Best Agent of Record (AOR) software

An Agent of Record (AOR) administers your independent contractors as an intermediary: classification vetting, contracts, invoicing and tax paperwork (W-9s, 1099 filing) run through the agent, while day-to-day work stays with you. It’s the lighter sibling of the Contractor of Record model — usually not the contractor’s counterparty, less cost, historically a US pattern.

From our rating so far, Payoneer and Rise offer AOR-style engagement on top of their payout stacks; dedicated COR providers in that category cover the heavier cases. We’re expanding coverage of specialist AOR vendors.

Working with contractors abroad?

Work with your international team without operational chaos

Start now →

AOR vs COR vs EOR at a glance

ModelProvider’s roleLiability for misclassificationTypical scope
Agent of Record (AOR)Administrative agent: contracts, classification vetting, invoices, 1099sLimited — check the indemnification clauseUS-heavy contractor bases
Contractor of Record (COR)Engages contractors as counterpartyDepends on the indemnity clause — published terms cap or exclude itGlobal contractor engagement
Employer of Record (EOR)Legally employs the workerProvider is the employerWhen the role is employment

The terms AOR and COR are not standardised — some vendors use them interchangeably, others price them as different tiers of liability. Treat the label as marketing and the contract language as the product: who signs with the contractor, who indemnifies whom, and what happens when a classification is challenged.

If your contractors are international rather than US-based, start from the COR category instead — that’s where global engagement models compete. If the real need is just moving money against clean paperwork, contractor payout platforms cover it without the agency layer.

How to choose AOR software

  • What the agent actually files. The core deliverable is administrative: W-9/W-8 collection, classification assessment against local tests, contract administration, and 1099-NEC filing (from tax year 2026 the reporting threshold is $2,000, up from $600 — a change many providers’ help docs still miss). Ask which of these the agent performs versus merely reminds you about.
  • Whose classification test. US IRS common-law factors, state ABC tests and foreign equivalents differ; an AOR that only runs a generic questionnaire adds little. Ask which jurisdictions’ tests are actually applied to each engagement.
  • Price against the alternatives. At the published ~$99/contractor/month market rate, ten contractors cost $12k/year — compare that to a bare contractor-management tier ($19–49) plus your own admin time, and to a COR if what you really need is a provider that signs as the counterparty.
  • Paper trail portability. Classification records are your defence in an audit years later. Verify you can export assessments and contracts, not just view them.

All 6 platforms, ranked

Jump to a platform:

Papaya Global

A payroll- and payments-led global workforce platform for enterprises, with EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries and a published 'from $599/mo per employee' EOR price — strongest when payroll depth, payments control and pricing transparency matter.

8.2/10

★ 4.3 · 154 reviews

Price
From $599/mo per employee
FX
mid-market rates (markup not disclosed)
Payout speed
95% same-day payouts
Documents
Contracts + invoice-to-pay
Contractor onboarding
Onboarding in minutes
Coverage
160+ countries
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes

What stands out

  • EOR and global payroll across 160+ countries
  • published EOR price (from $599/mo per employee) plus tiered payroll pricing — unusually transparent for the category
  • owns/operates EOR entities in 40 countries and contractor (AOR) entities in 180

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
  • those needing a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 5 pages

Read full review Visit site ↗

Payoneer

A large, mature cross-border payments network: pay contractors and run mass payouts to payees in 190+ countries and territories across 70 currencies, to a Payoneer account, local bank account or eWallet, via API or CSV — with PCI DSS Level 1, SOC 1/SOC 2 Type II compliance. Strong as a contractor-payouts and mass-payout platform; it is not an Employer of Record under its own payments brand.

8.0/10

★ 4.0 · 1424 reviews

Price
Custom quote
Payout speed
Minutes to Payoneer accounts; up to 3 business days to banks
Documents
Invoices + contractor agreements (CMS tier)
Coverage
190+ countries
Payout methods
Payoneer account, local bank account, eWallet, wire transfer
Batch runs
yes
Payout API
yes

What stands out

  • payouts to payees in 190+ countries and territories in 70 currencies
  • API- and CSV-driven mass payouts with payments to Payoneer accounts within minutes
  • multiple payout destinations: Payoneer account, local bank account, eWallet, wire and ACH

Not a fit for

  • companies needing a full Employer of Record to hire employees abroad under one payments brand
  • teams needing global employee payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Read full review Visit site ↗

Skuad

A global hiring platform (now a Payoneer company) covering 160+ countries across EOR, Agent of Record and contractor management, with rare published starting prices — strong for buyers who want transparent entry pricing and broad coverage in one tool.

8.0/10

★ 4.6 · 312 reviews

Price
Starting from $199 per employee/month
Documents
Auto invoices + local contracts
Contractor onboarding
Onboarding in a few days
Coverage
160+ countries
Batch runs
yes

What stands out

  • broad coverage: 160+ countries for EOR and contractors
  • published starting prices (EOR $199, AOR $99, CMS $19 per month)
  • payroll in 70 currencies

Not a fit for

  • buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
  • buyers needing a dedicated Contractor of Record product
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 4 pages

Read full review Visit site ↗

Atlas HXM

A long-running (2015) direct-entity EOR — broadest owned-entity claim (160+ countries), a capped misclassification-protection AOR product, but no Contractor of Record and thin independent review volume.

7.7/10

★ 4.2 · 101 reviews

Price
From $599/mo per employee
Contractor onboarding
AOR: classification + KYB/KYC checks; no timeframe
Coverage
160+ countries

What stands out

  • 160+ countries with owned legal entities and no third-party partners — the widest such claim reviewed
  • Transparent, publicly listed pricing for both EOR ($599/employee/month) and AOR ($199/contractor/month)
  • AOR ships with a capped, quantified Classification Protection benefit ($100k/contractor/month, $1M aggregate per client)

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
  • companies with their own local entities needing standalone global payroll
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 2 pages

Read full review Visit site ↗

Rise

A web3-native global payments platform: pay contractors in 190+ countries in fiat, stablecoins or crypto, with published per-contractor pricing and an AOR/EOR layer on top. Strongest for crypto-leaning teams that want one rail for fiat and on-chain payouts.

7.6/10

★ 4.6 · 7624 reviews

Price
From $49 Per Contractor/Month (or 3% of Payment Volume)
Payout speed
Instant payouts (stablecoins)
Documents
Contractor agreements + 1099 forms
Contractor onboarding
Automated KYC/KYB/AML
Coverage
190+ countries
Payout methods
Local currency bank transfers, Stablecoins (USDC, USDT), Cryptocurrencies, Direct to crypto wallet
Batch runs
yes

What stands out

  • transparent published pricing ($49+/contractor, $299+ AOR, $399+ EOR)
  • true hybrid fiat + crypto/stablecoin payout in 190+ countries, 90+ currencies
  • US-licensed money transmitter / FinCEN-registered MSB across 27 jurisdictions

Not a fit for

  • companies needing broad EOR employment coverage today
  • enterprises requiring deep, documented security certifications (SOC 1/2/3, ISO)
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 5 pages

Read full review Visit site ↗

Boundless

A Dublin-based EOR/AOR platform, now part of Payoneer Workforce Management, with transparent published pricing and a rare public refusal to operate in Spain — but thin entity disclosure and reviews.

7.0/10

★ 4.8 · 28 reviews

Price
From $199/mo per employee
Coverage
110+ countries

What stands out

  • Published, comparatively low EOR starting price ($199/€175/£149 per employee/month) with no setup fees
  • Only vendor reviewed that publicly refuses EOR in Spain and explains the legal reasoning
  • Confirmed direct-licence or entity registration in Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK

Not a fit for

  • buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market
  • teams wanting a dedicated Contractor-of-Record product — Boundless's AOR keeps contractors self-employed
Checked on the vendor's own pages · 1 pages

Read full review Visit site ↗

Side-by-side table

#PlatformScoreFromCountriesCountries documentedNot a fit for
1 Papaya Global 8.2 From $599/mo per employee 160+ 155 buyers who require EOR via the provider's own entity in most countries (only 40 are owned/operated)
2 Payoneer 8 Custom quote 190+ 71 companies needing a full Employer of Record to hire employees abroad under one payments brand
3 Skuad 8 Starting from $199 per employee/month 160+ 143 buyers who require named security certifications (SOC 2/ISO 27001) published before purchase
4 Atlas HXM 7.7 From $599/mo per employee 160+ 147 buyers needing a true Contractor-of-Record product, not an authorized-agent AOR
5 Rise 7.6 From $49 Per Contractor/Month (or 3% of Payment Volume) 190+ 17 companies needing broad EOR employment coverage today
6 Boundless 7 From $199/mo per employee 110+ — buyers needing documented owned-vs-partner entity status in every target market

How they pay and what they issue

Payout methods, documents and speed as each vendor publishes them. A dash means the vendor does not state it.

Platform Payout methods Speed Documents Contractor onboarding
Papaya Global — 95% same-day payouts Contracts + invoice-to-pay Onboarding in minutes
Payoneer Payoneer account, local bank account, eWallet, wire transfer, ACH transfer Minutes to Payoneer accounts; up to 3 business days to banks Invoices + contractor agreements (CMS tier) —
Skuad — — Auto invoices + local contracts Onboarding in a few days
Atlas HXM — — — AOR: classification + KYB/KYC checks; no timeframe
Rise Local currency bank transfers, Stablecoins (USDC, USDT), Cryptocurrencies, Direct to crypto wallet Instant payouts (stablecoins) Contractor agreements + 1099 forms Automated KYC/KYB/AML
Boundless — — — —

What it costs at your volume

One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.

PlatformHow it chargesPer monthPer yearPublished price
Payoneer per contractor $190 $2,280 $19 per contractor/month
Skuad per contractor $190 $2,280 Starting from $19 per contractor/month
Papaya Global flat monthly $300 $3,600 From $300/mo + $2.5 per transaction
Rise % of volume $900 $10,800 From $49 Per Contractor/Month (or 3% of Payment Volume)
Atlas HXM per contractor $1,990 $23,880 $199/mo per contractor

Priced by quote, so not computable: Boundless.

Where AOR arrangements fail

  • The name promises more than the contract. “Agent of Record” sounds like protection; contractually it is usually administration. If the indemnification clause is missing, a reclassification bill still lands on you — the AOR’s value was reducing the odds, not absorbing the outcome.
  • Borderline contractors stay borderline. An honest AOR will flag employee-like engagements and refuse them; a careless one papers over them, which makes the eventual finding worse (“you had a classification process and ignored it”). Ask what happens when a contractor fails the test.
  • US-centric tooling abroad. 1099 workflows mean nothing for a contractor in Poland or Brazil. If your contractors are global, check which countries the classification and filing support actually covers.

Vendors use “AOR” and “COR” almost interchangeably

We checked what eight major providers actually call this service on their own pages in August 2026, and the labels do not line up with the products:

VendorWhat they call itPublished priceLiability language
Papaya Global”Agent of Record” on one page, “Contractor of Record” on the pricing page$199/contractor/mo (under the COR label)“assumes responsibility and indemnification”
SkuadAgent of Record only, never COR$99/contractor/mo”reduce misclassification exposure”
PayoneerAgent of Record$99/contractor/mo”help mitigate misclassification risks”
Multiplierrenamed to Contractor of Record — the old /product/aor URL survivesnot published”iron-clad indemnity”
DeelContractor of Record; uses “as your agent of record” only in prose$325/contractor/mo”we take on the liability… and the indemnification”
RemoteContractor of Record, plus a cheaper “Contractor Management Plus” tier$325/mo COR; $99/mo Plus”uncapped indemnity” for COR; capped at $100k per contractor on Plus
RipplingContractor of Recordnot published”we take on responsibility for compliance and liability for contractor misclassification claims”
Oysterneither — the product is “Global Contractors”$29/mocontractor terms state “Oyster assumes no liability”

Three practical consequences. First, filtering by the label loses good options: the same service is sold as AOR by one vendor and COR by another, at prices from $99 to $325. Second, price tracks the liability wording, not the label — the cheapest tiers advertise capped or no indemnity, and “uncapped indemnity” is what the $325 tiers advertise. The wording is marketing, though: the public terms we checked on 28 September 2026 cap or exclude liability — Multiplier at the lower of three months’ fees or $500, Mellow’s COR terms excluding all damages, direct included — so the clause in your own agreement is what counts. Third, if you find a comparison listing Oyster as an AOR provider, it is sourcing from third-party blogs: on Oyster’s own pages “Agent of Record” appears only as a limited payment-collection agency in the contractor terms, alongside an explicit disclaimer of liability.

Our own listing follows what each vendor markets, so a provider appears in this category only where it sells a product actually named Agent of Record.

Frequently asked questions

What does Agent of Record mean?

An AOR acts as the administrative agent for your independent contractors: it runs classification checks, holds the contracts, collects invoices, pays contractors and handles tax paperwork like W-9s and 1099 filing — while you direct the work.

What is the difference between an AOR and an EOR?

An AOR administers independent contractors; an EOR employs workers. If the person should legally be an employee, an AOR doesn't solve that — you need an EOR.

What is the difference between an AOR and a COR?

Both put a provider between you and the contractor, and vendors use the terms loosely — sometimes interchangeably. Where a distinction is drawn, a COR signs with the contractor as your counterparty, while an AOR is the lighter, historically US-centric administrative model that usually doesn't. Read who signs and the indemnification clause, not the label.

When is an AOR enough?

Mostly US contractor bases with 1099 volume, or engagements where you want classification vetting and clean paperwork without paying for a provider to sign as the counterparty. For long-term contractors in high-enforcement jurisdictions, compare against a COR.

What does AOR software actually cost?

The published market rate clusters around $99 per contractor per month (Payoneer and Skuad both list AOR at that price), roughly 5× a bare contractor-management tier and well under a Contractor of Record. You pay for classification checks, contract administration and 1099 filing handled by the agent.

Does an AOR protect me from misclassification?

Partially. An AOR administers classification tests, contracts and tax filings — which materially reduces the chance of a misclassification finding — but it usually isn't the contractor's counterparty, and whether any provider, AOR or COR, pays if an authority reclassifies the worker depends on the indemnification clause. Check the indemnification language, not the product name.

When is an AOR enough, and when do I need a COR?

AOR is enough when your contractors are genuinely independent and you want the admin (classification, contracts, 1099s) done properly by a third party. Move to a COR when the working relationship looks employee-like — long tenure, one client, set hours — because then the question is no longer paperwork but who signs as the counterparty and what the agreement says about indemnity.

Sources

The vendor pages every fact came from, with the date each was checked.

  1. Papaya Global paymentspricingcontractor-managementemployer-of-recordpayment-api 20 August 2026
  2. Payoneer marketplace/mass-payouts-platformworkforce-management/contractor-management-system 20 August 2026
  3. Skuad platform/contractor-paymentsplatform/international-contractorsemployer-of-recordhelp-center/how-to-bulk-pay-contractor-invoices 20 August 2026
  4. Atlas HXM pricingatlashxm.com 30 September 2026
  5. Rise contractorsproducts/agent-of-recordproducts/rise-idproducts/hybrid-fiat-crypto-payrollproducts/stablecoin-payroll 20 August 2026
  6. Boundless faq 30 September 2026

How we researched this page

6 platforms tracked in this category. Every fact in the entries above comes from the vendor's own pages — each carries a footnote with the source and the date we checked it, and where a vendor publishes nothing we leave the field out rather than guess. Scores are ours and are not for sale. Full methodology · Report an error