Mellow
Global Contractor Engagement Made Effortless — find, manage and pay contractors worldwide.
- Countries100+
- PriceFrom 5% per payment
- Founded—
- HQCyprus
COR
Best for
- companies paying freelancers/contractors across many countries
- teams wanting crypto, card, bank and e-wallet payout options
- buyers needing a Contractor-of-Record model to reduce misclassification risk
Not ideal for
- companies needing full Employer of Record to hire employees abroad
- teams needing global employee payroll
- buyers requiring published SOC 2 / ISO 27001 certification up front
Reviewed: 2026-06-29
Our verdict
A contractor-payouts and Contractor-of-Record specialist: pay contractors across 100+ countries in 30+ currencies via bank, card, e-wallet or crypto, with Mellow as the single contracting party for your contractors, which reduces misclassification risk. Strong for global freelance/contractor payouts; not a full EOR or employee-payroll platform.
- Standout feature
- Broad payout reach (100+ countries, 30+ currencies) with crypto, card, bank and e-wallet methods, plus a Contractor-of-Record model in which Mellow is the contracting party for your contractors, reducing misclassification risk.
- Biggest limitation
- No published formal security certifications (only GDPR/PCI DSS claims, no SOC 2/ISO listed), and it is not a true Employer of Record — no EOR product page exists, only a quote line.
Key facts
| Countries covered | 100+ Mellow states it sends payments across '100+ countries' (Global Payouts). Its Contractor of Record page cites a narrower '50+ client jurisdictions'; we use the 100+ payout headline. · source |
|---|---|
| Entity model | — Mellow does not publicly disclose an owned-vs-partner entity model or a count for its Contractor-of-Record arrangement. · source |
| Onboarding time | Not publicly stated Mellow does not publish a specific onboarding/time-to-pay figure. Left blank rather than assumed. · source |
| Payroll markets | — |
| Currencies | 30+ Mellow repeatedly states 'withdrawal in 30+ currencies' / 'fund in 30+ currencies' across pricing and product pages. · source |
| Integrations | — Mellow markets a 'flexible API integration' but does not publish named third-party integrations or a count. · source |
| Security & compliance | — Mellow states its platform 'meets all the necessary international regulations like GDPR or PCI DSS' and 'uses top-notch encryption and fraud protection', but publishes no formal certification list (e.g. SOC 2, ISO 27001). No dedicated security/trust page found (mellow.io/security 404). Certifications left empty. · source |
| Support | — |
Payouts and documents
- Payout methods
- bank transfer, cards, crypto wallets, e-wallets
- Payout speed
- 95% same-day payouts
- Batch payouts
- yes
- Payout API
- yes
- Crypto payouts
- yes
- FX model
- market rates (claimed)
- Documents issued
- Invoices, acts, agreements auto-generated
Coverage, as documented
Mellow publishes pages for 141 countries, listed below.
Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan
Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland
more30
France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom
Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic
more15
Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela
Australia, Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives
more11
Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam
Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana
more26
Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lebanon, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Read fromhelp.mellow.io/en/articles/9203079-countries-and-payouts · checked
Pricing
| Plan | What you get | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Get Paid | Pay via freelancer invoices, no company signup required; withdrawal in 30+ currencies, secure escrow, bank transfer or card; fee paid by contractor or company | From 5% per payment |
| Contractor Management | Localized contract templates, fund and withdraw in 30+ currencies, secure escrow, bulk import, auto-pay on schedule; contractors pay no fees | $35 per contractor per month |
| Contractor of Record | One contract covers all contractors, with Mellow as the contracting party, which reduces misclassification risk; crypto funding, secure escrow, IP & data protection, flexible API | From 3.5% per payment (3-month trial); max. 5.5% per payment |
| Employer of Record | Employer-of-Record line listed on pricing page; no product detail published | Custom quote |
All figures verbatim from mellow.io/pricing and product pages (checked 2026-06-29). Mellow is fee-based per payment for payouts/CoR ('From 3.5%' trial, 'max. 5.5% per payment' on the CoR page; 'From 5% per payment' on Get Paid) and a flat $35/contractor/month for Contractor Management. Mellow states contractors withdraw without fees charged by Mellow. EOR is quote-based with no published product page.
What it costs at your volume
One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.
Mellow: $350 a month, $4,200 a year. Cheaper at this volume: Native Teams ($190), Papaya Global ($300).
| Platform | How it charges | Per month | Per year | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| per contractor | $190 | $2,280 | Starts at $19/per contractor per month | |
| flat monthly | $300 | $3,600 | From $300/mo + $2.5 per transaction | |
| per contractor | $350 | $4,200 | $35 per contractor per month | |
| % of volume | $900 | $10,800 | Service fee: 3% or less per payout |
Pros
- payouts across 100+ countries in 30+ currencies
- multiple payout methods incl. crypto, card, bank transfer and e-wallets
- Contractor-of-Record model with Mellow as the contracting party, reducing misclassification risk
- transparent published fees (from 3.5% trial / max 5.5% per payment; $35/contractor/month management)
- contractors withdraw without fees charged by Mellow
- secure escrow payments and IP/data protection
Cons
- no published formal security certifications (only GDPR/PCI DSS claims)
- not a productized Employer of Record (EOR listed only as a quote)
- no global employee payroll
- owned-vs-partner entity model not disclosed
- support channels and onboarding time not published
How it compares
The closest platforms in the same categories, on the facts each one publishes.
| Mellow | 4dev.com | Papaya Global | Native Teams | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Editorial score | 7.4/10 | 8.5/10 | 8.2/10 | 7.9/10 |
| User rating | 4.69/5 | 4.1/5 | 4.35/5 | 4.7/5 |
| Countries covered | 100+ | 150+ | 160+ | 95+ |
| Employer of Record | No | Yes | Yes | |
| Contractor of Record | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Contractor management | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Global payroll | No | Yes | Yes | |
| Onboarding time | Not publicly stated | Vendor claim: 'Kick off work in minutes, not hours' — no guaranteed SLA | Vendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA stated | Not stated as a number; vendor claims '3x faster onboarding' (relative claim only) |
| Lead plan | From 5% per payment | Service fee: 3% or less per payout | From $599/mo per employee | Starts at $19/per contractor per month |
What AI assistants say
We’ll publish AI-assistant assessments here soon. Editorial scores are independent of AI snapshots.
In-depth review
Mellow is a global contractor-payouts and Contractor-of-Record platform: it lets companies find, manage and pay contractors across 100+ countries in 30+ currencies via bank transfer, card, e-wallet or crypto, under a single Mellow contract, with Mellow as the contracting party for your contractors, which reduces misclassification risk. It suits teams paying freelancers and contractors worldwide rather than companies needing a full Employer of Record or global employee payroll.
Frequently asked questions
How many countries can Mellow pay contractors in?
Mellow states it sends payments across 100+ countries and supports 30+ currencies for withdrawals (mellow.io, checked 2026-06-29). Its Contractor of Record page cites 50+ client jurisdictions.
How much does Mellow cost?
Mellow publishes per-payment fees: 'From 5% per payment' (Get Paid), a Contractor of Record plan 'from 3.5% per payment' on a 3-month trial with 'max. 5.5% per payment', and Contractor Management at $35 per contractor per month. Employer of Record is quote-based (mellow.io/pricing, checked 2026-06-29).
Does Mellow offer Contractor of Record (COR)?
Yes. Mellow markets a Contractor of Record product in which Mellow becomes the contracting party for your contractors, which reduces misclassification risk (mellow.io/app/pricing, checked 2026-09-28).
Does Mellow offer Employer of Record (EOR)?
Mellow lists an Employer of Record line on its pricing page as a custom quote, but publishes no EOR product page and positions itself as a Contractor-of-Record company, so we do not list it as a productized EOR (checked 2026-06-29).
Can Mellow pay contractors in crypto?
Yes. Mellow supports crypto wallet payouts (e.g. USDT TRC20 TRON and USDT ERC20 Ethereum) alongside bank transfers, cards and e-wallets (mellow.io/for-business/global-payouts, checked 2026-06-29).
Sources
Every fact above comes from Mellow's own pages. These are the ones we read, and when.
- mellow.io/for-business/global-payouts checked 20 August 2026
- mellow.io/app/pricing checked 20 August 2026