Arbonum
Pay contractors from anywhere in seconds — global payroll for gamedev and IT teams.
- Countries150+
- PriceFrom 3% per payout (≈3-7% depending on volume/route)
- Founded—
- HQUnited Arab Emirates (free-zone entity)
Best for
- small-to-mid IT, ad-agency and game-dev teams paying international contractors
- teams paying contractors in the CIS / Eastern Europe
- buyers who prefer per-transaction fees over per-seat subscriptions
Not ideal for
- companies needing a true Employer of Record (payroll employees on the provider's entities)
- enterprises requiring audited compliance and a large reference base
- buyers who need documented contract terms, currencies and payout rails
Reviewed: 2026-07-21
Our verdict
A small, bootstrapped contractor-payout platform with a differentiated per-transaction pricing model and a genuine niche: paying IT and game-dev contractors, including across the CIS. A pragmatic pick for that niche, but thinly documented and lightly reviewed.
- Standout feature
- Percentage-per-payout pricing with no per-seat fee and unlimited contractors — cheaper for teams paying many small or irregular contractors — plus CIS/Eastern-Europe payout reach that mainstream platforms often restrict.
- Biggest limitation
- Very thin public footprint and low review volume; core parameters (exact currencies, payout rails, entity model, the terms behind its COR-style contracting model) are undocumented, and scale/compliance claims are self-reported.
Key facts
| Countries covered | 150+ Conflicting figures: the site cites '110+' and 'unlimited GEO'; a founder interview cites 150+. Recorded 150 as a mid estimate — low confidence; treat as approximate. · source |
|---|---|
| Entity model | — |
| Onboarding time | Not publicly stated (marketing emphasises near-instant payouts, not an onboarding SLA) |
| Payroll markets | — |
| Currencies | — |
| Integrations | — |
| Security & compliance | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR SOC 2 Type II (via a Vanta badge) and GDPR are claimed on the site; self-reported, not independently verified here. · source |
| Support | Email, Chat, Phone, Knowledge base (24/7 (vendor claim)) |
Payouts and documents
- Payout speed
- Team paid in seconds
- Batch payouts
- yes
- Crypto payouts
- no
- Documents issued
- Contracts, invoices, acceptance acts, VAT docs
- Contractor onboarding
- Onboarding under 5–10 min, KYC included
Pricing
| Plan | What you get | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Per-transaction fee | No per-seat subscription; unlimited contractors, users and invoices — a commission is taken per payout | From 3% per payout (≈3-7% depending on volume/route) |
Arbonum uses a per-transaction commission model rather than a per-seat subscription — 'from 3%', with Capterra citing a 3-7% range and unlimited contractors/users/invoices included. A '$25 per contractor' figure appears in one third-party snippet but is not corroborated on the site (arbonum.com; capterra.com, checked 2026-07-21).
What it costs at your volume
One basket for all of them: 10 contractors at $3,000 a month, so $30,000 of payouts a month. A percentage of volume and a per-seat fee cannot be compared any other way.
Arbonum: $900 a month, $10,800 a year. Cheaper at this volume: Payoneer ($190), Papaya Global ($300).
| Platform | How it charges | Per month | Per year | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| per contractor | $190 | $2,280 | $19 per contractor/month | |
| flat monthly | $300 | $3,600 | From $300/mo + $2.5 per transaction | |
| % of volume | $900 | $10,800 | From 3% per payout (≈3-7% depending on volume/route) | |
| % of volume | $900 | $10,800 | Service fee: 3% or less per payout |
Pros
- Transparent per-transaction pricing (from 3%) with no per-seat fee; unlimited contractors/users/invoices
- Contractor-first with a real gamedev/creative and CIS niche
- Instant contracts, KYC, invoicing and compliance docs bundled
- 24/7 support with fast claimed response
- SOC 2 Type II and GDPR claimed
Cons
- Small bootstrapped vendor with a thin public footprint and very few independent reviews
- Conflicting/unverified stats (country count, founding year, scale)
- No clear Employer-of-Record capability; COR-style contracting model with little public documentation
- Currencies, payout rails and entity model not documented
- Compliance and scale claims are self-reported, not independently corroborated
How it compares
The closest platforms in the same categories, on the facts each one publishes.
| Arbonum | 4dev.com | Papaya Global | Payoneer | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Editorial score | 6/10 | 8.5/10 | 8.2/10 | 8/10 |
| User rating | 4.6/5 | 4.1/5 | 4.35/5 | 4.01/5 |
| Countries covered | 150+ | 150+ | 160+ | 190+ |
| Employer of Record | No | Yes | No | |
| Contractor of Record | No | Yes | Yes | No |
| Contractor management | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Global payroll | No | Yes | No | |
| Onboarding time | Not publicly stated (marketing emphasises near-instant payouts, not an onboarding SLA) | Vendor claim: 'Kick off work in minutes, not hours' — no guaranteed SLA | Vendor claim: bulk onboarding of up to 1,000 EOR workers at one time; no per-worker time SLA stated | Not publicly stated |
| Lead plan | From 3% per payout (≈3-7% depending on volume/route) | Service fee: 3% or less per payout | From $599/mo per employee | Custom quote |
What AI assistants say
We’ll publish AI-assistant assessments here soon. Editorial scores are independent of AI snapshots.
In-depth review
Arbonum is a small, bootstrapped contractor-payments platform — pitched as “global payroll for gamedev teams” — that lets companies pay and manage international contractors from one interface with instant contracts, KYC and bulk payouts. Its differentiators are a per-transaction pricing model (from 3%, no per-seat fee) and strong CIS/Eastern-Europe payout reach; the trade-off is a thin public footprint, few independent reviews and several undocumented parameters, so we score it modestly.
Frequently asked questions
How does Arbonum charge?
Arbonum uses a per-transaction commission (from 3%, with a cited 3-7% range) rather than a per-seat subscription, and includes unlimited contractors, users and invoices. This is cheaper for teams paying many small or irregular contractors (arbonum.com; capterra.com, checked 2026-07-21).
Who is Arbonum built for?
It positions itself as global payroll for game-dev teams and targets IT firms, ad agencies and creative professionals, with notable strength paying contractors in the CIS region (arbonum.com, checked 2026-07-21).
Does Arbonum offer Employer of Record?
Not clearly. The current site presents contractor payments and management, not a true Employer of Record that hires employees on Arbonum's own entities. It acts as a single contracting counterparty per contractor (a COR-style model), which reduces misclassification risk; we list it under contractor payouts and management.
Is Arbonum a large company?
No. Arbonum states it is 100% bootstrapped; its scale figures (5,000+ teams, $20M+ processed) are self-reported and its independent-review base is small, so treat the numbers as directional (arbonum.com, checked 2026-07-21).
Sources
Every fact above comes from Arbonum's own pages. These are the ones we read, and when.
- arbonum.com/who-are-you/financial-dept checked 20 August 2026
- arbonum.com/who-are-you/hrd checked 20 August 2026
- arbonum.com checked 21 July 2026