Employer of Record in the United States: 20 Providers Compared (2026)

Employer of Record in the United States: your company, the EOR entity in the US and your hire

Employer of Record is legal in the United States, with limits that vary sharply by state. No federal or state law bans the model outright, but Florida’s employee-leasing statute (Chapter 468) is written broadly enough that regulators and law firms argue it can capture a single-client EOR arrangement, and Texas requires a PEO licence for any “coemployment relationship” whose reach for EOR hasn’t been tested in court.

Cost has two layers. On top of gross salary, a California employer owes Social Security, Medicare and a FUTA rate raised by the state’s 2026 credit reduction — about $4,217/year on a $50,000 salary. The EOR’s own fee runs from $199/month (Skuad’s discounted US rate) to $699/month at Remote; most vendors publish only a global list price or nothing at all.

What sets the US apart: rules run state by state rather than nationally, at-will employment is default everywhere except Montana, and an EOR generally can’t sponsor a new work visa — USCIS’s “right to control” test requires the petitioning employer to direct the work, which a pure EOR typically can’t show.

EOR fits hiring one US employee without opening an entity yourself. It fits less well a genuinely independent contractor — cheaper, and closer to the real relationship — or a new hire who needs H-1B sponsorship, which has to run through the client’s own entity instead.

Employing someone in the United States: key facts

US employment law runs on three levels — federal, state and sometimes city — and the state you hire in changes almost every number below; figures name California, New York and Washington as the states with the clearest 2026 data, with Texas and Florida as low-regulation counterpoints.

Minimum wage

The federal floor applies everywhere a state doesn’t set its own higher rate; most states and several cities do.

JurisdictionHourly rateIn force fromSource
Federal (FLSA)USD 7.252009-07-24 (unchanged)dol.gov via web.archive.org, checked 2026-10-01
CaliforniaUSD 16.902026-01-01dir.ca.gov, checked 2026-10-01
New York CityUSD 17.002026-01-01dol.ny.gov via web.archive.org, checked 2026-10-01
WashingtonUSD 17.132026-01-01lni.wa.gov, checked 2026-10-01
TexasUSD 7.25— (adopts federal rate)dol.gov via web.archive.org, checked 2026-09-30
FloridaUSD 15.002026-09-30floridajobs.org, checked 2026-09-30
Line chart 2021-2026: federal minimum wage flat at USD 7.25; California from 14.00 to 16.90; New York City from 15.00 to 17.00; Washington from 13.69 to 17.13.
Federal rate hasn’t moved since 2009 — the longest stretch without a federal increase in the law’s history — while every state shown here has raised its own rate most years. Source: dol.gov · dir.ca.gov · dol.ny.gov · lni.wa.gov, checked 2026-10-01.

Employer contributions

ContributionEmployer rateWage baseMax per employee (2026)Source
Social Security (FICA)6.2%up to USD 184,500USD 11,439ssa.gov via web.archive.org, checked 2026-09-30
Medicare (FICA)1.45%uncapped–ssa.gov via web.archive.org, checked 2026-09-30
FUTA, net (California, 2026)2.1%first USD 7,000USD 147payroll.org, checked 2026-09-30
California SUI (new employer)3.4%first USD 7,000USD 238edd.ca.gov, checked 2026-09-30
California ETT0.1%first USD 7,000USD 7edd.ca.gov, checked 2026-09-30

Every state also runs its own State Unemployment Insurance (SUI/SUTA) at rates and wage bases that vary by state and industry — the table uses California’s new-employer figures. FUTA’s standard net rate is 0.6%, but California has been a federal “credit reduction” state every year but one since 2021 — rising from 0% in 2021 to 1.2% in 2025, plus a further 1.5% on the DOL’s confirmed 2026-01-15 preliminary list, for a corrected net rate of 2.1% (not the outdated 0.6% baseline). A further Benefit Cost Rate add-on of up to 3.8% is possible and won’t be finalized until after 2026-11-10, which could push net FUTA as high as 5.9% (payroll.org, checked 2026-09-30). Nearly every state also mandates employer-paid workers’-comp insurance at industry-rated class rates — Texas is the one state where private employers may opt out.

Working hours and overtime

JurisdictionStandard hoursOvertime triggerRateSource
Federal (FLSA)40 hours/week, no daily capover 40 hours/week1.5xlittler.com, checked 2026-09-30
California8 hours/day, 40 hours/weekover 8h/day or 40h/week1.5x (2x after 12h/day)dir.ca.gov, checked 2026-09-30

The federal exempt-salary floor is USD 684/week (USD 35,568/year) — the 2019 threshold, restored 2026-05-14 by a DOL technical amendment after courts vacated the Biden-era rule that would have raised it to USD 43,888/year; the highly-compensated-employee threshold is USD 107,432/year. Several states set higher exempt-salary floors than the federal one, and an employer must use whichever is higher.

Annual leave and public holidays

  • No federal or (with narrow city exceptions) state law requires private employers to give paid vacation or paid holidays — both are a matter of employer policy, not statute (dir.ca.gov, checked 2026-09-30).
  • California is the exception that bites an EOR specifically: earned vacation vests as a form of wages as it accrues, “use-it-or-lose-it” policies are illegal, and any unused earned vacation must be paid out in full on termination (dir.ca.gov, checked 2026-09-30).

Probation

  • No statutory “probationary period” exists federally or in most states — employment is at-will from day one in 49 states, all but Montana (dol.gov, checked 2026-09-30).
  • Employers commonly set a contractual 90-day (sometimes 30-180 day) introductory period for internal purposes like benefits eligibility, but it carries no separate legal protection or termination right beyond ordinary at-will status.

Notice and severance

  • No federal or (in the large majority of states) state law requires advance notice before an ordinary, individual at-will termination.
  • The WARN Act requires 60 days’ written notice only for a qualifying mass layoff or plant closing — generally, an employer with 100+ full-time employees affecting 50+ employees at one site within 30 days (dol.gov, checked 2026-09-30).
  • California’s Cal-WARN is stricter: it applies at 75+ employees, triggers at a 50+-employee layoff in any 30-day period, and has no minimum-employer-size percentage test.
  • No federal or (in most states) state law requires severance pay on an ordinary termination; a missed WARN notice instead creates back-pay liability for each day of the violation, up to 60 days, which resembles severance without being one.

13th salary and bonuses

  • No US jurisdiction mandates a 13th-month or other statutory annual bonus; any bonus is contractual (dol.gov, checked 2026-09-30).

Mandatory benefits

  • Statutory employer-funded programs are FICA (Social Security + Medicare), federal and state unemployment insurance (FUTA/SUTA), and — in nearly every state — employer-paid workers’-compensation insurance.
  • No federal mandate requires employer-paid health insurance below the ACA’s Applicable Large Employer (50+ full-time-equivalent) threshold — a large EOR’s own book of business generally clears that bar regardless of the client’s size (see legality section).
  • California requires every employer with at least one W-2 employee and no qualifying retirement plan to facilitate CalSavers enrollment — extended down to 1-4-employee employers from 2026-01-01, with penalties of USD 250-750 per eligible employee (calsavers.com, checked 2026-09-30).
  • California also mandates paid sick leave and paid family leave, the latter funded through employee-paid SDI/PFL contributions, not an employer cost line.

Work permits

  • A non-US-citizen, non-green-card worker generally needs employer-sponsored work authorization (H-1B, L-1, O-1, TN, E-3, etc.) or independent status such as an EAD.
  • USCIS requires the petitioning employer to prove an actual “employer-employee relationship” — the right to hire, pay, fire, supervise and control the work — for H-1B and most sponsored petitions (uscis.gov, checked 2026-09-30).
  • A pure EOR, which by design lets the client direct day-to-day work, typically can’t make that showing; several EOR vendors market EOR as an alternative to US visa sponsorship (hire the person in their home country) rather than a channel into one.
  • In practice, EOR works cleanly for US citizens, green-card holders and people who already hold independent work authorization — it isn’t a reliable route to a new US work visa.

Currency and payroll

  • Payroll runs in US dollars (USD).
  • No single federal law sets pay frequency — it’s set state by state; California requires semi-monthly pay for most employees under Labor Code §204, and some states require weekly pay for certain manual or day-rate workers (dol.gov, checked 2026-09-30).
  • An EOR must follow the pay-frequency rule of the state where the employee actually works, not the state where the EOR itself is incorporated.

Allowed, with limits. No federal or state statute names and bans the EOR model, and hiring a US employee through an EOR instead of opening a US entity is common and broadly legal in most states. The real constraints are domestic co-employment doctrine and a handful of state licensing statutes written for “employee leasing” or PEOs that regulators and law firms argue can reach single-client EOR arrangements even though EOR providers don’t call themselves PEOs:

  • Florida Statutes Chapter 468, Part XI defines “employee leasing” as any arrangement where a leasing company assigns employees to a “client company” and allocates direction/control between them — with no requirement the client already have its own workforce. A narrow carve-out exists only for employees performing work “separate and divisible” from the client’s primary business, which typically doesn’t cover an EOR-placed employee doing the client’s core work. Operating unlicensed is a Chapter 468 violation (leg.state.fl.us, checked 2026-09-30).
  • Texas Labor Code Chapter 91 requires a licence to offer “professional employer services” through a “coemployment relationship.” Unlike Florida, Texas’s definition is anchored to that coemployment concept rather than simply “is a client and receives employees” — whether a single-employee, foreign-client EOR arrangement counts is a matter of statutory interpretation with no definitive court ruling found (statutes.capitol.texas.gov, checked 2026-09-30).
  • IRS/DOL joint-employer doctrine. Under the common-law employer test (IRS Publication 15-A) and DOL/NLRB joint-employer guidance, whichever entity actually directs and controls the work can be found a joint employer regardless of what the contract calls it — the doctrinal basis for co-employment risk in domestic US EOR arrangements generally (irs.gov, checked 2026-09-30).

For the client, three risks follow directly: an arrangement later found to be unlicensed Florida “employee leasing” leaves the client’s own cost protections on shaky ground, since the leasing was never validly licensed in the first place; enough client-side control over day-to-day work can support a joint-employer finding that pulls a foreign client with no US entity into US wage-and-hour, workers’-comp or unemployment liability; and a large EOR is very likely an Applicable Large Employer under the ACA, so its ACA-compliant coverage obligations — and the cost of them — are baked into its fee whether or not the client asked for health insurance (irs.gov, checked 2026-09-30).

Who actually employs your hire in the United States

Vendors describe their entity model brand-wide (“100% owned,” “150+ countries”) far more often than they confirm it for the US specifically. Here’s what each vendor’s own US-facing page — or, where available, a registry — actually says:

ProviderEmployer in USEvidenceUS EOR price
DeelOwn entityDeel, checked 2026-09-30$599/month ($7,188/year)
RemoteOwn entityRemote, checked 2026-09-30$699/month
G-POwn entityG-P Globalpedia, checked 2026-09-30USD 599/month, flat
RipplingOwn entityRippling, checked 2026-09-30Quote-based
Atlas HXMOwn entityAtlas HXM, checked 2026-09-30From $599/month (brand-wide list)
Borderless AIOwn entityBorderless AI, checked 2026-10-01$579/month
RiseOwn entityRise, checked 2026-09-30From $399/month (effectively the US price)
SkuadPartnerSkuad, checked 2026-09-30$199/month (discounted from $349)
RemoFirstPartnerRemoFirst, checked 2026-09-30From $199/month (global list)
OysterNot disclosedOyster, checked 2026-09-30$699/month (global list)
Papaya GlobalNot disclosedPapaya Global, checked 2026-09-30From $599/month (global list)
MultiplierNot disclosedMultiplier, checked 2026-09-30From $400/month (global list)
Native TeamsNot disclosedNative Teams, checked 2026-09-30From $99/month (global list)
RemotePassNot disclosedRemotePass, checked 2026-09-30From $349/month, includes tax
PlayrollNot disclosedPlayroll, checked 2026-09-30$399/month, no minimum
RivermateNot disclosedRivermate, checked 2026-09-30From ~€299/month (global list)
BoundlessNot disclosedBoundless, checked 2026-09-30Not published
Safeguard GlobalNot disclosedSafeguard Global, checked 2026-09-30Not published, on request
PeblNot disclosedPebl, checked 2026-09-30Not confirmed
Remote PeopleNot disclosedRemote People, checked 2026-10-01Not confirmed
Bar chart: 7 providers confirm their own US entity, 2 say they work through a partner, 11 don't disclose which.
Own entity means a first-party US-specific statement; a brand-wide “owned + partner network” line without a US-specific claim counts as not disclosed. No vendor’s named US subsidiary was independently confirmed against a Delaware or California registry filing in this research. Source: vendor US pages, collected for this page, checked 2026-09-30 to 2026-10-01.

Eleven of these 20 don’t say whether their US employing entity is their own or a partner’s — including Oyster, Multiplier and Safeguard Global, three of the more prominent names in the category. That matters because it decides who’s actually on the hook if payroll, tax withholding or a termination go wrong, and because none of the seven “own entity” claims here was independently verified against a Delaware or California Secretary of State filing — they’re first-party marketing statements, not registry records. Before signing, ask the vendor directly: “Is the entity that will employ my hire in the US wholly owned by you, and can you name and prove it?”

How to choose an EOR in the United States

Need the clearest first-party evidence of entity ownership? Deel names a wholly-owned US subsidiary that processes payroll through its own engine, and Remote states flatly that it owns its US legal entity — both also publish a US-specific price. Neither claim is backed by a public registry filing in this data, so “clearest” here means strongest first-party wording, not registry proof.

Hiring into Florida or Texas, where state PEO-style licensing is a live question? No vendor in this set discloses a state staffing or PEO licence for the US. Rippling and G-P at least draw an explicit line between their EOR product and state PEO frameworks on their own US pages — worth raising directly with any vendor before a Florida or Texas hire.

Weighing price against a country-specific figure? Skuad discloses the lowest confirmed US-specific price, $199/month. Native Teams’ banner price is lower, from $99/month, but its dedicated US page doesn’t confirm that figure applies to the US rather than being a generic global rate.

Need per-state depth because you’re scaling across several states? Remote People publishes separate EOR pages for California, New York, Washington, Pennsylvania and Ohio; Playroll links out to its own New York, California, Texas and Florida guides; Rippling’s US guide itself covers pay-transparency law differences across six states (CA, CO, NY, WA, IL, DE).

All 20 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

Deel

The broadest all-in-one platform — EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor management and global payroll under one roof, with deep country coverage.

8.7/10

★ 4.8 · 28k reviews

EOR price
from $599/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Entity model
130 owned
Time to hire
As little as 1 day
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • 150+ country reach with 130+ owned entities
  • covers EOR, COR, contractor management and payroll
  • strong security & compliance certifications

Not a fit for

  • very small or strictly budget-first teams
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsSays it employs through a wholly-owned US subsidiary running its own payroll engine, and publishes a US-specific $599/month ($7,188/year) price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote

A compliance-first EOR built on 100% owned entities — fewer countries, but no third-party handoffs.

8.4/10

★ 4.4 · 97 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing)
Coverage
90+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
2 days (average)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR Level 1, GDPR
Support
24/7 chatbot; live agent Mon-Fri

What stands out

  • 100% owned entities, no third-party partners
  • strong certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR, GDPR)
  • transparent per-product pricing

Not a fit for

  • teams needing the widest possible country list
  • lowest-price seekers
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsStates outright it owns its US legal entity, with a US-specific $699/month price, the highest published rate here.

Read full review Visit site ↗

G-P (Globalization Partners)

The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.

8.3/10

★ 4.4

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
Certifications
SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018
Support
24/7 AI support (G-P Assist); human hours not stated

What stands out

  • Founded 2012 — the longest track record among EOR vendors reviewed so far
  • Broadest certification stack checked: SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001, GDPR
  • 156 countries with a dedicated Globalpedia EOR guide; flat $599/employee/month fee confirmed across sampled countries

Not a fit for

  • price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
  • buyers needing a true Contractor of Record, not payment/classification tooling
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsSays it employs through its own US entity, contrasting that against state PEO licensing law, and quotes a flat US-specific $599/month, no minimum term.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rippling

A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.

8.3/10

★ 4.8 · 23k reviews

EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2

What stands out

  • EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
  • unified HR, IT and Finance platform
  • broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
  • hiring employees outside the 80 EOR markets
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsCalls itself 'registered in all 50 states' as EOR, distinct from PEO or direct hire, though pricing is quote-based only.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Atlas HXM

A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.

7.7/10

★ 4.2 · 101 reviews

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages

What stands out

  • 160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
  • Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
  • AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
  • companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsCalls itself a '100% direct EOR' across all 50 states on its own US buyer's-guide page; price matches its brand-wide $599/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Borderless AI

A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.

7.3/10

★ 4.8 · 205 reviews

EOR price
$579/mo
Coverage
170+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboarding as fast as 24 hours
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, PIPEDA
Support
24/7 in-house support; dedicated Canada-based contact

What stands out

  • Published flat pricing for all three core products ($579 EOR / $49 contractor / $29 payroll), no 'contact sales' gating
  • No security deposit or salary pre-funding required for EOR, unlike vendors citing $7,000-$20,000 deposits
  • SOC 2 Type II certified with a public trust center; fast-claimed onboarding (24-48 hours)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
  • companies requiring a dedicated, separately-branded Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsSays it employs US hires 'through our own legal entity' for supported states, at a US-specific $579/month with no deposit.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rise

A web3-native global payments platform: pay contractors in 190+ countries in fiat, stablecoins or crypto, with published per-contractor pricing and an AOR/EOR layer on top. Strongest for crypto-leaning teams that want one rail for fiat and on-chain payouts.

7.6/10

★ 4.6 · 7624 reviews

EOR price
From $399 Per Employee/Month
Coverage
190+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'Complete onboarding in minutes' / contractors invited 'in seconds'
Certifications
SOC 2 Certified, GDPR Compliant, Registered Money Service Business (FinCEN)

What stands out

  • transparent published pricing ($49+/contractor, $299+ AOR, $399+ EOR)
  • true hybrid fiat + crypto/stablecoin payout in 190+ countries, 90+ currencies
  • US-licensed money transmitter / FinCEN-registered MSB across 27 jurisdictions

Not a fit for

  • companies needing broad EOR employment coverage today
  • enterprises requiring deep, documented security certifications (SOC 1/2/3, ISO)
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsSays it hires through Rise-owned entities in the US, alongside the UK and Canada only so far, from $399/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Skuad

A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.

8.0/10

★ 4.6 · 312 reviews

EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated

What stands out

  • broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
  • published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
  • payroll in 70 currencies

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsDescribes itself as the 'local partner' handling EIN and incorporation steps, with the lowest disclosed US price here: $199/month, discounted from $349.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemoFirst

A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.

7.8/10

★ 4.4 · 440 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees

What stands out

  • Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
  • Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
  • Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
  • enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsSelf-describes as partner-based rather than owning entities, though its own US country guide makes no entity statement; price from $199/month globally.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Oyster

A B-Corp EOR focused on simplicity and ethical global hiring — strong for mid-size teams.

8.3/10

★ 4.3 · 1871 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee
Coverage
120+ countries
Time to hire
As fast as 48 hours
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, B-Corp
Support
Response within 24h

What stands out

  • B-Corp certified
  • 120+ EOR countries with a 48-hour onboarding claim
  • contractor payments in 120+ currencies

Not a fit for

  • teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
  • buyers who require a disclosed entity model
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsRuns a detailed US labor-law primer, at-will rules, FLSA, the 2024 overtime-rule reversal, and sells a separate US PEO at $114/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Papaya Global

A payroll- and payments-led global workforce platform for enterprises, with EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries and a published 'from $599/mo per employee' EOR price — strongest when payroll depth, payments control and pricing transparency matter.

8.2/10

★ 4.3 · 154 reviews

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
40 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA stated
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II

What stands out

  • EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries
  • published EOR price (from $599/mo per employee) plus tiered payroll pricing — unusually transparent for the category
  • owns/operates EOR entities in 40 countries and contractor (AOR) entities in 180

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
  • those needing a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsConfirms coverage across all 50 states and runs a separate US PEO product, but doesn't disclose its US entity model. From $599/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Multiplier

A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.

8.4/10

★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022

What stands out

  • EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
  • dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
  • published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
  • buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsConfirms 'all 50 states' coverage and runs a US EOR-vs-PEO comparison page, without saying who owns the employing entity. From $400/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Native Teams

A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.

7.9/10

★ 4.7 · 367 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS

What stands out

  • EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
  • transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
  • dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
  • teams needing a guaranteed onboarding SLA in days
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsRuns a dedicated US EOR page, the cheapest global list price in this set, from $99/month, though unconfirmed as a US-specific figure.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemotePass

A global HR and payroll platform with a notable focus on the Middle East, Africa and other emerging markets. RemotePass covers EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record, contractor management and local payroll across 150 countries, and is one of the few in this set to publish list pricing.

7.9/10

★ 4.4 · 804 reviews

EOR price
Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax)
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Onboard new team members within days
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR

What stands out

  • dedicated Contractor of Record that explicitly addresses worker-misclassification risk
  • published per-seat pricing for EOR ($349), CoR ($299), Local Payroll ($15) and Contractors ($39)
  • strong MENA/emerging-markets coverage incl. KSA and UAE, with visa sponsorship and relocation

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
  • buyers requiring ISO 27001 or SOC 1 attestations stated up front
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsGives an interactive US cost calculator, citing 13.65% employer cost, and recommends EOR as the 'best model' for the US. From $349/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Playroll

A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.7 · 209 reviews

EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5

What stands out

  • Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
  • Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
  • Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsLinks to separate New York, California, Texas and Florida state guides and cites $100-800 LLC filing fees as the alternative. $399/month, no minimum.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rivermate

A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.4 · 391 reviews

EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
  • Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
  • Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
  • buyers needing equity/ESOP administration
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsCovers the Montana at-will exception and the 2026 Social Security wage cap specifically for the US. From roughly €299/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Boundless

A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.

7.0/10

★ 4.8 · 28 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim

What stands out

  • Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
  • Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
  • Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
  • teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsPartners with employment-law counsel 'including the USA' and covers FICA and holiday rules on its own US guide, though no US price is published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Safeguard Global

One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.

7.5/10

★ 4.2 · 141 reviews

EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR

What stands out

  • Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
  • 1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
  • NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management

Not a fit for

  • buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
  • teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsRuns a dedicated US EOR-vs-PEO page contrasting the two models, but publishes no price for any product or country.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Pebl

A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 603 reviews

EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts

What stands out

  • 12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
  • SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
  • Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
  • teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsHas a dedicated US country page with general benefits and tax context, but no entity-ownership statement or published US price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote People

A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 495 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)

What stands out

  • Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
  • Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
  • Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation

Not a fit for

  • buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
  • teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsPublishes per-state EOR sub-pages for California, New York, Washington, Pennsylvania and Ohio, though its own US price and entity model aren't confirmed.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesNot a fit for
1 Deel 8.7 from $599/mo per employee 150+ very small or strictly budget-first teams
2 Remote 8.4 $699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing) 90+ teams needing the widest possible country list
3 G-P (Globalization Partners) 8.3 From $599/mo per employee 180+ price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
4 Rippling 8.3 Custom quote 80+ buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
5 Atlas HXM 7.7 From $599/mo per employee 160+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
6 Borderless AI 7.3 $579/mo 170+ buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
7 Rise 7.6 From $399 Per Employee/Month 190+ companies needing broad EOR employment coverage today
8 Skuad 8 Starting from $199 per employee/month 160+ buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
9 RemoFirst 7.8 Starts at $199 per employee/month 185+ buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
10 Oyster 8.3 $699/mo per employee 120+ teams needing a broad standalone global payroll
11 Papaya Global 8.2 From $599/mo per employee 160+ buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
12 Multiplier 8.4 Starting at $400 per month 150+ buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
13 Native Teams 7.9 Starts at $99/per employee per month 95+ buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
14 RemotePass 7.9 Starting at $349/mo per employee (includes tax) 150+ buyers needing the very broadest country footprint
15 Playroll 7.6 $399 per employee/month (no minimum) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
16 Rivermate 7.6 From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
17 Boundless 7 From $199/mo per employee 110+ buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
18 Safeguard Global 7.5 On request 187+ buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
19 Pebl 7.8 $399/mo per employee 185+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
20 Remote People 7.8 From $199/mo per employee 150+ buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts

What it costs to employ someone in the United States through an EOR

The EOR, not the client, is the legal employer, and every small-employer exemption is out of reach the moment payroll runs through its book of business. The figures below use California — one of the states our research covers in depth — at 2026 rates.

Stacked bars for California: a $50,000 salary costs the employer $4,217/year (8.4% of salary) in Social Security, Medicare, FUTA, SUI and ETT; a $100,000 salary costs $8,042/year (8.0%).
Employer-side statutory contributions only, before the EOR’s own fee. FUTA uses the corrected 2026 net rate of 2.1% (0.6% standard plus California’s confirmed 1.5% credit-reduction base); a further add-on of up to 3.8% is still pending a federal decision due after 2026-11-10. Workers’-compensation, which is industry-rated, is left out. Source: ssa.gov · payroll.org · edd.ca.gov, checked 2026-09-30.
SalaryEmployer statutory costShare of salaryComponents
$50,000$4,217/year8.4%Social Security 6.2% ($3,100), Medicare 1.45% ($725), FUTA net 2.1% ($147), CA SUI 3.4% ($238), CA ETT 0.1% ($7)
$100,000$8,042/year8.0%Social Security 6.2% ($6,200), Medicare 1.45% ($1,450), FUTA net 2.1% ($147), CA SUI 3.4% ($238), CA ETT 0.1% ($7)

The same $50,000 California salary cost the employer $4,112 in statutory contributions in 2021 and $4,217 in 2026. The whole $105 rise is FUTA: California’s credit-reduction rate climbed from 0% in 2021 to 1.5% for 2026, while FICA, SUI and ETT stayed flat (irs.gov, payroll.org, checked 2026-10-01).

The EOR’s own fee is on top of the above. Published US-specific numbers in our data range from $199/month (Skuad’s discounted rate) to $699/month (Remote); Deel and G-P both quote a flat $599/month, and Borderless AI $579/month. Most other vendors publish only a global list price ($99–$699/month) or nothing at all, quote-based — Safeguard Global publishes no price for any product or country.

Hidden costs, where actually published: Borderless AI’s general pricing page states no setup fee and a $0 security deposit, against an industry norm it cites of $7,000–$20,000, though that specific claim isn’t confirmed as US-specific. RemoFirst states no setup fee, no minimum term and no termination fee globally. Playroll’s global policy is a refundable security deposit equal to one month’s salary per employee. No vendor discloses a US-specific setup fee, deposit, minimum term or termination fee — where the table above is blank, treat it as unpublished, not zero.

Assumptions: the table uses California, non-exempt or exempt office/IT-type roles, the state’s new-employer SUI rate (3.4%), and FUTA’s corrected 2.1% net rate rather than the possible-but-unconfirmed 5.9% ceiling; state-specific, industry-rated workers’-compensation premiums aren’t priced in.

When you don’t need an EOR

Decision tree: if the hire doesn't work under your direction like staff, engage them as a contractor. If they do and need sponsorship for a new US work visa, you need your own US entity, because EORs generally can't sponsor one. Otherwise an Employer of Record fits.
A role that looks like employment shouldn’t be relabelled as a contract, and US visa sponsorship has to run through an entity that can show it directs the work — something a pure EOR typically can’t demonstrate. Source: uscis.gov, checked 2026-09-30.
  • A genuinely independent contractor. Cheaper and closer to the real relationship if the person sets their own hours and tools and can serve other clients. See how to pay contractors in the US and our hiring guide — several states, especially California’s ABC test, scrutinize this closely.
  • Your own US entity. The only route if the hire needs a new H-1B or similar sponsored work visa, or if you’re hiring into a state like Florida or Texas where state licensing risk around EOR is an open legal question and you’d rather not depend on a vendor’s compliance posture.
  • A PEO. Co-employment alongside an entity you already have, not a substitute for one. Justworks is the clearest example: its EOR product covers 21 other countries but excludes the US outright, where it sells only PEO to companies that already hold a US EIN. See our PEO glossary entry and EOR vs PEO.

What changed in 2026

  • 2026-01-01 — Social Security wage base rises to $184,500 (from $176,100); maximum employer OASDI contribution per employee rises to $11,439.
  • 2026-01-01 — California SDI (employee-paid) withholding rate rises to 1.3%, still uncapped.
  • 2026-01-01 — Every California employer with at least one W-2 employee and no employer-sponsored retirement plan must register for (or certify exemption from) CalSavers — the mandate now reaches employers with 1–4 employees.
  • 2026-01-01 — California’s statewide minimum wage rises to $16.90/hour; New York rises to $17.00 (NYC/Long Island/Westchester) or $16.00 (rest of state); Washington rises to $17.13, the highest state rate in the country.
  • 2026-01-01 — California employers subject to the CCPA must begin conducting a privacy risk assessment before many activities involving employee, applicant or contractor personal information.
  • 2026-05-14 — The US Department of Labor restores the 2019 FLSA white-collar exemption salary thresholds ($684/week standard, $107,432/year highly-compensated) after abandoning its appeal of the 2024 vacatur of the Biden-era rule.
  • 2026-09-30 — Florida’s statutory minimum wage completes its Amendment 2 phase-in, rising to $15.00/hour statewide, in effect through 2027-12-31.
  • Pending, after 2026-11-10 — California’s final 2026 FUTA credit-reduction rate: a confirmed 1.5% base reduction is already in the cost figures above, but a further Benefit Cost Rate add-on of up to 3.8% (net FUTA up to 5.9%) won’t be finalized until after this date.

How we built this page

Facts were collected and checked between 2026-09-30 and 2026-10-01 against primary federal sources where they were reachable (ssa.gov, irs.gov, uscis.gov), Wayback Machine copies where a source blocked automated fetches (dol.gov, dol.ny.gov), and state-government pages for California and Washington specifics (dir.ca.gov, edd.ca.gov, lni.wa.gov, floridajobs.org). Vendor entity claims were checked against each vendor’s own US-facing page; no Delaware or California registry filing could be independently confirmed for any named subsidiary in the time available, so “own entity” here means the clearest first-party statement found, not a verified registry record. The ranking above puts those first-party US-specific claims first, then partner-based vendors, then vendors that don’t disclose their US entity model at all. Nobody pays for placement on this page.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Employer of Record cost in the United States?

Two layers: employer statutory contributions and the EOR's own fee. In California, employer contributions — Social Security, Medicare, FUTA and state SUI/ETT — run about $4,217/year on a $50,000 salary and $8,042/year on $100,000, before any state-specific workers'-comp premium. The EOR fee itself runs from Skuad's $199/month US-specific rate to Remote's $699/month; most vendors only quote a global list price or nothing at all.

Is Employer of Record legal in the United States?

Yes, with limits. No federal or state law bans the EOR model outright, but Florida Statutes Chapter 468 defines 'employee leasing' broadly enough that regulators and law firms argue it can capture single-client EOR arrangements, and Texas Labor Code Chapter 91 requires a PEO licence for a 'coemployment relationship' whose reach for EOR is untested in court (leg.state.fl.us; statutes.capitol.texas.gov, checked 2026-09-30). US joint-employer doctrine adds a separate, federal layer of risk on top.

Which is the best EOR in the United States?

Deel and Remote have the clearest, US-specific evidence of owning their own US entity — Deel names a wholly-owned subsidiary that runs its own payroll engine, Remote states outright that it owns its US legal entity — and both publish a US-specific price ($599/month and $699/month). 'Best' depends on whether you weight price, entity evidence or fee transparency more heavily — see the ranking below.

What is the cheapest Employer of Record in the United States?

Skuad publishes the lowest US-specific figure, $199/month (discounted from $349), on its US page. Native Teams' global list price is lower still, from $99/month, but its dedicated US page defers to that general figure rather than confirming a US-specific rate.

What's the difference between an EOR and a PEO in the United States?

An EOR is the sole legal employer; a PEO co-employs alongside a client that already has its own US entity and EIN. Justworks is the clearest example: its EOR product covers 21 other countries but explicitly excludes the United States, where it offers only PEO. See our [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/) comparison and the [PEO glossary entry](/glossary/peo/).

Can an EOR sponsor a work visa for a new hire in the United States?

Not reliably. USCIS requires the petitioning employer to show it controls hiring, pay, firing and supervision of the worker — the 'right to control' test — which a pure EOR, by design, usually can't satisfy for a new H-1B or similar sponsored petition. Several EOR vendors say this themselves, marketing EOR as an alternative to US visa sponsorship rather than a route into one.

What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in the United States?

In Florida, an EOR later found to be unlicensed 'employee leasing' faces DBPR discipline, and the client's own cost protections may not hold up. More broadly, if the client exercises enough day-to-day control, a joint-employer finding can pull it into US wage-and-hour, workers'-comp or unemployment liability despite having no US entity. A large EOR is also very likely an Applicable Large Employer under the ACA, so its health-coverage obligations are baked into its fee.

Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in the United States?

If the work is genuinely independent, yes — see [how to pay contractors in the US](/software/contractor-payouts/united-states/) and [our hiring guide](/hire-contractors/united-states/). If the role looks like employment — set hours, client-directed, one client — several states, especially California's ABC test, will treat it as employment regardless of the contract label, so an EOR or your own entity is the safer route.

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. Deel solutions/payroll/contractorsemployer-of-recorddocs/payouts 20 August 2026
  2. Remote global-hr/hire-international-contractorsglobal-hr/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsglobal-hr/remote-api 20 August 2026
  3. G-P (Globalization Partners) contractorglobalization-partners.comglobal-teams/global-payroll 30 September 2026
  4. Rippling products/global/global-contractorsproducts/payroll/employer-of-record 20 August 2026
  5. Atlas HXM pricingatlashxm.com 30 September 2026
  6. Borderless AI pricingglobal-contractor-managementhireborderless.com 30 September 2026
  7. Rise contractorsproducts/agent-of-recordproducts/rise-idproducts/hybrid-fiat-crypto-payrollproducts/stablecoin-payroll 20 August 2026
  8. Skuad platform/contractor-paymentsplatform/international-contractorsemployer-of-recordhelp-center/how-to-bulk-pay-contractor-invoices 20 August 2026
  9. RemoFirst global-contractor-paymentsinternational-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  10. Oyster product/global-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  11. Papaya Global paymentspricingcontractor-managementemployer-of-recordpayment-api 20 August 2026
  12. Multiplier solutions/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsproduct/contractor-management-systemproduct/employer-of-record-services 20 August 2026
  13. Native Teams pricingemployer-of-recordwallet 20 August 2026
  14. RemotePass contractorseor 20 August 2026
  15. Playroll contractor-managementemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  16. Rivermate contractor-of-recordrivermate.com 20 August 2026
  17. Boundless faq 30 September 2026
  18. Safeguard Global solutions/contractor-managementcompany/about-us 30 September 2026
  19. Pebl eor-pricing 30 September 2026
  20. Remote People contractor-managementcontractor-of-recordemployer-of-record 30 September 2026

How we researched this page

20 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error