutory redundancy pay. On any termination the employee receives TFR, accrued yearly at pay divided by 13.5 less 0.50% (about 6.91% of gross) and revalued each year by 1.5% plus 75% of ISTAT inflation (brocardi.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Unjustified dismissal of staff hired after 2015-03-07: a court-ordered indemnity of 2 months’ pay per year of service, between 6 and 36 months; reinstatement only in specific cases. The range comes from secondary summaries (firstcisl.it, checked 2026-10-05).
13th salary and bonuses
The CCNL makes a 13th and a 14th monthly payment mandatory: each equals one month of actual pay, the 13th paid in December and the 14th in June. This is a collective-agreement duty, not a statutory one (confcommercio.it, checked 2026-10-05).
CCNL: Fondo Est supplementary health fund, EUR 15/month per employee of which EUR 13 is the employer share (fondoest.it, checked 2026-10-05). Lazio adds a Sanimpresa share.
CCNL sick leave: job protection for 180 calendar days a year, with pay top-up of 100% on days 1-3 (with limits), 75% on days 4-20 and 100% from day 21 (confcommercio.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Supplementary pension enrolment is voluntary, with tacit-enrolment rules from 2026-07-01 (see the 2026 changes below).
Work permits
EU and EEA citizens need no permit.
Non-EU nationals abroad need a nulla osta: the employer files a named request with the Sportello Unico per l’Immigrazione at the prefecture (art. 22 D.Lgs. 286/1998), within the annual decreto flussi quotas, then the worker applies for a visa (normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05).
EU Blue Card (art. 27-quater): same office; salary must be at least the ISTAT average annual gross and not below the CCNL. The current euro threshold was not confirmed from a government source.
The applicant must be an Italian-registered employer, which matters for EOR structures. Whether a licensed somministrazione agency can sponsor a nulla osta for a client-directed hire was not established.
Currency and payroll
Euro. Pay is monthly, in 14 payments a year; the pay date is set by the CCNL and contract practice, not by law (confcommercio.it, checked 2026-10-05). ECB reference rate on 2026-10-02: 1 EUR = 1.1225 USD (ecb.europa.eu, checked 2026-10-05).
Is Employer of Record legal in Italy?
Restricted. Italian law has no EOR statute. A provider that hires workers and places them at a company that directs their work is performing somministrazione di lavoro (labour supply). It is lawful only for agencies authorised by the Ministry of Labour and entered in the Albo informatico delle agenzie per il lavoro (D.Lgs. 276/2003 arts. 4-5; D.Lgs. 81/2015 arts. 30-40) (lavoro.gov.it, checked 2026-10-05). See also the Employer of Record glossary entry.
The rules that matter to a client:
Authorisation. General agencies may supply fixed-term and permanent workers across all activities; specialised agencies only permanent contracts in listed activities. Authorisation is provisional for two years, then made permanent after compliant operation (normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Entry requirements (art. 5). As read in a summarised extract: paid-in capital of at least EUR 600,000 for a general agency (EUR 350,000 for a specialised one), a guarantee deposit, offices and professional staff, and a legal seat or branch in the EU (normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Sanctions (art. 18 D.Lgs. 276/2003, in force 2024-03-02 after DL 19/2024). Unauthorised somministrazione: arrest up to 1 month or EUR 60 per worker per day, and the same for the client that uses an unauthorised supplier. Supply used to evade mandatory legal or collective-agreement rules (comma 5-ter): arrest up to 3 months or EUR 100 per worker per day, for supplier and client. Amounts rise 20% for repeat offenders, and proportional fines are never below EUR 5,000 (normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05). From the 2016 decriminalisation until DL 19/2024 these were administrative fines.
Limits even with an authorised agency (arts. 31-32 D.Lgs. 81/2015). Permanent agency workers up to 20% of the user’s permanent staff; fixed-term and fixed-term agency workers together up to 30%, with exemptions. Banned to replace strikers, within 6 months of collective redundancies in the same duties, or without a safety risk assessment (normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05). Whether a long-term, client-directed EOR-style hire fits these limits and the 24-month cap on fixed-term agency work (art. 34) was not resolved in our research.
Equal treatment and joint liability (art. 35). Agency workers get conditions at least equal to comparable staff of the client, and the client is jointly liable with the agency for pay and social contributions, with a right of recourse (normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Italian law firms differ:
Zambelli & Partners writes that “L’Eor risulta non utilizzabile” in Italy and that any interposition risks unlawful somministrazione (zambellipartners.com, checked 2026-10-05).
Beneggi & Associati says the formal employer must exercise real employer functions, not just administration; otherwise it is unauthorised supply (beneggiassociati.com, checked 2026-10-05).
Graber & Partner says the classification depends on who actually directs and controls the work (graber-partner.com, checked 2026-10-05).
Risks the client carries:
Criminal exposure: arrest or per-worker-per-day fines under art. 18, as above.
Direct employment: the worker can ask a court to establish the employment relationship with the client that used the work, and the client is jointly liable for pay and contributions (ance.it, checked 2026-10-05). See co-employment.
Lost benefits: since DL 19/2024, statutory benefits depend on a DURC (contribution compliance certificate) and no labour-law violations (same source).
Tax: one advisory site flags that a foreign client whose Italy-based employee has negotiating or managerial authority may create a permanent establishment; we did not check this against Italian tax law (taxdry.com, checked 2026-10-05).
Who actually employs your hire in Italy
In Italy the question has a public answer. We exported the whole Albo on 2026-10-05 (6,613 rows) and searched it for each of the 20 vendors by company name and VAT number (P.IVA). Registered-company details come from Italian company registers and match the vendor by name.
Says “we own our own legal entity in Italy” (remote.com); Terms name Remote Technology S.r.l. as employer (Terms PDF); Albo entry. The S.r.l. itself is not in the Albo
Yes: Velocity Global Consulting Limited (Dublin), section 01
Albo entry; the Irish register shows the company is now Pebl Employment Limited. Velocity Global S.r.l., Milan (aziende.it), is not in the Albo by VAT number
Italy page names no entity; a Native Teams S.r.l. in Milan is registered for software development (ufficiocamerale.it), which does not show it is the employer
An Albo entry means a valid entry in section 01 (general somministrazione) found by name or VAT number. All five entries belong to foreign companies (Irish, German, Spanish); three of the 15 others (Deel, Oyster, Multiplier) have Italian S.r.l. entities that are not in the Albo. The search cannot find an entity that operates under a different name. Source: Albo informatico, Ministero del Lavoro, exported 2026-10-05.Own entity means a vendor statement about its Italian entity, a company-register match by name or an Albo entry; none of the 20 named a partner or mixed model for Italy. Source: vendor country pages, Italian company registers and the Albo, checked 2026-10-05.
Eleven of the 20 don’t say who the Italian employer is. Nine are classed as own entity, but for most of them the link from brand to legal entity is a name match; only Remote publishes documents that name its Italian entities. An Albo entry shows an agency is authorised, not that the entity signing your employee’s contract is the one listed. Before signing, ask: “What is your Albo authorisation number, in whose name is it held, and which Italian entity signs my employee’s contract?”
How to choose an EOR in Italy
Want an authorisation you can verify today? Remote, G-P, Pebl, Safeguard Global and Rippling each have a valid Albo entry, but all five are in the name of a foreign group company. Ask which entity signs the contract and how your hire fits the art. 31 limits. Only Remote and G-P publish an Italy price ($699 and $599/month).
Considering Deel, Oyster or Multiplier? Each has an Italian S.r.l., but none was found in the Albo by name or VAT number. This is not a finding of non-compliance. Ask for the Albo authorisation number, or the provider’s written explanation of the legal basis it uses.
Expect to end the contract without a specific reason? RemotePass says on its Italy page that termination without cause “isn’t possible under the Employer of Record setup in Italy due to local labor law restrictions”, that redundancy is not possible either, and that you need your own Italian entity for either (remotepass.com, checked 2026-10-05). Its available routes are termination for cause, a mutual termination agreement, resignation and expiry of a fixed term. Plan around that before hiring.
Price against completeness? Among prices on an Italy page, Playroll is lowest at $399/month, but it has no Albo record and names no entity. Where the entity and the Albo entry matter more than the fee, start with the five Albo holders.
Hiring a non-EU national? The nulla osta must be filed by an Italian-registered employer. We could not establish whether a licensed agency can sponsor one for a client-directed hire, so ask the provider before you promise a start date.
The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.
8.3/10
★ 4.4
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.
8.3/10
★ 4.8 · 23k reviews
EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2
What stands out
EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
unified HR, IT and Finance platform
broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)
Not a fit for
buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 603 reviews
EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts
What stands out
12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.
7.5/10
★ 4.2 · 141 reviews
EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR
What stands out
Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management
Not a fit for
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
Why it fitsSays it becomes the legal employer registered with INPS and INAIL; Oyster HR Italy S.r.l. found by name, not in the Albo. $699/month global list.
A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.
8.4/10
★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022
What stands out
EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount
Not a fit for
buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.4 · 391 reviews
EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7
What stands out
Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
Why it fitsLists Italy under countries where it operates directly, but names no Italian entity and has no registry or Albo record. $319-$639/month global range.
A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.
8.0/10
★ 4.6 · 312 reviews
EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated
What stands out
broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
payroll in 70 currencies
Not a fit for
buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.7 · 209 reviews
EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5
What stands out
Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Primarily a US PEO and payroll platform — audited (SOC 1/2, ESAC, IRS CPEO) — with a newer, smaller EOR product covering 43 documented countries at a flat $599/employee/month.
A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.
A global HR and payroll platform with a notable focus on the Middle East, Africa and other emerging markets. RemotePass covers EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record, contractor management and local payroll across 150 countries, and is one of the few in this set to publish list pricing.
7.9/10
★ 4.4 · 804 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax)
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Onboard new team members within days
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
What stands out
dedicated Contractor of Record that explicitly addresses worker-misclassification risk
published per-seat pricing for EOR ($349), CoR ($299), Local Payroll ($15) and Contractors ($39)
strong MENA/emerging-markets coverage incl. KSA and UAE, with visa sponsorship and relocation
Not a fit for
buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
buyers requiring ISO 27001 or SOC 1 attestations stated up front
A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.
7.0/10
★ 4.8 · 28 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim
What stands out
Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK
Not a fit for
buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.
7.7/10
★ 4.2 · 101 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages
What stands out
160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.
7.8/10
★ 4.4 · 440 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees
What stands out
Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees
Not a fit for
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 495 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)
What stands out
Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation
Not a fit for
buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.
7.9/10
★ 4.7 · 367 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS
What stands out
EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk
Not a fit for
buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
A payroll- and payments-led global workforce platform for enterprises, with EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries and a published 'from $599/mo per employee' EOR price — strongest when payroll depth, payments control and pricing transparency matter.
8.2/10
★ 4.3 · 154 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
40 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA stated
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II
What stands out
EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries
published EOR price (from $599/mo per employee) plus tiered payroll pricing — unusually transparent for the category
owns/operates EOR entities in 40 countries and contractor (AOR) entities in 180
Not a fit for
buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
those needing a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product
buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
What it costs to employ someone in Italy through an EOR
The EOR is a large payroll employer (over 50 employees), so no small-employer rates apply. The example employee is an office or IT worker (impiegato) under CCNL Terziario, paid in 14 payments, with no hiring relief. The gross salaries are rounded to EUR 44,500 and EUR 89,000, about USD 50,000 and USD 100,000 at the ECB rate of 1 EUR = 1.1225 USD on 2026-10-02 (ecb.europa.eu, checked 2026-10-05).
Employer statutory costs only, before the EOR’s own fee. TFR is an accrued liability paid at termination, counted here as an annual cost. Both salaries sit below the EUR 122,295 contribution ceiling, so no cap applies. Source: kitech.it · fondoest.it, checked 2026-10-05.
Gross salary
Employer statutory cost
Share of gross
Components
EUR 44,500
EUR 16,853.88
37.88%
INPS 13,400.43 (30.1133%) · INAIL 222.50 · TFR 3,074.95 · Fondo Est 156.00
EUR 89,000
EUR 33,551.77
37.70%
INPS 26,800.87 (30.1133%) · INAIL 445.00 · TFR 6,149.90 · Fondo Est 156.00
If FIS does not apply on top of CIGS, the INPS employer total falls by 0.5333 points, which is EUR 237.33 at the first salary and EUR 474.67 at the second, so the real figure may be slightly lower. INAIL uses the average tariff rate for office work (0.50%); a given employer’s rate varies with its claims record (consulentidellavoro.mi.it, checked 2026-10-05).
Not included: ente bilaterale and Sanimpresa contributions, the employer share of the CCNL supplementary pension (Cometa) if the employee joins, meal vouchers and other CCNL welfare, QuAS for Quadri, and Treasury-fund TFR exemptions.
The EOR’s own fee comes on top. Seven vendors show a price on an Italy page, from $399/month at Playroll to $699/month at Remote: Playroll $399, Borderless AI $579, Deel from $599, Justworks $599, G-P $599, Skuad $649 (with a 12-month commitment) and Remote $699. Global list prices, where no Italy figure exists, run from $99 to $699 per month; Rippling, Pebl, Safeguard Global and Papaya Global publish none for Italy.
Hidden costs, where published:
Deel’s Italy page lists one-off items on the first invoice: onboarding medical check EUR 119 and health and safety training EUR 42 (EUR 12 more in English). For Quadri it adds a one-off QuAS fee of EUR 340, up to EUR 370 a year, and Quadrifor EUR 50 a year; for Dirigenti, Fondo Mario Negri at EUR 769.43 a month (deel.com, checked 2026-10-05).
Skuad’s $649 rate needs a 12-month commitment (skuad.io, checked 2026-10-05).
For every other vendor, setup fee, deposit, minimum term and termination fee are not published for Italy. Treat a blank as unpublished, not zero.
When you don’t need an EOR
A role that is employment should not be relabelled as a contract. Art. 31 limits agency workers to 20% of the user’s permanent staff (permanent contracts) and 30% (fixed-term together); whether a long-term EOR-style hire fits was not resolved. Source: normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05.
A genuinely independent contractor. If the person sets their own hours and tools and can serve other clients, a contract is closer to the real relationship. See how to pay contractors in Italy and our hiring guide; a role that is really employment should not be relabelled (see contractor misclassification).
Your own Italian entity. The remaining route when no Albo-listed provider fits your hire or when you need the freedom to end the contract that RemotePass says an EOR cannot give in Italy. A non-EU hire also needs an Italian-registered employer to file the nulla osta.
What changed in 2026
2026-01-01: INPS parameters for 2026. Minimum daily pay for contributions EUR 58.13; contribution ceiling EUR 122,295; an extra 1% employee contribution above EUR 56,224 (inps.it, checked 2026-10-05).
2026-01-01: Budget law 2026 (L. 199/2025). The duty to pay TFR into the INPS Treasury fund extends to employers reaching 60 average employees in 2026-2027 (40 from 2032); parental leave extended to children aged 14; leave for child illness raised from 5 to 10 days a year; partial contribution relief for hiring young people and disadvantaged women, implementing decree pending (blog.pwc.it, checked 2026-10-05).
2026-01-01: L. 151/2025 adds 4 October (St Francis of Assisi) to the national holidays list; 4 October 2026 fell on a Sunday (normattiva.it, checked 2026-10-05).
2026-01-01: INAIL applies reduced experience-rated rates for 2026 on a provisional basis (DL 159/2025), and may claim higher premiums if the implementing decree changes them.
2026-04-18: the L. 144/2025 delegation on pay and collective bargaining lapsed unexercised; no statutory minimum wage was introduced (temi.camera.it, checked 2026-10-05).
2026-04-30: DL 62/2026 (“salario giusto”) ties pay adequacy and access to public hiring incentives to the leading sector CCNL, with no fixed amount; the Camera page gives 2026-06-28 as definitive entry into force.
2026-06-07: D.Lgs. 96/2026 transposes the EU Pay Transparency Directive: pay or pay range in job adverts, a ban on asking pay history, a right to pay-level information, and gender-pay-gap reporting for employers with 100 or more staff on a phased schedule; administrative fines of EUR 5,000-10,000 (aoshearman.com, checked 2026-10-05). How it applies to an EOR employer was taken from one law-firm summary.
2026-07-01: automatic enrolment in collective supplementary pension schemes with a 60-day opt-out after hiring; the annual deductibility limit rises from EUR 5,164.57 to EUR 5,300. Which employees and funds are covered is not confirmed (blog.pwc.it, checked 2026-10-05).
2026-11-01: next CCNL Terziario step, level IV minimo tabellare EUR 1,292.46, already agreed but not yet in force; 2027-02-01 follows at EUR 1,332.46.
Numbers vendors haven’t updated
We found no vendor figure that is clearly out of date, but several differ from ours or from each other.
Deel gives employer cost as 37.42% of salary in its text and 37.47% in its cost block on the same Italy page, with INAIL at 0.40%; our examples show 37.70-37.88% with INAIL at the 0.50% average (deel.com, checked 2026-10-05).
RemotePass puts the TFR accrual at 7.4-7.5% (annual pay divided by 13.5); applying the 0.50% reduction in the statutory formula gives the 6.91% we use (remotepass.com, checked 2026-10-05).
Rivermate lists level IV at about EUR 1,850 a month in rounded figures; the CCNL table shows EUR 1,781.68, rising to EUR 1,816.68 on 2026-11-01 (rivermate.com, checked 2026-10-05).
Boundless cites administrative fines up to EUR 80,000 for working without a licence. The art. 18 sanctions we read are criminal (arrest or per-worker-per-day fines, minimum EUR 5,000) and contain no EUR 80,000 figure in our research; treat it as a vendor claim (boundlesshq.com, checked 2026-10-05).
How we built this page
Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-05 against Italian legislation (normattiva.it), the Ministry of Labour, INPS and INAIL material, the CCNL Terziario tables and law-firm commentary. We exported the Ministry of Labour’s public Albo informatico on the same day and searched it for each vendor by company name and VAT number; Italian company-register matches for Deel, Oyster, Multiplier and others rest on name and address. Where a vendor operates through a differently named entity, our search cannot see it. Vendors are ordered with the confirmed or stated own entities first, by Italy price and completeness of data, then those that do not disclose; no vendor pays for placement.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Employer of Record cost in Italy?
Two layers. Employer statutory costs, including a 6.91% TFR accrual, come to EUR 16,853.88 on a EUR 44,500 salary (37.88%) and EUR 33,551.77 on EUR 89,000 (37.70%). The EOR fee is on top: seven vendors show a price on an Italy page, from $399 to $699 per month.
Is Employer of Record legal in Italy?
Only in a narrow form. Italian law has no EOR statute, and a third party that hires a worker for a client who directs the work is performing somministrazione di lavoro, lawful only for agencies on the Ministry of Labour's Albo informatico. Since 2024-03-02 a client that uses an unauthorised supplier faces arrest up to 1 month or a fine of EUR 60 per worker per day.
Which EOR in Italy has an Albo authorisation?
On 2026-10-05 we found Albo entries (section 01, general somministrazione, status valid) for Remote, G-P, Pebl, Safeguard Global and Rippling, each in the name of a foreign company. Deel, Oyster and Multiplier have Italian S.r.l. entities but were not found in the Albo by name or VAT number, which is a limit of our search and not a finding of non-compliance.
What is the cheapest EOR in Italy?
Among prices shown on an Italy page, Playroll is lowest at $399/month, and it has no Albo record. Global list prices are lower at some vendors (Native Teams from $99/month), but none of them shows an Italy-specific figure.
What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Italy?
The client can face criminal sanctions for using an unauthorised supplier: arrest up to 1 month or EUR 60 per worker per day, or up to 3 months or EUR 100 per worker per day if the supply evades mandatory rules, with fines never below EUR 5,000. The worker can also ask a court to establish the employment relationship directly with the client, who is jointly liable for pay and contributions.
Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Italy?
If the person works independently, yes: see [how to pay contractors in Italy](/software/contractor-payouts/italy/) and [our hiring guide](/hire-contractors/italy/). If the role is employment under your direction, the lawful routes are an Albo-listed agency or your own Italian entity, and a PEO or contractor label does not change that. See [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/).
Can an EOR in Italy sponsor a work visa?
Non-EU workers abroad need a nulla osta filed by the employer with the Sportello Unico per l'Immigrazione, within the annual decreto flussi quotas, and the applicant must be an Italian-registered employer. We could not establish whether a licensed somministrazione agency can be the sponsor for a client-directed hire, so ask the provider in writing.
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
The full listings
Hiring contractors in Italy instead
Employer of Record in other countries
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
20 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.