Ontop

Hire globally. Get paid anywhere.

7.6/10
  • Countries150+
  • PriceStarting from $49/month
  • Founded—
  • HQNot publicly stated

Payroll

Best for

  • companies paying independent contractors across many countries
  • teams that want a published, low entry price rather than quote-only pricing
  • contractors who want a funded account and card alongside payouts

Not ideal for

  • companies that need to employ staff abroad via an EOR
  • buyers who require published security certifications (SOC 2 / ISO 27001) up front
  • teams wanting a fully disclosed entity model or guaranteed onboarding SLA

Reviewed: 2026-06-29

Visit Ontop ↗

Our verdict

A contractor-payments-first platform that pays workers in 150+ countries and bundles a financial account and card for the contractor. It deliberately positions against EOR ('Global hiring doesn't need EOR'), so it fits contractor-heavy teams rather than companies needing to employ staff abroad.

Standout feature
Published entry price ('Starting from $49/month') plus a worker-facing Global Account and Visa card — most rivals quote only on request and stop at the payout.
Biggest limitation
It is not an employer of record and publishes no security certifications (no SOC/ISO/GDPR stated), and a low Trustpilot score (3.1) is a real trust signal for a money-movement product.

Key facts

Countries covered 150+ ⓘ Homepage states 'Run payroll across 150+ countries' and 'Hire in 150+ countries'. Recorded as 150 (the stated '150+' headline floor). · source
Entity model — ⓘ Ontop does not publicly disclose owned vs partner entity counts. Left empty.
Onboarding time Not publicly stated ⓘ No onboarding/time-to-pay figure is stated on official pages. Marketing claims 'Global USD payments, in seconds' for payouts, but no onboarding SLA. Left as 'Not publicly stated'.
Payroll markets —
Currencies — ⓘ Ontop markets 'multi-currency payouts' but does not state a specific number of currencies. Omitted. · source
Integrations — ⓘ No integration names or count are stated on the official pages reviewed. Left empty.
Security & compliance — ⓘ No security/compliance page resolved (getontop.com/security returns 404) and no SOC/ISO/GDPR certifications are stated on the official pages reviewed. Left empty rather than assumed.
Support WhatsApp, Live chat (in-app), Email ([email protected]), Help Center

Payouts and documents

Payout speed
80% of transfers instant
Batch payouts
yes
Documents issued
Contracts + tax forms, automated
Contractor onboarding
Onboarding under 15 min

Coverage, as documented

Ontop publishes pages for 158 countries, listed below.

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland

more34

France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Guernsey, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Canada, Cayman Islands, Colombia, Curacao, Dominican Republic, El Salvador

more11

Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United States

Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Fiji, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos

more18

Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vietnam

Algeria, Angola, Bahrain, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Eswatini

more39

Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Israel, Ivory Coast, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Read fromgetontop.com/blog/payroll-in-colombia-guide · checked

Pricing

PlanWhat you getPrice
Contractor of RecordHire in 150+ countries with global USD payments; contracts, taxes and local regulations 'managed automatically'. Page shows a strikethrough '$63.2/month' next to the 'Starting from $49/month' rate.Starting from $49/month

Ontop's pricing page presents a single 'Contractor of Record' tier 'Starting from $49/month' (with a strikethrough $63.2/month). It also claims 'Up to 80% lower fees and up to ~3% more money delivered to your workers on every payout'. No further published tiers were found (getontop.com/pricing, checked 2026-06-29).

What it costs at your volume

One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.

Ontop: $49 a month, $588 a year. Nothing comparable came out cheaper.

PlatformHow it chargesPer monthPer yearPublished price
Ontopflat monthly$49$588Starting from $49/month
Skuadper contractor$190$2,280Starting from $19 per contractor/month
Native Teamsper contractor$190$2,280Starts at $19/per contractor per month
Papaya Globalflat monthly$300$3,600From $300/mo + $2.5 per transaction

Pros

  • pays contractors in 150+ countries with multi-currency payouts
  • publishes an entry price ('Starting from $49/month') where most peers are quote-only
  • worker-facing Global Account and Visa card included
  • clear, multi-channel support (WhatsApp, live chat, email, Help Center)

Cons

  • no Employer of Record — explicitly positions against EOR
  • no security certifications stated on official pages (SOC/ISO/GDPR not published)
  • despite the 'Contractor of Record' name, does not act as the contracting party — clients use their own agreements with contractors
  • owned-vs-partner entity model and onboarding time not disclosed
  • low Trustpilot rating (3.1) relative to peers

What users say

Weighted average: 4.0/5 across 3 sources

SourceRatingReviewsChecked
G24.4/52082026-06-29
Trustpilot3.1/51252026-06-29
Capterra4.4/5322026-06-29

How it compares

The closest platforms in the same categories, on the facts each one publishes.

OntopPapaya GlobalSkuadNative Teams
Editorial score 7.6/108.2/108/107.9/10
User rating 3.95/54.35/54.57/54.7/5
Countries covered 150+160+160+95+
Employer of Record NoYesYesYes
Contractor of Record NoYesNoYes
Contractor management YesYesYesYes
Global payroll YesYesYesYes
Onboarding time Not publicly statedVendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA statedNot publicly statedNot stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only)
Lead plan Starting from $49/monthFrom $599/mo per employeeStarting from $199 per employee/monthStarts at $19/per contractor per month

All Ontop alternatives →

What AI assistants say

We’ll publish AI-assistant assessments here soon. Editorial scores are independent of AI snapshots.

In-depth review

Ontop is a global contractor-payments platform that pays independent contractors in 150+ countries with multi-currency payouts, plus a worker-facing Global Account and Visa card. It markets a “Contractor of Record” product and explicitly positions against EOR, so it best fits contractor-heavy teams rather than companies that need to employ staff abroad.

Frequently asked questions

How many countries does Ontop cover?

Ontop states it can run payroll and pay contractors across 150+ countries (getontop.com, checked 2026-06-29).

Does Ontop offer an Employer of Record (EOR)?

No. Ontop explicitly positions against EOR ('Global hiring doesn't need EOR'; 'Go global, without the EOR tax'), so it is a contractor-payments and Contractor-of-Record platform rather than an EOR (getontop.com, checked 2026-06-29).

How much does Ontop cost?

Ontop's pricing page lists a Contractor of Record tier 'Starting from $49/month' (with a strikethrough $63.2/month) and claims 'Up to 80% lower fees' (getontop.com/pricing, checked 2026-06-29).

Does Ontop act as a Contractor of Record?

Ontop brands its product 'Contractor of Record' and says it 'acts as the intermediary', but its pricing page tells clients to 'work directly with your contractors' using 'your own agreements or Ontop templates', so Ontop does not act as the contracting party for the contractor and we do not list it as a Contractor of Record (getontop.com/pricing, checked 2026-09-28).

Sources

Every fact above comes from Ontop's own pages. These are the ones we read, and when.

Categories