Most companies pay a contractor in North Macedonia by euro bank transfer to the contractor’s foreign-currency account, and since 7 October 2025 that transfer can travel as a SEPA credit transfer at a fraction of the old SWIFT cost (bankarstvo.mk, checked 2026-09-29). What shapes the choice is the contractor’s form and who produces the documents behind each payment.
A Macedonian contractor can be paid as an individual, with no registration. The fee is income from work, taxed at a flat 10%, and because a foreign client withholds nothing, they file a monthly e-PDD return by the 10th and attach the contract and proof of payment. The Public Revenue Office (UJP) now matches bank data on foreign inflows against those returns (ujp.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29). Others invoice through an individual trader (trgovec poedinec) or a single-member company (DOOEL).
The currency regime is open: current payments with non-residents are free, and the contractor keeps euros or dollars on a foreign-currency account (crm.com.mk, Law on Foreign Exchange Operations, Arts. 4 and 6, checked 2026-09-29).
For one part-time contractor who already sends proper paperwork, a SEPA transfer or Wise is enough. For a full-time engagement under your direction, a Contractor of Record fits better. Classification, tax and IP are covered in our hiring guide.
Macedonian denar (MKD), held stable against the euro by the National Bank; middle rate 61.6725 MKD per EUR on 29 September 2026
Contractor's usual legal form
An individual on a service contract, an individual trader (trgovec poedinec) or a single-member company (DOOEL)
Working payout rails
SEPA credit transfer in EUR since 7 October 2025; SWIFT in USD, EUR and other currencies; Wise in EUR, not MKD; payout platforms
FX / currency control
Current payments with non-residents are free; foreign currency lands on a foreign-currency account in that currency; residents settle with each other in denars
Contractor's income tax
Flat 10%; an individual paid from abroad files a monthly e-PDD by the 10th and pays by the 15th
What the contractor needs to receive money
A foreign-currency account in the payment's currency, plus the contract and payer confirmation to attach to the tax return
Contractor's VAT
Registration required above MKD 2,000,000 of turnover in the previous calendar year; standard rate 18%
Documents the payer should keep
Signed services contract, invoices or payment confirmations, SEPA or SWIFT references; Form W-8BEN for US payers
How to choose: five questions for paying a contractor in North Macedonia
1. Is the contractor an individual, a trgovec poedinec or a DOOEL?
An individual paid from abroad has no employer to withhold tax, so they file an e-PDD advance return by the 10th of the following month, pay 10% by the 15th, and attach proof: a confirmation from the payer, a bank statement, the services contract (ujp.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29). A registered individual trader or a DOOEL issues invoices and keeps books instead. If you pay an individual, choose a platform that produces the contract and a payment confirmation every month, or send those documents yourself. If the contractor invoices through a company, a bank transfer or Wise is enough.
2. Does the contractor work for you full-time, under your direction?
The Labour Relations Law defines employment as work done personally and continuously within the employer’s organised process, following its instructions and under its supervision (Art. 5; aa.mk, checked 2026-09-29). A developer on your hours and your tools, with no other clients, fits that description. The government also wants a new Labour Relations Law agreed by the end of 2026, covering remote work and digital platforms (pari.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29). If the contractor has several clients and sets their own schedule, a payout tool is enough. If they work for you full-time, use a Contractor of Record, which signs the contract with the contractor (see contractor misclassification). 4dev acts as Contractor of Record — the contracting party for each contractor — which reduces reclassification risk. Read the liability clause in any COR contract, not the product name. If the role is really a job, Deel, Remote and Multiplier run Contractor of Record and EOR on one platform.
3. EUR or USD?
The receiving side decides much of the cost. At Stopanska Banka an individual pays €0.16 to receive up to €500 by SEPA and €2 up to €12,500, while a SWIFT inflow costs 1% of the amount with a MKD 250 minimum; a legal entity pays a flat €5–€20 per SEPA inflow, depending on the amount (stb.com.mk; business tariff, checked 2026-09-29). On a $4,000 monthly fee paid by SWIFT, that 1% is $40 out of the contractor’s pocket. SEPA carries euros only and always splits charges (SHA). If you can price the contract in euros, pay by SEPA or through a platform that pays euros to an IBAN. If it must be dollars, write into the contract who carries the receiving bank’s fee.
4. How much do you pay per month?
Platforms charge a percentage per payout, a monthly seat or a flat fee. At 3%, a percentage fee equals a $29 seat at about $967 a month and a $40 seat at about $1,333. The 2026 average gross salary is MKD 69,141 (ujp.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29), about $1,276 at the National Bank’s 29 September 2026 middle rate of 54.2033 MKD per USD (nbrm.mk, checked 2026-09-29), so a contractor billing the average gross salary is already past both break-even points. Below about $1,000 a month a percentage fee is cheaper; above about $1,300 a seat costs less. Warn the contractor before a large one-off payment: an inflow of €50,000 or more is credited only after they give the bank supporting documents (stb.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29).
5. Will a Macedonian company in your group do the paying?
Residents may express a contract’s value in foreign currency, but payment between residents must be made in denars (Law on Foreign Exchange Operations, Art. 4; crm.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29). If a local subsidiary pays a local trgovec poedinec or DOOEL, it pays MKD, even under a euro-priced contract. If the payer is your company abroad, pay euros or dollars to the contractor’s foreign-currency account.
Rule of thumb. A contractor with several clients who invoices through a company in euros: SEPA, Wise or a percentage-fee platform. An individual who needs a contract and payment confirmation for every monthly return: a contractor platform with a document flow. One client, full-time, your hours and tools: a Contractor of Record. Compare the full field in the contractor payouts rating.
A contractor platform that acts as Contractor of Record: 4dev contracts with each contractor and the client contracts with 4dev, which reduces reclassification risk without removing it. It onboards contractors with automatic KYC, keeps IP assignment and closing documents in one flow, and pays out by bank transfer, card or USDT across 150+ countries on a published fee of 3% or less.
Why it fitsContract, closing documents and payout in one flow: the services contract and payer confirmation UJP wants attached to each e-PDD; fee of 3% or less.
Why it fitsA Macedonian paid as an individual declares the fee as 'income from work', salary's tax category; Deel's $325 Contractor of Record signs the contract instead.
A young but fast-growing global-employment platform (180+ countries) with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), transparent flat pricing and standout human support. Best for SMBs — especially European — that value hands-on support and predictable pricing over deep automation.
7.6/10
★ 4.4 · 391 reviews
Price
From ~€299 per employee/month (varies by country/headcount)
Documents
Compliant contracts + invoice flow
Contractor onboarding
Onboarding in 24–48 hours
Coverage
180+ countries
What stands out
Broad 180+ country reach with a real owned-entity core (38 entities), not pure-partner
Transparent flat pricing; no setup/offboarding fees or annual lock-in
Fast onboarding (~48h standard) and strongly-rated 24/7 human support
Not a fit for
enterprises needing deep HRIS/finance integrations and advanced analytics
Why it fitsContractor of Record from about €149 monthly, for a developer whose work meets Art. 5's employment markers: personal, continuous, under your supervision.
A work-and-payments platform that combines EOR, a dedicated Contractor of Record product, contractor payments and global payroll across 95+ countries, with unusually transparent published 'starts at' pricing for a global-employment vendor.
7.9/10
★ 4.7 · 367 reviews
Price
Starts at $19/per contractor per month
Documents
Local contracts, tax handling
Coverage
95+ countries
Batch runs
yes
What stands out
EOR, Contractor of Record, contractor pay and global payroll on one platform
transparent published 'starts at' pricing ($19-$149/mo) — rare among EOR vendors
dedicated CoR product in which Native Teams is the contracting party for the contractor, which reduces misclassification risk
Not a fit for
buyers needing a named, audited certification set (specific ISO 27001 / SOC 2 type)
A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.
8.4/10
★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews
Price
Starting at $400 per month
Payout speed
Same-day payment processing
Documents
Auto invoices + compliant contracts
Contractor onboarding
Activation in 1–2 business days
Coverage
150+ countries
Batch runs
yes
What stands out
EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount
Not a fit for
buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
Why it fitsPays in 120+ currencies to match the contractor's foreign-currency account; Stopanska wants an account in the inflow's currency. $40 per contract.
Why it fitsEditable contracts can list every licensed use, since Macedonian copyright law voids transfers of unknown uses and reads unclear terms for the author; $29 monthly.
A mature, transparent-fee cross-border payments leader: pay up to 1,000 contractors at once via BatchTransfer, send to 160 countries and hold 40 currencies at the mid-market rate with upfront, usage-based fees. Excellent as a contractor-payout rail — but it is not a contractor-management or compliance tool (no contracts, no EOR/COR, no payroll).
7.6/10
★ 4.3 · 294k reviews
Price
From 0.57% (fee varies by currency)
FX
mid-market rate, no markup
Payout speed
96% of payments in under 24h
Documents
Invoices & payment links; no contracts
Coverage
160+ countries
Payout methods
bank transfer, local wallet schemes (e.g. GCash in the Philippines, M-Pesa in Kenya)
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes
What stands out
pay up to 1,000 contractors at once via BatchTransfer
send to 160 countries and territories; hold 40 currencies
transparent usage-based pricing 'From 0.57%' at the mid-market rate with no subscription
Not a fit for
companies needing contractor contracts, onboarding or compliance management
buyers needing an Employer of Record or a Contractor of Record
Why it fitsCan't pay denars yet; a euro transfer rides SEPA into the contractor's EUR account, where Stopanska's receiving fee for individuals is €0.16–€5. Contracts are yours.
bank transfer, local wallet schemes (e.g. GCash in the Philippines, M-Pesa in Kenya)
96% of payments in under 24h
Invoices & payment links; no contracts
mid-market rate, no markup
—
What it costs at your volume
One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.
EUR on a euro foreign-currency account (19-character MK IBAN)
Credited on the value date; the bank notifies the recipient that day or the next business day (stb.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29)
Your bank’s fee plus the receiving tariff; at Stopanska Banka €0.16–€5 for individuals and €5–€20 for legal entities, by amount (stb.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29)
EUR only, charges always shared (SHA); live since 7 October 2025 at nine banks, with the rest given until the end of Q1 2026 (bankarstvo.mk, checked 2026-09-29)
SWIFT from your bank
USD, EUR or another currency on a foreign-currency account in that currency
Depends on the correspondent banks on the route
Your bank’s fee, intermediary charges, and the receiving tariff: 1% of the amount, minimum MKD 250, for individuals at Stopanska Banka
OUR, SHA or BEN decides who pays intermediaries; the recipient needs an account in the payment’s currency
Wise
EUR sent over SEPA; no MKD (wise.com, checked 2026-09-29)
Wise shows an estimate per transfer
Fee quoted upfront at the mid-market rate; from the US, USD goes by SWIFT, with fees on the route not disclosed upfront (wise.com, checked 2026-09-29)
Wise says it is working on MKD transfers; the contractor still documents the income for the e-PDD
Payout platform or Contractor of Record
Bank transfer to an IBAN, card or other methods, depending on the platform
Per platform
Percentage, monthly seat or flat fee (see the cards above)
Platform KYC on the contractor; contract and payment documents come from the platform
What the contractor needs to get paid
A Macedonian contractor works in one of three forms:
An individual on a service contract. Income from occasional or temporary services to foreign legal or natural persons is income from work (Law on Personal Income Tax, Art. 14; isos.mk, checked 2026-09-29), taxed at a flat 10% (PwC Tax Summaries, reviewed 2026-07-23). The contractor files an e-PDD by the 10th of the following month and pays by the 15th.
An individual trader (trgovec poedinec). Registered in the Central Registry, keeps books and pays 10% on revenue less expenses (Law on Personal Income Tax, Art. 21), plus monthly social contributions on a base of at least MKD 34,570 in 2026 (ujp.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29).
A single-member company (DOOEL). Needs EUR 5,000 of share capital (investnorthmacedonia.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29). Profit tax is 10%; companies with revenue up to MKD 3 million are exempt, and those between MKD 3 million and 6 million pay 1% of revenue (PwC Tax Summaries, reviewed 2026-07-23).
To receive money from abroad, the contractor holds a foreign-currency account in the currency of the payment (stb.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29). A registered business must register for VAT once turnover in the previous calendar year exceeds MKD 2,000,000, about €32,430 at the 29 September 2026 middle rate; the standard rate is 18% (PwC Tax Summaries, reviewed 2026-07-23). To support the place of supply of a B2B service, the supplier keeps a certificate of the client’s VAT or similar registration number (EY, checked 2026-09-29), so a VAT-registered contractor may ask you for one. Classification, contributions and IP are in our hiring guide.
Documents and tax on the payer’s side
Withholding. A foreign client pays gross and withholds nothing. The contractor self-assesses: an individual through the monthly e-PDD, a trader or DOOEL through its own returns. With each e-PDD, the individual attaches a confirmation from the payer, a bank statement and the services contract or similar documents (ujp.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29).
US payers. Collect Form W-8BEN from an individual or trader, W-8BEN-E from a DOOEL. The US has no income tax treaty with North Macedonia: it is not on the IRS treaty list (irs.gov, checked 2026-09-29). Pay for services is sourced where the work is done, so work performed in North Macedonia is foreign-source income (irs.gov, checked 2026-09-29) and needs no Form 1099-NEC.
What to keep on file:
the signed services contract, with scope, rate, currency and payment schedule, and a description of how the contractor works (own hours, own equipment, other clients);
invoices from a trader or DOOEL, or a monthly payment confirmation for an individual;
payment confirmations with the SEPA or SWIFT reference;
the W-8BEN or W-8BEN-E, if you are a US payer.
On a platform or Contractor of Record model, you keep the platform’s invoice to you, and the platform holds the contract and payment records with the contractor.
Where it breaks
The tax office asks the contractor about your payments. On 1 December 2025 UJP said it checks bank data on foreign inflows and calls in people who received money from abroad and did not report it, including for past years (ujp.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29). An individual without a contract and payer confirmation cannot document the income, so send the confirmation each month and put the contract number and period in the payment reference.
Large or indirect inflows wait for documents. An inflow of €50,000 or more, and a transfer from the contractor’s own account abroad to their Macedonian account, are credited only after the recipient hands in supporting documents (Stopanska Banka, citing the National Bank’s decision on payments with abroad, stb.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29). That second case covers a contractor moving a foreign wallet balance home.
Less money arrives than you sent. A SWIFT inflow costs an individual 1% at Stopanska Banka, on top of intermediary charges on SHA or BEN wires. On euros, SEPA avoids most of it; on dollars, agree in the contract who pays.
The contractor’s bank is not on SEPA yet. Nine banks went live on 7 October 2025 and Silk Road Bank on 9 December 2025 (faktor.mk, checked 2026-09-29); the National Bank set the end of Q1 2026 for the rest. If your bank sends a euro payment by SWIFT, the old correspondent charges apply. Ask the contractor to confirm their bank handles SEPA before the first payment.
Wrong currency account. A contractor with only a denar account, or only a euro account when you send dollars, has to open an account in the payment’s currency first.
Paying from a Macedonian entity. Payments between residents must be settled in denars, even when the contract is priced in euros (Law on Foreign Exchange Operations, Art. 4, crm.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29). A local subsidiary pays a local contractor in MKD.
Frequently asked questions
What's the cheapest way to pay a contractor in North Macedonia?
Usually a SEPA transfer in euros. At Stopanska Banka an individual pays €0.16 to receive up to €500 and €2 up to €12,500 by SEPA, against 1% of the amount (minimum MKD 250) for a SWIFT inflow (stb.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29). On a platform, a 3% fee equals a $29 monthly seat at about $967 a month, and above that amount the seat is cheaper.
Can I pay a contractor in North Macedonia in USD?
Yes, by SWIFT to the contractor's USD foreign-currency account; SEPA carries euros only. Banks credit an inflow to an account in its own currency, and a SWIFT inflow costs more on the receiving side: 1% with a MKD 250 minimum for individuals at Stopanska Banka (stb.com.mk, checked 2026-09-29). Wise sends USD from the US by SWIFT and cannot send denars yet (wise.com, checked 2026-09-29).
Do I need to withhold tax when paying a contractor in North Macedonia?
Not as a foreign client: you pay gross. A resident individual paid from abroad files an e-PDD advance return by the 10th of the following month and pays 10% by the 15th (ujp.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29); a trgovec poedinec or DOOEL files its own returns. US payers collect Form W-8BEN; the US has no income tax treaty with North Macedonia (irs.gov, checked 2026-09-29).
Is North Macedonia in SEPA?
Yes. Euro credit transfers through SEPA started on 7 October 2025 at nine banks, including NLB, Stopanska and Komercijalna, and the National Bank gave the remaining three until the end of the first quarter of 2026 to join (bankarstvo.mk, checked 2026-09-29). Silk Road Bank started on 9 December 2025 (faktor.mk, checked 2026-09-29). SEPA covers euros only, with charges always shared (SHA).
Does a Macedonian contractor need a company to work for a foreign client?
No. Income from temporary service contracts with foreign persons counts as income from work under the Law on Personal Income Tax (Art. 14) and is taxed at 10%. Others register as a trgovec poedinec or form a DOOEL, which needs EUR 5,000 of share capital (investnorthmacedonia.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29) and pays no profit tax on revenue up to MKD 3 million (PwC, reviewed 2026-07-23).
Does the Macedonian tax office see payments from abroad?
Yes. The Public Revenue Office (UJP) said on 1 December 2025 that it checks data it receives from banks on foreign inflows and calls in people who have not reported them. The contractor attaches proof to each e-PDD: a confirmation from the payer, a bank statement, the services contract or similar documents (ujp.gov.mk, checked 2026-09-29).
Is there a limit on how much a contractor in North Macedonia can receive from abroad?
No limit, but large amounts slow down. An inflow of €50,000 or more is credited only after the recipient hands the bank supporting documents, and so is a transfer from the recipient's own account abroad, such as a wallet balance, to their Macedonian account (stb.com.mk, citing the National Bank's decision on payments with abroad, checked 2026-09-29).
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
Paying contractors elsewhere
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
8 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.