Most companies pay a contractor in Kazakhstan by USD or EUR bank transfer (SWIFT) to the account of an individual entrepreneur (IE), either directly from their own bank or through a payout platform that also issues the contract and the monthly act. The choice comes down to who produces the paperwork the contractor’s bank asks for, and how much you pay each month.
The country is open to foreign money, but banks watch it. A Kazakh bank asks for the contract and supporting documents on transactions above USD 10,000 equivalent, and a services contract above USD 50,000 gets an account number so the State Revenue Committee can check that the money arrives (bcc.kz; nationalbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28). On the contractor’s side tax is cheap: an IE on the simplified declaration pays 4% of income, or 2–6% where the local council has moved the rate (bcc.kz, checked 2026-09-28).
If you pay one contractor and your finance team only needs an invoice, a bank wire or a transfer service is enough. If you pay a team, want the contract, invoice and act produced for every payment, or the engagement looks like full-time work for one client, a contractor platform or a Contractor of Record fits better. Hiring, classification and permanent-establishment detail is in our hiring guide.
Kazakhstani tenge (KZT); Kazakh banks accept incoming SWIFT in USD, EUR and other major currencies
Contractor's usual legal form
Individual entrepreneur (IE / ИП) on the simplified declaration: 4% of income, 2–6% by local decision
Working payout rails
SWIFT in USD or EUR to a Kazakh bank; Wise (USD by SWIFT, no KZT); payout platforms paying to bank, card or USDT
FX / currency control
Banks ask for documents above USD 10,000 per transaction; service contracts above USD 50,000 get an account number and repatriation control
What the contractor needs to receive money
IIN, IE registration (free, online) and a Kazakh bank account; most non-EAEU foreigners also need a residence permit
Contractor's VAT
An IE on the simplified declaration is not a VAT payer from 2026
Documents the payer should keep
Signed services contract, invoices, signed acts of completed services; Form W-8BEN for US payers
How to choose: five questions for paying a contractor in Kazakhstan
1. Who produces the paperwork: you or the platform?
A Kazakh bank asks for the underlying contract and supporting documents on currency transactions above USD 10,000 equivalent (bcc.kz, checked 2026-09-28). In practice that means a signed services contract, the IE’s invoice and a signed act of completed services; the Kazakh act format is form P-1 (prg.kz, checked 2026-09-28). If the contractor already sends you invoices and acts and your accountant is happy to sign them each month, a bank wire or a transfer service is enough. If you want the contract, invoice and act generated with every payment, choose a contractor platform with a document flow.
2. How much do you pay each contractor per month?
Platform pricing comes in three shapes: a percentage of each payout, a monthly seat per contractor, or a flat fee per payout. At 3%, a percentage fee equals a $29 monthly seat at about $967 a month and a $49 seat at about $1,633. Below roughly $1,000 a month per contractor, percentage pricing is cheaper; above about $1,600, a seat costs less; on large monthly invoices a flat per-payout fee wins. If you pay by plain SWIFT instead, the sender’s bank fee, intermediary charges and the receiving bank’s tariff apply to every wire, so one monthly payment costs less than several small ones.
3. Will the contract exceed USD 50,000?
A contract of a resident exporter (an IE counts) with a non-resident for services above USD 50,000 must get an account number at the contractor’s bank, and from 1 January 2024 the State Revenue Committee monitors that the proceeds are repatriated (nationalbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28). A developer on $4,200 a month passes that threshold within a 12-month contract. Nothing changes in how you pay, but late or partial payments against the agreed terms become the contractor’s compliance problem. If you pay directly, put the payment schedule in the contract and document every change in a signed amendment. If you pay through a platform, the contractor’s contract is with the platform, and its documents should match each payout.
4. USD to a bank, or something else?
Kazakh banks accept incoming SWIFT in USD and EUR; Halyk lists USD, EUR, GBP, CHF, CAD, AUD and several other currencies (halykbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28). Wise sends USD to Kazakhstan by SWIFT but does not yet send KZT from the US (wise.com, checked 2026-09-28). If the contractor wants a card or USDT payout, use a platform whose card lists those methods. The regulated route to convert USDT in Kazakhstan runs through licensed operators: exchanges licensed in the AIFC and, from 1 May 2026, operators licensed by the National Bank (nationalbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28).
5. Does the engagement look like employment?
One client, fixed hours, a monthly retainer with no deliverables: that is the profile our hiring guide flags as the typical reclassification target (see also contractor misclassification). If this describes your contractor, use a Contractor of Record, which signs the contract with the IE and takes on the classification work. 4dev acts as Contractor of Record, the contracting party for each contractor, which reduces reclassification risk. If the role is really a job, hire through an EOR: Deel, Remote and Multiplier run Contractor of Record and EOR on one platform, so the contractor can move over without switching providers.
Rule of thumb. One contractor, invoices already handled, under $1,000 a month: a transfer service or a percentage-fee platform. A team, or you need documents with every payment: a contractor platform with a document flow. Contracts above $50,000 a year or single-client full-time work: a platform with a Contractor of Record model. Compare the full field in the contractor payouts rating.
A contractor platform that acts as Contractor of Record: 4dev contracts with each contractor and the client contracts with 4dev, which reduces reclassification risk without removing it. It onboards contractors with automatic KYC, keeps IP assignment and closing documents in one flow, and pays out by bank transfer, card or USDT across 150+ countries on a published fee of 3% or less.
Why it fitsContract, closing documents and payout generated together: the documents a Kazakh bank asks for on transactions above USD 10,000; 3% or less per payout.
A contractor-payouts and Contractor-of-Record specialist: pay contractors across 100+ countries in 30+ currencies via bank, card, e-wallet or crypto, with Mellow as the single contracting party for your contractors, which reduces misclassification risk. Strong for global freelance/contractor payouts; not a full EOR or employee-payroll platform.
7.4/10
★ 4.7 · 1327 reviews
Price
From 5% per payment
FX
market rates (claimed)
Payout speed
95% same-day payouts
Documents
Invoices, acts, agreements auto-generated
Coverage
100+ countries
Payout methods
bank transfer, cards, crypto wallets, e-wallets
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes
What stands out
payouts across 100+ countries in 30+ currencies
multiple payout methods incl. crypto, card, bank transfer and e-wallets
Contractor-of-Record model with Mellow as the contracting party, reducing misclassification risk
Not a fit for
companies needing full Employer of Record to hire employees abroad
Why it fitsContractor of Record issuing an acceptance certificate and invoice for each deal, a paper trail for IE contracts above USD 50,000 under repatriation monitoring; 3.5–5.5%.
Why it fitsContractor of Record at $325 for the one-client, fixed-hours IE profile flagged as the typical reclassification target; contractor management from $49.
A global employment specialist with EOR in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network, a dedicated Contractor of Record, global payroll and published flat pricing — strong for compliant hiring across many markets with transparent EOR/contractor costs.
8.4/10
★ 4.7 · 2168 reviews
Price
Starting at $400 per month
Payout speed
Same-day payment processing
Documents
Auto invoices + compliant contracts
Contractor onboarding
Activation in 1–2 business days
Coverage
150+ countries
Batch runs
yes
What stands out
EOR live in 150+ countries on an owned-entity network
dedicated Contractor of Record (classification, contracts, tax, payments)
published flat pricing for EOR ($400) and contractors ($40), no minimum headcount
Not a fit for
buyers needing an all-in-one HR/IT/Finance suite beyond global employment
buyers who require published global-payroll list pricing up front
A young global contractor-payouts and Contractor-of-Record platform: pay contractors across 200+ countries in 120+ currencies via bank transfer, card or stablecoin for a flat $50 per contractor, with contracts, IP assignment and tax documents handled. It also markets an Employer of Record now stated under the same 200+ country headline (previously quoted separately at 15 countries), priced per employee and country-dependent. Pricing and core mechanics are clearly published, but much of the operational detail (entity model, integrations, support beyond email) is thin and largely unverified by third parties.
6.0/10
Price
$50 per contractor (flat, per payout)
FX
FX ≤3.5%, locked at signing
Payout speed
First payment within 1 day
Documents
Local contracts, single B2B invoice, tax docs
Contractor onboarding
Onboarding in 60 seconds
Coverage
200+ countries
Payout methods
bank transfer, card, stablecoin
What stands out
wide stated reach for both products (200+ countries, 120+ currencies)
flat, transparent pricing ($50 per contractor per payout) with no annual contract
zero fees charged to contractors per Kleos
Not a fit for
companies needing a published, country-by-country EOR coverage list or a disclosed entity model before committing (Kleos states 200+ countries for EOR but breaks out neither)
buyers requiring a disclosed entity model or named software integrations
Why it fitsFlat €50 per payout, wire fees included; direct SHA or BEN wires to Kazakhstan lose intermediary charges from the amount. FX capped at 3.5%.
A specialist freelancer-payout and contractor-document platform that pays performers in 190+ countries via cards, bank, WebMoney and USDT crypto, and automates contracts, closing documents and VAT paperwork. Strong for paying many individual freelancers; not an EOR or global-payroll tool.
7.6/10
★ 4.6 · 82 reviews
Price
From 3% of transaction (custom quote)
Payout speed
Usually minutes, up to 2 business days
Documents
Contracts, acts, invoices, receipts auto
Coverage
190+ countries
Payout methods
Visa, Mastercard, MIR (Russia), China UnionPay (China)
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes
What stands out
payouts to a stated 190+ countries
broad payout methods incl. cards, SEPA/SWIFT, WebMoney and USDT crypto
A mature, transparent-fee cross-border payments leader: pay up to 1,000 contractors at once via BatchTransfer, send to 160 countries and hold 40 currencies at the mid-market rate with upfront, usage-based fees. Excellent as a contractor-payout rail — but it is not a contractor-management or compliance tool (no contracts, no EOR/COR, no payroll).
7.6/10
★ 4.3 · 294k reviews
Price
From 0.57% (fee varies by currency)
FX
mid-market rate, no markup
Payout speed
96% of payments in under 24h
Documents
Invoices & payment links; no contracts
Coverage
160+ countries
Payout methods
bank transfer, local wallet schemes (e.g. GCash in the Philippines, M-Pesa in Kenya)
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes
What stands out
pay up to 1,000 contractors at once via BatchTransfer
send to 160 countries and territories; hold 40 currencies
transparent usage-based pricing 'From 0.57%' at the mid-market rate with no subscription
Not a fit for
companies needing contractor contracts, onboarding or compliance management
buyers needing an Employer of Record or a Contractor of Record
companies needing a published, country-by-country EOR coverage list or a disclosed entity model before committing (Kleos states 200+ countries for EOR but breaks out neither)
Visa, Mastercard, MIR (Russia), China UnionPay (China), BELCARD (Belarus), SEPA bank transfer, SWIFT bank transfer, WebMoney (WMZ), USDT crypto (TRC20 / ERC20)
bank transfer, local wallet schemes (e.g. GCash in the Philippines, M-Pesa in Kenya)
96% of payments in under 24h
Invoices & payment links; no contracts
mid-market rate, no markup
—
What it costs at your volume
One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.
Your bank’s fee plus intermediary charges; OUR, SHA or BEN decides who pays them; the receiving bank charges by its own tariff
Bank may hold the transfer until the contractor supplies details or documents; currency-control thresholds below
Wise
USD arriving by SWIFT; KZT not supported from the US
Wise shows an arrival estimate per transfer
Fee quoted upfront, but Wise notes that SWIFT banks on the route do not disclose their fees (wise.com, checked 2026-09-28)
Same bank-side checks as any SWIFT payment
Payout platform or Contractor of Record
Bank transfer, card or USDT, depending on the platform
Per platform
Percentage, monthly seat or flat per payout (see the cards above)
Platform KYC on the contractor; documents come from the platform
USDT through a platform
Stablecoin in a wallet
Per platform
Platform fee plus conversion
Regulated conversion only through AIFC-licensed operators or, from 1 May 2026, National Bank-licensed ones (nationalbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28)
What the contractor needs to get paid
The standard form is an individual entrepreneur (IE / ИП). Registration is free and done online with an IIN and an electronic signature. Citizens of most countries outside the EAEU need a residence permit to register (alataucitybank.kz, checked 2026-09-28).
An IE doing IT work can use the simplified declaration:
4% of income, which local councils can raise or lower by up to 50%, so 2–6% in practice (pro1c.kz, checked 2026-09-28).
Income cap of 600,000 MRP a year; the MRP is KZT 4,325 in 2026, so the cap is about KZT 2.6 billion (bcc.kz, checked 2026-09-28).
Filed on Form 910.00 every six months. From 2026 an IE on this regime is not a VAT payer, so its invoices carry no Kazakh VAT (same source).
Government Resolution No. 970 bars 44 activity types (185 OKED codes) from the regime from 1 January 2026, including legal, accounting, audit, tax consulting and management consulting. Software development is not on the list (uchet.kz, checked 2026-09-28).
The separate self-employed regime is capped at 300 MRP a month and limited to an approved activity list (pro1c.kz, same page), so professional contractors working for foreign clients normally register as an IE.
The IE issues an invoice and a signed act of completed services each period. Classification, IP assignment and permanent-establishment risk are covered in our hiring guide.
Documents and tax on the payer’s side
Withholding. Kazakh income tax is withheld at source by tax agents; income not taxed at source is declared by the recipient (PwC Tax Summaries, reviewed 2026-07-23). A foreign client pays the IE’s invoice gross, and the IE pays its own tax through Form 910.00.
US payers. Collect Form W-8BEN from the contractor. Pay for personal services is sourced where the work is done, so work performed in Kazakhstan is foreign-source income (irs.gov, checked 2026-09-28) and needs no Form 1099-NEC.
What to keep on file:
the signed services contract with the payment schedule and currency;
the IE’s invoices;
signed acts of completed services (form P-1);
payment confirmations with the SWIFT reference;
the W-8BEN, if you are a US payer.
On a platform or Contractor of Record model, you keep the platform’s invoice to you, and the platform holds the contract and acts with the IE.
Where it breaks
The receiving bank holds the wire. Halyk describes incoming SWIFT transfers that are credited only after the client fills in transfer details and uploads documents in the app (halykbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28). Put the service, the invoice number and the period in the payment reference, so the contractor can answer the bank’s questions from the payment itself.
Currency-control thresholds. Above USD 10,000 per transaction the bank asks for the contract and supporting documents (bcc.kz, checked 2026-09-28). A contract above USD 50,000 needs an account number, and missing it or failing to repatriate the proceeds carries administrative liability for the contractor (nationalbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28). If an invoice arrives with no signed contract behind it, expect the bank to ask for one.
Less money arrives than you sent. On SHA or BEN wires, intermediary banks and the receiving bank take their fees out of the amount. Wise states that these third-party fees are not disclosed upfront. Agree in the contract who pays them, or send OUR.
Sanctions screening. FinCEN and BIS list Kazakhstan among transshipment points in their May 2023 joint alert on Russian export-control evasion and ask financial institutions to watch for red flags on these routes (bis.gov, checked 2026-09-28). The alert concerns goods rather than services; still, keep the contract and invoice ready in case a bank on the route asks about the purpose of a payment. Pay only to the contractor’s own account in Kazakhstan. If the person actually lives and banks in Russia, a Kazakh account does not change the sanctions analysis: see paying contractors in Russia.
The contractor’s tax regime changes. A consultant whose activity went onto the Resolution No. 970 list moved to the general regime in 2026. Rates and invoices can change mid-contract, which matters if you agreed a gross amount “inclusive of taxes”.
USDT without a paper trail. A stablecoin payout still needs the same contract, invoice and act, and the contractor converts through a licensed operator. Treat USDT as a payout method inside a documented engagement, not a way around the bank’s questions.
Frequently asked questions
What's the cheapest way to pay a contractor in Kazakhstan?
For one contractor on a modest monthly invoice, a direct USD SWIFT transfer or a percentage-fee platform is usually cheapest; at 3% per payout the fee equals a $29–$49 monthly seat somewhere between roughly $1,000 and $1,600 a month. Above that, a monthly seat or a flat per-payout fee costs less. Add the SWIFT side: intermediary and receiving-bank charges are not disclosed upfront, and Wise says so on its Kazakhstan page (checked 2026-09-28).
Can I pay a contractor in Kazakhstan in USD?
Yes. Kazakh banks accept incoming SWIFT in USD and EUR, and Halyk Bank lists USD, EUR, GBP, CHF and other currencies for incoming transfers (halykbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28). Wise can send USD to Kazakhstan by SWIFT but does not yet support sending KZT from the US (wise.com, checked 2026-09-28).
Do I need to withhold tax when paying a contractor in Kazakhstan?
Not as a foreign client. Kazakh income tax is withheld by tax agents; income not taxed at source is declared by the recipient (PwC Tax Summaries, reviewed 2026-07-23). An IE on the simplified declaration pays 4% of income, or 2–6% where the local council has changed the rate, on semi-annual Form 910.00. US payers collect Form W-8BEN; pay for services performed outside the US is foreign-source income.
What does a contractor in Kazakhstan need to get paid by a foreign company?
Usually an individual entrepreneur registration, an IIN and a bank account in Kazakhstan. IE registration is free and done online with an electronic signature. Foreigners outside the EAEU generally need a residence permit to register an IE (alataucitybank.kz, checked 2026-09-28).
Does Kazakhstan's currency control affect me as the payer?
Indirectly. The contractor's bank asks for the contract and supporting documents on currency transactions above USD 10,000 equivalent, and a services export contract above USD 50,000 must get an account number, after which the State Revenue Committee checks that the money arrives (nationalbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28). Late or partial payment against that contract becomes the contractor's repatriation problem, so pay to the agreed terms and put changes in a signed amendment.
Can I pay a Kazakhstan contractor in USDT?
Several payout platforms offer USDT, but the regulated way for the contractor to convert it is a licensed operator: AIFC-licensed exchanges, and from 1 May 2026 also operators licensed by the National Bank of Kazakhstan (nationalbank.kz, checked 2026-09-28). Keep the same contract, invoice and act as for a bank payout.
Which documents should I keep when paying a Kazakh contractor?
A signed services contract, the contractor's invoices, signed acts of completed services (the Kazakh form is P-1) and payment confirmations. The contractor's bank can ask for these for currency control, and your auditors will want the same set. US payers also keep the contractor's Form W-8BEN.
Can a Kazakh contractor stay on the 4% simplified regime for consulting work?
Not for every activity. From 1 January 2026 Government Resolution No. 970 bars 44 activity types (185 OKED codes) from the simplified declaration, including legal, accounting, audit, tax consulting and management consulting; software development is not on the list (uchet.kz, checked 2026-09-28). A contractor in a barred activity invoices under the general regime instead.
Where to go next
These platforms head to head
Paying contractors elsewhere
Sources
The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.
8 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error
We use cookies for anonymous analytics (Google Analytics). No ads, no cross-site tracking. See our privacy policy.