Tipalti

Finance Automation that puts you in charge — global accounts payable and mass payments to suppliers, contractors and payees worldwide.

7.6/10
  • Countries200+
  • PriceFrom $99/month
  • Founded2010
  • HQFoster City, CA, US

Best for

  • finance teams paying large volumes of suppliers and contractors across many countries
  • companies that need built-in payee tax compliance (W-9/W-8, 1099/1042-S, TIN matching) and sanctions screening
  • businesses wanting payouts tied into ERP/accounting systems (NetSuite, SAP, QuickBooks, Xero)

Not ideal for

  • companies needing to legally employ workers abroad (Employer of Record)
  • buyers wanting a Contractor of Record
  • teams needing global employee payroll
  • very small teams wanting a free tier

Reviewed: 2026-06-29

Visit Tipalti ↗

Our verdict

An enterprise-grade accounts-payable and global mass-payouts platform: pay suppliers, contractors and payees across 200+ countries in 120+ currencies via 50+ methods, with self-service payee onboarding, tax-form collection (W-9/W-8/1099/1042-S) and sanctions screening. Excellent for paying many payees at scale with built-in tax compliance — but it is a finance/AP tool, not a worker-employment platform (no EOR, no COR, no payroll).

Standout feature
Mass payouts at scale with built-in tax compliance: self-service payee onboarding and branded portal, W-9/W-8 collection with TIN matching, 1099/1042-S preparation, and OFAC/AML sanctions screening across 200+ countries and 50+ payment methods.
Biggest limitation
It is AP-centric, not a worker-employment tool: no Employer of Record, no Contractor of Record (it is not the contracting party for payees), and no employee payroll — it pays and tax-reports on payees but does not contract or employ them for you.

Key facts

Countries covered 200+ ⓘ Tipalti's Mass Payments page states 'Pay anyone, anywhere' to '200+ countries and territories in 120+ local currencies'. The homepage cites a higher '220+ countries and territories'; we use the Mass Payments product figure (200+) as it describes the payouts product being judged. Recorded as 200. · source
Entity model — ⓘ Not applicable / not disclosed — Tipalti is not an EOR/COR and does not publish an owned-vs-partner entity model. Left empty. · source
Onboarding time Not publicly stated ⓘ Tipalti markets 'self-service onboarding' for payees but publishes no specific time-to-pay or implementation-time figure. Left as not stated. · source
Payroll markets —
Currencies 120+ ⓘ Mass Payments page states '120+ local currencies'; homepage states '120 currencies'. Recorded as 120. · source
Integrations — ⓘ Homepage names ERP/accounting integrations: Oracle NetSuite, Sage, Microsoft Dynamics, SAP, Intuit QuickBooks, Xero. No total integration count published; named integrations recorded. · source
Security & compliance SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS, GDPR ⓘ Tipalti's own pages state it complies with SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II, GDPR for data privacy, and PCI DSS for secure payment processing (also described as SSAE 18 SOC / ISAE 3402 (SOC1) and ISAE 3000 (SOC2) Type II). The Mass Payments page additionally cites 'GDPR-certified data practices' and 'GDPR, SSAE 16 SOC, and ISAE 3402' standards. The /security/ URL returned 404; certifications sourced from the cloud-platform / FAQ / financial-compliance pages. Recorded the four named: SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS, GDPR. · source
Support —

Payouts and documents

Payout methods
local bank transfer (SEPA, BACS, EFT), Global ACH (IACH), PayPal, wire transfer (SWIFT), ACH, paper check
Batch payouts
yes
Payout API
yes
Documents issued
W-8/W-9 collection + 1099/1042-S e-filing
Contractor onboarding
Self-serve payee portal, ID verification

Pricing

PlanWhat you getPrice
Tipalti Accounts PayablePlans starting at $99/month; includes unlimited users, self-service supplier portal, and core automation features. Additional transaction pricing per invoice and payment.From $99/month
Tipalti Mass PaymentsPlans starting at $249/month; includes unlimited users, payee portal, and core automation features. Additional transaction pricing for payments.From $249/month

Figures verbatim from tipalti.com/pricing (checked 2026-06-29). Monthly price is determined by number of payments processed, number of legal entities, enabled modules, and global payment methods/currencies. Tipalti states it 'does not charge per-user or per-approver fees', offers 'custom pricing for mid-market and enterprise organizations', and 'does not offer a free tier'.

What it costs at your volume

One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.

Tipalti: $99 a month, $1,188 a year. Nothing comparable came out cheaper.

PlatformHow it chargesPer monthPer yearPublished price
Tipaltiflat monthly$99$1,188From $99/month
Payoneerper contractor$190$2,280$19 per contractor/month
Papaya Globalflat monthly$300$3,600From $300/mo + $2.5 per transaction
4dev.com% of volume$900$10,800Service fee: 3% or less per payout

Pros

  • pays 200+ countries/territories in 120+ currencies via 50+ payment methods (SEPA, BACS, EFT, Global ACH, SWIFT, PayPal, ACH, check)
  • self-service payee onboarding with branded portal
  • built-in tax compliance: W-9/W-8 collection, TIN matching, 1099/1042-S preparation, DAC7
  • OFAC/EU/HMC sanctions and AML screening
  • SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS and GDPR compliance stated
  • published entry pricing (AP from $99/mo, Mass Payments from $249/mo) and named ERP/accounting integrations

Cons

  • not an Employer of Record (cannot legally employ workers abroad)
  • not a Contractor of Record (does not act as the contracting party for payees)
  • no global employee payroll
  • no free tier; full pricing is transaction- and module-based / custom for enterprise
  • support channels and onboarding/time-to-pay not publicly enumerated
  • /security/ page not reachable; certifications cited from other official pages

What users say

Weighted average: 4.3/5 across 3 sources

SourceRatingReviewsChecked
Trustpilot3.1/5972026-06-29
G24.5/54162026-06-29
Capterra4.5/51782026-06-29

How it compares

The closest platforms in the same categories, on the facts each one publishes.

Tipalti4dev.comPapaya GlobalPayoneer
Editorial score 7.6/108.5/108.2/108/10
User rating 4.3/54.1/54.35/54.01/5
Countries covered 200+150+160+190+
Employer of Record NoYesNo
Contractor of Record NoYesYesNo
Contractor management YesYesYesYes
Global payroll NoYesNo
Onboarding time Not publicly statedVendor claim: 'Kick off work in minutes, not hours' — no guaranteed SLAVendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA statedNot publicly stated
Lead plan From $99/monthService fee: 3% or less per payoutFrom $599/mo per employeeCustom quote

All Tipalti alternatives →

What AI assistants say

We’ll publish AI-assistant assessments here soon. Editorial scores are independent of AI snapshots.

In-depth review

Tipalti is an AI-powered finance-automation platform whose mass-payments product pays suppliers, contractors and payees across 200+ countries and territories in 120+ currencies via 50+ payment methods, with self-service payee onboarding, built-in tax-form collection (W-9/W-8, 1099/1042-S, DAC7) and sanctions screening. It suits finance teams paying many payees at scale with strong tax compliance — not companies needing to employ workers abroad (it is not an Employer of Record, Contractor of Record or payroll provider).

Frequently asked questions

How many countries can Tipalti pay to?

Tipalti's Mass Payments page states it can pay 'anyone, anywhere' across '200+ countries and territories in 120+ local currencies' using '50+ payment methods' (tipalti.com/mass-payments, checked 2026-06-29). Tipalti's homepage cites a higher 220+ countries; we use the Mass Payments product figure.

Does Tipalti handle contractor/payee tax forms?

Yes. Tipalti collects and validates tax forms — it 'supports W-9, W-8, VAT, SIN, BN, and DAC7 reporting', produces '1099 and 1042-S preparation reports', and provides 'tax ID collection and validation' with TIN matching via a KPMG-approved tax engine (tipalti.com/mass-payments and AP automation pages, checked 2026-06-29).

Does Tipalti offer Employer of Record or Contractor of Record?

No. Tipalti is an accounts-payable and mass-payments platform; it pays and tax-reports on suppliers, contractors and payees but does not legally employ workers (EOR) or act as the contracting party for contractors (COR). We list it under contractor payouts and contractor management only (checked 2026-06-29).

How much does Tipalti cost?

Tipalti publishes entry pricing of 'Plans starting at $99/month' for Accounts Payable and 'Plans starting at $249/month' for Mass Payments, plus transaction pricing per invoice/payment. Price scales with payments processed, legal entities, modules and payment methods/currencies; custom pricing is offered for mid-market and enterprise, and there is no free tier (tipalti.com/pricing, checked 2026-06-29).

What payment methods does Tipalti support?

Tipalti states '50+ payment methods', including local bank transfers (SEPA in Europe, BACS in the UK, EFT in Canada), Global ACH (International ACH/IACH), PayPal eWallet payments, wire transfer (SWIFT), and US-domestic ACH and paper checks (tipalti.com/mass-payments, checked 2026-06-29).

Sources

Every fact above comes from Tipalti's own pages. These are the ones we read, and when.

Categories