Employer of Record in Hungary: 13 Providers Compared (2026)

Employer of Record in Hungary: your company, the EOR entity in Hungary and your hire

Employer of Record is allowed in Hungary with limits. The law has no EOR category: the only statutory route for an employer to hire a person who works under another company’s direction is agency work (munkaerő-kölcsönzés) in Labour Code Articles 214-222. That is our reading; we found no regulator or law-firm position on EOR itself (net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07).

Employer cost is one line: 13% social contribution tax (szocho) on gross, with no ceiling, which is HUF 2,106,000 a year on a HUF 16,200,000 salary. The EOR fee comes on top: $249-599 per month on Hungary prices, $99-699 on global list prices.

What sets Hungary apart is the agency regime. The agency must be a Hungarian Kft. or EEA company in a government office register, with a HUF 15 million deposit. One worker can stay with one client for 5 years at most and gets the client’s pay and basic conditions. Since 2026-06-06 the guest-worker permit, which only registered agencies could use, is closed (oif.gov.hu, checked 2026-10-07).

An EOR fits an EEA citizen in a role that will not run past five years; a non-EEA hire needs a written answer on who files the permit. For independent work, use a contractor: hire contractors in Hungary and pay them. For the same person in the same job beyond five years, your own Hungarian entity is the cleaner basis.

Employing someone in Hungary: key facts

Hungary has one national Labour Code (Mt.), two national minimum wages, and one employer-borne payroll tax, the social contribution tax (szocho).

Minimum wage

Two national statutory series, both gross per month for full-time work: the general minimum wage (minimálbér) and the guaranteed minimum wage (garantált bérminimum) for jobs that require at least secondary education or a secondary vocational qualification.

YearMinimumGuaranteedSource
2021HUF 167,400HUF 219,00020/2021, checked 2026-10-07
2022HUF 200,000HUF 260,000703/2021, checked 2026-10-07
2023 (from 2023-12-01)HUF 266,800HUF 326,000508/2023, checked 2026-10-07
2024HUF 266,800HUF 326,000508/2023, checked 2026-10-07
2025HUF 290,800HUF 348,800394/2024, checked 2026-10-07
2026HUF 322,800HUF 373,200426/2025, checked 2026-10-07
Line chart 2021-2026: Hungary's general minimum wage rises from HUF 167,400 to HUF 322,800 per month, and the guaranteed minimum wage from HUF 219,000 to HUF 373,200.
Both series are national, gross, per month, in forint. 2021 applies from 2021-02-01; the 2023 rate applies from 2023-12-01 and stayed unchanged through 2024. Source: 426/2025 Government Decree and earlier decrees, checked 2026-10-07.
  • 2026 monthly amounts are HUF 322,800 and HUF 373,200, up 11.0% and 7.0% on 2025. Weekly, daily and hourly amounts for 2026 (minimum: HUF 74,210, 14,850 and 1,856; guaranteed: HUF 85,800, 17,160 and 2,145) come from a Hungarian-language summary of the decree, not the page text (njt.jog.gov.hu, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Tripartite talks on the 2027 figure started on 2026-08-31; no decree as of 2026-10-07 (wageindicator.org, checked 2026-10-07).

Employer contributions

The only payroll tax an employer pays on top of an ordinary employee’s gross pay is szocho, 13% with no ceiling, since 2022-01-01.

ContributionRateCeilingWho bears itSource
Szocho (social contribution tax)13% of grossNoneEmployer, on top of grossnet.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07
Social security contribution18.5% of gross, of which 10% pensionNot checkedEmployee, withheld from grossnet.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07
Vocational training contribution (szakképzési hozzájárulás)Abolished on 2022-01-01NoneNot payablenav.gov.hu, checked 2026-10-07
  • Szocho rate by period: 22% in 2017; 19.5% from 2018-01-01 to 2019-06-30; 17.5% from 2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30; 15.5% from 2020-07-01 to 2021-12-31; 13% from 2022-01-01 (nav.gov.hu, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Szocho credits depend on the employee’s category (young, older, parents, disabled, long-term unemployed), not on salary. Our cost examples apply none.

Working hours and overtime

  • A full-time working day is 8 hours (Art. 92(1)), which on the general Monday-Friday schedule is 40 hours a week. We did the weekly arithmetic; the schedule section was not read.
  • Overtime is work outside the schedule or the working-time frame, or on-call time (Art. 107). Limit: 250 hours a calendar year, plus up to 150 more by written agreement (Art. 109(1)-(2)).
  • Pay: a 50% surcharge on regular pay, or time off in lieu if agreed (Art. 143(2)).
  • Source: net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07.

Annual leave and public holidays

  • 20 working days of basic leave (Art. 116), plus extra days by age: 1 from age 25, rising to 10 from age 45, so up to 30 working days (Art. 117(1)). Parents of children under 16 get more (Art. 118).
  • Sick leave: 15 working days a year, paid at 70% of the absence fee (Art. 126(1), Art. 146(3)).
  • 11 public holidays: 1 Jan, 15 Mar, Good Friday, Easter Monday, 1 May, Whit Monday, 20 Aug, 23 Oct, 1 Nov, 25 Dec, 26 Dec (Art. 102(1)). The minister may swap working days around holidays by annual decree; we did not check the 2026 one.
  • Source: net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07.

Probation

  • Up to 3 months from the start of employment, agreed in the contract; a shorter period can be extended once but never beyond 3 months (Art. 45(5)).
  • Source: net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07.

Notice and severance

Employer dismissal needs a stated justified reason (Art. 66, not read in full). Notice is 30 days (Art. 69(1)); when the employer gives notice it lengthens with tenure at that employer (Art. 69(2)).

Tenure with the employerExtra notice days
3 years+5
5 years+15
8 years+20
10 years+25
15 years+30
18 years+40
20 years+60
  • The parties may agree up to 6 months (Art. 69(3)).
  • Severance applies when the employer dismisses with notice or ceases without a successor: 1 month of absence fee after 3 years, 2 after 5, 3 after 10, 4 after 15, 5 after 20, 6 after 25 (Art. 77(1), (3)). It is not due if dismissal is for the employee’s conduct or non-health-related capability (Art. 77(5)).
  • For agency-work employment, notice is 15 days (Art. 220(2)) and severance counts only the last assignment (Art. 222(5)).
  • Source: net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07.

13th salary and bonuses

  • Not mandatory. We found no 13th or 14th month pay in the Labour Code; bonuses come from the contract or a collective agreement, and we did not review collective agreements (net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07).

Mandatory benefits

  • Statutory social insurance runs through the contributions above, and statutory sick leave is 15 working days at 70%. We found no statutory private health, life or pension insurance obligation for the employer in the Labour Code text read (net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07).

Work permits

  • EEA citizens need no work permit under EU free movement; we did not check this separately against Hungarian law.
  • Third-country nationals need a residence permit that carries work rights under Act XC of 2023: the employment residence permit (up to 2 years, extendable by 1, 3 at most, Art. 28), the National Card (Art. 50, expressly covering agency work, for nationals of countries a Government decree lists), the Hungary Card (Art. 36) or the EU Blue Card (Art. 37).
  • The employment residence permit and Hungary Card can also be granted where the person works for an employer established in a third country to perform an agreement with a Hungarian employer (Art. 28(2), Art. 36(4)).
  • The guest-worker residence permit, which only a registered qualified agency or a preferential employer could use, has been closed to new applications since 2026-06-06 (Government Decree 92/2026).
  • Source: net.jogtar.hu, oif.gov.hu, checked 2026-10-07.

Currency and payroll

  • Hungarian forint (HUF); all statutory amounts here are in forint (mnb.hu, checked 2026-10-07). 1 USD = 323.85 HUF (ECB cross rate, 2026-10-06).
  • Pay is monthly, due by the 10th day of the month after the month worked, by transfer to the employee’s payment account unless the parties agree in writing on cash (Art. 157(1), Art. 158(1)) (net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07).

Allowed with limits, and only through the agency regime. Hungarian law has no EOR category. The one statutory route for an employer to hire a person who works under another company’s direction is agency work under Labour Code Chapter XVI (Articles 214-222). This is our reading of the statute: we found no Hungarian law-firm, ministry or court position on the EOR product itself (net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07).

  • Who may lend. An EEA-seated company allowed to do agency work under its own law, or a Hungarian Kft. or co-operative that meets the legal conditions and is entered in the state employment body’s register. If the lender is deleted from the register, the invalidity rules apply to the employment contract (Art. 215).
  • Registration. Notification to the government office of the seat 30 days before starting; a qualified person employed at least 20 hours a week; a suitable office; a HUF 15,000,000 security in a segregated account, usable only for workers’ damages claims; and no public debts. The registration number goes on business documents (118/2001 Government Decree Art. 4-6, 9(2); text in force from 2024-10-15, later amendments not checked).
  • Five-year limit. A worker may be lent for 5 years at most, counting extensions and repeat assignments within 6 months of the previous one, whether with the same lender or another. Lending beyond that is forbidden (Art. 214(2), 216(1)(c)).
  • Agreement. The agency-borrower agreement must be in writing and is void if lender and borrower are linked by ownership (Art. 217(1)).
  • Equal treatment. The worker gets the basic working and employment conditions of the borrower’s own staff, including pay and benefits (Art. 219(1)-(2)). Pay equality applies from the start, except from day 184 for three groups: open-ended agency contracts paid between assignments, the long-term unemployed, and workers placed with municipally owned companies (Art. 219(3)).

Source for the points above, unless linked: net.jogtar.hu and 118/2001 Government Decree, checked 2026-10-07.

Open question. The Code defines the borrower as the employer under whose direction the worker temporarily works, and does not require a Hungarian seat. We found no ministry opinion or court decision on a foreign borrower with no Hungarian presence who directs the work from abroad.

Risks for the client:

  • Invalid arrangement. If the agency is not on the register or is deleted from it, the invalidity rules apply to the employment contract (Art. 215(2)). The text we read does not spell out the consequences for the client.
  • Client directs the work. It carries occupational safety, working-time and rest-time duties and records during the assignment (Art. 218(4)), must give the agency written work-condition and pay data (Art. 217(3), (5)), and must keep employee-representative bodies informed about agency workers (Art. 216(4)).
  • Equal-pay exposure. The client’s own pay and benefits scale is the comparator (Art. 219(1)-(3)). A client with no Hungarian staff has no comparator and the text gives no rule for it. That is our reading; we found no ministry guidance.
  • Five-year ceiling. After 5 years the arrangement has to end or move to a direct Hungarian employer. We found no fine for breaching the cap in the laws read.
  • Provider sanctions. The government office fines an agency that skips registration or reporting duties; amounts not found (njt.jog.gov.hu, checked 2026-10-07). Check the provider’s registration number.
  • Visas. The guest-worker route closed on 2026-06-06. The Act does not say whether a local agency can be the sponsoring employer for a foreign client’s role.

Who actually employs your hire in Hungary

Hungarian company records are public, but e-cegjegyzek.hu search runs through a session form, so we read them through a public mirror, companywall.hu. The column “Registered as” gives the main activity code (TEÁOR) of the vendor’s Hungarian entity there. The decree says the register of temporary-work agencies is public, but the page we found shows only statistics by county, not names. A code of 7820 therefore shows an agency profile, not a confirmed register entry, and we confirmed no vendor’s licence directly.

ProviderEmployer in HungaryRegistered as (TEÁOR, companywall.hu)EvidenceHungary EOR price
PlayrollOwn entityTemporary agency (7820), Playroll Hungary Kft., since 2025companywall.hu, checked 2026-10-07; PlayrollFrom $399/month, billed separately from payroll costs
SkuadOwn entityTemporary agency (7820), Skuad Hungary Kft., since 2022companywall.hu, checked 2026-10-07$249/month with 12-month commitment; $299/month billed annually (archived page labelled 2025)
DeelOwn entitySoftware publishing (5829), DEEL Hungary Kft., since 2021; separate Deel Payroll Hungary Kft. (6920)Says “Deel has a fully-owned entity in Hungary” (Deel); companywall.hu, checked 2026-10-07From $599/month
G-POwn entityManagement consultancy (7020), Globalization Partners Hungary Kft., since 2021companywall.hu, checked 2026-10-07USD 599/month, flat
RemoteOwn entityTemporary agency (7820), Remote Hungary Kft., since 2020companywall.hu, checked 2026-10-07; its Hungary page makes no own-entity statement$699/month (global price)
BoundlessOwn entityTemporary agency (7820), Boundless Payroll Hungary Kft., since 2022Says it “holds the required temp agency licence” (Boundless); companywall.hu, checked 2026-10-07From €175 / $199 per month (global; checked 2026-10-05)
Native TeamsOwn entityIT services (6290), Native Teams Kft., since 2022Says “we act as the legal employer” (Native Teams); companywall.hu, checked 2026-10-07; link by name and ownerFrom $99/month (global; checked 2026-10-05)
Safeguard GlobalOwn entityAccounting and tax (6920), Safeguard World Hungary Kft., since 2015Its page says the in-country EOR can employ workers and “lease” them to the client (Safeguard Global); companywall.hu, checked 2026-10-07Not published
Borderless AINot disclosedNo Hungarian record foundSays “Our owned-entity model keeps legal employment and service accountability with Borderless AI”, without naming an entity (Borderless AI), checked 2026-10-07$579/month
RivermateNot disclosedNo Hungarian record foundRivermate, checked 2026-10-07$319-639/month (global range; checked 2026-10-05)
Remote PeopleNot disclosedNo Hungarian record foundRemote People, checked 2026-10-07From $199/month (global); page cites a market range of $300-600
Atlas HXMNot disclosedNo Hungarian record foundAtlas HXM, checked 2026-10-07From $599/month (global; checked 2026-10-05)
RemoFirstNot disclosedNo Hungarian record foundRemoFirst (archived copy), checked 2026-10-07From $199/month (global; checked 2026-10-05)
Bar chart: 8 providers have a registered own Hungarian entity, 5 don't disclose one.
Own entity means a Hungarian company record on the companywall.hu mirror of the company register. No vendor named a partner or mixed model for Hungary. Source: vendor country pages and companywall.hu, checked 2026-10-07.

Five of these 13 providers don’t say whether Hungary is served by their own entity or a partner’s, and we found no Hungarian company record we could tie to them. Of the eight with a record, four carry the temporary-agency code: Remote, Skuad, Playroll and Boundless. Deel, G-P, Native Teams and Safeguard Global are coded otherwise, and from public sources we can’t see how they structure an EOR hire. Multiplier and Pebl (as Velocity Global Hungary Kft.) also have entities coded 7820, but they are not in the table because we could not confirm they offer EOR in Hungary; Oyster and Rippling have records coded 7020 on the same basis.

Boundless says it plainly: its Hungary guide states that an EOR in Hungary requires a temporary agency licence and that “The EOR model isn’t recognised in Hungary”. Its licence number is not on the page, and we could not check it. Before signing, ask: “Which Hungarian entity will employ my hire, what is its registration number in the government office’s agency register, and under which agency agreement will it place the worker with us?”

How to choose an EOR in Hungary

Need an entity with the agency profile? Remote, Skuad, Playroll and Boundless are the four whose Hungarian entities carry the temporary-agency code (TEÁOR 7820); Boundless also says it holds the licence. The code is a company-record marker, not proof of a register entry, so still ask for the number. Playroll’s entity was registered in June 2025 and had one employee that year; Remote’s had 176.

Hiring someone from outside the EEA? The guest-worker route is closed. Rivermate’s guide gives hiring times of 3 days for locals, 3 to 5 days for EU nationals and 3 months for non-EU nationals, and says a new entity may be limited in hiring third-country nationals (Rivermate, checked 2026-10-07). The Act does not say whether a local agency can sponsor a worker for a foreign client’s role, so ask the provider in writing who files the application.

Comparing price and speed? Prices shown for Hungary run from $249 (Skuad, archived page, 12-month commitment) through $399 (Playroll), $579 (Borderless AI) to $599 (Deel and G-P). Native Teams, at $99, has the lowest figure in the table, but it is a global list price with no Hungary quote. On speed, Deel’s Hungary page says “as little as 3 days” and Playroll’s says within 10 business days (Deel, Playroll, checked 2026-10-07).

Expect the same person in the same job for more than five years? Then the agency regime’s limit applies to you, and the arrangement must end or move to a direct Hungarian employer. That points to your own Hungarian entity rather than any provider.

All 13 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

Playroll

A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.7 · 209 reviews

EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5

What stands out

  • Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
  • Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
  • Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsFrom $399/month on its Hungary page, onboarding in 10 business days; entity coded as temporary-agency work, registered June 2025 with one employee.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Skuad

A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.

8.0/10

★ 4.6 · 312 reviews

EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated

What stands out

  • broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
  • published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
  • payroll in 70 currencies

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fits$249/month on an archived Hungary page with a 12-month commitment; entity coded as temporary-agency work.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Deel

The broadest all-in-one platform — EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor management and global payroll under one roof, with deep country coverage.

8.7/10

★ 4.8 · 28k reviews

EOR price
from $599/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Entity model
130 owned
Time to hire
As little as 1 day
Certifications
SOC 1, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • 150+ country reach with 130+ owned entities
  • covers EOR, COR, contractor management and payroll
  • strong security & compliance certifications

Not a fit for

  • very small or strictly budget-first teams
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsFrom $599/month on its Hungary page; says it owns its Hungarian entity, which is coded as software publishing.

Read full review Visit site ↗

G-P (Globalization Partners)

The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.

8.3/10

★ 4.4

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
Certifications
SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018
Support
24/7 AI support (G-P Assist); human hours not stated

What stands out

  • Founded 2012 — the longest track record among EOR vendors reviewed so far
  • Broadest certification stack checked: SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001, GDPR
  • 156 countries with a dedicated Globalpedia EOR guide; flat $599/employee/month fee confirmed across sampled countries

Not a fit for

  • price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
  • buyers needing a true Contractor of Record, not payment/classification tooling
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Why it fitsUSD 599/month flat on its Hungary page; Hungarian entity since 2021, coded as management consultancy, 46 employees in 2025.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote

A compliance-first EOR built on 100% owned entities — fewer countries, but no third-party handoffs.

8.4/10

★ 4.4 · 97 reviews

EOR price
$699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing)
Coverage
90+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
2 days (average)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR Level 1, GDPR
Support
24/7 chatbot; live agent Mon-Fri

What stands out

  • 100% owned entities, no third-party partners
  • strong certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, CSA STAR, GDPR)
  • transparent per-product pricing

Not a fit for

  • teams needing the widest possible country list
  • lowest-price seekers
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Why it fitsHungarian entity coded as temporary-agency work since 2020, 176 employees in 2025; $699/month global price, no Hungary quote.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Boundless

A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.

7.0/10

★ 4.8 · 28 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim

What stands out

  • Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
  • Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
  • Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
  • teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsSays it holds the temp agency licence Hungary requires; entity coded as temporary-agency work; global price from $199/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Native Teams

A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.

7.9/10

★ 4.7 · 367 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS

What stands out

  • EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
  • transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
  • dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
  • teams needing a guaranteed onboarding SLA in days
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Why it fitsSays it acts as legal employer; Hungarian entity coded as IT services; global price from $99/month.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Safeguard Global

One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.

7.5/10

★ 4.2 · 141 reviews

EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR

What stands out

  • Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
  • 1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
  • NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management

Not a fit for

  • buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
  • teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsIts Hungary page describes workers 'leased' to the client; entity record since 2015, coded as accounting; no price published.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Borderless AI

A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.

7.3/10

★ 4.8 · 205 reviews

EOR price
$579/mo
Coverage
170+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboarding as fast as 24 hours
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, PIPEDA
Support
24/7 in-house support; dedicated Canada-based contact

What stands out

  • Published flat pricing for all three core products ($579 EOR / $49 contractor / $29 payroll), no 'contact sales' gating
  • No security deposit or salary pre-funding required for EOR, unlike vendors citing $7,000-$20,000 deposits
  • SOC 2 Type II certified with a public trust center; fast-claimed onboarding (24-48 hours)

Not a fit for

  • buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
  • companies requiring a dedicated, separately-branded Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fits$579/month on its Hungary article; says it uses an owned-entity model but names no Hungarian entity, and we found no record.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rivermate

A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.

7.6/10

★ 4.4 · 391 reviews

EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7

What stands out

  • Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
  • Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
  • Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support

Not a fit for

  • enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
  • buyers needing equity/ESOP administration
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsHungary guide gives hiring times: 3 days for locals, about 3 months for non-EU hires; $319-639/month global range.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Remote People

A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.

7.8/10

★ 4.6 · 495 reviews

EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)

What stands out

  • Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
  • Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
  • Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation

Not a fit for

  • buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
  • teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsHungary page says onboarding takes 5 to 10 business days; from $199/month global; no Hungarian entity named.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Atlas HXM

A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.

7.7/10

★ 4.2 · 101 reviews

EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages

What stands out

  • 160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
  • Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
  • AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
  • companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsHungary page is a labour-law guide with no entity statement; from $599/month global list price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

RemoFirst

A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.

7.8/10

★ 4.4 · 440 reviews

EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees

What stands out

  • Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
  • Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
  • Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
  • enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 3 pages

Why it fitsHungary country guide exists, no entity statement or record found; from $199/month global list price.

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesNot a fit for
1 Playroll 7.6 $399 per employee/month (no minimum) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
2 Skuad 8 Starting from $199 per employee/month 160+ buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
3 Deel 8.7 from $599/mo per employee 150+ very small or strictly budget-first teams
4 G-P (Globalization Partners) 8.3 From $599/mo per employee 180+ price-sensitive SMBs, since effective per-employee cost runs high with payroll/benefits
5 Remote 8.4 $699/mo per employee ($599 on annual billing) 90+ teams needing the widest possible country list
6 Boundless 7 From $199/mo per employee 110+ buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
7 Native Teams 7.9 Starts at $99/per employee per month 95+ buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
8 Safeguard Global 7.5 On request 187+ buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
9 Borderless AI 7.3 $579/mo 170+ buyers who need a verified, numbered owned-entity count before signing
10 Rivermate 7.6 From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount) 180+ enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
11 Remote People 7.8 From $199/mo per employee 150+ buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
12 Atlas HXM 7.7 From $599/mo per employee 160+ buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
13 RemoFirst 7.8 Starts at $199 per employee/month 185+ buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product

What it costs to employ someone in Hungary through an EOR

Hungarian employer on-cost is one line: szocho at 13% of gross pay, with no ceiling. The 18.5% social security contribution is withheld from the employee’s gross and is not an extra cost for the client. The examples assume a large-payroll EOR entity. The salaries are about USD 50,000 and USD 100,000 (HUF 16,200,000 and HUF 32,400,000, which are USD 50,022 and USD 100,044 at 1 USD = 323.85 HUF), both far above the 2026 minimum wage of HUF 3,873,600 a year.

Stacked bars: a HUF 16,200,000 salary carries HUF 2,106,000 of employer szocho; a HUF 32,400,000 salary carries HUF 4,212,000.
Szocho at 13% of gross is the only employer-borne statutory contribution we found. The 18.5% social security contribution and income tax are withheld from the employee. Source: Szocho law, checked 2026-10-07.
Gross salaryEmployer statutory costShare of salaryComponents
HUF 16,200,000 (HUF 1,350,000/month)HUF 2,106,00013%Szocho 13% x 16,200,000. Withheld from the employee, not employer cost: social security 18.5%, HUF 2,997,000
HUF 32,400,000 (HUF 2,700,000/month)HUF 4,212,00013%Szocho 13% x 32,400,000. Withheld from the employee: social security 18.5%, HUF 5,994,000

Not included: employer-paid sick pay, the rehabilitation contribution for non-quota employers, benefits, severance, bonuses and szocho credits, which depend on the employee’s category. Source: net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07. Exchange rate: ECB cross rate, 2026-10-06.

The EOR’s own fee comes on top, per month. The Hungary-specific prices we found run from $249 (Skuad, archived page) to $599 (Deel and G-P), with Playroll from $399 and Borderless AI at $579; the rest are global list prices, from $99 (Native Teams) to $699 (Remote).

Other costs, where published:

  • Skuad: the $249 monthly rate carries a 12-month commitment on the archived page (Skuad, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Playroll: the fee is billed separately from payroll costs (Playroll, checked 2026-10-07).

For the other vendors, setup, deposit and termination fees are unpublished; treat a blank as unknown, not zero.

Stacked bars by year: employer contributions on a HUF 16,200,000 salary were HUF 2,754,000 in 2021 and HUF 2,106,000 from 2022 onward.
Same HUF 16,200,000 salary every year. In 2021 szocho was 15.5% and the vocational training contribution 1.5%; from 2022-01-01 szocho is 13% and the training contribution is abolished, a drop of 23.5%. The 1.5% rate comes from a NAV-based summary, not the repealed statute. Source: nav.gov.hu, checked 2026-10-07.

When you don’t need an EOR

Decision tree: a non-EEA hire needs a written answer on who files the permit. Otherwise, a role beyond 5 years needs your own Hungarian entity; any other role fits the agency-law EOR.
The guest-worker permit has been closed to new applications since 2026-06-06; whether a local agency can sponsor a client’s role is not confirmed. The 5-year limit counts repeat assignments within 6 months. Source: Mt. Art. 214-216, OIF, checked 2026-10-07.
  • A genuinely independent contractor. If the person works on their own terms rather than inside your team’s direction, see how to hire contractors in Hungary and how to pay them.
  • Your own Hungarian entity. The route when the same person will hold the same job for more than 5 years: the agency arrangement must then end or move to a direct Hungarian employer (Mt. Art. 214(2), 216(1)(c)) (net.jogtar.hu, checked 2026-10-07).

What changed in 2026

  • 2026-01-01 — Minimum wage rises 11% to HUF 322,800 a month from HUF 290,800, and the guaranteed minimum wage 7% to HUF 373,200 from HUF 348,800 (426/2025 Government Decree). The 2024 wage agreement had planned a 13% rise to HUF 328,600; press reports say it was cut for weaker growth and higher inflation.
  • 2026-06-06 — Guest-worker residence permits close to new applications (Government Decree 92/2026): no third country is currently eligible. Applications paid by 2026-06-05, valid permits and extensions continue. This removes the main route by which qualified agencies brought in third-country workers; the employment residence permit and National Card are not affected, per the immigration authority, which says a wider review of employment rules is planned (oif.gov.hu, checked 2026-10-07).
  • 2026-06-07 — Deadline for member states to transpose the Pay Transparency Directive (EU) 2023/970. A law-firm note said Hungary might miss it, and we found no Hungarian transposition act. We read the note only through a search summary (cms.law, checked 2026-10-07).
  • 2026-08-31 — Tripartite talks on the 2027 minimum wage start. The Government sets the figure by decree at year-end; the 2026 decree was published on 2025-12-23. No decree as of 2026-10-07 (wageindicator.org, checked 2026-10-07).

Numbers vendors haven’t updated

  • Remote People gives a 1.5% vocational training contribution next to the 13% employer rate, and elsewhere a “14.5% employer social contribution rate”. The training contribution was abolished on 2022-01-01, and 13% is the only employer-borne contribution we found (Remote People, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Deel shows “Estimated Employer Cost 13.60%+fixed fees” on its Hungary page, where the law we read gives 13%. The page does not say what the difference covers. Its blog says onboarding is live in under 5 days, its Hungary page says as little as 3 (Deel, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Playroll describes annual leave of 21 days after 3 years of service rising to 25 after 25 years. The Labour Code ties extra days to age: 1 from age 25, up to 10 from age 45 (Art. 117(1)) (Playroll, checked 2026-10-07).
  • Skuad’s prices come from an archived copy labelled “Updated for 2025”; the live site did not open (Skuad, checked 2026-10-07).

How we built this page

Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-07 against the Labour Code, the social security and szocho laws, the Act on residence of third-country nationals and NAV and OIF notices. Hungarian entities were read through companywall.hu, a public mirror of the company register, because the register’s own search runs through a session form; the register of temporary-work agencies has no open list of names that we could find, so no vendor’s licence is confirmed. Where no Hungarian record turned up, we relied on the vendor’s own statements and left the employer as “not disclosed”. Vendors with a Hungarian entity record come first, ordered by published Hungary price and completeness of data, then those that don’t disclose. Nobody pays for placement on this page.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Employer of Record cost in Hungary?

Two layers. The employer pays 13% social contribution tax on gross with no ceiling: HUF 2,106,000 a year on HUF 16,200,000 and HUF 4,212,000 on HUF 32,400,000. The EOR fee is on top: Hungary pages show $249 to $599 per month, and global list prices run from $99 to $699.

Is Employer of Record legal in Hungary?

Allowed with limits. Hungarian law has no EOR category; the one statutory route is agency work under Labour Code Articles 214-222, with the agency a Kft. or EEA company entered in the government office register and holding a HUF 15 million deposit. We found no regulator or law-firm position on EOR itself, so this is our reading of the statute.

Which is the best EOR in Hungary?

Remote, Skuad, Playroll and Boundless are the four whose Hungarian entities carry the temporary-agency code (TEÁOR 7820), and Boundless says it holds the agency licence. The code is a company-record marker, not a register entry; the agency register has no open list of names, so ask each provider for its registration number.

What is the cheapest Employer of Record in Hungary?

Among Hungary prices, Skuad shows $249 per month on an archived page, with a 12-month commitment. Playroll starts at $399. Native Teams has the lowest global list price at $99, but that is not a Hungary quote.

What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Hungary?

The client directs the work, so it carries occupational safety, working-time and rest-time duties and must give the agency pay data. The agency worker gets the client's basic conditions and equal pay, from day 1 for most workers and from day 184 for three listed groups. One worker can be placed at one client for 5 years at most, and a contract with an unregistered agency falls under the invalidity rules.

Can an EOR sponsor a work permit in Hungary?

Not through the guest-worker route: it has been closed to new applications since 2026-06-06 (Decree 92/2026). Other titles remain, such as the employment residence permit and the National Card, but the Act does not say whether a local agency can sponsor a worker for a foreign client's role. Ask the provider in writing who files the application.

Should I hire a contractor instead of using an EOR in Hungary?

If the work is genuinely independent, yes: see [how to hire contractors in Hungary](/hire-contractors/hungary/) and [how to pay them](/software/contractor-payouts/hungary/). For an employee, the alternative is your own Hungarian entity. See also [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/).

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. Playroll contractor-managementemployer-of-record 20 August 2026
  2. Skuad platform/contractor-paymentsplatform/international-contractorsemployer-of-recordhelp-center/how-to-bulk-pay-contractor-invoices 20 August 2026
  3. Deel solutions/payroll/contractorsemployer-of-recorddocs/payouts 20 August 2026
  4. G-P (Globalization Partners) contractorglobalization-partners.comglobal-teams/global-payroll 30 September 2026
  5. Remote global-hr/hire-international-contractorsglobal-hr/contractor-invoicing-and-paymentsglobal-hr/remote-api 20 August 2026
  6. Boundless faq 30 September 2026
  7. Native Teams pricingemployer-of-recordwallet 20 August 2026
  8. Safeguard Global solutions/contractor-managementcompany/about-us 30 September 2026
  9. Borderless AI pricingglobal-contractor-managementhireborderless.com 30 September 2026
  10. Rivermate contractor-of-recordrivermate.com 20 August 2026
  11. Remote People contractor-managementcontractor-of-recordemployer-of-record 30 September 2026
  12. Atlas HXM pricingatlashxm.com 30 September 2026
  13. RemoFirst global-contractor-paymentsinternational-contractorsemployer-of-record 20 August 2026

How we researched this page

13 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error