Stripe

Payments infrastructure for the internet — Stripe Connect and Global Payouts let platforms pay sellers and contractors programmatically.

6.8/10
  • Countries50+
  • Price0.25% + €0.10 per payout sent
  • Founded2010
  • HQSan Francisco, US / Dublin, Ireland

Best for

  • platforms and marketplaces that want to embed payouts to sellers/contractors via API
  • teams with engineering resources that need programmatic, scalable payout rails
  • buyers who value transparent per-payout pricing and strong security certifications (PCI DSS Level 1, SOC 1/2 Type II)

Not ideal for

  • companies wanting a turnkey contractor-management or compliance product (no EOR/COR)
  • non-technical buyers who cannot build an integration
  • teams needing self-serve contractor payouts outside the US/UK/EEA/Canada/Switzerland Connect regions without using Global Payouts

Reviewed: 2026-06-29

Visit Stripe ↗

Our verdict

Stripe Connect / Global Payouts is developer-grade payout infrastructure for platforms and marketplaces paying sellers and contractors: programmatic payouts to 50+ countries, KYC onboarding of connected accounts, and transparent per-payout fees. It is powerful and reliable, but it is a payment rail you integrate — not a contractor-management or compliance product, and self-serve Connect cross-border payouts are limited to US/UK/EEA/Canada/Switzerland regions.

Standout feature
API-first, developer-grade payout infrastructure with built-in KYC/identity onboarding of connected accounts, instant payouts to bank or debit card, and transparent published per-payout fees from one of the most established payments providers (PCI DSS Level 1, SOC 1/2 Type II).
Biggest limitation
It is infrastructure, not a contractor-management/compliance product: no EOR/COR, no contract management, and you must build the integration. Self-serve Connect cross-border payouts only reach connected accounts in the US, UK, EEA, Canada and Switzerland; broader reach (50+ countries) is via Global Payouts.

Key facts

Countries covered 50+ ⓘ Stripe Global Payouts states 'Send money programmatically to more than 50 countries with a variety of methods'; the launch blog repeats 'send money in these currencies directly to recipients in more than 50 countries' and notes a future plan to reach 'more than 100 countries'. Recorded as 50 (the current floor). Note: Stripe Connect self-serve cross-border payouts are narrower — platforms in the US, UK, EEA, Canada and Switzerland can only pay connected accounts located in those same regions (docs.stripe.com/connect/cross-border-payouts). · source
Entity model — ⓘ Not applicable / not disclosed: Stripe does not act as an EOR/COR entity, so it publishes no owned-vs-partner employment-entity model. · source
Onboarding time Not publicly stated ⓘ Connect states users who already have a Stripe account 'can get started in just one click with networked onboarding', but Stripe does not publish a specific time-to-first-payout figure. Left as not stated rather than assumed. · source
Payroll markets —
Currencies —
Integrations — ⓘ Stripe is an API-first platform with a large app ecosystem but does not publish a single citable integration count for Connect. Left blank. · source
Security & compliance PCI DSS Level 1 (Service Provider), SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3 ⓘ Stripe's security page states 'PCI Service Provider Level 1' ('the most stringent level of certification available in the payments industry'), that 'SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II reports are produced annually and can be provided upon request', and that 'Stripe's SOC 3 is a public report'. ISO 27001 is NOT STATED on this page, so it is omitted. Card numbers are 'encrypted at rest with AES-256'. · source
Support —

Payouts and documents

Payout methods
bank account, debit card
Payout speed
Instant Payouts ~30 min (1% fee)
Payout API
yes
FX model
cross-border & FX fees may apply
Documents issued
Automated 1099 generation and filing
Contractor onboarding
KYC handled; recipients need no Stripe account

Coverage, as documented

Stripe publishes pages for 51 countries, listed below.

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar

more20

Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Brazil, Canada, Mexico, United States

Australia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand

Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, United Arab Emirates

Read fromstripe.com/global · checked

Pricing

PlanWhat you getPrice
Connect — standard payout (You handle pricing)Per-payout fee Stripe charges the platform to send a standard payout to a connected account's bank account or debit card0.25% + €0.10 per payout sent
Connect — Instant PayoutsSend a payout instantly to a connected account's bank account or debit card1% of payout volume
Connect — cross-border payoutsSend a payout to a connected account in a different supported regionStarting at 0.25% of payout volume (waived to 0% for payouts between the UK and the EEA, or within the EEA)
Connect — monthly active accountPer-account monthly fee under the 'You handle pricing' model; 'An account is active in any month payouts are sent to its bank account or debit card'€2 per monthly active account

All figures verbatim from the Stripe Connect pricing page and docs.stripe.com/connect/cross-border-payouts (checked 2026-06-29). IMPORTANT: the pricing page was fetched in a EUR-localized form, so amounts are shown in euros (€0.10, €2, €0.25 card fees); USD/other-currency equivalents and exact regional fees vary by country and are not reproduced here. Stripe offers two models — 'Stripe handles pricing' and 'You handle pricing'; the per-payout and monthly-active-account fees above apply to 'You handle pricing'. Core card-acquiring fees are out of scope for this contractor-payouts card.

What it costs at your volume

One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.

Stripe: $75 a month, $900 a year. Nothing comparable came out cheaper.

PlatformHow it chargesPer monthPer yearPublished price
Stripe% of volume$75$9000.25% + €0.10 per payout sent
Payoneerper contractor$190$2,280$19 per contractor/month
Papaya Globalflat monthly$300$3,600From $300/mo + $2.5 per transaction
4dev.com% of volume$900$10,800Service fee: 3% or less per payout

Pros

  • programmatic Global Payouts to 'more than 50 countries'
  • transparent published per-payout fees (standard 0.25% + €0.10; Instant 1%; cross-border from 0.25%)
  • built-in KYC/identity onboarding of connected accounts ('one click' networked onboarding for existing Stripe users)
  • strong security certifications: PCI DSS Level 1, SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3; AES-256 at rest
  • instant payouts to bank account or debit card
  • mature, developer-grade payouts infrastructure at global scale

Cons

  • not a contractor-management or compliance product — no EOR, no COR
  • requires engineering to integrate (API-first, not turnkey)
  • self-serve Connect cross-border payouts limited to US/UK/EEA/Canada/Switzerland regions; wider reach needs Global Payouts
  • no published time-to-first-payout SLA
  • stablecoin/crypto payout framed as future roadmap, not a confirmed GA contractor-payout method
  • support channels not publicly enumerated for Connect

What users say

Weighted average: 2.3/5 across 3 sources

SourceRatingReviewsChecked
Trustpilot1.7/517,2552026-06-29
G24.4/51,2452026-06-29
Capterra4.6/53,3512026-06-29

How it compares

The closest platforms in the same categories, on the facts each one publishes.

Stripe4dev.comPapaya GlobalPayoneer
Editorial score 6.8/108.5/108.2/108/10
User rating 2.3/54.1/54.35/54.01/5
Countries covered 50+150+160+190+
Employer of Record NoYesNo
Contractor of Record NoYesYesNo
Contractor management NoYesYesYes
Global payroll NoYesNo
Onboarding time Not publicly statedVendor claim: 'Kick off work in minutes, not hours' — no guaranteed SLAVendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA statedNot publicly stated
Lead plan 0.25% + €0.10 per payout sentService fee: 3% or less per payoutFrom $599/mo per employeeCustom quote

All Stripe alternatives →

What AI assistants say

We’ll publish AI-assistant assessments here soon. Editorial scores are independent of AI snapshots.

In-depth review

Stripe is payments infrastructure: through Stripe Connect and Global Payouts it lets platforms and marketplaces pay sellers and contractors programmatically — to more than 50 countries via Global Payouts, with built-in KYC onboarding of connected accounts and transparent per-payout fees. It is developer-grade and highly reliable, but it is a payment rail you integrate rather than a contractor-management or compliance product: there is no Employer of Record and no Contractor of Record, and self-serve Connect cross-border payouts are limited to the US, UK, EEA, Canada and Switzerland regions.

Frequently asked questions

How many countries can Stripe pay contractors/sellers in?

Stripe Global Payouts states it can 'send money programmatically to more than 50 countries' (docs.stripe.com/global-payouts, checked 2026-06-29), with a stated plan to reach more than 100 countries over time. Note that self-serve Stripe Connect cross-border payouts are narrower: platforms in the US, UK, EEA, Canada and Switzerland can pay connected accounts located only in those same regions.

How much does Stripe Connect charge to pay out to sellers/contractors?

On the 'You handle pricing' model Stripe lists '0.25% + €0.10 per payout sent' for standard payouts, '1% of payout volume' for Instant Payouts, cross-border payouts 'starting at 0.25% of payout volume' (0% between the UK and EEA or within the EEA), and '€2 per monthly active account' (Stripe Connect pricing page, checked 2026-06-29; figures shown in EUR as fetched). Core card-acquiring fees are separate.

Is Stripe an Employer of Record or Contractor of Record?

No. Stripe is payments infrastructure (Stripe Connect / Global Payouts). It does not employ workers on your behalf and does not act as the contracting party for your contractors, so we do not list it as EOR or COR — only as contractor-payouts infrastructure (stripe.com/connect, checked 2026-06-29).

What security certifications does Stripe hold?

Stripe's security page states it is certified to 'PCI Service Provider Level 1', and that 'SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II reports are produced annually', plus a public SOC 3 report; card numbers are 'encrypted at rest with AES-256' (docs.stripe.com/security, checked 2026-06-29). ISO 27001 is not stated on that page and is therefore not listed.

Can Stripe pay contractors in crypto/stablecoins?

Not as a confirmed generally available method for this use case. The Connect page references 'fiat or crypto payouts', but Stripe's Global Payouts launch blog frames stablecoins as a roadmap item ('over the next year ... in local currencies or in stablecoins'), so we do not record crypto/stablecoin as a current contractor-payout method (checked 2026-06-29).

Sources

Every fact above comes from Stripe's own pages. These are the ones we read, and when.

Categories