Employer of Record is a grey area in Costa Rica. There is no EOR-specific law, licence or registration; the Código de Trabajo knows only the employer (patrono) and the intermediary, and the Labour Ministry’s legal department calls intermediation a “zona gris”. A client that directs the worker’s daily work risks being treated as the real employer, with joint liability under art. 3.
Statutory employer cost in 2026 is 34.16% of gross: nine CCSS-collected lines at 25.83%, plus aguinaldo of one month’s pay a year. The compulsory INS occupational-risk insurance is not in that figure, because no confirmed rate for office work was found. EOR fees published by the 19 providers here run from $99 to $699 per employee per month, mostly global list prices.
Remote is the only provider that says in so many words that it owns its Costa Rican entity. Rivermate says it operates the country directly, backed by “our own local infrastructure”. The registry that would confirm either is behind a login, so none is registry-verified.
An EOR fits a long-term hire you want on local payroll without a Costa Rican company, if you accept the recharacterisation risk. If the person works independently, a contractor is the cleaner arrangement. If you will direct the work like any employee and cannot accept that risk, employing through your own company means no intermediary is involved.
Employing someone in Costa Rica: key facts
Employment rules sit in the Código de Trabajo, social charges go through the CCSS, and minimum wages are fixed by annual decree; figures are national and checked 2026-10-05.
Minimum wage
There is no single national minimum. The private-sector minimum is set by occupation category and education level in an annual decree (Consejo Nacional de Salarios, then an MTSS decree, effective 1 January).
Category (2026, full-time)
Monthly minimum
Licenciado Universitario
CRC 796,921.00
Bachiller Universitario
CRC 664,078.07
Diplomado de Educación Superior
CRC 585,484.58
Técnico de Educación Superior
CRC 542,096.58
Trabajador en Ocupación Calificada
CRC 419,755.80
Ocupación No Calificada
CRC 373,092.30
All in force from 2026-01-01 (MTSS, checked 2026-10-05). The Bachiller and Licenciado minimums apply to workers hired in a role that requires a recognised university degree; if the tasks fall in a higher occupational category, that category’s wage applies. The MTSS release confirms the +1.63% increase (Decreto 45303-MTSS) and CRC 10,650.86 more a month for Bachiller; the 2026 amounts come from a secondary table (siemprealdia.co, checked 2026-10-05) because the decree text was not reachable.
The reference category for an office or professional hire; other categories are in the table above. The 2022 point is the mid-year revision effective 2022-07-01. Source: MTSS decrees, EY, siemprealdia.co, checked 2026-10-05.
Employer contributions
Employer social charges are collected through the CCSS. The nine lines below sum to 25.83% of gross salary in 2026, and no salary ceiling was found in the sources reviewed.
Contribution
Employer rate
SEM (health and maternity)
9.25%
IVM (disability, old age, death)
5.58%
FODESAF (family allowances)
5.00%
IMAS
0.50%
INA (non-agricultural employers with 5+ workers)
1.50%
Banco Popular, employer contribution
0.25%
Banco Popular, LPT employer contribution
0.25%
LPT labour capitalisation fund (FCL)
1.50%
LPT complementary pension fund (ROP/OPC)
2.00%
Sources: Alegra for the line split, KPMG for IVM, Ley 7983 for FCL, checked 2026-10-05. The CCSS’s own table did not open, so the split rests on these sources.
Payroll guides quote a headline of 26.83% by adding a referential 1.00% for INS occupational-risk insurance. That premium is a separate INS policy priced by the employer’s activity, and no confirmed rate for office or IT work was found, so our cost figures leave it out.
IVM rises in three-year steps: 5.25% (2020-2022), 5.42% (2023-2025), 5.58% (2026-2028) and 5.75% from 2029-01-01 (KPMG, checked 2026-10-05).
Working hours and overtime
Ordinary day shift: 8 hours a day and 48 hours a week; night shift 6 hours a day; mixed shift 7 hours a day (arts. 136, 138).
Overtime is paid at +50% over the ordinary wage (art. 139); ordinary plus overtime hours may not exceed 12 a day (art. 140).
Work on a mandatory-pay holiday is paid double; overtime on it triple.
Minimum two weeks of paid vacation per 50 weeks of continuous service for the same employer (art. 153); the employer sets the date within 15 weeks after the 50 weeks (art. 155).
Vacation is paid out in cash only on termination, for occasional or piece work, or in justified cases (art. 156).
12 official holidays in 2026. Nine are of mandatory pay: 1 Jan, 2 Apr (Holy Thursday), 3 Apr (Good Friday), 11 Apr, 1 May, 25 Jul, 15 Aug, 15 Sep and 25 Dec. Three are of non-mandatory pay: 2 Aug, 31 Aug and 1 Dec. Mandatory-pay holidays are paid double if worked, and no employee can be forced to work one.
The Código has no formal statutory probation clause.
In practice the first three months work as one: notice and severance only start after three months of continuous work (arts. 28-29), so an indefinite contract can be ended in that window without preaviso or cesantía. Accrued vacation and proportional aguinaldo are still payable.
Source: MTSS Código de Trabajo, checked 2026-10-05. This reading is inferred from the text of arts. 28-29; no case-law check was done.
Notice and severance
Dismissal without just cause under an indefinite contract requires written notice, which can be replaced by paying the salary for the notice period (art. 28).
Continuous service
Notice
3 to 6 months
1 week
More than 6 months, up to 1 year
15 days
More than 1 year
1 month
Cesantía (art. 29, as amended by Ley 7983): 7 days of salary at 3-6 months and 14 days at 6-12 months; then per year worked from 19.5 days (year 1) up to 22 days (years 7-9), easing to 20 days from year 13; capped at the last 8 years of service, on the average salary of the last six months (art. 30).
Aguinaldo is mandatory: one month of salary a year, calculated on the average of ordinary and extraordinary salary earned from 1 December to 30 November and paid within the first 20 days of December (Ley 2412 arts. 1, 2, 4).
Proportional if under a year, with at least one month of service (art. 3). Not counted toward CCSS contributions (art. 7) and exempt from income tax (art. 9).
CCSS health and pension cover for every employee through the contributions above.
Occupational-risk insurance is compulsory for all employers and workers (arts. 193, 201); the duty stays with the employer even when workers are under intermediaries, and an uninsured employer answers for the medical, rehabilitation and cash benefits. The premium is priced by economic activity and claims record.
Maternity leave: one month before and three months after birth at full salary, split 50/50 between the CCSS and the employer (art. 95).
LPT funds and aguinaldo, as above.
Source: MTSS Código de Trabajo, checked 2026-10-05. Paternity leave and sick pay were not researched for this page.
Work permits
Foreigners need a migration status that expressly authorises paid work.
There is no single work visa: routes include temporary residence tied to an employer, role or specialisation, and a company-registration route with the immigration authority (DGME) for multinationals.
Whether an EOR can act as sponsor is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Source: AG Legal, a Costa Rican law firm whose sister company sells EOR services, so treat it as commentary; checked 2026-10-05.
Currency and payroll
Currency is the Costa Rican colón (CRC). Reference rate on 2026-10-05: 1 USD = 462.08 CRC (Banco General, BCCR reference).
The parties fix the pay period; it may not exceed one fortnight for manual workers and one month for intellectual workers (art. 168).
Grey area. Costa Rica has no EOR-specific law, licence or registration. The Código de Trabajo only knows the patrono (employer) and the intermediario (art. 3), and the Ministry of Labour’s legal department has itself called intermediation, subcontracting and outsourcing a “zona gris” without a framework that clearly allocates responsibility between a staffing provider and the client (MTSS opinion DAJ-AE-237-13, checked 2026-10-05). The rules that matter:
Arts. 2 and 18: the patrono is anyone who employs services under an express or implied contract, and an employment contract is presumed between the person who works and the person who receives the services. The reality of the relationship, not the label, decides.
Art. 3: an intermediary contracts others’ services for a patrono, and the parties are jointly liable (“solidariamente”) for the Code, its regulations and social-security provisions. Those who undertake work under contract with their own capital are patronos, not intermediaries.
Sala Segunda test, quoted in the MTSS opinion: subordination is decisive. Indicators include one sole client, who gives instructions, who sets place and schedule, who provides tools, who pays social charges and who pays the worker. Where subordination runs to the beneficiary, that party is treated as employer for all legal effects.
Source for the articles: MTSS Código de Trabajo, checked 2026-10-05. The opinion dates from 2013 and later case law was not reviewed; no ruling or circular naming an Employer of Record was found.
What this means for a client:
Recharacterisation as direct employer. If you assign tasks, set hours, supply tools and integrate the person into your team, a labour court can treat you as the real employer under arts. 2, 3 and 18, with the EOR’s role reduced to intermediary.
Joint liability under art. 3 for what the EOR fails to pay or register: minimum wages, aguinaldo, vacation, cesantía, CCSS charges and the occupational-risk policy.
Uninsured accident: the duty to insure occupational risk stays with the employer even where workers are under intermediaries (arts. 193, 201).
Pending bill 23.920 (Solidaridad Laboral en casos de Subcontratación o Tercerización de Servicios, 2023) would add a paragraph to art. 3 and a new art. 3 bis making contracting and subcontracted companies jointly liable for wages, aguinaldo, CCSS, IMAS, FODESAF and more (crhoy.com, checked 2026-10-05). Its current status was not confirmed, so treat it as a proposal.
Immigration: employers, intermediaries and contractors may not use a foreign worker whose status does not authorise the job (AG Legal, checked 2026-10-05).
Who actually employs your hire in Costa Rica
The table shows what each provider’s own Costa Rica-facing page says. The Registro Nacional (rnpdigital.com) needs a login to search companies (checked 2026-10-05) and no open mirror turned up, so no row below is registry-confirmed.
Provider
Employer in Costa Rica
Evidence (all checked 2026-10-05)
Costa Rica EOR price
Remote
Own entity (vendor statement)
FAQ: “at Remote, we own our own legal entity in Costa Rica”; entity not named. Remote
$699/month (plan widget on its Costa Rica page; global list)
Rivermate
Own (vendor wording: “own local infrastructure”)
Lists Costa Rica under “Where we operate directly”, backed by “our own local infrastructure”; entity not named. Rivermate
$319-$639/month (global range; “may vary by country”)
Skuad
Not disclosed
Payoneer page says “local entities”, none named for Costa Rica. Payoneer
Global line “Owned and operated entities in 160+ countries”; none named for Costa Rica. Atlas HXM
From $599/month (global), plus local-service rate, FX and benefits
Remote People
Not disclosed
”Zero entity” refers to the client, not its own employer. Remote People
From $199/month (site menu, global)
Native Teams
Not disclosed
Only a PEO page: “acts as a legal employer for your organisation”. Native Teams
From $99/month (global EOR list)
Pebl
Not disclosed
Statutory guide; a case study reports 32 employees onboarded. Pebl
Not found (pricing page returns 404)
Safeguard Global
Not disclosed
”EOR partner” means the client’s partner; no entity statement. Safeguard Global
Not published
Rippling
Not disclosed
Tells readers to ask; no answer for Rippling. Rippling
Quote-based
Papaya Global
Not disclosed
Site blocked our fetch (403); nothing read. Papaya Global
Not confirmed
Justworks
Not disclosed
Archived page (2025-09-06); no entity statement. Justworks
Not confirmed
”Says own” means a first-person vendor statement naming Costa Rica; no registry record could be checked. A global-only claim counts as not disclosed. Source: vendor country pages, checked 2026-10-05.
Seventeen of 19 providers do not say who employs your hire in Costa Rica, and for the other two the only evidence is the vendor’s own wording. That matters because the employer is the party registered with the CCSS and insured for occupational risk. Before signing, ask: which legal entity will employ my hire, what is its cédula jurídica, and is it registered with the CCSS and insured for occupational risk for my hire’s activity?
How to choose an EOR in Costa Rica
Do you need the entity question settled first? Only Remote and Rivermate speak to it for Costa Rica, and neither names the entity. If it is a precondition, start there and ask for the name in writing; for everyone else, treat it as open.
Is the hire a foreign national? No page we read confirms that an EOR can sponsor a work permit in Costa Rica. Remote and Playroll both add about three extra days for a right-to-work assessment for non-nationals. Get the provider’s position on sponsorship in writing before you promise a start date.
How fast do you need the hire to start? Published figures: Deel says as little as 2 days, Playroll 1-5 days, Rivermate 1-2 weeks for local employees. Remote and Playroll both cut payroll off on the 10th of the month.
Price or completeness of data? Published prices span $99 to $699 per month, but most are global list rates. Only Skuad ($249 promotion, regular $349), Deel and G-P show a figure on a Costa Rica-specific page. Skuad and Boundless belong to the same group (Boundless now trades as Payoneer Workforce Management), so compare them once, not twice.
A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.4 · 391 reviews
EOR price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Coverage
180+ countries
Entity model
38 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: ~48 hours in standard markets, same-day in some; longer in complex jurisdictions
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
24/7
What stands out
Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
Why it fitsLists Costa Rica among countries it operates directly, backed by 'our own local infrastructure'; $319-$639/month global range, onboarding 1-2 weeks.
A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.
8.0/10
★ 4.6 · 312 reviews
EOR price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Coverage
160+ countries
Time to hire
Not publicly stated
What stands out
broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
payroll in 70 currencies
Not a fit for
buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
A transparently-priced EOR and contractor platform with broad 180+ country coverage and unusually strong Africa/Middle East reach. Best for cost-conscious SMBs that want published prices and hands-on support over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.7 · 209 reviews
EOR price
$399 per employee/month (no minimum)
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: EOR onboarding in 2-5 days; compliant contract generated in ~5 minutes
Certifications
SOC 2, GDPR
Support
24/5
What stands out
Transparent flat pricing: EOR $399/employee/mo, contractor $35/contractor/mo, no onboarding/offboarding fees
Broad 180+ country coverage with strong Africa/MENA reach
Fast self-claimed onboarding (2-5 days) and well-reviewed dedicated CSM/ESM support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
The oldest, most analyst-recognized EOR (founded 2012) — deepest certification stack and widest documented country footprint, but no owned-entity disclosure or dedicated Contractor of Record product.
8.3/10
★ 4.4
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
180+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'hire anywhere in minutes'; no SLA published
A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.
8.4/10
★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews
EOR price
Starting at $400 per month
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: onboard global hires in 24 hours; compliant contract in 5 minutes (not an SLA)
Certifications
SOC 2 Type I, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022
What stands out
EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount
Not a fit for
buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.
7.0/10
★ 4.8 · 28 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: hire "within a few days"; no SLA published
Support
Avg response <1hr, resolution <1 day; no 24/7 claim
What stands out
Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK
Not a fit for
buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
A budget-friendly, transparently-priced EOR with broad headline coverage (185+ countries) and a free contractor-management tier. Strongest for cost-conscious teams that want published prices up front rather than a sales quote.
7.8/10
★ 4.4 · 440 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $199 per employee/month
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 1-3 days in most locations once documentation and contracts are approved
Certifications
ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR
Support
24/5 customer support; 24/7 for hiring managers and global employees
What stands out
Transparent published pricing: EOR from $199/employee/month, free contractor tier, $25/mo premium contractor tier
Broad headline coverage: EOR in 185+ countries, contractors in 150+, visas/work permits in 110+
Stated no setup fees, minimum contracts or termination fees
Not a fit for
buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
enterprises requiring extensive compliance attestations beyond ISO 27001 / SOC 2 Type II
A young (2023) AI-native EOR with transparent flat pricing across EOR, contractor management and payroll — but unverifiable country-ownership claims and a thinner track record than established rivals.
A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.
7.7/10
★ 4.2 · 101 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
no partners
Time to hire
Vendor claims conflict: 'days' vs '2 weeks'; no SLA
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, GDPR
Support
24-hour support team (vendor claim); 15+ languages
What stands out
160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
A profitable, VC-free global-employment company that rebranded from Horizons in 2026, with strong G2/Capterra scores — but a split brand identity and no disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 495 reviews
EOR price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
150+ countries
Time to hire
Local contracts in 24-48 hrs; up to 2-4 weeks elsewhere
Certifications
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR
Support
Business hours; avg response <2hrs (top tier)
What stands out
Founded 2018 and profitable without VC funding - a longer, more stable track record than several younger rivals
Consistently high G2 (4.7/334) and Capterra (4.9/72) scores
Widest product range reviewed here: EOR, COR, contractor management, global payroll, US PEO, recruitment, incorporation
Not a fit for
buyers wanting a single, unchanging brand name and URL for contracts
teams that require a disclosed, numeric owned-vs-partner entity split before signing
A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.
7.9/10
★ 4.7 · 367 reviews
EOR price
Starts at $99/per employee per month
Coverage
95+ countries
Time to hire
Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Certifications
GDPR, SOC 2, ISO, PCI DSS
What stands out
EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk
Not a fit for
buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
A 12-year EOR (rebranded from Velocity Global in 2025) with a large G2 review base and analyst recognition across 185+ countries, but thin transparency on entity ownership and pricing.
7.8/10
★ 4.6 · 603 reviews
EOR price
$399/mo per employee
Coverage
185+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 'as little as 24 hours', no entity needed
Certifications
SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, GDPR
Support
Vendor claim: guidance available any time, in-house experts
What stands out
12-year track record (est. 2014) with $1B in annual global payroll processed and 200+ in-house legal experts
SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; states GDPR-principle compliance
Large, strongly rated G2 footprint: 4.6/5 from 597 reviews
Not a fit for
buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not general contractor management
teams that require a fully disclosed owned-vs-partner entity count before signing
One of the oldest players in the category (payroll since 2008, EOR since 2009/2010) — a large logo base and solid ratings, but no published pricing and a mixed entity model.
7.5/10
★ 4.2 · 141 reviews
EOR price
On request
Coverage
187+ countries
Time to hire
Vendor claim: 2 days once accepted; 1-2 weeks standard
Certifications
GDPR
What stands out
Founded 2008, among the longest-operating vendors in the category; still led by founder/CEO Bjorn Reynolds
1,500+ organizations served, and independently registry-confirmed owned entities in at least Spain and Singapore
NelsonHall NEAT 2025 Leader (Global EOR services) and a G2 Fall 2026 Leader badge for Contractor Management
Not a fit for
buyers who want to compare EOR pricing without a sales call
teams that need one uniform, publicly-verifiable owned-entity story across every country
A unified workforce platform (HR, IT and Finance) with EOR in 80 countries and contractor payments in 185+ — strongest when you want employees, contractors, payroll, apps and devices managed in one system.
8.3/10
★ 4.8 · 23k reviews
EOR price
Custom quote
Coverage
80+ countries
Time to hire
≈5 days to payday in popular markets (12 in less common)
Certifications
SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2
What stands out
EOR live in 80 countries; contractor payments in 185+ and 50+ currencies
unified HR, IT and Finance platform
broad security/compliance (SOC 1/2/3 Type II, ISO 27001/27018/42001)
Not a fit for
buyers who need published, transparent EOR pricing up front
A payroll- and payments-led global workforce platform for enterprises, with EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries and a published 'from $599/mo per employee' EOR price — strongest when payroll depth, payments control and pricing transparency matter.
8.2/10
★ 4.3 · 154 reviews
EOR price
From $599/mo per employee
Coverage
160+ countries
Entity model
40 owned
Time to hire
Vendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA stated
Certifications
ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II
What stands out
EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries
published EOR price (from $599/mo per employee) plus tiered payroll pricing — unusually transparent for the category
owns/operates EOR entities in 40 countries and contractor (AOR) entities in 180
Not a fit for
buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
those needing a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product
Primarily a US PEO and payroll platform — audited (SOC 1/2, ESAC, IRS CPEO) — with a newer, smaller EOR product covering 43 documented countries at a flat $599/employee/month.
companies needing EOR coverage outside Justworks' ~43 documented countries
What it costs to employ someone in Costa Rica through an EOR
The EOR is the employer of record and runs CCSS registration and payroll, so the statutory charges below apply to the hire’s salary however the EOR bills you. The two examples are an ordinary private-sector employee in IT or office work, paid 12 monthly salaries by a large-payroll EOR entity, converted at 1 USD = 462.08 CRC (Banco General, BCCR reference, checked 2026-10-05).
Employer statutory cost only, before the EOR’s fee and before INS occupational-risk insurance. No contribution ceiling was found, so the share is the same at both salaries. Source: Alegra, KPMG, Ley 2412, checked 2026-10-05.
Gross salary per year
Employer statutory cost
Components
CRC 23,104,000 (USD 50,000)
CRC 7,893,096.53, 34.16%
Nine CCSS-collected lines CRC 5,967,763.20 (25.83%) plus aguinaldo CRC 1,925,333.33
CRC 46,208,000 (USD 100,000)
CRC 15,786,193.07, 34.16%
Nine CCSS-collected lines CRC 11,935,526.40 (25.83%) plus aguinaldo CRC 3,850,666.67
Source: Alegra for the rate split, KPMG for IVM, checked 2026-10-05. Both salaries are far above the Bachiller Universitario minimum of CRC 7,968,936.84 a year. INA at 1.50% applies because the EOR has five or more workers.
Not in the table:
INS occupational-risk premium. It is priced per economic activity and no confirmed rate for office or IT work was found. Payroll guides use a referential 1.00%, which would add CRC 231,040 and CRC 462,080 respectively.
Paid vacation sits inside gross salary, so it is not added.
Cesantía is a contingent cost on dismissal and is not accrued here.
The contribution rate moved little over the period: only IVM changed (5.25% in 2021-2022, 5.42% in 2023-2025, 5.58% in 2026), taking the nine-line total on the same salary from 25.50% to 25.83%. That is a rise of 0.33 points, so there is no history chart. The earlier years assume the other eight lines were unchanged; only the IVM steps were verified for 2021-2025.
The EOR’s own fee comes on top. Published prices run from $99 to $699 per employee per month: Native Teams $99 (global list; its Costa Rica page is a PEO page), Boundless, RemoFirst and Remote People from $199, Skuad $249 on its Costa Rica page (promotion, regular $349), Playroll from $399, Multiplier from $459 on annual contracts, Borderless AI $579, Deel, G-P and Atlas from $599, Remote and Oyster $699. Rivermate gives a $319-$639 range, Rippling quotes on request, and Pebl, Safeguard Global, Papaya Global and Justworks publish nothing we could confirm. Most of these are global list prices, not Costa Rica rates.
Hidden costs: none of the 19 providers publishes a setup fee, deposit, minimum term or termination fee for Costa Rica. Where the field is blank, treat it as unpublished, not zero.
When you don’t need an EOR
Subordination to the client, not the contract label, decides who the employer is. Source: MTSS opinion DAJ-AE-237-13, checked 2026-10-05.
A genuinely independent contractor. Art. 18 presumes an employment contract with whoever receives the services, and the Sala Segunda indicators quoted by the MTSS (one sole client, who instructs, who sets place and schedule, who provides tools, who pays) point to employment. A person who serves several clients and sets their own hours is a different case; see contractor misclassification for the general risk.
Your own Costa Rican employer. If you employ directly you are the patrono under art. 2, with no intermediary between you and the worker, and you register with the CCSS and insure occupational risk yourself (arts. 193, 201). The art. 3 joint-liability analysis applies to intermediaries. Our data holds no setup cost or timeline for this route.
A PEO. Native Teams’ only Costa Rica page describes a PEO in which “the employment will be shared jointly” between Native Teams and you, which is co-employment rather than EOR. See EOR vs PEO, the PEO glossary entry and co-employment.
What changed in 2026
2026-01-01: IVM employer contribution rises from 5.42% to 5.58%, taking the nine-line total to 25.83% (26.83% with the referential INS 1.00%). Valid through 2028-12-31 (KPMG, checked 2026-10-05).
2026-01-01: private-sector minimum wages rise 1.63% across all categories (Decreto Ejecutivo 45303-MTSS); Bachiller Universitario reaches CRC 664,078.07 a month (MTSS, checked 2026-10-05).
2026-08-24: not in force. The Legislative Assembly returned the “4x3” exceptional-schedule bill (expediente 24.290, 12-hour days, 4 days on and 3 off) to an earlier text; on 2026-08-28 deputies excluded public-sector workers. Ordinary hours remain 8 a day and 48 a week (Infobae, checked 2026-10-05).
2026-08-31: 31 August (Ley 10050) falls on a weekday for the first time, a Monday in 2026; non-mandatory pay (Observador, checked 2026-10-05).
2029-01-01 (scheduled): the last IVM step, employer 5.75% (Delfino, checked 2026-10-05).
Numbers vendors haven’t updated
Minimum wage. Remote’s Costa Rica page gives CRC 487,335 a month for “non-skilled workers” from January 2026, up to CRC 796,921 for graduates. The lowest 2026 category is CRC 373,092.30 (Ocupación No Calificada), and CRC 487,335 matches none of the six categories we found. Atlas, Playroll and Boundless quote about CRC 373,092 for that category, in line with the MTSS figures. Borderless AI still shows 2024 rates (CRC 353,074 to CRC 516,779).
Working week. Deel’s page lists a standard 40-hour Monday to Friday week. The statutory ordinary day shift is 48 hours a week (Código de Trabajo art. 136).
Public holidays. Remote and Playroll write 9, G-P 11 and RemoFirst 15. The 2026 count is 12 official holidays, 9 of mandatory pay and 3 of non-mandatory pay (AG Legal, checked 2026-10-05).
Employer cost.Deel’s calculator shows an “Estimated Employer Cost” of 27.64%; the payroll-guide headline is 26.83%, which includes a referential 1.00% for INS (EY, checked 2026-10-05). We could not reconcile the two.
How we built this page
Facts were collected and checked on 2026-10-05 against government and statutory texts (the Código de Trabajo, MTSS decrees and opinions, Ley 2412) and, for the CCSS split, payroll guides and big-firm tax alerts, because the CCSS table did not open. Provider entity claims come from each provider’s own Costa Rica-facing page; the Registro Nacional could not be searched without a login, so none is registry-verified, and several pages were read from archived copies. Providers that say they own their Costa Rican operation come first, then the rest by published Costa Rica price and completeness of data. Nobody pays for placement on this page.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Employer of Record cost in Costa Rica?
Two layers. Employer statutory cost in 2026 is 25.83% of gross for the nine CCSS-collected lines plus aguinaldo of one month's pay a year, 34.16% in total, before the separately priced INS occupational-risk insurance. The EOR fee comes on top: published prices run from $99 to $699 per employee per month, mostly global list prices rather than Costa Rica-specific rates.
Is Employer of Record legal in Costa Rica?
It is a grey area. Costa Rica has no EOR-specific law, licence or registration, and the Ministry of Labour's legal department (opinion DAJ-AE-237-13) calls outsourcing and intermediation a 'zona gris'. Subordination to the client is what makes a court look at the client as the employer (Código de Trabajo arts. 2, 3 and 18).
Which is the best EOR in Costa Rica?
No provider is confirmed by a registry. Remote is the only one to say in so many words that it owns its Costa Rican entity, and Rivermate lists Costa Rica among countries it operates directly through its own local infrastructure; the other 17 do not state who employs your hire. Check the entity question first, then price and onboarding time.
What is the cheapest Employer of Record in Costa Rica?
The lowest published figures are global list prices: Native Teams from $99/month (its Costa Rica page describes a PEO), then Boundless, RemoFirst and Remote People from $199/month. The lowest price on a Costa Rica-specific page is Skuad's $249/month promotion, against a regular $349.
What are the risks of hiring through an EOR in Costa Rica?
If you direct the worker's tasks, hours and tools, a labour court can treat you as the real employer, with joint liability under art. 3 for wages, aguinaldo, CCSS and the occupational-risk policy. Bill 23.920 would add a joint-liability article for subcontracting; its current status was not confirmed.
What is the difference between an EOR and hiring a contractor in Costa Rica?
An EOR is the legal employer and runs CCSS registration, aguinaldo and payroll; a contractor is not an employee. Art. 18 presumes an employment contract with whoever receives the services, so a contractor who works for one client under instructions is a misclassification risk. See [contractor misclassification](/glossary/contractor-misclassification/), [EOR vs PEO](/blog/eor-vs-peo/) and the [PEO glossary entry](/glossary/peo/).
Can an EOR sponsor a work permit in Costa Rica?
Not confirmed. Foreigners need a migration status that authorises paid work, usually temporary residence tied to an employer or role. No vendor page we read states that its EOR entity can act as sponsor, so ask in writing before relying on it.
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
The full listings
Hiring contractors in Costa Rica instead
Employer of Record in other countries
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
19 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.